Gender Studies Guide Ask Us

Welcome!

Welcome to UNB Libraries' (Saint John) Guide to Gender Studies. The purpose of this guide is to help you find resources related to this discipline and enhance your learning. If you are taking a course in gender studies at UNB Saint John, you may find you also have a specific course guide available.

How you want to begin your research depends on your topic and your knowledge. If your topic is brand new to you, you might want to start with book based material. The data and information in books, at least, in non-fiction, academic books, generally differs from that found in articles. It is presented at length but tends to be presented in less depth and with less specificity. Book content may be less "cutting edge" and more likely to present standard, and accepted information. Journal articles often present more controversial content and preliminary research results which require more testing before they are accepted.

For students, books are a logical starting point for research because they often introduce several relevant topics around a broader subject while articles often deal with a single, very specific topic with an assumed context -- that is, articles may assume an audience with a high level of subject knowledge.

Once you have some background on your topic which may help you think critically about related information and data, you will be ready to plunge into journal articles, grey literature, and beyond. Enjoy the search!

In this guide, you will find links leading you to reference materials (dictionaries, specialized encyclopedias, handbooks ...), books (both online and in print), databases (containing full-text journals, full-text articles, and linked material), and more. That said, not everything you will need will be here. Remember, you can always visit a library and ask a librarian for more help.

News and Views

Advocate

Gender: World News, The Guardian

Gender News and Views, World Bank

Transgender News, Culture, Opinions and Conversations, HuffPost Gay Voices

Women and Girls, New York Times

In addition to the suggestions below, more reference resources for the field of gender studies can be found by checking UNB WorldCat, and the Reference Materials collection, or may be publicly accessible via the internet.

Biography and Bibliography

Biography Index, Women's International Center, public access

Women's Legal History, Stanford, public access

Biographies of Women Mathematicians, Agnes Scott College, public access

Archives of Women in Science and Engineering, Iowa State University

Oxford Bibliographies Online, includes seven collections: Atlantic History, Classics, Medieval Studies, Renaissance & Reformation, Sociology, Victorian Literature, and Psychology, licensed resource

International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS - ProQuest), licensed resource

African Women Bibliographic Database, AfricaBib, public access

Bibliography on Medieval Women, Gender and Medicine 1980-2009, Monica Green, public access

Medieval Feminist Forum Bibliography, Chris Africa, 1997-2007, public access

Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, Handbooks ...

The Routledge companion to feminism and postfeminism, licensed resource

Biographical dictionary of women's movements and feminisms in Central, Eastern, and South Eastern Europe : 19th and 20th centuries, licensed resource

Terms and Definitions, Lesbian Gay Bisexual Transgender Student Services, Iowa State University, public access

Terminology, National Lesbian & Gay Journalists Association

Defining Gender, 1450-1910 (Adam Matthew Digital), licensed resource

Companion to Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, and Queer Studies, licensed resource

Handbook of language and gender, licensed resource

Statistics, Data, and Data Sets

Queer in STEM

Gender Statistics Manual: Integrating a gender perspective into statistics, UN Statistics Division, public access

Gender Statistics, UN Statistics Division, public access

Gender Equality Data and Statistics, World Bank, public access

UNB WorldCat searches the WorldCat database and offers up-to-date availability information for material held by UNB Libraries. WorldCat contains more than 130,000,000 bibliographic records (including books, journals, videos, music ...) referring to the holdings of libraries world wide. Many of these items may be retrieved for UNB users through the Libraries' Document Delivery Service. WorldCat also catalogues selected journal articles, often available through document delivery, and internet-based resources.

Mobile users should note that although UNB Libraries has moved to a responsive web design, mobile interfaces and apps may NOT yet provide all the functionality of other types of web-based access.

For members of the UNB/STU community of users, the Library provides access to individual electronic books, through UNB WorldCat. Among those related to gender studies are:

Framing Intersectionality: Debates on a Multi-Faceted Concept in Gender Studies, Helma Lutz, Maria Teresa Herrera Vivar and Linda Supik

Gender, religion and diversity: cross-cultural perspectives, Ursula King and Tina Beattie

Respectably queer: diversity culture in LGBT activist organizations, Elizabeth Jane Ward

Lesbian and gay rights in Canada: social movements and equality-seeking: 1971-1995, Miriam Catherine Smith

As well, the University community may access several collections of electronic books.

Some internet sites offer full-text, public access books, and book-length works either as collections or as individual linked titles. Some full-text titles are free to view / access, others may not be. Examples of such sites of interest include:

Collective Resources

Hathi Trust Digital Library, Hathi Trust

Google Books

Reports, International Gay and Lesbian Human Rights Commission

Publications Finder, Institute for Women's Policy Research

Gender Identity Issues, documents, National Institute of Corrections, US Department of Justice

Individual Titles

Covered in blue : police culture and LGBT police officers in the province of Ontario, Joe L. Couto

What a Difference Sex and Gender Make: A Gender, Sex and Health Research Casebook, Institute of Gender and Health, CIHR

Sexual Orientation and Legal Rights, Mary C. Hurley, Publication No. PRB 08-49E, Parliament of Canada

From Cradle to Cane: The Cost of Being a Female Consumer: A Study of Gender Pricing in New York City, Department of Consumer Affairs, NY City

For those interested in gender studies and related fields, several of the available licensed bibliographic databases are listed in Key and Additional Resources below. These databases will be especially useful when you are beginning a research project and looking for information on a topic.

For all of the Libraries' licensed databases, please see the Article Databases page.

Key Resources

See Additional Resources Hide Additional Resources

Other textual databases, bibliographic databases and citation indexers for gender studies and related fields include:

Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index, University of Iowa, public access

There is also a wide variety of individual periodical titles available to UNB/STU users. You can locate these by searching UNB WorldCat or through the UNB Libraries' Journals & Newspapers list.  These include:

Berkeley Journal of Gender, Law, and Justice, licensed resource

Gender and History, licensed resouce

Studies in Gender and Sexuality, licensed resource

Transgender Studies Quarterly, licensed resource

Some periodicals may be publicly accessible via the internet, with full text or selected full text available, including:

Atlantis: Critical Studies in Gender, Culture and Social Justice, public access

Duke Journal of Gender Law and Policy, public access

Gender Forum, public access

Journal of Feminist Scholarship, public access

Journal of International Women's Studies, public access

Kinesis, "News about women that is not in the dailies", Vancouver Status of Women, 1995-2001, via UBC Library, public access

Religion and Gender, public access

Public access resources on the internet relating to gender studies include:

General Resources

Wikigender, OECD initiative

WomenWatch, UN

Gender, Resource Guide, ELDIS

LGBT Rights, American Civil Liberties Union

TransPULSE Project, Ontario

Archives and Collections

Canadian Lesbian and Gay Archives

Transgender Archives, University of Victoria

LGBT Health and Well-being, Health and Human Services, US

Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender Health, CDC, US

Human Sexuality Collection, Cornell University

Digital Transgender Archive, based at College of the Holy Cross, Massachusetts

Women Working, 1800-1930, Open Collections Program, Harvard

Jean-Nickolaus Tretter Collection in Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual and Transgender Studies, University of Minnesota

Gay People's Union Collection, University of Wisconsin

Gender and Women's Studies Collection, University of Wisconsin

LGBT Materials, digital collections, NY Public Library

Associations, Societies ...

American Association of University Women

Gender & Medieval Studies (GMS) Group, UK

GLBT Historical Society

International Gay and Lesbian Human Rights Commission

National Organization for Women

Centres, Institutes ...

Institute for Research on Women, Gender, and Sexuality, Columbia

National Center for Transgender Equality

Clayman Institute for Gender Research, Stanford

Williams Institute, UCLA

Health and Healthcare

Institute of Gender and Health, CIHR, Canada

Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual and Transgender Health, MedlinePlus

LGBT Health and Well-being, Health and Human Services, US

Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender Health, CDC, US

Center for Population Research in LGBT Health, The Fenway Institute

Multimedia

Gayback Machine, GLBT Historical Society

Oral History Collection, Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender Religious Archives Network

Citations are a natural by-product of a good literature or bibliographic search -- they come from the results your search produces. They may be found, collectively, in bibliographic databases and citation indexes. They may be derived from statistical databases and other data collections. They may make reference to individual books, periodicals (journals, magazines and newspapers), working papers, and technical reports. They may be gathered from compilations such as bibliographies or appear in lists of works cited and references. Citations may also be produced in reference to material you read or heard, to images you discover, and to all kinds of electronic files which are displayed, read, played, or otherwise accessed.

To structure citations appropriately it helps to have a good guide. There are several standard guides from which you may choose. In university, choosing the "best" one will depend on the requirements of the assignment, the nature of the contents and the preferences of the individual professor. Some guides emphasize a particular discipline, some are cross-discipline and some may emphasize a particular form of material.

Style Guides

APA Style Guide to Electronic References, 2012 edition, licensed resource

APA Style, American Psychological Association, public access

APA Style, OWL, Purdue, public access

Chicago Manual of Style, HWK-REF Z253 .U7 2010

MLA handbook, HWK-REF LB2369 .G52 2016

MLA Formatting and Style Guide, OWL, Purdue, public access

GLAAD Media Reference Guide

Stylebook, National Lesbian & Gay Journalists Association

Citation Management Software

Zotero, public access

UNB Libraries' Guide to Zotero