Skip to main content

Forestry & Environmental Management Guides

Detailed Guides

Course Guides

Related Guides

Related Categories

Top Article & Research Databases

Use article databases to find articles, reviews, book chapters, etc.

  • Scopus
    Scopus, a multidisciplinary online resource, will be invaluable to students and faculty in various fields of study within the sciences, health sciences and the social sciences. Scopus offers full-text linking, abstracting-and-indexing information including peer-reviewed titles from international publishers, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, quality web sources.
  • Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)
    Academic Search Premier is a multidisciplinary resource that "provides journal coverage for most academic areas of studies."
    Permitted Use | eResources record | Subscribed multi-user unlimited access | Full text: 1990 - present. I
  • Wildlife & Ecology Studies Worldwide (EBSCO)
    Wildlife & Ecology Studies Worldwide, produced by NISC, indexes published literature (journals, monographs, proceedings of conferences and symposia, government reports, grey literature, books, theses, and dissertations) on wild mammals, birds, reptiles, and amphibians. Major topic areas include studies of individual species, habitat types, hunting, economics, wildlife behavior, management techniques, diseases, ecotourism, and zoology.
    Permitted Use | Subscribed multi-user unlimited access | 1935 and earlier to present
  • ASFA : aquatic sciences and fisheries abstracts
    Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA) "is a comprehensive database on the science, technology, and management of marine, brackishwater, and freshwater environments and resources."
  • Google scholar
    Google Scholar searches a subset of the Web that Google has classified as "scholarly literature". They do not publish a list of chosen sites, and they do not state how often sites are checked. Some important sources are not covered at all. Thus, Google Scholar alone should not be relied on for comprehensive research.
  • Agricola (National Agricultural Library Catalog)
    AGRICOLA "provides U.S. and international coverage of information sources in agriculture, life sciences and related fields. Based on the U.S. National Agriculture Library collection."
    Subscribed multi-user unlimited access

 

(Showing 7 of 16 resources | View All Results)

Top Reference Materials

Find dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, and other materials

  • A Dictionary of Ecology (5 ed.)
    "From acid rain, CFCs, and the greenhouse effect to the food-chain and the gene bank, Oxford's thoroughly up-to-date dictionary provides entries on all aspects of ecology and the environmental sciences. It covers a vast range of subjects, from plant and animal physiology, animal behaviour, evolution, environmental pollution, and conservation to climatology, meteorology, geomorphology, and oceanography. It includes developments in this rapidly evolving field, particularly in the areas of molecular ecology, conservation, and the management of habitats, and has biographical notes on eminent ecologists and other scientists."
    Collection limited to subscribed 5-user access
  • A Dictionary of Plant Sciences (2 ed.)
    "This is the most comprehensive and up-to-date dictionary of botany available. Drawing on the information contained in the acclaimed Oxford Dictionary of Natural History, the text has been fully revised to give wide coverage on topics including biochemistry, plant physiology, cytology, ecology, genetics, evolution, bio-geography, earth history, and the earth sciences. There is worldwide coverage of taxonomic groups - one-third of the entries are devoted to taxa, from bacteria and fungi to the main groups of flowering and non-flowering plants."
    Collection limited to subscribed 5-user access
  • A Dictionary of Zoology (4e ed.)
    "This dictionary is a comprehensive and up-to-date reference work on all aspects of the study of animals for students and amateur naturalists. There is wide coverage of all relevant topics including animal behaviour, genetics, evolutionary studies, ecology, physiology, genetics, cytology, Earth history, and zoogeography."
    Collection limited to subscribed 5-user access

 

(Showing 3 of 14 resources | View All Results)

More Information