Library hours forThursday, April 18, 2024
Harriet Irving	Unavailable
Science & Forestry	Unavailable
Engineering & CS	Unavailable
Saint John	Unavailable
Complete Hours

Trinidad and Tobago Guide Ask Us

Find Articles

Key Resources

ERIC (EBSCO)
ERIC is a "bibliographic database that contains education-related documents and journal articles." The EBSCO interface also provides some full text linking.
Subscribed multi-user unlimited access | 1966-Current
Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)
Academic Search Premier is a multidisciplinary resource that "provides journal coverage for most academic areas of studies."
Permitted Use | eResources record | Subscribed multi-user unlimited access | Full text: 1990 - present. I
Google scholar
Google Scholar searches a subset of the Web that Google has classified as "scholarly literature". They do not publish a list of chosen sites, and they do not state how often sites are checked. Some important sources are not covered at all. Thus, Google Scholar alone should not be relied on for comprehensive research.
Dissertations & Theses (ProQuest PQDT)

"Searchable and browsable database of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day. It also offers full text for graduate works added since 1997, along with selected full text for works written prior to 1997. It contains a significant amount of new international dissertations and theses both in citations and in full text. Includes citations for dissertations and theses from around the world, ranging from 1861 to those accepted last semester. Dissertations published from 1980 forward include 350-word abstracts; master's theses from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts. Digital dissertations and theses are archived as submitted by the degree-granting institution. Designated as an official offsite repository for the U.S. Library of Congress, PQDT Global offers comprehensive historic and ongoing coverage for North American works and significant and growing international coverage from a multiyear program of expanding partnerships with international universities and national associations."

All PhD dissertations and Master's theses from depositing universities are available from 1997 onwards, unless the document's author has requested a temporary delay.

It is also possible to search within an interface exclusive to Dissertations & Theses @ University of New Brunswick.
For UNB theses submitted after 2012, please consult UNB’s institutional repository, UNB Scholar, or the library catalogue, UNBWorldCat.
Permitted Use | Subscribed multi-user unlimited access | 1743-Current

See Additional Resources Hide Additional Resources

Additional Resources

Scopus
Scopus, a multidisciplinary online resource, will be invaluable to students and faculty in various fields of study within the sciences, health sciences and the social sciences. Scopus offers full-text linking, abstracting-and-indexing information including peer-reviewed titles from international publishers, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, quality web sources.
SpringerLink
SpringerLINK service provides access to electronic journals in a variety of subjects, including "life sciences, chemical sciences, geosciences, computer science, mathematics, medicine, physics & astronomy, engineering, environmental sciences, law, and economics."
[NOTE: pre-1996 Archival content now accessible when available]
PsycINFO (American Psychological Association; APA - EBSCO)
PsycINFO is an abstracting and indexing database of more than 2000 journals (approximately 3.3 million records) devoted to peer-reviewed literature (journals, books and dissertations) in the behavioural sciences and mental health.
Permitted Use | Subscribed multi-user unlimited access | 1887-Current
CINAHL with Full Text (Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature - EBSCO)
CINAHL with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive source of full text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 500 journals indexed in CINAHL. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index - with no embargo. With full-text coverage dating back to 1981, CINAHL with Full Text is the definitive research tool for all areas of nursing and allied health literature.
Permitted Use | Subscribed multi-user unlimited access | 1981-Current
Canadian Business and Current Affairs (CBCA) Education (ProQuest)
Please note: CBCA Education is now searchable as part of the larger CBCA Complete collection. Canadian Business and Current Affairs (CBCA) Complete is the nation's largest and most comprehensive bibliographic full-text reference and current events database. Available through the ProQuest Web interface, CBCA Complete combines full text and indexed content from all four CBCA database subsets (Business, Current Events, Education, and Reference). Subject coverage is comprehensive and information is available from the broadest range of Canadian sources anywhere.
NOTE: In certain instances ProQuest has decided to omit particular 'articles' from full-text access due to copyright restrictions or because the item has not met their criteria for being an 'article' (ie. too short, a letter, not attributed to an author, etc.).
Permitted Use | Subscribed multi-user unlimited access

Video Tutorials

Conducting and managing literature searches

The video series below reviews essential resources, services, and strategies available from UNB Libraires for conducting and managing literature searches.

Library online resources for coursework, series introduction:

https://vimeo.com/158528573

Locating UNB Libraries Resources:

Where you will find us on the web (though, technically, you already have):
https://youtu.be/48vV96IpmLc

ERIC

Covers the basics of locating and using ERIC on the EBSCO platform:
https://youtu.be/k-ma9DVy_YQ

Dissertations and Theses

Search and retrieval of PhD Dissertations and Masters Theses in full text:
https://youtu.be/XTnZQJ41rMQ

Google Scholar

Using Google Scholar as a UNB student in order to link results to the fulltext of journal articles and to export citations to RefWorks:
https://youtu.be/SsZ703UYCB0

eBooks

Locating and viewing eBooks in the UNB Libraries collection; includes downloading and installing the Adobe Digital Editions eBook reader:
https://youtu.be/HXkEgJX9Lz0

Document Delivery

How to submit a request for the full text (i.e., content) of articles to which UNB Libraries does not provide access. "Document delivered" articles are sent to you via email links.
https://youtu.be/etp_tDFdEiY

What is a Distance Education Librarian for, anyway?

A brief look at my support responsibilities with regards to your academic success:
https://youtu.be/Z9FI20FSpy4

Forming a search using search operators

For those of you interested in learning more about how to break down a research question into its logical parts and put it back together in a manner that works well in ERIC on the EBSCO platform, have a look at the following document:
http://lib.unb.ca/news/distance-education/files/2012/07/SearchStrategiesForClassroomDesign1.pdf

Forming a search using search operators

Find Books

UNB WorldCat search results include books (print and electronic), selected journal articles (from ERIC, among other sources), films, and many other kinds of resources. To limit results to electronic books (which you can read online and in some case download), select "Book - eBook" (if present) from the "Format" options in the left column of search results.

Searching UNB WorldCat for e-Books using the example of Research Methods in Education:
http://youtu.be/9SszJiPnTvY

Dissertations and theses

Dissertations and Theses (formerly Digital Dissertations) "is the single, authoritative source for information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses. The database represents the work of authors from over 1,000 graduate schools and universities." All PhD dissertations and Master's theses from depositing universities are available from 1997 onwards, unless the document's author has requested a temporary delay.

EThOS makes UK theses (e and paper based) available via a 'one-stop-shop' by harvesting e-theses from institutional repositories and digitizing paper theses on-demand from researchers. The British Library, in collaboration with many UK universities and other associations, aims to provide over 250,000 theses produced by the UK higher education system on an open access model to all researchers and others requiring information. Some theses are available for immediate download, while others can be requested from a participating institution which then sends the thesis to the British Library for digitization.

Encyclopedias, etc.

Below are electronic reference resources, which can be accessed online and searched. Credo in particular has some interesting encyclopedic entries on Trinidad and Tobago from a variety of topical angles.

Key Resources

The Blackwell guide to the philosophy of education
see also [HIL-REF LB14.7 .B57 2002]

Philosophy of education has now established itself throughout the world as a theoretically significant and practically vital discipline. In this important survey, an international group of leading philosophers charts the development of the field in the twentieth century and points to important questions for its future.Each chapter has been written as a collaboration between authors in order to emphasize the diversity of thought, and where appropriate, the dissent and debate that is intrinsic to the field. The contributors explore social and cultural theories, politics and education, philosophy as education, teaching and curriculum, and ethics and upbringing. The Blackwell Guide to Philosophy of Education is state-of-the-art map to the field as well as a valuable reference book. Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.
Encyclopedia of Curriculum Studies
see also [HIL-REF LB2806.15 .E48 2010 v.1-2 ]

Provides a comprehensive introduction to the academic field of curriculum studies for the scholar, student, teacher, and administrator by introducing terms, events, documents, biographies, and concepts.
A Functional Approach to Educational Research Methods and Statistics : Qualitative, Quantitative, and Mixed Methods Approaches

An engaging and informative text on educational research and statistics, this book tries to utilize outcomes of research for the benefit of humanity. The text examines how research is conducted across the major traditions of educational research (quantitative, qualitative, and mixed methods). It is designed for graduate students who want to pursue statistics, and it will help them to write their thesis. The book fulfills a need for a systematic account of research concepts and the use of statistics for advanced students. The fact is that research involves interrelated activities and educators practice research following a general sequence of procedures. This book is demarcated into sections that reflect each step in the process of doing a study.
Integrating Teaching, Learning, and Action Research : Enhancing Instruction in the K-12 Classroom

Helping teachers engage K–12 students as participatory researchers to accomplish highly effective learning outcomes Integrating Teaching, Learning, and Action Research: Enhancing Instruction in the K–12 Classroom demonstrates how teachers can use action research as an integral component of teaching and learning. The text uses examples and lesson plans to demonstrate how student research processes can be incorporated into classroom lessons that are linked to standards.
The Sage handbook of educational leadership: advances in theory, research, and practice
see also [HIL-REF LB2805 .S262 2005]

Thirty-seven academic practitioners and researchers from the U.S., Canada, and Argentina contribute 23 chapters to a resource text for professionals and graduate students in the field of educational leadership and administration. Coverage includes the many lenses that today's educational leaders must use to promote democratic leadership; organizational theory as it pertains to education; day-to- day management issues; the role of school law in the development of public education; educational politics and policy, and how to use policy to move schools in effective, equitable, and democratic directions; research problems and practices for developing theories of leadership; and day-to-day and micropolitical challenges facing school leaders. Annotation #169;2004 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com) Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.
Oxford English dictionary (OED)
"This unique and powerful resource offers unprecedented access to the definitive record of the meaning, history and evolution of more than 600,000 words over the last 1,500 years."A complete text of the 2nd. ed. of the Oxford English dictionary with quarterly updates, including revisions not available in any other form.
5 simultaneous users

Marc Bragdon
Head, Harriet Irving Research Commons
UNB Fredericton
mbragdon@unb.ca
(506)-458-7741

Last modified on April 18, 2024 15:10

Trinidad and Tobago Guide Ask Us

Find Articles

Key Resources

Additional Resources

TT and Caribbean Resources

Electronic Journals

UWISpace

Cambridge Histories Online

eBooks

Springer eBook and Article Collection

Video Tutorials

Conducting and managing literature searches

Forming a search using search operators

Find Books

Dissertations and theses

Encyclopedias, etc.

Key Resources

Citing Sources

RefWorks

Zotero for citation management

Citations

Trinidad and Tobago Guide Ask Us

Guide Sections

Find Articles

Key Resources

Additional Resources

TT and Caribbean Resources

Electronic Journals

UWISpace

Cambridge Histories Online

eBooks

Springer eBook and Article Collection

Video Tutorials

Conducting and managing literature searches

Forming a search using search operators

Find Books

Dissertations and theses

Encyclopedias, etc.

Key Resources

Citing Sources

RefWorks

Zotero for citation management

Citations

More Information