Geology Guides

Detailed Guides

Top Article & Research Databases

Use article databases to find articles, reviews, book chapters, etc.

  • GeoRef
    GeoRef "covers worldwide technical literature on geology and geophysics."
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Science Direct
    Science Direct offers comprehensive coverage of literature across all fields of science, medicine and technology. All previous ScienceDirect journal collections have been merged into this single collection.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Lyell Collection - Geological Society of London
    "The Lyell Collection represents one of the largest integrated collections of online Earth science literature available. Bringing together key journals, Special Publications and Society book series on a single electronic platform, the Lyell Collection is a unique resource for researcher and student alike."
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • OnePetro (formerly SPE eLibrary)
    "OnePetro.org is a multi-society library that provides a simple way to search for and access a broad range of technical literature related to the oil and gas exploration and production industry. From one place, you can search and [view] documents from many different professional societies, or similar organizations, that serve the oil and gas industry. OnePetro currently contains more than 80,000 documents, with more being added frequently."--From the OnePetro website, Nov. 2009.
    Participants include American Petroleum Institute (API), American Society of Safety Engineers (ASSE), Offshore Technology Conference (OTC), Society of Petroleum Engineers (SPE), Society of Petrophysicists and Well Log Analysts (SPWLA), Society of Underwater Technology (SUT), World Petroleum Council (WPC) and others. Further details can be found at http://www.onepetro.org/coverage.htm
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Inspec (Engineering Village)
    "Inspec is the world’s leading bibliographic database, providing comprehensive access to the world's scientific and technical literature in physics, electrical engineering, electronics, communications, control engineering, computers, computing, information technology, manufacturing, production and mechanical engineering. First published in 1898 as the Scientific Abstracts, Inspec now contains close to 10 million bibliographic records taken from more than 3850 scientific and technical journals and 2200 conference proceedings, as well as numerous books, reports, dissertations and patents, many with full-text linking."
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • CAB Direct
    Combines CAB abstracts and CAB abstracts archive into a single database indexing literature in the fields of plant science; animal science; pathogen, pest, parasite, and weed management; natural resources and ecology; forestry, forest products, and agroforestry; soil science; rural development, tourism, and economics; food science and food products; biotechnology; and agricultural engineering. The database is grouped into the following categories: animal sciences, plant sciences, ecology & environmental sciences, agricultural economics & rural studies, human sciences, and leisure, recreation, and tourism.
    4 simultaneous users.

(Showing 6 of 9 resources | View All Results)

 

Top Reference Materials

Find dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, and other materials

  • Dictionary of earth sciences, A
    "Oxford's fully up-to-date Dictionary of Earth Sciences is authoritative and wide-ranging with coverage of topics including climatology, economic geology, geochemistry, oceanography, palaeontology, petrology, and volcanology. There are entries on planetary science, remote sensing, statistics, and sequence stratigraphy, wind strength scales, material, temporal, and chronostratigraphic units, geologic, lunar, and Martian time scales."
    5 simultaneous users.
  • Modern biological and earth sciences
    This volume looks at the history of the life and earth sciences since 1800. It provides comprehensive surveys of historical thinking on major developments in these areas of science, on the social and cultural milieus in which the knowledge was generated, and on the wider impact of the major theoretical and practical innovations.
    Unlimited simultaneous users

(Showing 2 of 20 resources | View All Results)

 

Ask Us