Reference Materials for Forestry & Environmental Management
Find dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, and other reference materials
- Blackwell's Concise Encyclopedia of Ecology
The language of ecology has grown rapidly and changed extensively over the last decade. From Arrhenotoky to Psammosere; from the One-tailed test to Zoocoenosis, the Blackwell Concise Encyclopedia of Ecology provides concise, non-technical definitions of over 2000 ecological terms, covering the complete spectrum of pure and applied ecological research. The definitions are drawn from the Encyclopedia of Ecology and Environmental Management, and are fully cross-referenced.
- Dictionary of ecology, A "From acid rain, CFCs, and the greenhouse effect to the food-chain and the gene bank, Oxford's thoroughly up-to-date dictionary provides entries on all aspects of ecology and the environmental sciences. It covers a vast range of subjects, from plant and animal physiology, animal behaviour, evolution, environmental pollution, and conservation to climatology, meteorology, geomorphology, and oceanography. It includes developments in this rapidly evolving field, particularly in the areas of molecular ecology, conservation, and the management of habitats, and has biographical notes on eminent ecologists and other scientists."
5 simultaneous users.
- Dictionary of Forestry [SCI-REF SD126 .D535 1998]
For journalists, attorneys, and others who interact with foresters worldwide, this reference to some 4,500 terms used in the broad field of forest science, management, and conservation should be useful. Coverage by about 100 contributors headed by Helms (emeritus, environmental science, policy, and management, U. of California-Berkeley) spans entries from abiotic to zygote. Revises the 1971 Terminology of Forest Science, Technology, Practice, and Products (ed. by F.C. Ford-Robertson), at the Society of American Foresters' recommendation, to include the high-tech terminology of remote sensing, GIS, and photogrammetry. Annotation copyrighted by Book News, Inc., Portland, OR Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.
- Dictionary of plant sciences, A "This is the most comprehensive and up-to-date dictionary of botany available. Drawing on the information contained in the acclaimed Oxford Dictionary of Natural History, the text has been fully revised to give wide coverage on topics including biochemistry, plant physiology, cytology, ecology, genetics, evolution, bio-geography, earth history, and the earth sciences. There is worldwide coverage of taxonomic groups - one-third of the entries are devoted to taxa, from bacteria and fungi to the main groups of flowering and non-flowering plants."
5 simultaneous users.
- Dictionary of zoology, A "This dictionary is a comprehensive and up-to-date reference work on all aspects of the study of animals for students and amateur naturalists. There is wide coverage of all relevant topics including animal behaviour, genetics, evolutionary studies, ecology, physiology, genetics, cytology, Earth history, and zoogeography."
5 simultaneous users.
- Ecology Basics
see also [multiple locations SCI-REF QH540.4 .E39 2004 vols. 1-2]
Another title in the Magill's Choice series. The 132 essays previously appeared in Magill's Encyclopedia of Science: Animal Life (2002), Magill's Encyclopedia of Science: Plant Life (2003), and Earth Science (2001). Ecology Basics will be especially useful for smaller libraries that don't own the three sets from which it is derived. RBB. From: Syndetics Solutions, Inc. Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.
- Encyclopedia of Forest Sciences [SCI-REF SD126 .E53 2004 vols. 1-2]
Intended for those interested in forests, forestry and forest sciences, this title summarizes advances in forest science techniques. It offers information to the understanding of the important elements of forestry. It also covers relevant biology and ecology, different types of forestry, scientific names of trees and shrubs, and more.
- Encyclopedia of the Biosphere [SCI-REF QH343.4 .B5613 2000 vols. 1-11]
The Encyclopedia of the Biosphere features comprehensive coverage of the earth's greatest ecosystems, their characteristics and their operations. The Encyclopedia explains how these ecosystems have been transformed by human activity, while presenting the main species inhabiting each region. The text in each volume is clearly organized into four distinct sections covering the ecosystem's environmental factors, plants and animal ecology, human influences and biosphere reserves. Eleven fully-illustrated, 4-color volumes present in a contemporary, dynamic manner, the earth's principal ecosystems and the better known species of flora and fauna. Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.
- Field Guide to Eastern Trees, A [SCI-REF QK115 .P46 1998]
This field guide features detailed descriptions of 455 species of trees native to eastern North America, including the Midwest and the South. The 48 colour plates, 11 black-and-white plates, and 26 text drawings show distinctive details needed for identification. Colour photographs and 266 colour range maps accompany the species descriptions.
- Illustrated Encyclopedia of Trees, The [SCI-REF QK475 .M67 2002]
This book is the result of 10 years of on-site, meticulous painting of individual living trees as well as their detailed parts. David More, a supremely gifted botanical artist, painted each of the more than 2000 individual color illustrations. The main section of the book is devoted to 377 double-page spreads, which describe and illustrate more than 1000 species and varieties of trees. Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.
- Life on Earth : an Encyclopedia of Biodiversity, Ecology and Evolution [SCI-REF QH541.15 .B56 L54 2002 vols. 1-2]
This two-volume set provides a guide for high school students and above to the planet's diverse life forms and the systems that support them. The 200 cross-referenced entries (about two-to-six pages in length) cover topics such as ecosystems, major groups of organisms, threats to biodiversity, ways to reduce or prevent further damage, and related academic disciplines. The book includes b #38;w photographs and drawings, many of which add to understanding of the text. Edited by Niles Eldredge (American Museum of Natural History). Annotation (c)2003 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com) Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.
- McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Environmental Sciences
Derived from the world-renowned McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms, Sixth Edition, this reference offers a wealth of essential information in a portable, convenient, quick-find format. Whether you're a professional, a student, a writer, or a general reader with an interest in science, there is no better or more authoritative way to stay up-to-speed with the current language of environmental science and technology or gain an understanding of its key ideas and concepts.
- Trees in Canada [multiple locations QK485 .F37 1995]
A comprehensive book on the trees of Canada and the northern United States.