Reference Materials for Social Work

Find dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, and other reference materials

  • Blackwell Reference Online
    WARNING: This resource loads slowly and may need a page reload. Blackwell Reference Online "is a vast new online library giving instant access to the most authoritative and up-to-date scholarship across the humanities and social sciences. With more than 350 reference volumes to be published in Blackwell Reference Online by the end of 2008, it is the largest academic reference collection available online and includes the critically-acclaimed Blackwell Companions and Handbooks, major reference works such as the Blackwell Encyclopedia of Management and the Companion to Syntax, and a whole host of other valuable reference materials such as dictionaries, encyclopedias and concise companions."
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Doing a Literature Review in Health and Social Care [HIL-REF R118.6 .A94 2007]

    "This book is a step-by-step guide to doing a literature review in health and social care. It is crucial reading for all those undertaking their undergraduate or postgraduate dissertation or any research module which involves a literature review."--BOOK JACKET.

  • Encyclopedia of Canadian Social Work
    see also [HIL-REF HV12 .C35 2005]

    "As Canadians, we are all touched by some aspect of social welfare, either as recipients, donors, or taxpayers. But despite the importance of the social network in our country, there has been no single source of information about this critical component of our society. Even professionals in the field of social work or social services have not had a comprehensive volume addressing the myriad features of this critical societal structure. The Encyclopedia of Canadian Social Work fills this need." "Over five hundred topics important to Canadian social work are covered, written by a highly diverse group of social workers representing all aspects of the field and all areas of the country. Practitioners, policy makers, academics, social advocates, researchers, students, and administrators present a rich overview of the complexity and diversity of social work and social welfare as it exists in Canada." "The principal finding from this project upholds the long-held perception that there is a uniquely Canadian model of social work that stands as a useful model for other countries. The Encyclopedia of Canadian Social Work is an important source of information for both Canadians and interested groups around the world."--BOOK JACKET. Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

  • Encyclopedia of Social Measurement [HIL-REF HA29 .E525 2005]

    Written by experienced methodologists in various fields of the social sciences, the 356 alphabetically arranged, signed entries in this encyclopedia describe the "research questions social scientists ask, the sources and methods they use to collect information, and the techniques they use to analyze these data and provide answers to the important questions."

  • Encyclopedia of Social Theory
    see also [multiple locations HIL-REF HM425 .E453 2006]

    Social theory occupies a central role in today's debates in such sociology-related disciplines as anthropology, political theory, political economy, media and cultural studies, feminist theory, and post-colonial studies. Heading a large team of international scholars, Harrington (sociology, U. of Leeds, UK) introduces some 500 entries by noting that the encyclopedia's emphasis is on concepts, themes, debates, and schools of thought rather than on personalities (thus accounting for the lack of photos). Signed entries ranging from about 300 to 2,500 words cover connotations of "action" to contemporary Slovenian theorist Zizek, Slavoj. They include references, cross-references, and further reading. The detailed index facilitates searches. Annotation #169;2006 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com) Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

  • Encyclopedia of Social Welfare History in North America [HIL-REF HV12 .E497 2005]

    Editors Herrick (Michigan State University) and Stuart (University of Alabama) organized work from a long roster of contributors--most of whom are based in the US, but Canada and Mexico are represented as well so that this work presents a tri-national perspective. Alphabetically arranged, 180 articles provide readers with information on the history of social welfare in each country, important events and developments in the field, and key figures. Topics include various aspects of criminal justice, education, employment and labor, families, health, income maintenance programs, race and ethnic relations, social and economic development, and government and nongovernment social welfare. The book is appropriate for academic and public libraries and can be used by both beginning students and established scholars. Appendices provide research guides, chronologies, and a bibliography of archival depositories, current work, and historical works cited in entries, organized by type of source and country. Annotation #169;2004 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com) Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

     

  • Encyclopedia of Social Work [HIL-REF HV12 .E56 2008]

    The National Association of Social Workers and Oxford University Press have published the updated, revised and expanded 20th edition of this essential work. The 400 articles in this 4-volume set cover all aspects of social work.

  • Encyclopedia of Sociology
    see also [HIL-REF HM425 .B53 2007 vols. 1-11]
    The Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology is the reference for students, researchers, librarians, and academics in the field. This ground-breaking project brings together specially commissioned entries written and edited by an international team of the world's best scholars and teachers.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Handbook of Social Work in Health and Aging
    see also [HIL-REF HV1451 .H34 2006]

    The volume's 102 original chapters and 13 overviews, written by the most experienced and prominent gerontological health care scholars in the United States and across the world, provide social work practitioners and educators with up-to-date knowledge of evidence-based practice guidelines for effectively assessing and treating older adults and their families; new models for intervention in both community-based practice and institutional care; and knowledge of significant policy and research issues in health and aging.

  • Handbook of Social Work Research Methods [HIL-REF HV11 .H342 2001]

    Provides social work professionals, educators, researchers, and students with an overview of research tools relevant to the field. Explains foundations of both quantitative and qualitative methods and conceptual research, and discusses general issues such as ethics, gender, grantwriting, and dissemination of findings. Sections on approaches include chapters on methods and chapters detailing specific types of studies such as surveys, needs assessments, narrative case studies, and participant observation. Thyer teaches social work and psychology at the University of Georgia. Annotation c. Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com) Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

  • International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences (2nd Ed.)
    see also [HIL-REF H41 .I58 2001 vols. 1-26]
    Fully revised and updated, the second edition of the International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences, first published in 2001, offers a source of social and behavioral sciences reference material that is broader and deeper than any other. Available in both print and online editions, it comprises over 3,900 articles, commissioned by 71 Section Editors, and includes 90,000 bibliographic references as well as comprehensive name and subject indexes.

    UNB has online access to the 2001 edition as well as owning print volumes of the earlier edition.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Oxford Bibliographies Online
    "Oxford Bibliographies Online (OBO) is an entirely new research tool for the social sciences and humanities. A scholar-curated library of discipline-based subject modules, OBO is designed to help busy researchers find reliable sources of information in half the time by directing them to exactly the right chapter, book, website, archive, or data set they need for their research."
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Oxford Reference
    Multi-part database of the online versions of Oxford University Press texts. Each topical division contains the searchable version of the latest edition of published dictionaries and encyclopedias. Additionally, information about Oxford University Press is provided. Online texts will be updated after new editions of the print monographs are published. Covers the humanities and social sciences.
    5 simultaneous users.
  • Reference Universe
    Note: Due to system limitations, Reference Universe is not available from off campus for UNBSJ searching, only UNBF materials are searchable off-campus.
    Reference Universe provides fast access to more than 16,000 print and online encyclopedias and similar reference works by indexing the contents of all these reference works. Your subject search will reveal entries in all the resources in Reference Universe that have relevant content. If the Library has access to any online resource covered, you link directly to that entry. If not, Reference Universe connects to the Library's online catalog to show you if the Library has the print resource.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Social Work Futures: Crossing Boundaries, Transforming Practice [HIL-REF HV11.8 .G7 S63 2005]

    Academics and practitioners explore current issues in social work while looking towards the future of the profession. Aimed at students and practitioners, the volume is organized around three crucial components of social work training programs in the UK: process, practice, and research. Twenty-one contributions address such topics as the key principles of assessment, anti-discrimination work in mental health, and service user involvement in research. Adams teaches social work at the U. of Teesside. Annotation #169;2006 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com) Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

  • Social Workers' Desk Reference [HIL-REF HV40 .S624 2002]

    Equally useful for students, teachers, and practitioners, the Social Workers' Desk Reference provides comprehensive information on all of the various aspects of social work. Topics covered within the 146 chapters include crisis management, family therapy, treatment planning, disorders, case management, community services, and risk assessment. Each chapter concludes with a list of references or recommended readings. An excellent glossary and thorough indexes round out this practical volume. Authoritative and readable, this resource provides one-stop shopping for social work.