Find Articles
Use the databases below to search for articles on your research topic. If a database does not provide a copy of an article you want, click the Check for fulltext link beside the article record to see if another database provides a copy.
If you want an article that is not available at UNB, either online or in print, fill out a Document Delivery request form and the library will try to get a copy for you as quickly as possible (usually between 2-7 days).
Key Resources
-
ProQuest Politics Collection
This collection allows users to easily conduct in-depth political science research, discovering more of the most relevant full-text and A&I records. It offers consolidated access for the bibliographic records contained in Worldwide Political Science Abstracts, PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service), and International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS) and combines these with the full-text articles in ProQuest Political Science.
The collection also contains full-text dissertations, thousands of working papers, country reports, and government documents, offering an international perspective from leading and emerging academics, policy makers, and think tanks.
-
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts (ProQuest)
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts provides "citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration / policy."
-
Google scholar
Google Scholar searches a subset of the Web that Google has classified as "scholarly literature". They do not publish a list of chosen sites, and they do not state how often sites are checked. Some important sources are not covered at all. Thus, Google Scholar alone should not be relied on for comprehensive research.
-
Philosopher's index (EBSCO)
The Philosopher's Index "is a bibliographic database with informative author-written abstracts covering scholarly research in the fifteen fields of philosophy, published in journals and books since 1940."
-
Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)
Academic Search Premier is a multidisciplinary resource that "provides journal coverage for most academic areas of studies."
Permitted Use | eResources record | Subscribed multi-user unlimited access | Full text: 1990 - present. I
-
JSTOR Current Collection
In addition to being an archive, JSTOR offers current access to a range of titles from various publishers. UNB has access to current and archival content for almost 50 of these journals.
Encyclopedias etc.
To find additional reference materials, check the UNB Libraries Reference Materials database.
Key Resources
-
Concise Oxford Dictionary of Politics, The (3 ed.)
"Written by a team of leading political scientists, sociologists, philosophers, and political economists, this is the most authoritative and up-to-date dictionary of politics available. Ranging from John Adams and the Young Hegelians to Additional Member System and zero-sum game, this comprehensive and entertaining work offers international coverage of major political institutions, thinkers, and concepts. All significant political thinkers and designers of political institutions in the West are included, and special attention is give to Muslim and Chinese political thought. There are many entries on new and thriving branches of the subject, such as international political economy, voting theory, and feminism. The dictionary also gives clear and precise definitions of technical terms such as Condorcet winner, Droop quota, and ultra vires. "
Collection limited to subscribed 5-user access
-
Oxford Reference
Multi-part database of the online versions of Oxford University Press texts. Each topical division contains the searchable version of the latest edition of published dictionaries and encyclopedias. Additionally, information about Oxford University Press is provided. Online texts will be updated after new editions of the print monographs are published.Covers the humanities and social sciences.
Collection limited to subscribed 5-user access
-
Wiley/Blackwell Reference Online
Wiley/Blackwell Reference Online "is a vast new online library giving instant access to the most authoritative and up-to-date scholarship across the humanities and social sciences. With more than 350 reference volumes to be published in Blackwell Reference Online by the end of 2008, it is the largest academic reference collection available online and includes the critically-acclaimed Blackwell Companions and Handbooks, major reference works such as the Blackwell Encyclopedia of Management and the Companion to Syntax, and a whole host of other valuable reference materials such as dictionaries, encyclopedias and concise companions."
-
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy (SEP)
An authoritative online encyclopedia of philosophy. SEP is a dynamic reference work with in-depth articles written (and kept up-to-date) by experts in the field. All entries are peer-reviewed by a distinguished editorial board.
-
The Cambridge dictionary of philosophy
Widely acclaimed as the most authoritative and accessible one-volume dictionary available in English (and now with translations into Chinese, Korean, Russian, Italian, and Spanish underway) this second edition offers an even richer, more comprehensive, and more up-to-date survey of ideas and thinkers written by an international team of 436 contributors. Includes the most comprehensive entries on major philosophers, 400 new entries including over 50 on preeminent contemporary philosophers, extensive coverage of rapidly developing fields such as the philosophy of mind and applied ethics, more entries on non-Western philosophy than any comparable volume, and increased coverage of Continental philosophy. Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.
-
The Blackwell Companion to Philosophy, Second Edition
This title is part of the Wiley/Blackwell Reference Online e-book collection available through the Wiley Online Library.
Permitted Use | Purchased multi-user unlimited access
-
The Blackwell Guide to Social and Political Philosophy
This title is part of the Wiley/Blackwell Reference Online e-book collection available through the Wiley Online Library.
Permitted Use | Purchased multi-user unlimited access
Find Books
The UNB Worldcat catalogue search below will search for books available at the UNB libraries on both the Fredericton and Saint John campuses. If you are a UNB Saint John student, you can ask for books on the Fredericton campus to be sent to Saint John by clicking on the Request Item button in the catalogue. You'll be notified by email when the book is available for you to pick up at the Services Desk of the Hans W. Klohn Commons.
To browse the shelves for books in Political Science, try the following ranges:
| HX |
Socialism, Communism, Anarchism |
| J |
Political Science (General) |
| JC |
Political Theory |
| JF |
Political institutions and public administration - General |
| JJ |
Political institutions and public administration - North America |
| JK |
Political institutions and public administration - United States |
| JL |
Political institutions and public administration - Canada, West Indies, Mexico, Central and South America |
| JN |
Political institutions and public administration - Europe |
| JQ |
Political institutions and public administration - Asia, Arab countries, Islamic countries, Africa, Atlantic Ocean islands, Australia, New Zealand, Pacific Ocean islands |
| JZ |
International Relations |
| KZ |
International law |
Last modified on April 20, 2024 03:19
Share
