Law Guides

Top Article & Research Databases

Use article databases to find articles, reviews, book chapters, etc.

  • Quicklaw Plus
    NOTE: Users may click on the "Register Later" button at the bottom of the screen to gain immediate access, OR the "Register Now" button which will provide access to additional personal features. You must also accept the Terms and Conditions.

    LexisNexis Quicklaw offers access to primary and secondary Canadian legal sources. Coverage includes case law from courts, boards, and tribunals; statutes, regulations and bills; secondary legal materials and journals; and NetLetters with legal commentary and analysis. Plus edition includes Halsbury's Laws of England and Halsbury's Laws of Canada. To find the insurance, labour, and employment law content formerly available on CCH Online, go to the Source Directory and use the key search term L&B.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • LegalTrac
    Provides references to articles in major law reviews, legal newspapers, bar association journals, and international (including English-language and French-language Canadian) legal journals. Also includes references to selected law-related articles from business and general interest publications.
    LegalTrac also provides access to over 100 full-text journals covering the aforementioned fields of study.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • HeinOnline
    HeinOnline is a comprehensive database of U.S. and international law journals, treatises, yearbooks, reports, cases, treaties, and other legal information resources. Organized into collections called “libraries,” all documents are image-based, full-text searchable PDFs. Most of HeinOnline’s libraries are searchable by citation.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Index to Canadian Legal Literature (Journals and Texts subset)
    NOTE: At the LexisNexis Quicklaw sign-in screen, click on "Register Later".

    Canada's indispensable bibliography of secondary legal sources, the Index to Canadian Legal Literature (ICLL) is a bilingual aid to finding journal articles, monographs, government documents, etc. The journals and texts subset of ICLL is a compilation of citations to articles and other texts indexed in ICLL.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Index to Canadian Legal Literature (Book Reviews subset)
    NOTE: At the LexisNexis Quicklaw sign-in screen, click on "Register Later".

    Canada's indispensable bibliography of secondary legal sources, the Index to Canadian Legal Literature (ICLL) is a bilingual aid to finding journal articles, monographs, government documents, etc. The book reviews subset of ICLL is a compilation of citations to book review articles indexed in ICLL.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • AGIS Plus Text
    Based on the Australian Attorney-General's Information Service, this database provides indexing to English language legal periodicals from several countries, including many Australian and New Zealand titles. Full-text coverage is available for about one quarter of the titles, with an emphasis on Australian and New Zealand titles. All areas of law are covered.
    5 simultaneous users.

(Showing 6 of 17 resources | View All Results)

 

Top Reference Materials

Find dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, and other materials

  • Dictionary of law, A
    Written in clear, jargon-free language, this dictionary is ideal for anyone without a legal qualification who comes into contact with the law. It is a useful reference book for lawyers, students, and secretaries in the UK or any Commonwealth country where the legal system is founded on English law. Entries define and explain the major terms, concepts, processes, and organization of the law. Coverage includes European law, the Internet, world trade, divorce law, local government, property law, consumer and data protection, and criminal law.
    5 simultaneous users.
  • Halsbury's Laws of Canada
    NOTE: At the LexisNexis Quicklaw sign-in screen, click on "Register Later".

    Halsbury's Laws of Canada is a comprehensive general encyclopaedia of Canadian statutory and judicial law and an essential starting point for understanding any given legal topic. Each title is written by a leading Canadian academic, practitioner, or jurist.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Martin's Online Criminal Code
    Searchable by offence, criminal code section, and date, Martin's Online Criminal Code includes all versions of Martin's Annual Criminal Code dating back to 1955. Most cases cited in Martin's are also provided in full text.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Halsbury's Laws of England
    NOTE: At the LexisNexis Quicklaw sign-in screen, click on "Register Later".

    Halsbury's Laws is a comprehensive and authoritative encyclopedia of the law of England and Wales, arranged in an alphabetical scheme of over 160 subjects. Within each subject, reference is made to pertinent legislation and case law. Other components of the service include Halsbury's Is it in Force?, Halsbury's SI Citator, and Halsbury's Statutes Citator.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Juris Classeur
    NOTE: At the LexisNexis Quicklaw sign-in screen, click on "Register Later".

    Juris Classeur, the premiere encyclopedia of French and European Union law, is an authoritative collection of articles, or fascicles, by legal experts on discrete topics. Thousands of these commentaries are brought together under 51 broad categories to comprise each volume of the encyclopedia and are linked to full-text cases, statutes, and codes. La Semaine Juridique, a weekly review of legal news, and Depeches JurisClasseur, a daily collection of brief legal news items, are also available in Quicklaw.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.

(Showing 5 of 25 resources | View All Results)

 

Ask Us