Article & Research Databases for Chemistry

Use article databases to find articles, reviews, book chapters, etc.

  • American Chemical Society (ACS)
    The American Chemical Society promotes research and the advancement of knowledge in Chemistry and Chemistry-related fields. This resource provides us with access to approximately 46 journals.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Chemical Abstracts (SciFinder Web)
    Produced by the American Chemical Society, this is considered to be the most current and comprehensive information source for literature in chemistry and related sciences such as: proteomics, genomics, biochemistry, biochemical genetics, engineering and physics.
    Unlimited simultaneous users
  • ChemSpider

    A free resource from the Royal Siciety of Chemistry.   It allows structure or keyword searching searching.  It will then link to articles from RSC journals or from Google Scholar.

  • Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
    The Directory of Open Access Journals provides access to over 1300 open access journals in an attempt "to increase the visibility and ease of use of open access scientific and scholarly journals thereby promoting their increased usage and impact. The Directory aims to be comprehensive and cover all open access scientific and scholarly journals that use a quality control system to guarantee the content."
    Access controls to fulltext varies by title and some may require personal registration.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Google Scholar
    Google Scholar searches a subset of the Web that Google has classified as "scholarly literature". They do not publish a list of chosen sites, and they do not state how often sites are checked. Some important sources are not covered at all. Thus, Google Scholar alone should not be relied on for comprehensive research.
    By accessing Google Scholar via the UNB Libraries website, you benefit from technology that lets on-campus and off-campus users connect directly to full-text articles in journals to which UNB subscribes. Just click on the blue Title link in the Google result list.
    Off-campus users can also set Scholar Preferences to show the "Check for fulltext @ UNB" link in search results. See "Scholar Preferences" at the Google Scholar site.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Inspec (Engineering Village)
    "Inspec is the world’s leading bibliographic database, providing comprehensive access to the world's scientific and technical literature in physics, electrical engineering, electronics, communications, control engineering, computers, computing, information technology, manufacturing, production and mechanical engineering. First published in 1898 as the Scientific Abstracts, Inspec now contains close to 10 million bibliographic records taken from more than 3850 scientific and technical journals and 2200 conference proceedings, as well as numerous books, reports, dissertations and patents, many with full-text linking."
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • MSDS plus CHEMINFO
    The MSDS database gives access to the most up-to-date (approximately 120,000) Material Safety Data Sheets from 600 North American manufacturers and suppliers. The MSDSs are contributed by North American sources, many from multi-national companies which market chemical products world-wide. MSDS records contain information such as: chemical and physical properties, health hazards, first aid recommendations, personal protection,fire and reactivity data, spill and disposal procedures, and storage and handling. The database can be searched for product names and other product identification, manufacturer or supplier names, date of MSDS, or any term used in the text of the MSDS itself. CHEMINFO provides summarized occupational health and safety information on chemicals. Produced by CCOHS occupational health and safety specialists, each chemical profile uses non-technical language to describe potential workplace hazards and control measures including: a detailed evaluation of health, fire and reactivity hazards, recommendations on topics such as handling and storage personal protective equipment, accidental release, first aid, and hazard classifications for WHMIS, OSHA and the European Union (EU).
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • pubChem

    "PubChem, released in 2004, provides information on the biological activities of small molecules. PubChem is organized as three linked databases within the NCBI's Entrez information retrieval system. These are PubChem Substance, PubChem Compound, and PubChem BioAssay. PubChem also provides a fast chemical structure similarity search tool. More information about using each component database may be found using the links in the homepage."

  • PubMed
    PubMed is the U.S. National Library of Medicine's (NLM®) database of biomedical citations and abstracts. It includes MEDLINE, which covers over 4,800 journals published in the United States and more than 70 other countries primarily from 1966 to the present.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Royal Society of Chemistry (RSC)
    Provides access to a variety of scholarly journals in chemistry and chemistry-related fields.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • RTECS (Registry of Toxic Effects of Chemical Substances)
    RTECS® contains critical toxicological information with citations to over 150,000 chemical substances from more than 2,500 sources, including: international journals, textbooks,technical reports, scientific proceedings and compendia. CCOHS has also added options to search for 400,000+ chemical names and synonyms plus the 120,000+ unique CAS numbers found in RTECS®.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Science Direct
    Science Direct offers comprehensive coverage of literature across all fields of science, medicine and technology. All previous ScienceDirect journal collections have been merged into this single collection.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • SciFinder Web (Chemical Abstracts, CAS React, CAS Registry)
    SciFinder provides access to Chemical Abstracts from 1907 to the present, the CAS Registry and the CAS React databases.
    Unlimited simultaneous users
  • Scopus
    Scopus, a new multidisciplinary online resource, will be invaluable to students and faculty in various fields of study within the sciences, health sciences and the social sciences. Scopus offers full-text linking, abstracting-and-indexing information and provides access to over 66 million abstracts dating back to 1966.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.