Reference Materials for Spanish Literature

Find dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, and other reference materials

  • Cambridge history of Spanish literature
    Covering a wide range sources, this review of Spanish literature features analysis of works by Cervantes, Calderón and Garcia Lorca, as well as lesser know authors. It charts a full range of literary periods and movements, including the Enlightenment, Romanticism and Modernism.
    Unlimited simultaneous users
  • Contemporary Authors [HIL-REF CT220 .C63]

    "A bio-bibliographical guide to current authors and their works."

  • Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete Online (DLB Online)
    Provides more than 16,000 biographical and critical essays on the lives, works, and careers of the world's most influential literary figures from all eras and genres. Comprised of the award-winning Dictionary of Literary Biography series, which over its 30-year history has been dedicated to making literature and its creators better understood and more accessible to students and interested readers, DLB Complete Online provides reliable information in an easily comprehensible format while placing writers in the larger perspective of literary history. Specifically, DLB Complete Online includes the DLB main series, the DLB Documentary Series, and the DLB Yearbook Series - the latter two of which have never been electronically available. Additionally, DLB Complete Online will include the extremely valuable images from the above DLB series - again, content that has never been available online.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Feminist Encyclopedia of Spanish Literature, The [HIL-REF PQ6055 .F46 2002 vols. 1-2]

    Spanish literature includes some of the world's greatest works and authors. It is also one of the most widely studied. This reference looks at the literature of Spain from the perspective of women's studies. Though the volume focuses on the literature of Spain written in Castilian, it also includes survey entries on the present state of women's literature in Catalan, Galician, and Basque. Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

  • Latin American Writers [HIL-REF PQ7081 .A1 L37 1989 vols. 1-3]
  • Latino Literature
    Latino Literature contains approximately 400 plays and 67,500 pages of prose and poetry by Chicano, Cuban, Puerto Rican, Dominican and other Latin writers working in the United States. It reflects distinct immigration experiences, themes of social protest and exploitation; the migratory experience; self-exploration or self-definition, and the exploration of myths and legends. Approximately 25% of the collection is presented in Spanish.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Literature Criticism Online
    Provides Online access to the content of the following reference works on literature: Twentieth-century literary criticism, Nineteenth-century literature criticism, Literature criticism 1400-1800, Shakespeare criticism, Contemporary literary criticism, and Children's literature review.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Literature Online
    Literature Online offers full text access to rare and inacessible works, up-to-date, reference resources, in addition to the full text of poetry, drama, and prose fiction from the seventh century to the present day. Materials are included from almost every period and genre of English literature as well as many works by 20th century authors. Contemporary criticism is available through the Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (ABELL).
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Oxford Companion to Spanish Literature, The [multiple locations HIL-REF PQ6006 .O95]

    Covers the whole field of literature written in the languages of Spain from Roman times to the present, including the literatures of Latin America alongside those of peninsular Spain (Basque, Catalan, and Galician as well as Castilian).