History, Atlantic World Guide Ask Us

Key Resources

Open Access Databases:

Atlantic Canada Portal - Includes an online bibliography of secondary sources on Atlantic Canada, as well as a 'Virtual Archives' containing primary sources.

Selected Journals Available through UNB Libraries:

Acadiensis

American Historical Review

The Americas

Atlantic Studies

Colonial Latin American Review

Continuity and Change

Eighteenth-century Life

Eighteenth-century Studies

English Historical Review

Ethnohistory 

European Review of Economic History

French Colonial History

The Historian

History of European Ideas

History and Theory

History Workshop Journal

Journal of African History

Journal of British Studies

Journal of Colonialism and Colonial History

Journal of Economic History

Journal of Imperial and Commonwealth History

Past & Present

Pennsylvania History

Transactions of the Royal Historical Society

William and Mary Quarterly

• Oxford Bibliographies Online
  "Oxford Bibliographies Online (OBO) is an entirely new research tool for the social sciences and humanities. A scholar-curated library of discipline-based subject modules, OBO is designed to help busy researchers find reliable sources of information in half the time by directing them to exactly the right chapter, book, website, archive, or data set they need for their research."
  Purchased multi-user unlimited access
• Encyclopedia of the Atlantic world, 1400-1900 : Europe, Africa, and the Americas in an age of exploration, trade, and empires

  Until recently, the age of exploration and empire building was researched and taught within imperial and national boundaries. The histories of Europe, Africa, North America, and South America were told largely as independent stories, with the development of individual places within each continent further separated from each other. The indigenous populations of places colonized by Europeans fit into the history even more uneasily, often mentioned only in passing.
  
  Encyclopedia of the Atlantic World, 1400–1900 synthesizes a generation of historical scholarship on the events on four continents, providing readers an invaluable introduction to the major people, places, events, movements, objects, concepts, and commodities of the Atlantic world as it developed during a key period in history when the world first started to shrink. The entries discuss specific topics with an eye toward showing how individual items, people, and events were connected to the larger Atlantic world. This accessibly written reference book brings together topics usually treated separately and discretely, alleviating the need for extra legwork when researching, and it draws from the latest research to make a vast body of scholarship about seemingly far-flung places available to readers new to the field.

  Features

  • Provides readers with authoritative information on the people, places, events, and commodities at the heart of Atlantic history
  • Demonstrates the interconnections among people, places, and events from different regions, overcoming the tendency to see history as limited by national boundaries
  • Offers balanced coverage of the field of Atlantic history, with entries addressing a variety of geographies and periods to provide a panoramic view
  • Portrays familiar historical topics in a new light by emphasizing their international context
• Princeton companion to Atlantic history [HIL-REF D210 .P936 2015]

  "Between the fifteenth and nineteenth centuries, the connections among Africa, the Americas, and Europe transformed world history--through maritime exploration, commercial engagements, human migrations and settlements, political realignments and upheavals, cultural exchanges, and more. This book, the first encyclopedic reference work on Atlantic history, takes an integrated, multicontinental approach that emphasizes the dynamics of change and the perspectives and motivations of the peoples who made it happen. The entries--all specially commissioned for this volume from an international team of leading scholars--synthesize the latest scholarship on central themes, including economics, migration, politics, war, technologies and science, the physical environment, and culture. Part one features five major essays that trace the changes distinctive to each chronological phase of Atlantic history. Part two includes more than 125 entries on key topics, from the seemingly familiar viewed in unfamiliar and provocative ways (the Seven Years' War, trading companies) to less conventional subjects (family networks, canon law, utopias)."--Publisher's description.

• Oxford handbook of the Atlantic world, c.1450-c.1850 [HIL-REF D210 .O94 2011]

  The essays in this volume provide a comprehensive overview of Atlantic history from c.1450 to c.1850, offering a wide-ranging and authoritative account of the movement of people, plants, pathogens, products, and cultural practices-to mention some of the key agents{u2014}around and within the Atlantic basin. As a result of these movements, new peoples, economies, societies, polities, and cultures arose in the lands.

• Wiley/Blackwell Reference Online
  Wiley/Blackwell Reference Online "is a vast new online library giving instant access to the most authoritative and up-to-date scholarship across the humanities and social sciences. With more than 350 reference volumes to be published in Blackwell Reference Online by the end of 2008, it is the largest academic reference collection available online and includes the critically-acclaimed Blackwell Companions and Handbooks, major reference works such as the Blackwell Encyclopedia of Management and the Companion to Syntax, and a whole host of other valuable reference materials such as dictionaries, encyclopedias and concise companions."
• Cambridge histories online
  This resource, part of Cambridge Core, contains the online versions of over 270 Cambridge Histories publications in the following 15 areas: American History, British History, Economic History, General History, History of Science, History of the Book, Language and Linguistics, Literary Studies, Music, Philosophy, Political and Social Theory, Regional History, Religious Studies, Theatre Studies and Performing Arts, and Warfare. For a complete listing of titles in each area, please refer to the publisher's site, at: https://www.cambridge.org/core/what-we-publish/collections/cambridge-histories
• Oxford Companion to World Exploration, The
  From Antarctica to the North Pole, The Oxford Companion to World Exploration offers information on all topics of exploration worldwide, including advances in navigation, the discovery of the New World, polar expeditions, and the space age. In addition to examining the lives and expeditions of heroic and influential explorers, the book covers navigational and marine sciences and ranges from ancient cultures through modern space exploration. With articles from leading scholars, this landmark set offers students, scholars, and amateurs a treasure of information on this dynamic field of study.
  Collection limited to subscribed 5-user access
• The Cambridge History of the Native Peoples of the Americas. Vol. 1, North America. Part 1

  This book provides the first comprehensive history of the Native Peoples of North America from their arrival in the western hemisphere to the present. It describes how Native Peoples have dealt with the environmental diversity of North America and have responded to the different European colonial regimes and national governments that have established themselves in recent centuries. It also examines the development of a pan-Indian identity since the nineteenth century and provides a comparison not found in other histories of how Native Peoples have fared in Canada and the United States.

  Contents: Native views of history / Peter Nabokov -- Native peoples in Euro-American historiography / Wilcomb E. Washburn and Bruce G. Trigger -- The first Americans and the differentiation of hunter-gatherer cultures / Dean R. Snow -- Indigenous farmers / Linda S. Cordell and Bruce D. Smith -- Agricultural chiefdoms of the Eastern Woodlands / Bruce D. Smith -- Entertaining strangers: North America in the sixteenth century / Bruce G. Trigger and William R. Swagerty -- Native people and European settlers in eastern North America, 1600-1783 / Neal Salisbury -- The expansion of European colonization to the Mississippi Valley, 1780-1880 / Michael D. Green.

• The Cambridge History of the Native Peoples of the Americas. Vol. 1, North America. Part 2

  This book provides the first comprehensive history of the Native Peoples of North America from their arrival in the western hemisphere to the present. It describes how Native Peoples have dealt with the environmental diversity of North America and have responded to the different European colonial regimes and national governments that have established themselves in recent centuries. It also examines the development of a pan-Indian identity since the nineteenth century and provides a unique comparison not found in other histories of how Native Peoples have fared in Canada and the United States.

  Contents: The Great Plains from the arrival of the horse to 1885 / Loretta Fowler -- The greater Southwest and California from the beginning of European settlement to the 1880s / Howard R. Lamar and Sam Truett -- The Northwest from the beginning of trade with Europeans to the 1880s / Robin Fisher -- The reservation period, 1880-1960 / Frederick E. Hoxie -- The Northern Interior, 1600 to modern times / Arthur J. Ray -- The Arctic from Norse contact to modern times / David Damas -- The Native American Renaissance, 1960-1995 / Wilcomb E. Washburn.

• The Cambridge history of the native peoples of the Americas. Vol. 3, South America. Part 1

  This volume, part of the Cambridge History of the Native Peoples of the Americas, is the first major survey of research on the indigenous peoples of South America from the earliest peopling of the continent to the present since Julian Steward's Handbook of South American Indians was published half a century ago. Although this volume concentrates on continental South America, peoples in the Caribbean and lower Central America who were linguistically or culturally connected are also discussed. This volume is an 'idea-oriented history', emphasizing the development of general themes instead of presenting every group and society. Indigenous peoples' own stories of the past are used as well as the standard accounts written by outsiders. Research is presented following regional and conceptual frameworks; some chapters overlap or present differing interpretations. The volume's emphasis is on self-perceptions of the indigenous peoples of South America at various times and under differing situations.

  Contents: Introduction / Frank Salomon and Stuart B. Schwartz -- Testimonies: the making and reading of native South American historical sources / Frank Salomon -- Ethnography in South America: the first two hundred years / Sabine MacCormack -- The earliest South American lifeways / Thomas F. Lynch -- The maritime, highland, forest dynamic and the origins of complex culture / Anna C. Roosevelt -- The evolution of Andean diversity: regional formations (500 B.C.E.-C.E. 600) / Izumi Shimada -- Andean urbanism and statecraft, (C.E. 550-1450) / Luis Lumbreras -- Chiefdoms: the prevalence and persistence of "Señoríos Naturales" 1400 to European conquest / Juan Villamarín and Judith Villamarín -- Archaeology of the Caribbean region / Louis Allaire -- Prehistory of the Southern Cone / Mario A. Rivera -- The fourfold domain: Inka power and its social foundations / María Rostworowski and Craig Morris -- The crises and transformations of invaded societies: the Caribbean (1492-1580) / Neil L. Whitehead -- The crises and transformations of invaded societies: Andean area (1500-1580) / Karen Spalding -- The crises and transformations of invaded societies: coastal Brazil in the sixteenth century / John M. Monteiro.

• The Cambridge History of the Native Peoples of the Americas. Vol. 3, South America. Part 2

  This volume, part of the Cambridge History of the Native Peoples of the Americas, is the first major survey of research on the indigenous peoples of South America from the earliest peopling of the continent to the present since Julian Steward's Handbook of South American Indians was published half a century ago. Although this volume concentrates on continental South America, peoples in the Caribbean and lower Central America who were linguistically or culturally connected are also discussed. This volume is an 'idea-oriented history,' emphasizing the development of general themes instead of presenting every group and society. Indigenous peoples' own stories of the past are used as well as the standard accounts written by outsiders. Research is presented following regional and conceptual frameworks; some chapters overlap or present differing interpretations. The volume's emphasis is on self-perceptions of the indigenous peoples of South America at various times and under differing situations.

  Contents: The crises and transformations of invaded societies: the La Plata Basin (1535-1650) / Juan Carlos Garavaglia -- The colonial condition in the Quechua-Aymara heartland (1570-1780) / Thierry Saignes -- Warfare, reorganization, and readaptation at the margins of Spanish rule: the southern margin (1573-1882) / Kristine L. Jones -- The western margins of Amazonia from the early sixteenth to the early nineteenth century / Anne Christine Taylor -- Warfare, reorganization, and readaptation at the margins of Spanish rule -- The Chaco and Paraguay (1573-1882) / James Schofield Saeger -- Destruction, resistance, and transformation -- southern, coastal, and northern Brazil (1580-1890) / Robin M. Wright -- Native peoples confront colonial regimes in northeastern South America (c. 1500-1900) / Neil L. Whitehead -- New peoples and new kinds of people: adaptation, readjustment, and ethnogenesis in South American indigenous societies (colonial era) / Stuart B. Schwartz and Frank Salomon -- The "Republic of Indians" in revolt (c. 1680-1790) / Luis Miguel Glave -- Andean highland peasants and the trials of nation marking during the nineteenth century / Brooke Larson -- Indigenous peoples and the rise of independent nation-states in lowland South America / Jonathan D. Hill -- Andean people in the twentieth century / Xavier Albó -- Lowland peoples of the twentieth century / David Maybury-Lewis.

• The Cambridge History of the Native Peoples of the Americas. Vol. 2, Mesoamerica. Part 2

  The Cambridge History of the Native Peoples of the Americas, Volume II: Mesoamerica (Part Two), gives a comprehensive and authoritative overview of all the important native civilizations of the Mesoamerican area, beginning with archaeological discussions of paleoindian, archaic and preclassic societies and continuing to the present. Fully illustrated and engagingly written, the book is divided into sections that discuss the native cultures of Mesoamerica before and after their first contact with the Europeans. The various chapters balance theoretical points of view as they trace the cultural history and evolutionary development of such groups as the Olmec, the Maya, the Aztec, the Zapotec, and the Tarascan. The chapters covering the prehistory of Mesoamerica offer explanations for the rise and fall of the Classic Maya, the Olmec, and the Aztec, giving multiple interpretations of debated topics, such as the nature of Olmec culture. Through specific discussions of the native peoples of the different regions of Mexico, the chapters on the period since the arrival of the Europeans address the themes of contact, exchange, transfer, survivals, continuities, resistance, and the emergence of modern nationalism and the nation-state.

  Contents: Mesoamerica since the Spanish invasion: an overview / Murdo J. Macleod -- Legacies of resistance, adaptation, and tenacity: history of the native peoples of Northwest Mexico / Susan M. Deeds -- The native peoples of Northeastern Mexico / David Frye -- The indigenous peoples of western Mexico from the Spanish invasion to the present / Eric Van Young -- Native peoples of colonial central Mexico / Sarah L. Cline -- Native peoples of central Mexico since independence / Frans J. Schryer -- Native peoples of the Gulf Coast from the colonial period to the present / Susan Deans-Smith -- The indigenous population of Oaxaca from the sixteenth century to the present / María de Los Angeles Romero Frizzi -- The lowland Mayas, from the conquest to the present / Grant D. Jones -- The highland Maya / W. George Lovell.

• 17th and 18th century Nichols newspapers collection (Gale)
  "The 17th and 18th Century Nichols Newspapers Collection features the newspapers, periodicals, pamphlets and broadsheets that form the Nichols newspaper collection held at the Bodleian library in Oxford, UK. All 296 volumes of bound material, covering the period 1672-1737 are presented in digitized format here.
  
  This collection charts the history of the development of the press in England and provides invaluable insight into 17th-18th century England."
  Purchased multi-user unlimited access
• 17th and 18th century Burney newspapers collection (Gale)
  "The newspapers, pamphlets, and books gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757-1817) represent the largest and most comprehensive collection of early English news media. The present digital collection, that helps chart the development of the concept of 'news' and 'newspapers' and the "free press", totals almost 1 million pages and contains approximately 1,270 titles. Many of the Burney newspapers are well known, but many pamphlets and broadsides also included have remained largely hidden. These treasures can now be searched, browsed and discovered again within Gale Digital Collections."
  Purchased multi-user unlimited access
• American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection (EBSCO)
  The American Antiquarian Society Historical Periodicals provides information on the life of America's people from the Colonial Era through the Civil War and Reconstruction (1684-1912). This e-resource includes digitized images of American magazines, journals, and monographs not available from any other source and provide rich content detailing American history and culture from the mid-18th century through the late-19th century. These specialized collections cover advertising, health, women's issues, science, the history of slavery, industry and professions, religious issues, culture and the arts, and more.
  Permitted Use | eResources record | Purchased multi-user unlimited access | Series 1-5
• America’s Historical Newspapers: Early American Newspapers
  Early American newspapers, often printed by small-town printers, documented the daily life of hundreds of diverse American communities, supported different political parties and recorded both majority and minority views.
  
  UNB has access to newspapers in Series 1, 1690-1876.
• Ancestry Library (ProQuest)

  Ancestry Library Edition is a new genealogy research tool created for the library market and provides patrons instant access to a wide range of unique resources for genealogical and historical research. With more then 1.5 billion names in over 4,000 databases, Ancestry Library Edition includes records from the United States Census; military records; court, land and probate records; vital and church records; directories; passenger lists and more! These collections are continuously expanding, with new content added every business day.

   

  Note: The Library Edition does not include some of the personalization features available in the private version.

  Helpful Links
  ~ Tracing Your Canadian Roots in Ancestry Library Edition webinar
  ~ Proquest's Library Ancestry Edition Subject Guide
  ~ Next Level Canadian Ancestry Investigation webinar

  
  Subscribed multi-user unlimited access
• Atlantic Canada Portal = Portail du Canada atlantique

  "The Atlantic Canada Portal, a collaborative effort of the University of New Brunswick's Electronic Text Centre and Canada Research Chair in Atlantic Canada Studies, promotes the study of Canada's Atlantic Provinces ... the Portal hosts, a comprehensive bibliography of works published on the Atlantic Region, a virtual archives of primary source material, a repository of electronic publications teaching resources on Atlantic Canada topics, a listserv highlighting portal news and events, a research forum for scholarly collaboration, and a searchable web directory of links to websites on the region."--Home page.

  
  Open Access
• Black thought and culture : African Americans from Colonial times to the present (Alexander St. Press)
  When complete, Black Thought and Culture will provide approximately 100,000 pages of non-fiction writings by leaders within the black community from the earliest times to 1975. The collection is intended for research in black studies, political science, American history, music, literature, art, and includes monographs, essays, articles, speeches, and interviews.
• British and Irish women's letters and diaries, from 1500-1900 (Alexander St. Press)
  British and Irish Women’s Letters and Diaries spans more than 400 years of personal writings, bringing together the voices of women from England, Scotland, Ireland, and Wales. This database allows researchers to view history in the context of women’s thoughts – their struggles, achievements, passions, pursuits, and desires.
• Defining Gender, 1450-1910 (Adam Matthew Digital)
  Defining Gender is structured in five sections, each containing a substantial body of original source material, together with thematic essays by leading scholars in the field. The thematic essays introduce students to the material, suggest possible approaches, and place the documents within a broad historical, literary and cultural context. The sources all have distinct URLs and can be readily integrated into course packs or projected in the classroom.
• Early Canadiana online / Notre mémoire en ligne
  Early Canadiana Online (ECO) is a full text online collection of more than 3,000 books and pamphlets documenting Canadian history from the first European contact to the late 19th century.
• Early encounters in North America : peoples, cultures, and the environment (Alexander St. Press)
  Early Encounters in North America documents the relationships among peoples in North America from 1534 to 1850. The collection focuses on personal accounts and provides unique perspectives from all of the protagonists, including traders, slaves, missionaries, explorers, soldiers, native peoples, and officials, both men and women.
• Early English Books Online (EEBO via ProQuest)

  EEBO is based on the microfilm collections curated by the Ann Arbor publisher Eugene B. Power (1905-1993). The founder of what became University Microfilms International or UMI, Power’s first foreign project established the microfilming operation at the British Museum in 1942 and, since then, more than 200 libraries worldwide have contributed to the microfilm collection.

  Following its digital launch in 1998, Early English Books Online now contains page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America, as well as works in English printed elsewhere between 1473 and 1700.

• Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO)
  A comprehensive digital edition of The Eighteenth Century microfilm set, which has aimed to include every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in the United Kingdom, along with thousands of important works from the Americas, between 1701 and 1800. Consists of books, pamphlets, broadsides, ephemera. Subject categories include history and geography; fine arts and social sciences; medicine, science, and technology; literature and language; religion and philosophy; law; general reference. Also included are significant collections of women writers of the eighteenth century, collections on the French Revolution, and numerous eighteenth-century editions of the works of Shakespeare. Where they add scholarly value or contain important differences, multiple editions of each individual work are offered. Allows searching Early English Books Online as an option.
• Eighteenth Century Journals (Adam Matthew Digital)
  Portal to newspapers and periodicals c1685-1815 offers integrated access to the Hope Collection at the Bodleian Library, Oxford (Eighteenth Century Journals I) and the Harry Ransom Humanities Research Center University of Texas (Eighteenth Century Journals II). It brings together rare journals printed between c1685 and 1815, illuminating all aspects of eighteenth-century social, political and literary life. Topics include: the writings of Sir Isaac Newton; the French Revolution; reviews of literature, the theater, and fashion throughout Europe; the origins and rise of Romanticism; political debates; gender, religion, influence of the press, and coffee house gossip and discussion.
• Empire Online (Adam Matthew Digital)
  Empire Online features a wide variety of material including: Exploration journals and logs; Letter books and correspondence; Periodicals; Diaries; Official Government Papers; Missionary papers; Travel writing; Slave papers; Memoirs; Fiction; Children's Adventure Stories; Traditional; folk tales; Exhibition Catalogues and guides; Maps; Marketing Posters; Photographs; and Illustrations, with many in colour.The project is divided into five sections covering varying aspects of the colonial experience. These are: Section I: Cultural Contact, 1492-1969, Section II: Literature and Empire, Section III: The Visible Empire, Section IV: Religion and Empire.
• European Views of the Americas: 1493 to 1750 (EBSCO)
  This bibliographic database is a valuable index for libraries, scholars and individuals interested in European works that relate to the Americas. EBSCO Publishing, in cooperation with the John Carter Brown Library, has created this resource from European Americana: A Chronological Guide to Works Printed In Europe Relating to The Americas, 1493-1750, the authoritative bibliography that is well-known and respected by scholars worldwide. The database contains more than 32,000 entries and is a comprehensive guide to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750. It covers the history of European exploration as well as portrayals of native American peoples. A wide range of subject areas are covered; from natural disasters to disease outbreaks and slavery. The original bibliography was co-developed by John Alden and Dennis Landis, Curator of European Books at The John Carter Brown Library. The John Carter Brown Library, founded in 1846 is a foremost repository of rare books and materials and is a center for advanced research in history and the humanities.
  Subscribed multi-user unlimited access | 1493-1750
• Frontier life : borderlands, settlement & colonial encounters (Adam Matthew Digital)
  "Frontier Life provides over 240,000 Images and 7,895 Documents pertaining to the Frontiers of North America, Africa and Australasia. This collection has a wealth of primary source documents including 68% of the collections dedicated to North America, and 20% of that material specific to Canada. There are more than 1,015 documents from the Glenbow Museum and Hudson Bay’s Archive.
  
  The collection deals with some of the major themes of frontier existence including: Settlement development, Law and order, Violence, Expeditions and exploration, Relations with indigenous peoples, Trade and commerce, Death and disease, Missionaries and religion, Women’s history, Military matters, Mining, Religion, Gold rushes, Settler governance, Contested boundaries, Agriculture and livestock."
• Gerritsen Collection of Aletta H. Jacobs - Books & Journals
  "This database is the definitive cross-cultural resource for information on women's history. It spans more than four centuries and 15 languages and includes over two million pages in full image. Users can trace the evolution of feminism within a single country, as well as the impact of that country's feminist movement on other countries and their movements. The Gerritsen Collection also provides immediate access to many primary sources from around the world that were previously available only in a limited number of rare book rooms."
• HeinOnline - English Reports, Full Reprint (1220-1867)
  Electronic version of the original bound reprint edition published by Stevens & Sons, 1900-1932. Includes the Index of Cases and the Index Chart. Like the print version, the electronic version includes the Statutes of the Realm (1235-1713). Using the case locator, researchers can search for cases by English Reports citation, nominative citation, case name, or keyword. The Chart Tool can be a convenient way to locate nominative volumes. Advanced search options are also available.
• HeinOnline - Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture & Law
  This collection of eBooks and eJournals brings together legislation, cases, essays, articles, books, pamphlets, and other legal materials on slavery in the United States and the English-speaking world.
• HeinOnline - World Constitutions Illustrated
  All the world's current constitutions in their original languages and English translations are gathered into this single database, which also includes full-text historical legal and political treatises and scholarly articles. Bibliographies of and links to a multitude of secondary resources are also provided. Researchers can use the advanced search screen to perform cross-jurisdictional searches, but users focusing on one particular country might want to use the "browse by country" option and then search within that jurisdiction.
• Loyalist Collection (Harriet Irving Library)
  The Harriet Irving Library at the University of New Brunswick in Fredericton, New Brunswick, Canada, is a unique repository of Loyalist resources, on microfilm, of British, North American Colonial, and early Canadian primary sources from approximately 1740-1870. The chief focus is Colonial America, the American Revolution, and the early years of Loyalist settlement in British North America. This special Loyalist Collection contains over 3400 reels of microfilm and 700 microfiche. It is largely unindexed and contains only original sources. Includes Church Records, Family Records, Military Records, Public Records, and Special Collections. In addition, there are numerous finding aids listed to records in the Collection, with bibliographic citations and/or urls where appropriate. This could be considered a library catalog or a bibliography. For genealogists: Family Records often contain a biography of the Loyalist.
• Making of Modern Law: Legal Treatises, 1800-1926 (Gale)
  Provides access to more than 21,800 British and American legal titles from the 19th and early 20th centuries. Content types include casebooks, local practice manuals, form books, pamphlets, letters, and speeches and cover a wide range of subject areas. Basic and advanced searching is available.
• Nineteenth century collections online (NCCO)
  Nineteenth Century Collections Online is a digitization and publishing program focusing on primary source collections of the long nineteenth century. The program includes a variety of content types--monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, statistics, and more--and unites them in one central, cross-searchable location. 12 collections are now available:
  
  Individual titles in these collections are available for discovery in our eBooks search or in UNBWorldCat:
  • Asia and the West: Diplomacy and Cultural Exchange
  • British Politics and Society
  • British Theatre, Music, and Literature: High and Popular Culture
  • Children's Literature and Childhood
  • European Literature, 1790-1840: The Corvey Collection
  • Mapping the World: Maps and Travel Literature
  • Religion, Society, Spirituality, and Reform
  • Science, Technology, and Medicine: 1780-1925, Part II
  
  Individual titles in these collections can only be discoverd in the NCCO site:
  • Europe and Africa: Commerce, Christianity, Civilization, and Conquest
  • Photography: The World through the Lens
  • Science, Technology, and Medicine: 1780-1925, Part I
  • Women: Transnational Networks
  
• North American immigrant letters, diaries, and oral histories (Alexander St. Press)
  North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries and Oral Histories provides personal experiences of immigrants and insights into labor history, American and world history in general, women's and ethnic studies, and a wide range of related disciplines.
• North American Indian thought and culture (Alexander St. Press)
  This database is comprised of full-text materials that span the entirehistory of North America; from first encounters involving Native Americans and Europeancolonists to the stories of aboriginals living in a 21st century world. Included arebiographies, autobiographies, personal narratives, speeches, diaries, letters, and oralhistories.
• North American women's letters and diaries (Alexander St. Press)
  North American Women's Letters and Diaries indexes American and Canadian women's diaries and correspondence over centuries. Researchers will have access to immediate experiences of 1,325 women.
• Oral history online (Alexander St. Press)
  The database indexes collections of oral history in English from around the world. Some full-text material is contained in the database; there are links to other material, textual as well as audio and video, available on other web sites. Both full-text and bibliographic searching are provided.
• Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection
  A digital collection of current and historical maps, from the Perry-Castaneda Library at the University of Texas at Austin. The online collection features images of over 5700 maps from the Perry-Castaneda Library, as well as extensive links to other map-related sites.
  Open Access | 1896 - present
• ProQuest historical newspapers
  ProQuest Historical Newspapers offers full-text and full-image articles for newspapers dating back to the 19th century. As part of the ProQuest Historical Newspapers program, every issue of each title includes the complete paper, cover-to-cover, with full-page and article images in downloadable PDF. Includes The New York Times (1851-2007), The Wall Street Journal (1889-1993), and Washington Post (1877-1994).
• Slavery, Abolition and Social Justice, 1490-2007 (Adam Matthew Digital)
  This digital collection documents key aspects of the history of slavery worldwide over six centuries. Topics covered include the African Coast, the Middle Passage, the varieties of slave experience, religion, revolts, abolition, and legislation. The collection also includes case studies from America, the Caribbean, Brazil, and Cuba.
• Slavery & anti-slavery : a transnational archive. Part I, Debates over slavery and abolition (Gale)

  Slavery and Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive is devoted to the study and understanding of the history of slavery in America and the rest of the world from the 17th century to the late 19th century. Archival collections were sourced from more than 60 libraries at institutions such as the Amistad Research Center, Bibliothèque nationale de France, the National Archives, Oberlin College, Oxford University, the Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture, and Yale University; these collections allow for unparalleled depth and breadth of content.

  Part I: Debates over Slavery and Abolition sheds light on the abolitionist movement, the conflicts within it, the anti- and pro-slavery arguments of the period, and the debates on the subject of colonization. It explores all facets of the controversial topic, with a focus on economic, gender, legal, religious, and government issues.

  
  Purchased multi-user unlimited access | Part I, Debates over slavery and abolition
• The Gateway - UNB Archives & Special Collection
  The Gateway is an online database of finding aids to the University's archives, and UNB Libraries holdings of historical and literary manuscripts.
• Times Digital Archives (Gale)
  The Times Digital Archive allows users to search and view online The Times (London) newspaper from 1785-1985.
  NOTE: The Times is not published on Sunday, and the The Sunday Times, a distinct newspaper, is not included in this database.
• U.K. Parliamentary Papers (ProQuest)
  U.K. Parliamentary Papers via ProQuest offers a comprehensive collection of primary sources for the 18th, 19th and 20th century, for Britain, its colonies and the wider world. Included are the following Paper Series:
  

  • Bills and Acts 1695-2018
  • Command Papers 1802-2018
  • House of Commons Papers 1715-2018
  • House of Lords Papers 1714-1909
  • Hansard 1803-2005
  • Journals 1688-1834
  • Debates 1774-1805
  • Histories and Proceedings 1660-1743
• Wiley Digital Archives - Royal College of Physicians

  The Royal College of Physicians of London (RCP) covers the history of medicine, medical humanities, medicine and culture, religion, and government, the establishment of public health systems, and the policies governing medical education and practice from 1205 to 1980. It  contains monographs, rare books, manuscripts, correspondence, reports, conference papers, medical reports, medical education textbooks, proceedings, lectures, anatomical drawings, public health surveys, photographs, drawings, data and ephemera—all presented as fully searchable digital images that can be analyzed, downloaded, manipulated, and compared with content from other societies and universities in the Wiley Digital Archives program.

  
  Purchased multi-user unlimited access | Primary sources from 1205-1980
• Women and social movements in the United States 1600-2000
  Women and Social Movements in the United States serves as a resource for students and scholars of U.S. history and U.S. women's history. It provides learning modules in the form of mini-monographs, each of which is organized around a specific question about a single social movement.