Reference Materials for Education
Find dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, and other reference materials
- Action Research : a Guide for the Teacher Researcher [HIL-STACKS LB1028.24 .M55 2011]
- Aging in America A to Z [HIL-REF HQ1064 .U5 B379 2001]
A reporter for Congressional Quarterly's CQ Weekly provides an encyclopedia of the questions and potential answers facing seniors and their children now. In over 250 articles, she looks at public policy issues, and real-world problems of seniors and younger Americans who must care directly for parents or share indirectly in the economic and social cost. The cross-referencing is extensive. There is no bibliography Annotation c. Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com) Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.
- Aging in rural Canada : an annotated bibliography,1985-2005 [HIL-REF HQ1064 .C2 S87 2007]
- Arts-based research in education: foundations for practice [HIL-STACKS LB1028 .A68 2008]
Introduces readers to definitions and examples of arts-based educational research, presents tensions and questions in the field, and provides exercises for practice. This volume helps the reader understand what arts-based research is by tracing the history of the field and providing examples.
- Bilingual Education: a Reference Handbook [HIL-REF LC3731 .F45 2002]
Focuses on the purposes of bilingual education programs in schools and their historical development from the 1960s to the present.
- Blackwell Guide to the Philosophy of Education
see also [HIL-REF LB14.7 .B57 2002]
Philosophy of education has now established itself throughout the world as a theoretically significant and practically vital discipline. In this important survey, an international group of leading philosophers charts the development of the field in the twentieth century and points to important questions for its future.Each chapter has been written as a collaboration between authors in order to emphasize the diversity of thought, and where appropriate, the dissent and debate that is intrinsic to the field. The contributors explore social and cultural theories, politics and education, philosophy as education, teaching and curriculum, and ethics and upbringing. The Blackwell Guide to Philosophy of Education is state-of-the-art map to the field as well as a valuable reference book. Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.
- Blackwell guide to the philosophy of education, The Publisher's description: In this important survey, an international group of leading philosophers chart the development of philosophy of education in the twentieth century and point to significant questions for its future. Presents a definitive introduction to the core areas of philosophy of education. Contains 20 newly-commissioned articles, all of which are written by internationally distinguished scholars. Each chapter reviews a problem, examines the current state of the discipline with respect to the topic, and discusses possible futures of the field. Provides a solid foundation for further study.
Unlimited simultaneous users
- Blackwell Reference Online WARNING: This resource loads slowly and may need a page reload. Blackwell Reference Online "is a vast new online library giving instant access to the most authoritative and up-to-date scholarship across the humanities and social sciences. With more than 350 reference volumes to be published in Blackwell Reference Online by the end of 2008, it is the largest academic reference collection available online and includes the critically-acclaimed Blackwell Companions and Handbooks, major reference works such as the Blackwell Encyclopedia of Management and the Companion to Syntax, and a whole host of other valuable reference materials such as dictionaries, encyclopedias and concise companions."
Unlimited simultaneous users.
- Cambridge Handbook of Age and Ageing, The [HIL-REF HQ1061 .C315 2005]
This informative handbook on aging emphasizes the social and behavioral sciences but also provides good coverage of material from the biological and medical sciences. The editors are respected professors of health and social policy, sociology, psychology, and medicine. Eighty chapters are divided into seven areas: introduction and overview, the aging body, the aging mind, the aging self, the aging of relationships, the aging of societies, and policies and provisions for older people. Clearly written scholarly discussions take an international perspective, addressing aging and the aged in developing and developed nations, and noting conceptual developments and recent research findings. Faculty, researchers, practitioners, and students will find the overviews and more detailed analyses very useful for both research and teaching. The chapters range from 5 to 25 pages, with lengthy bibliographies and suggestions for further reading. Black-and-white illustrations include figures, tables, and graphs. Readers may approach the chapters through the table of contents or a detailed alphabetical subject and author index. The well-known contributors come from 16 countries, and their current affiliations, largely universities, are listed at the beginning of this reasonably priced handbook. Summing Up: Highly recommended. All levels/libraries. Lower-division Undergraduates; Upper-division Undergraduates; Graduate Students; Researchers/Faculty; Professionals/Practitioners. Reviewed by C. Dobson. From: Syndetics Solutions, Inc. Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.
- Canadian Encyclopedia, The Free online encyclopedia, containing the full text of the print Canadian Encyclopedia, "the most comprehensive source of information on all things Canadian." Includes the full text of the Encyclopedia of Music in Canada.
Unlimited simultaneous users.
- Case study research: theory, methods, practice
Case Study Research: Theory, Methods and Practice looks at the research processes involved in conducting methods including participant observation, fuzzy set social science, system dynamics, decision systems analysis, forced metaphor elicitation technique, ethnographic decision tree modelling, mapping strategic thinking, the historical method, storytelling research and conversational analysis. The book reviews and applies the best literature on case study methods from several disciplines providing strong rationales for adopting case study research methods alone or in mixed-methods.
- Child Development [HIL-REF HQ772 .C436 2002]
"Child Development offers 296 illustrated articles examining contemporary issues in the field of child and adolescent development. It features the latest research on growth and development during the prenatal, infant, toddler, preschool, middle childhood and adolescent periods. Appendices include an annotated list of Web sties and 40 tables of current statistical data. Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.
- Companion to the anthropology of education This title is part of the Blackwell Reference Online e-book collection.
Unlimited simultaneous users.
- Companion to the philosophy of education, A This title is part of the Blackwell Reference Online e-book collection.
Unlimited simultaneous users
- Concise Encyclopedia of Special Education [HIL-REF LC4007 .E53 2002]
Now available in an affordable paperback edition, this is a revised edition of the highly acclaimed and definitive concise reference on special education. It includes alphabetized entries that cover the gamut of special education research and practice, featuring dozens of biographies, reviews of assessment instruments and teaching approaches, legal issues, overviews of specific learning disabilities, and more. Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.
- Curriculum Handbook: A Resource for Curriculum Administrators [HIL-REF LB2806.15 .C847 1999 vols. 1-2]
- Dictionary of Gerontology [HIL-REF HQ1061 .H338 1988]
- Dictionary of Multicultural Education
see also [HIL-REF LC1099 .D53 1997]
Multiculturalism is one of the most widely discussed concepts in education today. Now, educators, university students, scholars, or anyone interested in multiculturalism can turn to the Dictionary of Multicultural Education to gain further information on and understanding of this important field. As the authoritative reference work on the subject, the Dictionary includes in-depth explanations of the history, use, and implications of more than 150 terms as defined by scholars prominent in the field. This reference work comprises terms of relevant legislation, educational-theoretical concepts and methodologies, and sociopolitical movements and conditions. Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.
- Dictionary of psychology, A "Written by a leading authority, with the assistance of a distinguished team of advisory editors, this comprehensive dictionary is essential reading for professional psychologists, psychiatrists, counsellors, and students of psychology and related disciplines such as nursing, sociology, social work, and education. There is comprehensive coverage of phobias and phobic stimuli and mental disorders."
5 simultaneous users.
- Doing your research project: a guide for first-time researchers in education, health and social science
- Educating the Global Workforce: Knowledge, Knowledge Work and Knowledge Workers
see also [HIL-REF L101 .G8 Y4 2007]
The 2007 edition of this respected international volume considers the challenges facing work related education arising from the rapid expansion of the global economy and the impact of this on labour markets and individual workers.
- Education and Technology: An Encyclopedia [HIL-REF LB1028.3 .E17 2004 vols. 1-2]
A reference intended to help nonspecialists (parents, policymakers, professionals in other fields) understand how technology is being used in kindergarten through postsecondary education as well as in corporate and industrial training and distance education. The approximately 200 entries fall under seven major categories: foundations, implementation, issues, leaders, professional associations, projects, and research and theory. Co-editor Kovalchick directs the Center for Innovations in Technology for Learning, Ohio U., Athens; Dawson teaches educational technology at the U. of Florida, Gainesville. Annotation #169;2004 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com) Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.
- Educator's Desk Reference (EDR): A Sourcebook of Educational Information and Research
see also [HIL-REF LB1028.27 .U6 F74 2002]
This master guide facilitates educational research using both traditional and electronic sources.
- Encyclopedia of Aging : A Comprehensive Resource in Gerontology and Geriatrics (4th ed.) [HIL-REF HQ1061 .E53 2006 vol. 1-2]
The fourth edition of this excellent reference contains 200 new entries, reflecting the extent of developments in research and practice in the fields of geriatrics and gerontology. Written for specialists, though accessible to the lay reader, entries are included on such topics as ageism, alcohol use, ambulatory and outpatient care, caregiver burden, disengagement theory, and nutrition. Some topics are the subject of multiple articles, for example, long-term care (with entries on ethics, insurance, ombudsman program, placement, policy, regulation, and workforce) and memory (with entries on autobiographical, discourse, everyday, neurochemical correlates, remote, spatial, and working). There are 600 entries in all, each concluding with a list of references. The contributors are specialists in geriatrics, gerontology, public health, psychology, and nursing, among other fields, at universities and hospitals in the U.S. Schulz is the director of the University Center for Social and Urban Research and associate director of the Institute on Aging at the U. of Pittsburgh. Annotation #169;2006 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com) Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.
- Encyclopedia of Bilingualism and Bilingual Education [HIL-REF LC3707 .E53 1998]
This well-illustrated encyclopedia--with color and bandw photographs, graphics, maps, textboxes, and global examples--encompasses timely bilingualism-related topics and areas such as: information technology, the Internet, the economy, professions, religion, tourism, and language marketing. Entries are sorted into sections on the sociological and psychological aspects of individual bilingualism, languages in society, languages in contact in the world, and undoubtedly the most controversial in the US: bilingual education (including a discussion of the sometimes overlooked area of bilingual education for students with special needs). Includes a bibliography of approximately 2,000 references and an extensive glossary. Annotation copyrighted by Book News, Inc., Portland, OR Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.
- Encyclopedia of Curriculum Studies
see also [HIL-REF LB2806.15 .E48 2010 v.1-2]
Provides a comprehensive introduction to the academic field of curriculum studies for the scholar, student, teacher, and administrator by introducing terms, events, documents, biographies, and concepts.
- Encyclopedia of Death and Dying [HIL-REF HQ1073 .E543 2001]
The Encyclopedia of Death and Dying is the definitive reference source for death, dying and related concepts. Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.
- Encyclopedia of Gerontology (2nd edition) [HIL-REF RC952.5 .E58 2007 vols. 1-2]
Starred Review. With new and updated topics reflecting the dramatic research advancements and growth of interest in issues relating to all areas of gerontology, this second edition contains the most current and comprehensive information available on the subject. Birren (gerontology & psychology, emeritus, Univ. of California), a leading researcher in the field, returns as editor in chief. The 181 signed articles he includes approximately 40 more than in the 1996 edition are by noted scholars and researchers and address five broad areas of study: biology, psychology, the social sciences, the health sciences, and the humanities. Each of the articles, which average eight to ten pages in length, includes a glossary, a comprehensive overview of the topic, and suggestions for further reading. The entries are fully cross-referenced and cover myriad issues, e.g., abuse and neglect, bioenergetics, creativity, dementia, driving behavior, globalization, pharmacology, and wisdom. Intended for use by both students and research professionals, this work is nonetheless highly accessible for interested general readers. As an aging baby boomer with elderly parents, this reviewer found the entries to be especially readable, informative, and useful. Bottom Line While MacMillan's Encyclopedia of Aging (2002) is a frequently recommended gerontology resource, its concise and short articles don't begin to provide the level of information and research offered here. Highly recommended for all academic, public, and medical libraries; those owning the previous edition will also want to purchase. [Available online via ScienceDirect (www.info.sciencedirect.com). Ed.] Elizabeth M. Wavle, Elmira Coll. Lib., NY Copyright © Reed Business Information, a division of Reed Elsevier Inc. All rights reserved. From: Reed Elsevier Inc. Copyright Reed Business Information
- Encyclopedia of Learning Disabilities [HIL-REF LC4704.5 .T86 2002]
This update of the 2002 edition is introduced by Harris (psychologist, South Carolina Department of Juvenile Justice; Converse College), who traces the history and changing terminology and criteria for what is now called learning disabilities. He and Turkington (a medical writer/editor) present some 600 entries covering key topics from 'ability grouping' to 'zone of proximal development.' Entries treat the latest legislation, assistive technology, assessment and educational approaches. The encyclopedia includes a glossary and an outstanding resource directory including government and other national sources of information and aid; assistive technology sources; hotlines; and print literature for those with LD, professionals, and parents. Annotation #169;2006 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com) Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.
- Encyclopedia of school psychology [HIL-REF LB1027.55 .E523 2005]
Lee (U. of Kansas) emphasizes the role of school psychologists as consultants, and one of this encyclopedia's goals is to introduce non-specialists to the scope of psychology applied to education. It can also serve as a reference for practitioners and vocational counselors. For ease of use, the comprehensive contents are listed both alphabetically and by subject area. About 250 entries by a large team of contributors from relevant disciples cover topics from assessment to technology. Some topics that general readers may not expect include diseases such as cancer and HIV/AIDS, divorce adjustment, and home schooling. Entries, some enhanced by case examples and summary tables, are referenced and cross-referenced. Annotation #169;2004 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com) Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.
- Encyclopedia of Special Education: A Reference for the Education of Children, Adolescents, and Adults with Disabilities and Other Exceptional Individuals [HIL-REF LC4007 .E53 2007 vols. 1-3]
The "Third Edition" of the highly acclaimed "Encyclopedia of Special Education" has been thoroughly updated to include the latest information about new legislation and guidelines. In addition, this comprehensive resource features school psychology, neuropsychology, reviews of new tests and curricula that have been developed since publication of the second edition in 1999, and new biographies of important figures in special education. Unique in focus, the "Encyclopedia of Special Education, Third Edition" addresses issues of importance ranging from theory to practice and is a critical reference for researchers as well as those working in the special education field. Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.
- Encyclopedia of the social and cultural foundations of education [HIL-REF LB17 .E53 2009 v.1-3]
The Encyclopedia of the Social and Cultural Foundations of Education provides a comprehensive introduction to this major discipline supported by documentary, photographic, and visual resources.
- Functional Approach to Educational Research Methods and Statistics : Qualitative, Quantitative, and Mixed Methods Approaches, A
An engaging and informative text on educational research and statistics, this book tries to utilize outcomes of research for the benefit of humanity. The text examines how research is conducted across the major traditions of educational research (quantitative, qualitative, and mixed methods). It is designed for graduate students who want to pursue statistics, and it will help them to write their thesis. The book fulfills a need for a systematic account of research concepts and the use of statistics for advanced students. The fact is that research involves interrelated activities and educators practice research following a general sequence of procedures. This book is demarcated into sections that reflect each step in the process of doing a study.
- Handbook of Adult Development [multiple locations HIL-REF BF724.5 .H36 2003]
Includes sections on introductory theory and method, biocognitive development in adulthood, and social development in adulthood. By soliciting contributions from leading theoreticians and researchers in the field of adult development, this volume presents theory and research on this subfield of developmental psychology.
- Handbook of Aging and the Social Sciences
see also [HIL-REF HQ1061 .H336 2016]
The Handbook of Aging and the Social Sciences, Sixth Edition provides a comprehensive summary and evaluation of recent research on the social aspects of aging. The 25 chapters are divided into four sections discussing Aging and Time, Aging and Social Structure, Social Factors and Social Institutions, and Aging and Society. Within this context, aging is examined from the perspectives of many disciplines and professions including anthropology, bioethics, demography, economics, epidemiology, law, political science, psychology, and sociology.
- Handbook of Communication and Aging [HIL-REF HQ1061 .H3365 2004]
This second edition of the "Handbook of Communication and Aging Research" captures the ever-changing and expanding domain of aging research. Much like the first edition, this handbook sets out to demonstrate that aging is not only an individual proc Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.
- Handbook of Complementary Methods in Education Research [HIL-REF LB1028 .C577 2006]
In this successor to Complementary Methods for Research in Education (1987), Green (U. of California., Santa Barbara) and colleagues at other U.S. universities introduce this volume as a continuation of the commitment by the American Educational Research Association to professional development. The editors launch the 46 chapters by addressing "what's complementary about complementary methods" in education research, emphasizing epistemic and methodological plurality. Other contributors address the field's philosophical, epistemological, and ethical issues; range of quantitative and qualitative methods; theory-to-practice challenges; and the impact of policy on education. Annotation #169;2006 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com) Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.
- Handbook of Counseling and Psychotherapy in an International Context [HIL-REF BF636.6 .M66 2013]
The spread of globalisation and a rise in immigration have increased the need for mental health practitioners to be able to interact effectively with people of different cultures. This book addresses this need by exploring the history, philosophy, processes, and trends in counselling and psychotherapy in countries around the world.
- Handbook of Counseling Psychology [HIL-REF BF637 .C6 H315 2000]
The bestselling reference on counseling psychology in clinical and educational settings Following on the success of the previous editions, this updated and expanded Third Edition of the Handbook of Counseling Psychology provides a cross-disciplinary survey of the entire field and offers analysis of important areas of counseling psychology activity. The book elaborates on future directions for research, highlighting suggestions that may advance knowledge and stimulate further inquiry. And specific advice is presented from the literature in counseling psychology and related disciplines to help improve one's counseling practice. Based on the results of extensive surveys from leading scholars, this edition has been updated to reflect the field's current breadth and vigor. New and expanded coverage has been added on cultural issues, new scientific developments, and career and educational topics. Focus is placed on the latest state-of-the-art thinking and research on the developmental and counseling implications of gender, race, ethnicity, sexual orientation, social class, and culture. Plus, several new chapters have been added that reflect relatively new, reinvigorated, or substantially expanded areas of involvement by counseling psychologists. These topics include: Qualitative research methods Preventive interventions with school-age youth Promoting school-to-work transitions The process and outcome of group counseling The process and outcome of couples and family counseling The Handbook of Counseling Psychology contains chapters written by today's key figures in counseling psychology. Their work has helped this book become a leading resource of counseling psychologists who need to know the latest information on preventing and treating vocational, educational, and personal adjustment problems. Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.
- Handbook of Counseling, The [HIL-REF BF637 .C6 H365 2001]
Intended as a resource for counselors, educators, and student counselors, as well as for library reference purposes, this volume contains 44 chapters written primarily by professors of counseling, educational psychology, and other fields. It is organized into five sections addressing the profession of counseling; the theoretical foundations in the field; settings and interventions in which counselors commonly work; important research issues and the broader value of research; critical issues and emerging topics; and a conclusion addressing the political and social issues facing the profession. Annotation c. Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com) Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.
- Handbook of education and human development new models of learning, teaching, and schooling, The This title is part of the Blackwell Reference Online e-book collection.
Unlimited simultaneous users
- Handbook of Education Policy Research [HIL-REF LC71 .H363 2009]
Written for scholars and graduate students in education policy, as well as individuals in policy research, this handbook sponsored by the American Educational Research Association addresses the role that research can play in helping school administrators, governmental leaders, and higher-education policy makers in decision making, in addition to explaining the theoretical boundaries and methodological approaches used in K-12 and higher education policy research.
- Handbook of Educational Psychology [HIL-REF LB1051 .H2354 2006]
In this update of the 1996 compendium sponsored by Division 15 of the American Psychological Association, said to be the first single volume reference in educational psychology, Alexander (U. of Maryland) and Winne (Simon Fraser U.), continue D. C. Berliner and R.C. Calfee's tradition of presenting the latest information on the foundations of and trends in this increasingly diverse field. Berliner overviews its history and offers opinions on what directions it should take. International contributors survey advances in the understanding of learning, research methodologies (including use of the Internet), and assessment. Annotation #169;2006 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com) Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.
- Handbook of Emotional and Behavioural Difficulties [HIL-REF LC4801 .H345 2005]
Clough (education, Queen's University, UK) provides an overview of theoretical and philosophical approaches to pupils with emotional and behavioral difficulties (EBDs) and their realization in both policy and provision. Contributions from significant authors in the field of EBDs are organized in sections on context and terminology, roots and causes, strategies and interventions, and points of tension and development. Specific topics include building school-wide behavior interventions, teaching social skills to students with specific EBDs, and the educational relevance of a biopsychosocial perspective. Annotation #169;2004 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com) Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.
- Handbook of Gifted Education [HIL-REF LC3993.9 .H35 2003]
Written by well-known scholars in the field, Handbook of Gifted Education is the most complete text in the field of gifted education and contains an excellent balance of research and practical applications.
- Handbook of Health Psychology and Aging [HIL-REF RA564.8 .H36 2007]
A behavioral scientist at the National Institutes of Health notes the shift in emphasis in treating aging from acute illnesses to the complex interaction of biological and psychosocial factors. In 20 chapters organized by theoretical, biological, and psychosocial aspects, Aldwin (human development and family services, Oregon State U.) and contributors treat emerging themes in aging research including multidisciplinary lifespan theories, "turning points" providing opportunities for change, individual differences in development, and the importance of psychosocial factors in aging. Though the authors all hail from the US, cultural factors in aging and health services are addressed. Annotation #169;2007 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com) Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.
- Handbook of Learning Disabilities [HIL-REF LC4704 .H364 2006]
This comprehensive handbook reviews the major theoretical, methodological, and instructional advances that have occurred in the field of learning disabilities over the last 20 years. With contributions from leading researchers, the volume synthesizes a vast body of knowledge on the nature of learning disabilities, their relationship to basic psychological and brain processes, and how students with these difficulties can best be identified and treated. Findings are reviewed on ways to support student performance in specific skill areas--including language arts, math, science, and social studies--as well as general principles of effective instruction that cut across academic domains. Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.
- Handbook of Online Learning: Innovations in Higher Education and Corporate Training [HIL-REF LB2395.7 .R83 2002] Chronicle of Higher Education article about the handbook: http: //chronicle.com/free/2002/08/2002081301t.htm" "The Fielding Institute authors apply an impressive wealth of organizational management theory and experience in their analyses of computer-mediated teaching and learning. The result is an enjoyable-to-read, fresh and lively book, delivering an abundance of ideas about how to establish a supportive learning environment, design a well structured course and manage electronically mediated dialog, -- in other words, how to successfully facilitate learning in the new context of on-line distance education." #62; Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.Table of Contents
- Handbook of prosocial education [HIL-REF LB1072 .H36 2012 v. 1-2] "This handbook is the first definitive source on character education, social-emotional learning, and school climate improvement. Each chapter includes discussion of practices and models of education as well as theory and research that grounds these approaches. Case studies add the voices and insights of practitioners with experience in adopting, implementing, and evaluating prosocial education school reform strategies"
- Handbook of Research in Second Language Teaching and Learning [HIL-REF P118.2 .H359 2005]
Sixty-nine international academics contribute 57 chapters to a broad- based, state-of-the-art overview of current knowledge and research in second language (L2) teaching and learning. Coverage includes social contexts of learning; research methodologies in learning, acquisition, and teaching; contributions of applied linguistics to the teaching and learning of discrete and inextricably intertwined L2 skills; L2 processes and development; teaching methods and curricula; second or foreign language testing and assessment; and language planning and policies. For researchers, practitioners, graduate students, and faculty in teacher education and applied linguistics programs; teachers; teacher trainers and trainees; curriculum and material developers; and others in the field of L2 teaching and learning. Annotation #169;2004 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com) Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.
- Handbook of research in social studies education [HIL-REF LB1584 .H2748 2008]
Civic competence is a fundamental goal of social studies, but opinions about how to build a curriculum that
will result in such competence vary widely. This edition, which has been completely updated to include the
latest thought and methodology, includes new research, National Council for the Social Studies standards, and
emerging fields. The 19 articles, including a comprehensive introduction, describe continuity and change in
social studies curricula, early elementary social studies, research on K-12 social studies practice,
democratic citizenship education, international political socialization research, learning through service,
controversial issues and democratic discourse, diversity and citizenship education, social justice in social
studies, gender and sexuality, global education, assessment and accountability, research on students' ideas
about history and on K-12 geography education, the teaching of pre-collegiate economics, technology, teacher
preparation and professional development.
- Handbook of Research on Multicultural Education (2nd ed.) [HIL-REF LC1099.3 .H35 2004]
The second edition of the award-winning Handbook of Research on Multicultural Education brings together in one volume the major research and scholarship related to multicultural education that have developed since the field emerged more than forty years ago. This essential resource includes discussions and summaries of research using experimental and quasi-experimental designs, historical and philosophical inquiry, ethnographic studies, case studies, survey research, scholarship broadly defined, and insights gained from practice. A comprehensive resource, the Handbook of Research on Multicultural Education assembles the most distinguished and recognized scholars conducting research in a range of disciplines that comprise the foundations of multicultural education. In this second edition, twenty-nine classic chapters have been revised and updated and twenty new chapters have been added to reflect how the field has evolved since the first edition of the Handbook was published in 1995. This landmark volume describes and analyzes changes such as increased immigration to the United States and new developments in theory and research related to race, culture, ethnicity, and language. It addresses new issues such as findings on the increase in the number of interracial children and the characteristics of children of immigrant families. The educational implications of new research and trends are also discussed. The Handbook's forty-nine chapters are divided into twelve parts that clarify the meaning and boundaries of multicultural education. Topics covered include trends and developments, ethnic groups in historical and social science research, language issues, academic achievement, higher education, and international perspectives on multicultural education. The volume also offers comprehensive and balanced analyses of key controversies and debates in the field. Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.
- Handbook of Test Development [HIL-REF LB3051 .H31987 2006]
Encyclopedic in scope, this research-oriented handbook serves both developers and consumers by considering the behind the practice and making both accessible. The 32 articles work as chapters, covering the foundations (such as effective development, standards, contracting for test services, evidence-centered design, and preventing fraud), content (validity evidence, credentialing examinations) item development (computer item banking, editing and review, fairness), test design (practical issues, vertical scales, pass-fail tests), test protection and administration and post-test activities such as technical reporting and evaluation. Each chapter includes a comprehensive bibliography and the editors have provided author and subject indices. One of the most interesting chapters addresses the issue of consumer-accessible item and prompt development. Annotation #169;2006 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com) Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.
- Integrating Teaching, Learning, and Action Research : Enhancing Instruction in the K-12 Classroom
Helping teachers engage K–12 students as participatory researchers to accomplish highly effective learning outcomes Integrating Teaching, Learning, and Action Research: Enhancing Instruction in the K–12 Classroom demonstrates how teachers can use action research as an integral component of teaching and learning. The text uses examples and lesson plans to demonstrate how student research processes can be incorporated into classroom lessons that are linked to standards.
- International Encyclopedia of Adult Education [HIL-REF LC5211 .I56 2005]
English (adult education, St. Francis Xavier University, Canada) compiles 171 entries, by authors on six continents, in this reference for scholars, graduate students, and practitioners in adult education. Contributors define the field and raise key questions for the 21st century, exploring terms, theories, movements, and concepts in the field, as well as strategies, institutions and organizations, and areas of practice. Entries are 1,000-3,000 words long, and include cross-references and extensive bibliographies. Annotation #169;2005 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com) Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.
- International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences (2nd Ed.)
see also [HIL-REF H41 .I58 2001 vols. 1-26]Fully revised and updated, the second edition of the International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences, first published in 2001, offers a source of social and behavioral sciences reference material that is broader and deeper than any other. Available in both print and online editions, it comprises over 3,900 articles, commissioned by 71 Section Editors, and includes 90,000 bibliographic references as well as comprehensive name and subject indexes.
UNB has online access to the 2001 edition as well as owning print volumes of the earlier edition.
Unlimited simultaneous users.
- International Handbook of Educational Policy
see also [HIL-REF LC71 .I492 2005 vols. 1-2]
This Handbook presents contemporary and emergent trends in educational policy research, in over fifty chapters written by nearly ninety leading researchers from a number of countries. It is organized into five broad sections which capture many of the current dominant educational policy foci and at the same time situate current understandings historically, in terms of both how they are conceptualized and in terms of past policy practice.
- International Handbook of Higher Education
see also [HIL-REF LB2322.2 .I58 2006 pts. 1-2]
The purpose of this publication is to provide a central, authoritative reference source on the most essential topics of higher education. The International Handbook of Higher Education combines a rich diversity of scholarly perspectives with a wide range of internationally derived descriptions and analyses. Chapters in the first volume cover central themes in the study of higher education, while contributors to the second volume focus on contemporary higher education issues within specific countries or regions.
- International Handbook of Information Technology in Primary and Secondary Education
The International Handbook on Information Technology in Primary and Secondary Education provides researchers, policy makers and practitioners with an integrated and detailed overview of this complex field, making it an essential reference for all libraries and educators.
- International Handbook of Student Experience in Elementary & Secondary School
see also [HIL-REF LC210 .I58 2007]
The International Handbook of Student Experience in Elementary and Secondary School is the first handbook of its kind to be published. It brings together in a single volume the groundbreaking work of scholars who have conducted studies of student experiences of school in Afghanistan, Australia, Canada, England, Ghana, Ireland, Pakistan, and the United States. Drawing extensively on students' interpretations of their experiences in school as expressed in their own words, chapter authors offer insights into how students conceptualize and approach school, how students understand and address the ongoing social opportunities for and challenges in working with other students and teachers, and the multiple ways in which students shape and contribute to school improvement. The individual chapters are framed by an opening chapter, which provides background on, bases of, and trends in research on students' experiences of school, and a final chapter, which uses the interpretive framework translation provides to explore how researching students' experiences of school challenges those involved to translate the qualitative research methods they use, the terms they evoke to describe and define students' experiences of schools, and, in fact, themselves as researchers. Book jacket. Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.
- International Handbook of the Religious, Moral and Spiritual Dimensions in Education
This International Handbook presents the research and professional practice of scholars who are daily engaged in the consideration of these dimensions in education. The result is a collection of essays which reflects the discipline, in all of its internationality, as it is today. Embedded within the chapters is also an agenda for the future, where the religious, moral and spiritual dimensions in education are proposed as an exciting and challenging way forward for educators at all levels in society.
- International Handbook of Urban Education
What has emerged from recent work to improve urban schools is the insight that there is no one-size-fits-all panacea. Rather, we have discovered that the local context shapes, in critically important ways, what will be effective at the school level. The universality of the problematics with urban education, together with the importance of understanding the local, or situated, context of improvement interventions, brings into sharp focus the importance and timeliness of an undertaking like the International Handbook of Urban Education.
- International Handbook on Globalisation, Education and Policy Research: Global Pedagogies and Policies
The aim of this Handbook is to present a global overview of developments in education and policy change during the last decade. It has the objective of providing both a strategic education policy statement on recent shifts in education and policy research globally and offers new approaches to further exploration, development and improvement of education and policy making.
- KI-ES-KI Handbook/Directory of Key Contacts in Canadian Education [HIL-RFDSK (ask at Research Help Desk) LB2890 .C36 2012]
- Literacy and Bilingualism: A Handbook for All Teachers [HIL-STACKS LC3731 .B684 2007]
Brisk (Boston College) and Harrington (Providence Public Schools) present an updated handbook applying proven techniques, based on working with bilingual learners, to teaching literacy in the 21st century. Complete and straightforward instructions are accompanied by accounts of teachers experimenting with a variety of approaches to enliven instruction in reading and writing native as well as second languages. The second edition includes five new approaches and their classroom implementation; additional information in each chapter introduction addressing its theme; new material on language, culture, and literacy development for students completely new to English; and annotated bibliographies with sample books to support theory within language and content area classes. For K-12 teachers in any type of classroom where bilingualism plays a role. Annotation #169;2007 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com) Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.
- Literature Online Literature Online offers full text access to rare and inacessible works, up-to-date, reference resources, in addition to the full text of poetry, drama, and prose fiction from the seventh century to the present day. Materials are included from almost every period and genre of English literature as well as many works by 20th century authors. Contemporary criticism is available through the Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (ABELL).
Unlimited simultaneous users.
- Mental Measurements Yearbook (MMY) " Produced by the Buros Institute of Mental Measurements at the University of Nebraska, the Mental Measurements Yearbook™ (MMY) provides users with a comprehensive guide to over 2,000 contemporary testing instruments. Designed for an audience ranging from novice test consumers to experienced professionals, the MMY series contains information essential for a complete evaluation of test products within such diverse areas as psychology, education, business, and leadership. All MMY entries contain descriptive information (e.g., test purpose, publisher, pricing) and edited review(s) written by leading content area experts. To be included in the MMY, a test must be commercially available, be published in the English language, and be new or revised since it last appeared in the series. First published by Oscar K. Buros, the MMY series allows users to make knowledgeable judgments and informed selection decisions about the increasingly complex world of testing. MMY provides coverage from Volume 9 to the present."
4 simultaneous users.
- Multicultural Education: Issues and Perspectives [HIL-REF LC1099.3 .M85 2007]
- New approaches to qualitative research: wisdom and uncertainty [HIL-STACKS LB1028 .N364 2010]
In this book, the authors take the stance that qualitative research is a broad approach that encompasses and even encourages difference and uncertainty, and here at last they provide a route-map to this uncertain but fruitful line of inquiry. This vital text is ideal for professional researchers, final-year undergraduates and postgraduates in a range of subject areas.
- Oxford English Dictionary (OED Online) "This unique and powerful resource offers unprecedented access to the definitive record of the meaning, history and evolution of more than 600,000 words over the last 1,500 years." A complete text of the 2nd. ed. of the Oxford English dictionary with quarterly updates, including revisions not available in any other form.
5 simultaneous users.
- Oxford Reference Multi-part database of the online versions of Oxford University Press texts. Each topical division contains the searchable version of the latest edition of published dictionaries and encyclopedias. Additionally, information about Oxford University Press is provided. Online texts will be updated after new editions of the print monographs are published. Covers the humanities and social sciences.
5 simultaneous users.
- Planning your qualitative research project: an introduction to interpretive research in education
This is a key text for any student embarking on a qualitative research project, it provides worked examples and valuable models which can be used as guides for plans and proposals, answering key questions and providing a comprehensive guide to a student’s project.
- Praeger Handbook of Education and Psychology [HIL-REF LB1051 .P635 2007 v.1-4]
Discusses such topics as cognition, mind, counseling psychology, lesson plans, learning styles, and Vygotsky. This work, a rethinking of school psychology, serves as a useful resource for educators, parents, psychologist, and others. It combines traditional knowledge with contemporary insights into the nature of modern schools and students.
- Psychology of Classroom Learning: an Encyclopedia [HIL-REF LB1060 .P89 2009 v.1-2]
Uniquely focused on the teacher-student dynamic, the Psychology of Classroom Learning: An Encyclopedia examines the fundamental psychological aspects of learning such as cognition, motivation, and emotion, as well as individual and environmental factors at work in the classroom. Teachers, school psychologists, those studying developmental and school psychology and the general reader will find nearly 300 alphabetically arranged essays examining how instruction and learning are affected by factors such as classroom management, multiculturalism, learning styles, home schooling, peer relationships, school culture, discipline, self-esteem, socioeconomic status, and more. In addition to these topical essays, biographical entries on leaders in educational psychology are included. This two-volume encyclopedia also offers statistical information in the form of charts and sidebars, synopses of recent research specific to essay topics, and images. Extensive cross-references, a glossary, and subject index are included.
- Qualitative educational research: readings in reflexive methodology and transformative practice [HIL-STACKS LB1028.25 .U6 Q83 2010] A comprehensive anthology that helps deepen students' thinking about their qualitative research purposes, questions, and decision-making.
- Routledge Encyclopedia of Language Teaching and Learning [HIL-REF P51 .R66 2000]
A reference for language teachers that analyzes the body of knowledge and skills of the profession and provides information on everyday matters such as the meanings of acronyms and the origins and purposes of professional organizations. Entries cover the teaching of specific languages as well as the teaching of languages in specific countries. The editor, Byram (education, U. of Durham, UK), writes that although the work could not be exhaustive, it does attempt to include traditions other than the Anglo- American. The reference is organized alphabetically and also has a list of contents (showing main entries grouped by theme) and an index of key words. Annotation copyrighted by Book News Inc., Portland, OR Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.
- SAGE Handbook for Research in Education [HIL-REF LB1028 .S14 2006]
This Handbook brings together leading academics in diverse fields within and outside of education, as well as quantitative, qualitative, and mixed method approaches, to provide an upto- date, advanced analysis of all relevant issues involved in educational research.
- SAGE Handbook of Curriculum and Instruction
see also [HIL-REF LB2806.15 .S24 2008]This edited work emerges from a concept of curriculum and instruction as a diverse landscape defined and bounded by schools, school boards and their communities, policy, teacher education, and academic research. The book is aimed at lecturers, professors and academics.
- SAGE handbook of dyslexia [HIL-REF LB1050.5 .S195 2008]
pt. 1: Neurological/genetic perspectives. The origin of dyslexia: The asynchrony phenomenon / Zvia Breznitz --
Some special issues concerning the genetics of dyslexia: revisiting multivariate profiles, comorbidities and genetic correlations / Jeffrey W. Gilger --
The neurobiological basis of dyslexia / John Stein --
Dyslexia and the cerebellum / Angela J. Fawcett and Roderick I. Nicolson --
Familial predictors of dyslexia: Evidence from preschool children with and without familial dyslexia risk / Dennis L. Molfese ... [et al.] --
Early identification and prevention of dyslexia: results from a prospective follow-up study of children at familial risk for dyslexia / Heikki Lyytinen with Jane Erskine ... [et al.] --
pt. 2: Cognitive and learning perspectives. Exploring heterogeneity in developmental dyslexia: a longitudinal investigation / Frank Manis and Caroline E. Bailey --
Rediscovering dyslexia: new approaches for identification classification / Richard K. Wagner --
Learning, cognition and dyslexia / Roderick I. Nicolson and Angela J. Fawcett --
A review of the evidence on morphological processing in dyslexics and poor readers: a strength or weakness? / S. HeÌï¿½leÌï¿½ne Deacon, Rauno Parrila and John R. Kirby. pt. 3: Educational influences. Reading intervention research: an integrative framework / William E. Tunmer and Keith T. Greaney --
Assessment of literacy performance based on the componential model of reading / R. Malatesha Joshi and P.G. Aaron --
The definition of learning disabilities: Who is the individual with learning disabilities? / Linda D. Siegel and Orly Lipka --
Students with phonological dyslexia in school-based programs: insights from Tennessee schools / Diane J. Sawyer and Stuart Bernstein --
Individual tutoring for struggling readers: moving research to scale with interventions implemented by paraeducators / Patricia F. Vadasy and Elizabeth A. Sanders --
Dyslexia friendly primary schools: What can we learn from asking the pupils? / Mary Coffield ... [et al.] --
Dyslexia and learning styles: overcoming the barriers to learning / Gavin Reid and Iva Strnadova --
Dyslexia and inclusion in the secondary school- cross curricular perspectives / Moira Thomson --
Dyslexia and self-concept: a review of past research with implications for future action / Robert Burden --
Role of parents / Gavin Reid, Shannon Green and Corey Zylstra --
pt. 4: Dyslexia and different languages. Dyslexia in different orthographies: variability in transparency / John Everatt and Gad Elbeheri --
Dyslexia and foreign language learning / Michael Dal --
pt. 5: Beyond school. Adults with learning disabilities and self-disclosure in higher education and beyond / Lynda A. Price and Paul J. Gerber --
Dyslexia: workplace issues / Gavin Reid, Fil Came and Lynda A. Price.
- SAGE Handbook of e-Learning Research [HIL-REF LB1028.5 .S17 2007]
This is the first text of its kind to address issues in the rapidly expanding area of e-learning. It covers fundamental research questions about the entire e-learning area. Many illustrative quotations and examples make the complex philosophical concepts accessible and practically relevant.
- SAGE handbook of education for citizenship and democracy, The [HIL-STACKS LC1091 .S24 2008]
This handbook brings together new work by some of the leading authorities on citizenship education, and is divided into five sections. The first section deals with key ideas about citizenship education including democracy, rights, globalization and equity. Section two contains a wide range of national case studies of citizenship education including African, Asian, Australian, European and North and South American examples. The third section focuses on perspectives about citizenship education with discussions about key areas such as sustainable development, anti-racism, gender. Section four provides insights into different characterisations of citizenship education with illustrations of democratic schools, peace and conflict education, global education, human rights education etc. The final section provides a series of chapters on the pedagogy of citizenship education with discussions about curriculum, teaching, learning and assessment.
- Sage handbook of educational leadership: advances in theory, research, and practice, The
see also [HIL-REF LB2805 .S262 2005]
Thirty-seven academic practitioners and researchers from the U.S., Canada, and Argentina contribute 23 chapters to a resource text for professionals and graduate students in the field of educational leadership and administration. Coverage includes the many lenses that today's educational leaders must use to promote democratic leadership; organizational theory as it pertains to education; day-to- day management issues; the role of school law in the development of public education; educational politics and policy, and how to use policy to move schools in effective, equitable, and democratic directions; research problems and practices for developing theories of leadership; and day-to-day and micropolitical challenges facing school leaders. Annotation #169;2004 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com) Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.
- SAGE Handbook of Special Education [HIL-REF LC3965 .S24 2007]
Florian (inclusive and special education, U. of Cambridge, UK) gathers together recent scholarship in 40 chapters by scholars in education from around the world, with a focus on English-speaking countries. The handbook aims to reach an international audience and is intended as a sourcebook on special education, looking specifically at responses to students' difficulties in learning or working with those who have disabilities. Special education is treated as a form of provision and an area of research rather than as categories of learning difficulties. Sections cover theory and how needs are understood, the challenge of inclusion, the production of knowledge, teaching strategies and approaches, and future directions for research. Annotation #169;2007 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com) Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.
- Special Educator's Comprehensive Guide to 301 Diagnostic Tests [HIL-REF LC4019 .P53 2006]
Pierangelo (graduate special education, Long Island U.) and Giuliani (special education, Hofstra U.) provide a guide to tests used in the diagnosis of disabilities in children and adolescents. The guide serves as an update to Special Educator's Complete Guide to 109 Diagnostic Tests. Tests for disabilities related to intelligence, perception, language, academic achievement, psychosocial behavior, social maturity, ADHD, anxiety and depression, hearing, autism, English as a second language, development, reading, and others are described, but not provided. Areas covered by each test are detailed, in addition to how to understand a student's behavior during testing, and reporting results to parents. Each test discussed in terms of strengths, and publisher and other information is supplied. The book is intended for educational diagnosticians, teachers, and other special education professionals. No index is included. Jossey-Bass is an imprint of Wiley. Annotation #169;2006 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com) Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.
- Teaching English Abroad [HIL-REF PE1128 .A2 G75 2005]
The definitive guide to short and long-term opportunities around the world for both trained and untrained teachers in the booming field of teaching English as a foreign language.
- Tests in Print VI [HIL-REF BF431 .B826 2002]
The most comprehensive index to commercially available tests published in the English language, "Tests in Print VI" contains information on over four thousand testing instruments. Informative descriptions of each test include specific data on their purpose, population, scoring, and pricing. Indexes of test titles, publishers, acronyms, and subject classifications are provided, as well as notations on out-of-print tests. Specific information about testing is required by a wide range of professionals in areas such as education, psychology, counseling, management, personnel, health care, career planning, sociology, child development, social science, and research. "Tests in Print VI" also serves as a comprehensive index to the Mental Measurements Yearbook series by directing readers to the appropriate volume for reviews of specific tests. Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.
- Tests in print; a comprehensive bibliography of tests for use in education, psychology, and industry [HWK-REF ZLB1131 .B8 1961]
- Tests: a comprehensive reference for assessments in psychology, education, and business [multiple locations HWK-REF BF176 .T43]
Descriptions of over 3000 tests in English, intended as a guide for psychologists, educators, and other personnel who need test information to meet their assessment needs. Topical arrangement under 3 main sections of psychology, education, and business. Each entry gives test name, associated personal names, intended age group, purpose, description, time, range, scoring, cost, and publisher. Indexes by test titles, authors, publishers, visually impaired tests, and scoring services.
- Ulrichsweb (formerly Bowker's Ulrichsweb) Bibliographic database providing detailed, comprehensive and authoritative information on serials published around the world.
3 simultaneous users.