Reference Materials for Law

Find dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, and other reference materials

  • Black's Law Dictionary [LAW-REFDSK KF156 .B53 2014]

    For more than a century, Black's Law Dictionary has been the gold standard for the language of law. This edition contains more than 50,000 terms, including more than 7,500 terms new to this edition. It also features expanded bibliographic coverage, definitions of more than 1,000 law-related abbreviations and acronyms, and reviewed and edited Latin maxims.

  • Canadian Encyclopedic Digest (Ont) [LAW-REF STACK 105]

    The Canadian Encyclopedic Digest, or CED, is a comprehensive Canadian legal encyclopedia. It is published in a Western edition, and an Ontario edition. The Western edition covers the law of the four Western provinces. Although these two editions exist, the contents of many titles are exactly the same in both editions. The currency and quality of the content varies considerably from one title to the next.

  • CanLII

    A free online resource open to anyone to use; no username or password required. Excellent source of Canadian case law and legislation.

  • Cardiff Index to Legal Abbreviations

    An online resource to assist persons in deciphering legal abbreviations.

  • Department of Justice Current Legislation (Canada - Federal)

    Federal legislation as found on the Department of Justice website.

  • Dictionary of Canadian Law [LAW-REFDSK KF156 .D84 2011]
  • Dictionary of law, A
    Written in clear, jargon-free language, this dictionary is ideal for anyone without a legal qualification who comes into contact with the law. It is a useful reference book for lawyers, students, and secretaries in the UK or any Commonwealth country where the legal system is founded on English law. Entries define and explain the major terms, concepts, processes, and organization of the law. Coverage includes European law, the Internet, world trade, divorce law, local government, property law, consumer and data protection, and criminal law.
    5 simultaneous users.
  • Duhaime's Law Dictionary

    An online dictionary of Canadian law. Maintained by a lawyer in British Columbia.

  • Halsbury's Laws of Canada
    NOTE: At the LexisNexis Quicklaw sign-in screen, click on "Register Later".

    Halsbury's Laws of Canada is a comprehensive general encyclopaedia of Canadian statutory and judicial law and an essential starting point for understanding any given legal topic. Each title is written by a leading Canadian academic, practitioner, or jurist.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Halsbury's Laws of England
    NOTE: At the LexisNexis Quicklaw sign-in screen, click on "Register Later".

    Halsbury's Laws is a comprehensive and authoritative encyclopedia of the law of England and Wales, arranged in an alphabetical scheme of over 160 subjects. Within each subject, reference is made to pertinent legislation and case law. Other components of the service include Halsbury's Is it in Force?, Halsbury's SI Citator, and Halsbury's Statutes Citator.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • HeinOnline
    HeinOnline is a comprehensive database of U.S. and international law journals, treatises, yearbooks, reports, cases, treaties, and other legal information resources. Organized into collections called “libraries,” all documents are image-based, full-text searchable PDFs. Most of HeinOnline’s libraries are searchable by citation.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Index to Canadian Legal Literature

    Canada's indispensable bibliography of secondary legal sources, the Index to Canadian Legal Literature (ICLL) is a bilingual aid to finding journal articles, monographs, government documents, etc. The journals and texts subset of ICLL is a compilation of citations to articles and other texts indexed in ICLL. Also available in Quicklaw. An excellent index to find articles on legal issues.

  • Index to Legal Citations and Abbreviations [LAW-REFDSK K89 .R35 2013]
  • Juris Classeur
    NOTE: At the LexisNexis Quicklaw sign-in screen, click on "Register Later".

    Juris Classeur, the premiere encyclopedia of French and European Union law, is an authoritative collection of articles, or fascicles, by legal experts on discrete topics. Thousands of these commentaries are brought together under 51 broad categories to comprise each volume of the encyclopedia and are linked to full-text cases, statutes, and codes. La Semaine Juridique, a weekly review of legal news, and Depeches JurisClasseur, a daily collection of brief legal news items, are also available in Quicklaw.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • JustisOne (formerly Justis and JustCite)
    The resources previously available through Justis and JustCite are now available through JustisOne. JustisOne provides access to all UK statutes dating back to 1235. The full text of legislation, including repealed legislation, is provided as originally enacted with references to amending legislation. Legislation is formatted to resemble the original printed documents, including side notes. UK statutory instruments back to 1671 are also included. UNB's subscription includes access to the full-text of reported and unreported civil and criminal judgments from England and Wales (coverage varies). JustisOne incorporates features from JustCite, a citator service that cross-references case law and legislation from a number of jurisdictions, including Canada.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Legal Research and Writing

    An online resource providing information on how to research Canadian law.

  • Martin's Online Criminal Code
    Searchable by offence, criminal code section, and date, Martin's Online Criminal Code includes all versions of Martin's Annual Criminal Code dating back to 1955. Most cases cited in Martin's are also provided in full text.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Martindale - Hubbell International Law Digest [LAW-REFDSK KF75 .M33 2005]

    The 2000 - 2004 editions are in LAW-STOR (please ask at the Circulation Desk).

  • Martindale-Hubbell Canadian Law Directory [LAW-REFDSK KF195 .ZA2 M37 2009]
  • New Brunswick Legislation (Attorney General)

    New Brunswick legislation as hosted by the Attorney General website.

  • Quick Guide to Researching Canadian Statutes: The Canadian Abridgment, A [Law Library Shelf # 99 KF241 .S73 Q55 2006]
  • Quicklaw Plus
    NOTE: Users may click on the "Register Later" button at the bottom of the screen to gain immediate access, OR the "Register Now" button which will provide access to additional personal features. You must also accept the Terms and Conditions.

    LexisNexis Quicklaw offers access to primary and secondary Canadian legal sources. Coverage includes case law from courts, boards, and tribunals; statutes, regulations and bills; secondary legal materials and journals; and NetLetters with legal commentary and analysis. Plus edition includes Halsbury's Laws of England and Halsbury's Laws of Canada. To find the insurance, labour, and employment law content formerly available on CCH Online, go to the Source Directory and use the key search term L&B.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Supreme Court of Canada Cases

    Online versions of the Supreme Court of Canada cases, as hosted by the University of Montreal.

  • West's Encyclopedia of American Law [LAW-REF KF154 .W47 2005 vols. 1-13]

    The first edition (1997) is cited in Public Library Catalog; the original release, The Guide to American Law (1983-85) is cited in Books for College Libraries, 3rd ed. Designed for college students, law students, and general readers, this massive, thorough, and well planned 13-volume reference provides information on pertinent people, issues, and events, as well as discussion of the laws themselves. This edition features new and revised entries, and greater attention to topics concerning women and minorities. Entries are cross-referenced and are supplemented with timelines, tables, essay boxes, b #38;w photos, and reading lists. The following selection reflects the range of topics: abortion, agriculture, Aristotle, communism, fish and fishing, Newt Gingrich, Emma Goldman, three strikes laws, and welfare. Following ten volumes of entries in alphabetical order, Volume 11 presents five milestone cases: Brown v. Board of Education, Lawrence v. Texas, Miranda v. Arizona, New York Times v. Sullivan, and Roe v. Wade. Volume 12 is devoted to primary documents and legal forms, with sections on English law, the colonial period, slavery, women's rights, and presidential speeches, among other themes. Volume 13 contains a cases index, general index, and dictionary of legal terms (210 pages), which, consistent to the work as a whole, provides definitions in accessible language. Annotation #169;2004 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com) Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

  • Words and Phrases Judicially Considered [LAW-REF STACK 103]

    A component of the Canadian Abridgment, Words and Phrases contains legal terms and examples of how they have been judicially defined in court.