Article & Research Databases for Economics

Use article databases to find articles, reviews, book chapters, etc.

  • ABI/INFORM Complete (ProQuest)
    Indexing, abstracts, and full-text of scholarly and trade journal articles in business, management, and trade. Also covers dissertations, SSRN working papers, market reports, industry reports, business cases, local and regional business information, and global and trade news. Includes full text of The Wall Street Journal and digital images of selected key business journals from the first issue to the present. ABI Help Guide
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Academic Search Premier
    Academic Search Premier is a multidisciplinary resource that "provides journal coverage for most academic areas of study."
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • American Economic Association
    A collection of economic related journals from the American Economic Association.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Annual Reviews
    Annual Reviews publishes "authoritative, analytic reviews in 29 focused disciplines within the Biomedical, Physical, and Social Sciences."
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Business Source Premier
    Business Source Premier provides full text for more than 3,700 scholarly business journals and other sources. Coverage includes virtually all subject areas related to business. BSP provides full text (PDF) for more than 350 of the top scholarly journals dating as far back as 1922.
    --- Try EBSCO's specialized Business Searching Interface for Business Source Premier. ---
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Canadian Business and Current Affairs (CBCA) Complete (ProQuest)
    Canadian Business and Current Affairs (CBCA) Complete is the nation's largest and most comprehensive bibliographic full-text reference and current events database. Available through the ProQuest Web interface, CBCA Complete combines full text and indexed content from all four CBCA database subsets (Business, Current Events, Education, and Reference). Subject coverage is comprehensive and information is available from the broadest range of Canadian sources anywhere.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Canadian Newspapers FULLTEXT (Infomart)
    This database offers fulltext access to a variety of Canadian newspapers, (coverage dates vary by title). New Brunswick newspapers, The Daily Gleaner, The Telegraph Journal, and The Moncton Times Transcript have coverage from 1998-date.

    DURABLE LINKS TO PDFs
    ON-CAMPUS

    Upon viewing an article's full text there is a DOCUMENT TOOLS menu in the upper right corner allowing various modes of output/saving. Click “PDF Output” and a PDF should open in your browser. Copy that PDF link and paste it into a blank text file, email, etc. The link you copy needs to begin with http:// , like this: http://www.fpinfomart.ca/download/pdf/irvinglibrary_20141007_0827_gdqd_3.pdf
    Then copy/paste the proxy prefix to insert at the start of your URL to ensure ready access from any location, and save your link for future use, and/or copy/paste the link into a browser for access:
    https://login.proxy.hil.unb.ca/login?url=
    Sample: https://login.proxy.hil.unb.ca/login?url=http://www.fpinfomart.ca/download/pdf/irvinglibrary_20141007_0827_gdqd_3.pdf
    OFF-CAMPUS
    Upon viewing an article's full text there is a DOCUMENT TOOLS menu in the upper right corner allowing various modes of output/saving. Click “PDF Output” and a PDF should open in your browser. The URL is all set for access from any location so simply copy/save that PDF link for future reference.
    Sample: http://www.fpinfomart.ca.proxy.hil.unb.ca/download/pdf/irvinglibrary_20141007_0827_gdqd_3.pdf

    For assistance, please contact library staff at:
    The Harriet Irving Library, Tel: 506-453-3546, Email: askus@unb.ca
    Science and Forestry Library: Tel: 506-453-4601, Email: scilib@unb.ca
    Engineering Library: Tel: 506-453-4747, Email: englib@unb.ca
    CONTENT IS PROTECTED BY COPYRIGHT AND IS LICENSED ONLY FOR YOUR PERSONAL USE. ALL OTHER RIGHTS ARE RESERVED. THE CONTENT MAY NOT BE REPRODUCED, RETRANSMITTED, DISSEMINATED, SOLD, DISTRIBUTED, PUBLISHED; BROADCAST, OR CIRCULATED WITHOUT THE PRIOR WRITTEN CONSENT OF CANWEST INTERACTIVE. TO LEARN MORE ABOUT BUSINESS AND CORPORATE SUBSCRIPTIONS PLEASE CONTACT FPINFOMART.CA AT 1-800-661-7678
    4 Simultaneous Users
  • Canadian Periodicals Index Quarterly (CPI.Q)
    Indexes over 400 Canadian periodicals (English and French) with full-text and reports from 165 periodicals.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Dissertations & Theses (ProQuest PQDT: formerly Digital Dissertations)
    ProQuest Dissertations and Theses (formerly Digital Dissertations) "is the single, authoritative source for information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses. The database represents the work of authors from over 1,000 graduate schools and universities."
    All PhD dissertations and Master's theses from depositing universities are available from 1997 onwards, unless the document's author has requested a temporary delay.
    It is also possible to search within an interface exclusive to Dissertations & Theses @ University of New Brunswick.

    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Econlit
    Produced by the American Economic Association, EconLit is a bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts more than 700 international economic journals back to 1969. The database contains over one million records and is considered the foremost source for journal articles, books, dissertations. book reviews, and working papers in the field of Economics.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Films on Demand
    Note: UNB Libraries subscribes to the Master Academic Collection and FMG Archival Films & Newsreels Collection. Not all films listed are viewable. Videos are in Flash format. Includes 5,500+ educational titles and over 60,000 video segments licensed for use in Canada, covering a broad range of subjects including business, social sciences, education, health and medicine, humanities, sciences, and guidance, and including archival films and newsreels.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Financial times (FT.com)
    UNB has purchased a premium online subscription to FT.com which provides our academic community with the current Financial Times newspaper, the latest international business, finance, economic and political news, analysis, data, tools, plus RSS feeds. Users can also view the Financial Times on mobile devices by downloading their apps: http://apps.ft.com
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • First Research - Industry Profiles (Mergent Intellect)
    First Research offers knowledge tools (Industry Profiles and State & Provincial Profiles) that are essential for enhancing presentations and learning about key issues within 1000+ U.S. and Canadian industries. Canadian Industries: Select the International/Global Content tab on the Blue Navigation ribbon.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Google Scholar
    Google Scholar searches a subset of the Web that Google has classified as "scholarly literature". They do not publish a list of chosen sites, and they do not state how often sites are checked. Some important sources are not covered at all. Thus, Google Scholar alone should not be relied on for comprehensive research.
    By accessing Google Scholar via the UNB Libraries website, you benefit from technology that lets on-campus and off-campus users connect directly to full-text articles in journals to which UNB subscribes. Just click on the blue Title link in the Google result list.
    Off-campus users can also set Scholar Preferences to show the "Check for fulltext @ UNB" link in search results. See "Scholar Preferences" at the Google Scholar site.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Hoover's Online (D & B/Mergent ; FLASH REQUIRED FOR ACCESS)
    Hoover’s Online is a quality business database from Dun & Bradstreet (D& B) that offers reliable and comprehensive insight and analysis on more than 85 million companies, 100 million contacts, and 900 industry segments. Whether you are generating leads, researching companies and industries, or comparing competitive strategies, Hoover’s data provides some of the most up-to-date information available.
    10 simultaneous users only
  • IBISWorld - US/Canadian Industry Reports
    Our IBISWorld database contains a range of comprehensive industry reports that offer valuable insight into U.S. and Canadian industries. Industry analysis includes key statistics, market conditions and forecasts, supply chain information, and competitive landscape.
    US Industry Reports: The core collection has 30-40 page reports on more than 700 U.S. industries. The reports are written to the official North American Industry Classification System (NAICS).
    Canada Industry Reports: The Canadian collection has over 400 detailed research reports on a wide variety of Canadian industries with new reports added every month.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Infomart (formerly FPinfomart.ca)
    Infomart provides access to a wide range of Financial Post (FP) electronic products including the Analyser, Dividends, Profiler, and Reports databases. The FP site features historical, investor and industry reports for 500 of Canada's leading publicly-traded companies and supplies corporate information on all Canadian publicly-traded companies. In addition, Infomart allows you to retrieve, manipulate and analyse basic data for over 1400 companies. Also offers a personal name search function and a Directory of Directors.
    4 simultaneous users.
  • JSTOR Archival Collection
    JSTOR provides access to back issues of a variety of scholarly journals. UNB Libraries currently subscribes to the Arts & Sciences (I through X) collections, along with the Life Sciences and Ireland collections.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Kanopy
    Kanopy provides access to over 7,000 films covering a broad range of subjects courtesy of distributors such as the Criterion Collection, First Run Features, Green Planet Films, BBCActive, and many others.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Mergent Archives
    Mergent Archives provides access to a vast, indexed collection of historic corporate and industry-related documents covering over 100 countries and industries. Digitized content includes: Mergent (Moody’s) manuals (1909 -), Ford Equity Research Reports for over 4500 U.S. and Canadian companies, 85 years of annual reports beginning as early as 1925, and access to the entire collection of Mergent’s semi-annual industry reports (2003 -).
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Mergent Intellect
    Mergent Intellect is a web-based application powered by D&B/Hoover’s business datasets for over 100 million public and private North American/global companies. Alongside company research, the enhanced features of the Intellect interface offer users the opportunity to look up executives, build contact/mailing lists and perform market research queries. Use Mergent's Quick Tips and/or Help Guide to discover more about the features that Mergent Intellect provides.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Mergent Online
    Mergent Online provides access to financial data for over 25,000 public U.S. and international companies. Results include: company details/history, executives, ownership, key financials, equity pricing, reports, filings, news, competitors, plus a customized Report Builder. Company financial reports for up to 15 years can be downloaded via Excel spreadsheet software. Mergent also offers real-time access to company filings submitted to the SEC (U.S.) and SEDAR (Canada). Additional attributes include a Global Private Company database for over 20 million private companies, reports (industry or equity), economic indicators, and country profiles.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Million Dollar Database (D & B/Mergent)
    Million Dollar Database (MDDI) is a valuable source of global information from Dun & Bradstreet on 34 million private and public companies and their executives. MDDI offers comprehensive coverage on U.S. and Canadian businesses plus business profiles on firms in over 200 countries worldwide.
    Unlimited simultaneous users
  • NFB Campus (National Film Board of Canada)
    NFB Campus offers access to over 2,500 Canadian film productions, including 500 new titles added just for classroom use.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • OECD iLibrary
    NOTE: Content from 1998-2009 accessible to UNB Libraries. "OECD iLibrary is OECD's Online Library for Books, Papers and Statistics and the gateway to OECD's analysis and data. Once fully featured, OECD iLibrary will replace SourceOECD. OECD iLibrary users at subscribing institutions are able to conduct searches, retrieve listings of publications meeting the search criteria, and choose to download selected titles in various formats, or selected statistical data in spreadsheet format. Access is available for titles published from January 1998 onwards."--OECD iLibrary About page. OECD, based in Paris, is a forum permitting governments of industrialized democracies to study and formulate policies in all economic and social spheres.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Passport GMID (Global Market Information Database)
    Passport GMID is an international market research database and analysis tool from Euromonitor. The database contains business intelligence and reports across key industries, companies, markets, and consumers in more than 200 categories for 80 countries. Also available is research on lifestyle, demographic and socio-economic country data that spans 206 countries.
    Passport GMID User Guide PDF
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • PressDisplay - Newspapers From Around the World (Library Press Display)
    Thousands of newspapers, magazines, and other news sources from 100 countries in 60 different languages. News sources are searchable and current with up to a 60-day backfile at most -- access varies per news source.
    4 simultaneous users.
  • Public Affairs Information Service (PAIS) International and Archive (ProQuest)
    The PAIS International database contains references to journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies, microfiche, Internet material, and more. Newspapers and newsletters are not indexed. Also included in PAIS are the PAIS Archive and ProQuest Deep Indexing: Public Administration and Policy databases.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Science Direct
    Science Direct offers comprehensive coverage of literature across all fields of science, medicine and technology. All previous ScienceDirect journal collections have been merged into this single collection.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • SocINDEX with Full Text
    SocINDEX with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive and highest-quality sociology research database. Its extensive scope and content provide users with a wealth of extremely useful information encompassing the broad spectrum of sociological study. The database features more than 2.1 million records with subject headings from a 20,000+ term sociological thesaurus designed by subject experts and expert lexicographers. SocINDEX with Full Text contains full text for 890 journals dating back to 1908. This database also includes full text for more than 850 books and monographs, and full text for over 16,800 conference papers.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Statista
    Statista is a multidisciplinary database that aggregates information covering 80,000 topics. Access to data from over 18,000 sources covering 1.5 million statistics. All statistics can be directly downloaded in PNG, PDF, Excel, and PowerPoint formats. Data prepared according to academic citation standards, with a citation tool (APA, Chicago, Harvard, MLA, and Bluebook) and links to the original source for further research. Statista also covers industry reports, studies, forecasts, dossiers, digital market outlook , aesthetically pleasing infographics, and more.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Worldwide Political Science Abstracts (ProQuest)
    Worldwide Political Science Abstracts provides "citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration / policy."
    Unlimited simultaneous users.