Kinesiology Guides

Top Article & Research Databases

Use article databases to find articles, reviews, book chapters, etc.

  • SportDiscus
    SportDiscus is an international database that covers all aspects of "sport, fitness, recreation and related fields."
    8 simultaneous users.
  • Leisure, Recreation and Tourism (see CAB Direct)
    Note: The content of the Leisure, Recreation and Tourism database has been absorbed by CAB Direct. It is no longer a separate database. Leisure, Recreation and Tourism from CAB Direct (formerly Leisure, Recreation and Tourism Abstracts) provides access to the international literature on "research and strategic development of leisure, recreation, sport, tourism and hospitality activities, facilities, products and services."
    4 simultaneous users.
  • PubMed
    PubMed is the U.S. National Library of Medicine's (NLM®) database of biomedical citations and abstracts. It includes MEDLINE, which covers over 4,800 journals published in the United States and more than 70 other countries primarily from 1966 to the present.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Sociological Abstracts
    Sociological Abstracts "covers the world's literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behaviorial sciences."
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Academic Search Premier
    Academic Search Premier is a multidisciplinary resource that "provides journal coverage for most academic areas of study."
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • ERIC - EBSCO
    ERIC is a "bibliographic database that contains education-related documents and journal articles." The EBSCO interface also provides some full text linking.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.

(Showing 6 of 14 resources | View All Results)

 

Top Reference Materials

Find dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, and other materials

  • Food and fitness: a dictionary of diet and exercise
    "This dictionary enables users to evaluate the claims made about different diets and types of exercise. It covers all matters relating to diet and exercise including diet methods, food supplements, sex and exercise, sports injuries, anatomy, energy-related terms, exercises for improving strength, flexibility, stamina, weight control, training methods and principles, calorie requirements of different activities, and much more."
    5 simultaneous users.
  • Reference Universe
    Note: Due to system limitations, Reference Universe is not available from off campus for UNBSJ searching, only UNBF materials are searchable off-campus.
    Reference Universe provides fast access to more than 16,000 print and online encyclopedias and similar reference works by indexing the contents of all these reference works. Your subject search will reveal entries in all the resources in Reference Universe that have relevant content. If the Library has access to any online resource covered, you link directly to that entry. If not, Reference Universe connects to the Library's online catalog to show you if the Library has the print resource.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Dictionary of food and nutrition, A
    "This dictionary is intended for anyone who enjoys food and would like a handy, non-technical guide to the terms they encounter on food labels, in advertising, or in the media. The wide spread of entries makes it an ideal reference guide for consumers, cooks, and students and practitioners in the fields of catering, home economics, food technology, food science, nutrition, and health care."
    5 simultaneous users.
  • Bates' Physical Assessment videos (5th ed.)
    Bates’ Physical Assessment Videos is a collection of instructional streaming videos that facilitate learning of physical assessment procedures by students in healthcare fields. The eighteen 25-minute modules in the Bates’ collection are composed of series’ of shorter videos, and range in coverage from a general physical examination to the more targeted procedures for examining specific organs and systems.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Oxford Reference
    Multi-part database of the online versions of Oxford University Press texts. Each topical division contains the searchable version of the latest edition of published dictionaries and encyclopedias. Additionally, information about Oxford University Press is provided. Online texts will be updated after new editions of the print monographs are published. Covers the humanities and social sciences.
    5 simultaneous users.

(Showing 5 of 30 resources | View All Results)

 

Ask Us