Skip to main content

Biology Guides

Detailed Guides

Course Guides

Related Guides

Top Article & Research Databases

Use article databases to find articles, reviews, book chapters, etc.

  • Scopus
    Scopus, a multidisciplinary online resource, will be invaluable to students and faculty in various fields of study within the sciences, health sciences and the social sciences. Scopus offers full-text linking, abstracting-and-indexing information including peer-reviewed titles from international publishers, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, quality web sources.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • BIOSIS Citation Index (Including Biological Abstracts)
    BIOSIS Citation Index is the world's most comprehensive reference database for life science research. It includes cited references to primary journal literature on vital biological research, medical research findings, and discoveries of new organisms. It also covers original research reports and reviews in traditional biological and biomedical areas.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Earth, Atmospheric, & Aquatic Science Database (ProQuest)
    The Earth, Atmospheric, & Aquatic Science Database is an interdisciplinary resource of quality, curated A&I combined with full-text content from scholarly journals, trade journals, conference proceedings, and other sources. The coverage extends Meteorological & Geoastrophysical Abstracts (MGA) by providing a sizable element of full-text access along with comprehensive discovery through the extensive abstracts and indexes structured using controlled vocabulary managed by expert editorial teams. For coverage of aquatic science, the collection features the entire range of bibliographic records from Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA).

    Content Types: Scholarly Journals, Trade Journals, Books, Conference Papers and Proceedings, Government & Official Publications, Magazines, Newspapers, Other Sources, Reports, Tables, Wire Feeds, Working Papers, Video and Audio.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA)
    Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA) "is a comprehensive database on the science, technology, and management of marine, brackishwater, and freshwater environments and resources."
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Wildlife & Ecology Studies Worldwide (EBSCO)
    Wildlife & Ecology Studies Worldwide, produced by NISC, indexes published literature (journals, monographs, proceedings of conferences and symposia, government reports, grey literature, books, theses, and dissertations) on wild mammals, birds, reptiles, and amphibians. Major topic areas include studies of individual species, habitat types, hunting, economics, wildlife behavior, management techniques, diseases, ecotourism, and zoology.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • PubMed
    PubMed is the U.S. National Library of Medicine's (NLM®) database of biomedical citations and abstracts. It includes MEDLINE, which covers over 4,800 journals published in the United States and more than 70 other countries primarily from 1966 to the present.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)
    Academic Search Premier is a multidisciplinary resource that "provides journal coverage for most academic areas of studies."
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Google Scholar
    Google Scholar searches a subset of the Web that Google has classified as "scholarly literature". They do not publish a list of chosen sites, and they do not state how often sites are checked. Some important sources are not covered at all. Thus, Google Scholar alone should not be relied on for comprehensive research.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.

(Showing 8 of 23 resources | View All Results)

 

Top Reference Materials

Find dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, and other materials

  • Dictionary of ecology, A
    "From acid rain, CFCs, and the greenhouse effect to the food-chain and the gene bank, Oxford's thoroughly up-to-date dictionary provides entries on all aspects of ecology and the environmental sciences. It covers a vast range of subjects, from plant and animal physiology, animal behaviour, evolution, environmental pollution, and conservation to climatology, meteorology, geomorphology, and oceanography. It includes developments in this rapidly evolving field, particularly in the areas of molecular ecology, conservation, and the management of habitats, and has biographical notes on eminent ecologists and other scientists."
    5 simultaneous users.
  • Dictionary of plant sciences, A
    "This is the most comprehensive and up-to-date dictionary of botany available. Drawing on the information contained in the acclaimed Oxford Dictionary of Natural History, the text has been fully revised to give wide coverage on topics including biochemistry, plant physiology, cytology, ecology, genetics, evolution, bio-geography, earth history, and the earth sciences. There is worldwide coverage of taxonomic groups - one-third of the entries are devoted to taxa, from bacteria and fungi to the main groups of flowering and non-flowering plants."
    5 simultaneous users.
  • Dictionary of zoology, A
    "This dictionary is a comprehensive and up-to-date reference work on all aspects of the study of animals for students and amateur naturalists. There is wide coverage of all relevant topics including animal behaviour, genetics, evolutionary studies, ecology, physiology, genetics, cytology, Earth history, and zoogeography."
    5 simultaneous users.
  • Encyclopedia of Genetics, Genomics, Proteomics and Bioinformatics
    Covering genetics, genomics, proteomics and bioinformatics, the focus is on the human and mouse genomes. Other important model eukaryotes, as well as pathogenic bacteria, are treated. Topics include Genetic Variation and Evolution, Epigenetics, The Human Genome, Expression Profiling, Proteome Families, Structural Proteomics, Gene Finding/Gene Structure, and Protein function and annotation.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Birds of the World (Formerly of North America)
    Birds of the World is a powerful research database that brings together deep, scholarly content from four celebrated works of ornithology (Birds of North America, The Handbook of Birds of the World, Neotropical Birds, and Bird Families of the World) with millions of bird observations from eBird and multimedia from the Macaulay Library into a single platform where biologists and birders can explore comprehensive life history information on birds.

    An in-depth overview of Birds of the World features can be found here.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.

(Showing 5 of 20 resources | View All Results)

 

More Information