Reference Materials for Anthropology

Highlighting the most important topics, issues, questions and debates, these two volumes offer full coverage of major subthemes and subfields within the discipline of anthropology.

This title is part of the Wiley/Blackwell Reference Online e-book collection available through the Wiley Online Library.
Permitted Use | Purchased multi-user unlimited access

This title is part of the Wiley/Blackwell Reference Online e-book collection available through the Wiley Online Library.
Permitted Use | Purchased multi-user unlimited access

This title is part of the Wiley/Blackwell Reference Online e-book collection available through the Wiley Online Library.
Permitted Use | Purchased multi-user unlimited access

Comprised of 24 newly commissioned chapters, this defining reference resource on Latin America introduces English-language readers to the debates, traditions, and sensibilities that have shaped the study of this diverse region. Written by some of the most prominent figures in Latin American and Latin Americanist anthropology and drawing on their own ethnographic research, the Companion highlights national and regional debates. Both geographically and topically focused, these chapters give a vivid sense of how anthropologists often combine intellectual and political work to address the pressing social and cultural issues of Latin America. Ultimately this volume encourages readers to consider how a confrontation with Latin American political, cultural, and historical realities has forced us to rethink traditional categories of scholarly analysis.

This title is part of the Wiley/Blackwell Reference Online e-book collection available through the Wiley Online Library.
Permitted Use | Purchased multi-user unlimited access

The status of American Indians has been rooted in a view of Indians as members of indigenous polities with distinct cultures. Often, these cultures have been characterized by dominant colonial authorities as "savage" or "primitive," and it is the discipline of anthropology that, willingly and wittingly or not, helped to make the idea of "the primitive" into a social reality. Consequently, the "tribal slot" inhabited by American Indian-with both its benefits and its oppressions-is difficult to imagine without the discipline of anthropology. A Companion to the Anthropology of American Indians contains 26 original contributions by leading scholars who work actively as researchers in American Indian communities, or on the topic of American Indians. The book summarizes the state of anthropological knowledge of Indian peoples, as well as the history that got us to this point. Treated here is the full range of anthropological interest in American Indians: from ecological and political-economic questions to topics concerning religion, language, and expressive culture. Each chapter provides definitive coverage of its topic while situating ethnographic and ethnohistorical data in a broader framework. This framework includes the linked histories of American Indians and anthropology, the role of continued native resistance in changing both the situation of Indian people and the content of anthropology, and the potential roles of anthropology in an anti-colonial project that speaks to the pressing concerns of contemporary Indians. Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

An internationally distinguished roster of contributors considers the state of the art of the discipline of archaeology at the turn of the 21st century and charts an ambitious agenda for the future. The chapters address a wide range of topics including paradigms, practice, and relevance of the discipline; paleoanthropology ...

Archaeology in America is the first resource that provides students, researchers, and anyone interested in their local history with a survey of the most important archaeological discoveries in North America. Leading scholars, most with an intimate knowledge of the area, have written in-depth essays on over 300 of the most important archaeological sites that explain the importance of the site, the history of the people who left the artifacts, and the nature of the ongoing research.

Artstor is a repository of approximately 300 collections composed of over 2.5 million digital images (and growing), related data and provides tools to actively use those images in a restricted usage environment that balances the rights of the content providers and the needs of the users. The images are drawn from different sources, such as museums, archaeological teams, photo archives, slide collections, and art reference publishers.

Scholars can examine wide-ranging material such as Native American art from the Smithsonian, treasures from the Louvre, and panoramic, 360-degree views of the Hagia Sophia in a single, easy-to-use resource. The artistic traditions across many cultures embraces architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, and design as well as many other forms of visual culture.

Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America (BIPNA) is a bibliographic database covering all aspects of Indigenous culture, history, and life in North America. This resource covers a wide range of topics including archaeology, education, the gaming industry, religion, folklore, economic development, acculturation, mythology, missions, tribal governments, and ethnohistory. BIPNA contains more than 350,000 citations for newspapers, magazines, academic journals, books, reviews, and trade publications from the United States and Canada with expanded content from Great Britain and Australia. Dates of coverage for content range from the sixteenth century to the present.

Subscribed multi-user unlimited access | 1989 - present

Amit's work consists of basic biographical entries for over 600 individuals who were professionally active from the late 19th century to the present. Entries were selected by an editorial team and include people throughout the world, but with a strong emphasis on American and British individuals. The scholarly interests represented range broadly, including linguistics and sometimes stretching into fields such as human evolution and primatology. Entries include most, if not all, those individuals students encounter in core undergraduate and graduate social and cultural anthropology courses taught in American institutions, as well as many current practitioners. Each entry, approximately one and a half to two pages in length, includes basic biographical information such as birth, death, and education, location of fieldwork, key publications, and a short narrative outlining the person's career, including the nature of his or her work and important contributions. Indexes by interests, institutions, names, and concepts conclude the work. A very useful resource from which one can pursue more information in greater depth in a variety of other sources. Summing Up: Recommended. All libraries, especially at educational institutions, that support study of anthropology. General Readers; Lower-division Undergraduates; Upper-division Undergraduates; Graduate Students; Researchers/Faculty; Professionals/Practitioners. Reviewed by M. R. Dittemore. From: Syndetics Solutions, Inc. Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

The Cambridge Companion to Historical Archaeology provides an overview of the international field of historical archaeology (c. AD 1500 to the present) through seventeen specially-commissioned essays from leading researchers in the field. The volume explores key themes in historical archaeology including documentary archaeology, the writing of historical archaeology, colonialism, capitalism, industrial archaeology, maritime archaeology, cultural resource management and urban archaeology. Three special sections explore the distinctive contributions of material culture studies, landscape archaeology and the archaeology of buildings and the household. Drawing on case studies from North America, Europe, Australasia, Africa and around the world, the volume captures the breadth and diversity of contemporary historical archaeology, considers archaeology's relationship with history, cultural anthropology and other periods of archaeological study, and provides clear introductions to alternative conceptions of the field. This book is essential reading for anyone studying or researching the material remains of the recent past.

The Cambridge Encyclopedia of Human Paleopathology is a major reference work for all those interested in the identification of disease in human remains.

The Cambridge World Prehistory provides a systematic and authoritative examination of the prehistory of every region around the world from the early days of human origins in Africa 2 million years ago to the beginnings of written history, which in some areas started only two centuries ago. Written by a team of leading international scholars, the volumes include both traditional topics and cutting-edge approaches, such as archaeolinguistics and molecular genetics and examine the essential questions of human development around the world.

This comprehensive survey of contemporary thought in biological, social and cultural anthropology sets the foundation for their future development and integration. Now available in paperback, the Companion Encyclopedia of Anthropology consists of three parts: Humanity emphasizes human beings as members of a species and how that species differs from others; Culture deals with the origin and structure of human culture; and Social Life examines the relationships and processes that are carried on by persons and groups in the course of social life. Emphasizing interconnections between perspectives and subdisciplines, the Companion includes cross-references within the text, full biographical references, suggestions for further reading and carefully illustrated line drawings. Copyright #169; Libri GmbH. All rights reserved. Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

Presents the most comprehensive assessment of the philosophy, goals, and practice of forensic anthropology currently available, with chapters by renowned international scholars and experts.

A Companion to Paleoanthropology presents a compendium of readings representing the state-of-the-art in our knowledge relating to the study of ancient humans as found in fossil hominid evidence.

"From amphora to ziggurat, and Beaker Culture to molluscan analysis, this comprehensive dictionary, covers the essential vocabulary for archaeological work, including principles, theories, techniques, artefacts, materials, people, places, monuments, equipment, and descriptive terms. The dictionary focuses especially on Europe, the Old World, and the Americas, and covers legislation relating to the United Kingdom and the USA."
Collection limited to subscribed 5-user access

While archaeologists, researchers, and students generally know the meanings and terms used for artifacts within their own areas of study, it is difficult to find authoritative definitions for those from periods or cultures outside of their expertise. Containing close to 3,000 words and definitions, the Dictionary of Artifacts is an indispensable reference for anyone working within the field of archaeology.

"Searchable and browsable database of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day. It also offers full text for graduate works added since 1997, along with selected full text for works written prior to 1997. It contains a significant amount of new international dissertations and theses both in citations and in full text. Includes citations for dissertations and theses from around the world, ranging from 1861 to those accepted last semester. Dissertations published from 1980 forward include 350-word abstracts; master's theses from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts. Digital dissertations and theses are archived as submitted by the degree-granting institution. Designated as an official offsite repository for the U.S. Library of Congress, PQDT Global offers comprehensive historic and ongoing coverage for North American works and significant and growing international coverage from a multiyear program of expanding partnerships with international universities and national associations."

All PhD dissertations and Master's theses from depositing universities are available from 1997 onwards, unless the document's author has requested a temporary delay.

It is also possible to search within an interface exclusive to Dissertations & Theses @ University of New Brunswick.

For UNB theses submitted after 2012, please consult UNB’s institutional repository, UNB Scholar, or the library catalogue, UNBWorldCat.
Permitted Use | Subscribed multi-user unlimited access | 1743-Current

Duke University Press publishes and distributes many journals and books that span a stimulating range of disciplines within the humanities and sciences. UNB Libraries provides access to the following:
- Duke University Press eJournals
- Duke University Press eBooks - Gender Studies (purchased)
- Duke University Press eBooks - African American, African, and Black Diaspora Studies (purchased)
- Duke University Press eBooks - Art & Art History (purchased)

eBooks: Purchased multi-user unlimited access | eJournals: Subscribed multi-user unlimited access

Early Encounters in North America documents the relationships among peoples in North America from 1534 to 1850. The collection focuses on personal accounts and provides unique perspectives from all of the protagonists, including traders, slaves, missionaries, explorers, soldiers, native peoples, and officials, both men and women.

Arranged alphabetically this five-volume set presents some 1000 entries on topics from all the major subfields of anthropology: physical/biological anthropology, archaeology, cultural/social anthropology, linquistics, and applied anthropology. Other major themes covered by editor Birx (anthropology, Canisius College) and the contributors include biography, evolution, geology, paleontology, philosophy, psychology, religion/theology, sociology, and research/theoretical frameworks. Many of the entries provide biographical accounts of influential researchers and theorists. Others cover important anthropological concepts, issues, and subjects of inquiry, including such specific topics as Angkor Wat, ape biogeography, artificial intelligence, Aztec agriculture, biometrics, Coptic monasticism, cross-cultural research, social Darwinism, evolutionary epistemology, classification of language, cultural materialism, threats to orangutan survival, and Sumerian civilization, to give some sense of scope. Entries provide guides to further readings. Included in the final volume is a master bibliography and a comprehensive index. The set is illustrated with color photographs, drawings, graphs, and other materials. Annotation #169;2006 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com) Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

Archaeology is a subject that fascinates us. From Egyptian tombs to a frozen Alpine wayfarer, from cities buried under volcanic ash to stone arrow heads turned up by the plow, archaeology is in the news and in our backyards. It is paradoxical that a subject that so easily captures the imagination is so difficult for the serious layman to access. Superficial media treatments and picture-book atlases and site guides on the one hand, jargon-heavy scholarly books and narrowly focused articles on the other-there are few ways to learn about the real world of archaeology outside the college classroom or the dig site. The Encyclopedia of Archaeology changes this, in making all aspects of archaeology accessible to a broad audience of the general scientific community, educators, students, and avocational archaeologists. Professional archaeologists and anthropologists will also find the encyclopedia a ready source of up-to-date information on specialities outside their own expertise. The Encyclopedia of Archaeology encompass all aspects of archaeology, including the nature and diversity of archaeology as a scientific discipline, the practice of archaeology, archaeology in the everyday world, and the future of the discipline. Featured in the Encyclopedia of Archaeology are articles by leading authors that summarize archaeological knowledge at the beginning the 21st century, highlighting important sites and issues, and tracing the development of prehistoric cultures around the globe. No existing work provides the breadth and depth of coverage as the Encyclopedia of Archaeology. * A completely new encyclopedia; not a revision or expansion of an earlier publication * The first and only reference work to cover all elements of archaeology, from the Artic to Underwater * Topics provide coverage of 15 general subject areas, encompassing many specific fields of study. Approximately 200 overview articles, specifically commissioned for this work * Distinguished Editorial Board headed by Editor-in-Chief Professor Deborah Pearsall, University of Missouri, along with many other prominent scientists serving as Editorial Advisors * Every article is carefully peer-reviewed to ensure accuracy and comprehensiveness * Each entry in the Encyclopedia begins with an outline of the article content and a concise definition of the subject of the article * Glossary entries explain key terms * Further Reading lists appear at the end of each entry * Extensive cross-referencing system links related articles Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

Written by the most authoritative scholars from around the world, a massive treasure-house of information on all aspects of archaeology, from prehistory to the present day.

Covering genetics, genomics, proteomics and bioinformatics, the focus is on the human and mouse genomes. Other important model eukaryotes, as well as pathogenic bacteria, are treated. Topics include Genetic Variation and Evolution, Epigenetics, The Human Genome, Expression Profiling, Proteome Families, Structural Proteomics, Gene Finding/Gene Structure, and Protein function and annotation.

This second edition offers more than 200 new entries covering the latest fossil finds and cutting-edge theories. In addition, all prior entries have been updated, including more than 200 that have been heavily revised and expanded to reflect new developments and discoveries in the field. With a total of more than 800 A-Z entries written by fifty-four internationally recognized scholars, "Encyclopedia of Human Evolution and Prehistory" is widely recognized as a standard in the field, providing the most complete context possible for understanding the 65-million-year story of humankind's origins. Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

Medical practitioners and the ordinary citizen are becoming more aware that we need to understand cultural variation in medical belief and practice. The more we know how health and disease are managed in different cultures, the more we can recognize what is "culture bound" in our own medical belief and practice. The Encyclopedia of Medical Anthropology is unique because it is the first reference work to describe the cultural practices relevant to health in the world's cultures and to provide an overview of important topics in medical anthropology. No other single reference work comes close to marching the depth and breadth of information on the varying cultural background of health and illness around the world. More than 100 experts - anthropologists and other social scientists - have contributed their firsthand experience of medical cultures from around the world. The encyclopedia consists of two volumes: Topics and Cultures. Volume 1, Topics covers: Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

 

An excellent introduction to Africanist archaeology for undergraduate students and general readers. Part one provides context: the presentation of environmental information, research histories, and background to the technologies, languages, and lifeways of sub-Saharan Africa. The remainder of the encyclopedia carries the narrative from the physical development of humanity through the adaptive stages of stone-using foragers, food producers, and complex societies, to the residues of historically recorded times and the investigation of identifiable sites in the historical record.

This encyclopedia provides description and analysis of the terms, concepts and issues of social and cultural anthropology. International in authorship and coverage, this accessible work is fully indexed and cross-referenced.

The Encyclopedia of Underwater and Maritime Archaeology is the first comprehensive reference book on the discovery and recovery of the submerged past. Written by archaeologists and other scientists who have made the discoveries, the encyclopedia's entries describe sites around the world and across time: prehistoric American Indian settlements; submerged Bronze and Iron Age settlements; sunken Phoenician, Greek, and Roman cities and harbors; Viking ship burials; ancient warships and merchant craft in the Mediterranean; warships sunk during atomic bomb tests; and much more. Detailed entries also cover new fields of research in underwater and maritime archaeology, the techniques and tools used by underwater archaeologists, critical issues and the relevant legislation that has been passed, and important institutions and individuals. Overview articles examine work in broader regional, national, and scientific contexts.

Surveys the life and work of some of the most influential figures in anthropology.

Designed to accompany the Handbook of Archaeological Theory (2005), this reference contains 34 essays by British and American archaeologists describing the history and various practices utilized in their field, with the chapters grouped according to type, namely, methods used in the field, for analysis, in application, methodological frameworks, and management issues. Individual chapter topics include ethnoarchaeology, maritime archaeology, statistics, pottery, rock art analysis, geoarchaeology, and funding archaeological research. Each chapter concludes with a bibliography. The reference will be used by undergraduate and graduate students as well as specialists. Maschner teaches anthropology at Idaho State U. Chippindale, former editor of Antiquity, is with the Cambridge U. Museum of Archaeology and Anthropology in the UK. Annotation #169;2006 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com) Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

Focuses on a mysterious and grand civilization, from its beginnings to the Spanish Conquest in the 16th century. Each chapter of this book, is supplemented by a bibliography and photographs, original line drawings, and maps. It includes civilization and archaeology, evolution, geography, society and government, astronomy and more.

Handbook to Life in the Inca World is a comprehensive and accessible examination of the Inca Empire, which stretched across the Andes Mountains in Peru from the 13th century until the invasion of the Spanish in the 16th century.

HeinOnline is a comprehensive database of U.S. and international law journals, treatises, yearbooks, reports, cases, treaties, and other legal information resources. Organized into collections called “libraries,” all documents are image-based, full-text searchable PDFs. Most of HeinOnline’s libraries are searchable by citation.

Mesoamerica is one of six major areas of the world where humans independently changed their culture from a nomadic hunter-gatherer lifestyle into settled communities, cities, and civilization. In addition to China (twice), the Indus Valley, the Fertile Crescent of southwest Asia, Egypt, and Peru, Mesoamerica was home to exciting and irreversible changes in human culture called the Neolithic Revolution. The changes included domestication of plants and animals, leading to agriculture, husbandry, and eventually sedentary village life. These developments set the stage for the growth of cities, social stratification, craft specialization, warfare, writing, mathematics, and astronomy, or what we call the rise of civilization.

Spencer has written extensively about the history of physical anthropology and has published a lengthy bibliographic treatment of the subject (Ecce Homo: An Annotated Bibliographic History of Physical Anthropology, Greenwood, 1986). For the present work, he enlisted an international group of scholars and specialists to compose biographies on contributors to physical anthropology and essays on subjects such as subfields, national traditions, theories, controversies, sites, fossils, institutions, and museums. Entries include primary and secondary sources and, where applicable, location of archival materials. Cross references are provided, and the type is very small but clear. Although some likely biographies are missing, e.g., Mary Leakey and George Gliddon, the encyclopedia has tremendous breadth and depth, and it adds significantly to the literature. For researchers of the history and theory of science and medicine and library collections covering anthropology in any depth.Joyce L. Ogburn, Old Dominion Univ. Lib., Norfolk, Va. Copyright 1997 Cahners Business Information, Inc. From: Reed Elsevier Inc. Copyright Reed Business Information

Fully revised and updated, the second edition of the International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences, first published in 2001, offers a source of social and behavioral sciences reference material that is broader and deeper than any other. Available in both print and online editions, it comprises over 3,900 articles, commissioned by 71 Section Editors, and includes 90,000 bibliographic references as well as comprehensive name and subject indexes.

UNB has online access to the 2001 edition as well as owning print volumes of the earlier edition.

This database is comprised of full-text materials that span the entirehistory of North America; from first encounters involving Native Americans and Europeancolonists to the stories of aboriginals living in a 21st century world. Included arebiographies, autobiographies, personal narratives, speeches, diaries, letters, and oralhistories.

"Oxford Bibliographies Online (OBO) is an entirely new research tool for the social sciences and humanities. A scholar-curated library of discipline-based subject modules, OBO is designed to help busy researchers find reliable sources of information in half the time by directing them to exactly the right chapter, book, website, archive, or data set they need for their research."
Purchased multi-user unlimited access

Since its publication in 1996, the Oxford Companion to Archaeology has firmly established itself as the standard reference work in the field of archaeology, remaining a favorite among students, scholars, and anyone interested in archaeology. In close to 800 entries, the second edition provides thorough coverage of historical archaeology, the development of archaeology as a field of study, and the ways the discipline works to explain the past. In addition to these theoretical entries, other entries describe the major excavations, discoveries, and innovations, from the discovery of the cave paintings at Lascaux to the deciphering of Egyptian hieroglyphics and the use of luminescence dating.
Collection limited to subscribed 5-user access

This handbook provides a comprehensive and up-to-date synthesis of African archaeology, covering the entirety of the continent's past from the beginnings of human evolution to the archaeological legacy of European colonialism. As well as covering almost all periods and regions of the continent, it includes a mixture of key methodological and theoretical issues and debates, and situates the subject's contemporary practice within the discipline's history and the infrastructural challenges now facing its practitioners.

The Oxford Handbook of Maritime Archaeology is a comprehensive survey of the field at a time when maritime archaeology has established itself as a mature branch of archaeology. This volume draws on the expertise of nearly fifty international scholars who examine the many distinct and universal aspects of the discipline.

The Oxford Handbook of North American Archaeology reviews the continent's first and last foragers, farmers, and great pre-Columbian civic and ceremonial centers, from Chaco Canyon to Moundville and beyond.

Multi-part database of the online versions of Oxford University Press texts. Each topical division contains the searchable version of the latest edition of published dictionaries and encyclopedias. Additionally, information about Oxford University Press is provided. Online texts will be updated after new editions of the print monographs are published.Covers the humanities and social sciences.
Collection limited to subscribed 5-user access

Electronic Resource. This text is the standard for anthropology students and researchers alike and offers valuable information and advice to all social scientists interested in research methods and analysis... An absolute must for all libraries, classrooms, and individuals interested in this subject matter.

Smithsonian Global Sound provides over 35,000 tracks of music, natural sounds and spoken words, delivered via streaming audio. It includes performances of traditional musics from around the world, poetry readings, environmental sounds, and recordings by legendary folk, jazz and blues performers. Liner notes for many recordings are also available.

Social and Cultural Anthropology: The Key Concepts is an easy to use A-Z guide to the central disciplines students will encounter in this field. Fully updated, the second edition includes new entries on: aestheticsegalitarianismthe everydaylandscapepowerthe state. With full cross-referencing and revised further reading highlighting the latest writings in Social and Cultural Anthropology, this is the ideal resource for anyone studying or teaching this subject. Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

Governmental guidelines have forced a dramatic change in the practice of archaeological surveying. This book provides an introduction to students, field novices, and land managers on the strategies, methods, and logic of contemporary survey work. It is useful for an archaeological methods class, field school, or reference collection.

Kipfer, a lexicographer and author, provides a guide to information and materials needed when doing archeological fieldwork, compiled in one volume that can be carried while in the field. Aimed at students, amateurs, and professionals, the book covers classification and typology; sample forms and records; lists and checklists; mapping, drawing, and photographing settings and artifacts; measurements and conversion, including charts and using equipment; and planning and designing projects. Resources are listed in the final chapter, including organizations and journals, ethical guidelines, legislation, and government information. Chapters cover topics in alphabetical order; no index is supplied. Annotation #169;2007 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com) Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

Illustrated throughout with detailed photographs of excavated remains, this reference covers the craniodental remains from Africa and Asia attributed to the genus Homo. Arranged by continent and then organized alphabetically by site name, each entry features information on the morphology of the fossils and their location as well as a history of their discovery, an overview of previous descriptions and analyses, and a discussion of dating of the fossils and their geological, archaeological, and faunal contexts. References to the primary literature also are included. Schwartz teaches anthropology at the U. of Pittsburgh and Tattersall is with the American Museum of Natural History. Annotation (c)2003 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com) Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

This comprehensive two volume encyclopedia provides extensive coverage of important scientific terms related to improving our understanding of how we evolved.

Wiley/Blackwell Reference Online "is a vast new online library giving instant access to the most authoritative and up-to-date scholarship across the humanities and social sciences. With more than 350 reference volumes to be published in Blackwell Reference Online by the end of 2008, it is the largest academic reference collection available online and includes the critically-acclaimed Blackwell Companions and Handbooks, major reference works such as the Blackwell Encyclopedia of Management and the Companion to Syntax, and a whole host of other valuable reference materials such as dictionaries, encyclopedias and concise companions."