Philosophy OLD Guide Ask Us

The Philosopher's Index "is a bibliographic database with informative author-written abstracts covering scholarly research in the fifteen fields of philosophy, published in journals and books since 1940."

Academic Search Premier is a multidisciplinary resource that "provides journal coverage for most academic areas of studies."
Permitted Use | eResources record | Subscribed multi-user unlimited access | Full text: 1990 - present. I

JSTOR provides access to back issues of a variety of scholarly journals. UNB Libraries currently subscribes to the Arts & Sciences (I through X) collections, along with the Life Sciences and Ireland collections.
Permitted Use | Subscribed multi-user unlimited access

The Directory of Open Access Journals provides access to over 1300 open access journals in an attempt "to increase the visibility and ease of use of open access scientific and scholarly journals thereby promoting their increased usage and impact. The Directory aims to be comprehensive and cover all open access scientific and scholarly journals that use a quality control system to guarantee the content."
Access controls to fulltext varies by title and some may require personal registration.

Open Access

Google Scholar searches a subset of the Web that Google has classified as "scholarly literature". They do not publish a list of chosen sites, and they do not state how often sites are checked. Some important sources are not covered at all. Thus, Google Scholar alone should not be relied on for comprehensive research.

L'Année philologique (APh) is the most comprehensive international index to scholarly research in Classical Studies from prehistory to 800 A.D. The web version covers a wide variety of subjects including archaeology, ancient history, language, literature, law, philosophy, religion, science, and technology. APh currently indexes over 400,000 bibliographic records to journal articles, books, conference papers and book reviews from 1949 onward.
Subscribed multi-user unlimited access

Literature Online offers full text access to rare and inacessible works, up-to-date, reference resources, in addition to the full text of poetry, drama, and prose fiction from the seventh century to the present day. Materials are included from almost every period and genre of English literature as well as many works by 20th century authors. Contemporary criticism is available through the Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (ABELL).

MLA International Bibliography is a subject index for books, articles and websites published on modern languages, literature, folklore, film, literary theory and criticism, dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing. Listings on rhetoric and composition and the history, theory and practice of teaching language and literature are also included. Dating back to 1925, the database contains more than 2.7 million citations, over 6,000 journals and series, 1,200 book publishers and over 372,000 subject names and terms and adds over 66,000 records annually (May 2018).

Coverage is international and includes titles and full-text links from online publishers including JSTOR, Project MUSE, Wiley-Blackwell and Taylor & Francis.

The MLA Directory of Periodicals contains all information available on the journals and series on the bibliography's Master List of Periodicals.
Subscribed multi-user unlimited access | 1925-Current

"Searchable and browsable database of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day. It also offers full text for graduate works added since 1997, along with selected full text for works written prior to 1997. It contains a significant amount of new international dissertations and theses both in citations and in full text. Includes citations for dissertations and theses from around the world, ranging from 1861 to those accepted last semester. Dissertations published from 1980 forward include 350-word abstracts; master's theses from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts. Digital dissertations and theses are archived as submitted by the degree-granting institution. Designated as an official offsite repository for the U.S. Library of Congress, PQDT Global offers comprehensive historic and ongoing coverage for North American works and significant and growing international coverage from a multiyear program of expanding partnerships with international universities and national associations."

All PhD dissertations and Master's theses from depositing universities are available from 1997 onwards, unless the document's author has requested a temporary delay.

It is also possible to search within an interface exclusive to Dissertations & Theses @ University of New Brunswick.

For UNB theses submitted after 2012, please consult UNB’s institutional repository, UNB Scholar, or the library catalogue, UNBWorldCat.
Permitted Use | Subscribed multi-user unlimited access | 1743-Current

An authoritative online encyclopedia of philosophy. SEP is a dynamic reference work with in-depth articles written (and kept up-to-date) by experts in the field. All entries are peer-reviewed by a distinguished editorial board.

"The Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy (IEP) (ISSN 2161-0002) was founded in 1995 to provide open access to detailed, scholarly information on key topics and philosophers in all areas of philosophy. The Encyclopedia receives no funding, and operates through the volunteer work of the editors, authors, volunteers, and technical advisers. At present, the IEP has over a million visitors per month, and about 20 million page views per year. The Encyclopedia is free of charge and available to all users of the Internet world-wide. The staff of 30 editors and approximately 300 authors hold doctorate degrees and are professors at universities around the world, most notably from English-speaking countries." (source: http://www.iep.utm.edu/home/about/)

Blackwell Reference Online is a vast new online library giving instant access to the most authoritative and up-to-date scholarship across the humanities and social sciences.

Widely acclaimed as the most authoritative and accessible one-volume dictionary available in English (and now with translations into Chinese, Korean, Russian, Italian, and Spanish underway) this second edition offers an even richer, more comprehensive, and more up-to-date survey of ideas and thinkers written by an international team of 436 contributors. Includes the most comprehensive entries on major philosophers, 400 new entries including over 50 on preeminent contemporary philosophers, extensive coverage of rapidly developing fields such as the philosophy of mind and applied ethics, more entries on non-Western philosophy than any comparable volume, and increased coverage of Continental philosophy. Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

The only encyclopedia in English specific to the field of Classical Philosophy, this work presents 270 articles on major and minor figures and on topics of importance to the philosophy of Greek and Roman antiquity. The articles, written by leading scholars, present not only succinct historical accounts, but they inform readers about issues of interpretation and debate in the contemporary scholarly study of the Classical period. Scholars, students, and lay persons in any area of study that is influenced by the Classical era--from archaeology to oratory--will find this handy volume useful in gaining a comprehensive view of the philosophy of an era that has come to occupy a place of preeminence in humanistic studies.

The Companion is divided into six sections covering the main traditions within Asian thought: Persian, Indian, Buddhist, Chinese, Japanese, and Islamic philosophy. Each section contains a collection of chapters which provide comprehensive coverage of the origins of the tradition, its approaches to, for example, logic and languages, and to questions of morals and society. The chapters also contain useful histories of the lives of the key influential thinkers, as well as a thorough analysis of the current trends.

Sponsored by the University of Edinburgh, the "Encyclopedia of Continental Philosophy" covers in a single volume the full tradition of Continental Philosophy. The "Encyclopedia of Continental Philosophy" covers--in depth and at length-the most important authors and movements of this tradition. Fifty-eight extensive chapters and an internationally recognized team of contributors make this the most comprehensive, single-volume reference tool available on the subject, providing extensive coverage of all the key thinkers, from Kant, Hegel, and Sartre, to Derrida and Baudrillard. Its scope is broad, ranging from Classical Idealism through Existentialism, Phenomenology, and Psychoanalysis, to Structuralism and Post Structuralism. Fully inclusive, the "Encyclopedia" is usefully organized into chronological and thematic areas for ease of reference. Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

Featuring articles by more than 70 leading scholars, this is the only encyclopedia devoted to Empiricism.

Unlike the first edition, the entries in the second edition are listed alphabetically, which makes an initial perusal of the 581 entries listed at the beginning of volume one a valuable task. Among the entries: Peter Abelard, Africa, Buddha, Common Good, Death, Evil, Guilt and shame, Aldo Leopold, Metaethics, Motives, Ought implies can, and Work. About 300 academic contributors, mostly American, write entries that feature suggestions for related entries and a bibliography. Entry-writers do not always seek objectivity; instead, they often use their entry to make an argument. For example, Tom Regan in his entry, Treatment of Animals, refutes his more famous Princeton rival, Peter Singer, while Bernard Gert in his entry, Genetic Engineering, states when genetic engineering is acceptable or noncontroversial. Two extensive indexes, one of subjects and one of cited authors, end the volume. c. Book News Inc. Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

The Encyclopedia of Postmodernism provides comprehensive and authoritative coverage of academic disciplines, critical terms and central figures relating to the vast field of postmodern studies. The work is easily accessible to readers with specialized research agendas and general interests in contemporary cultural, historical, literary and philosophical issues.