Reference Materials for Gender and Women's Studies
Find dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, and other reference materials
- Archives of Sexuality & Gender (Gale) The Archives of Sexuality and Gender program provides a robust and significant collection of primary sources for the historical study of sex, sexuality, and gender. With material dating back to the sixteenth century, researchers and scholars can examine how sexual norms have changed over time, health and hygiene, the development of sex education, the rise of sexology, changing gender roles, social movements and activism, erotica, and many other interesting topical areas. This growing archival program offers rich research opportunities across a wide span of human history.
Purchased multi-user unlimited access
- Blackwell guide to feminist philosophy, The This title is part of the Wiley/Blackwell Reference Online e-book collection available through the Wiley Online Library.
Unlimited simultaneous users
- Cassell's Encyclopedia of Queer Myth, Symbol, and Spirit : Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, and Transgender Lore [HIL-REF BL795 .H6 C65 1997]
Did you know that in medieval French folklore a person might change sex by passing under a rainbow? Or that same-sex unions have been celebrated by peoples of the ancient Mediterranean, Africa, China, and indigenous America? Or that Sappho, da Vinci, Emily Dickinson, Nijinsky, Benjamin Britten, Mishima, Adrienne Rich, Audre Lorde, Keith Haring, Boy George, and Derek Jarman number among those who have explored the spiritual dimension of gender and sexuality in their works? While the terms many of us employ today to identify ourselves - 'queer', 'lesbian', 'gay', 'bisexual', 'transgendered' - differ markedly from those of peoples of other times and places, we are nevertheless the bearers of a rich spiritual history that has been ignored or suppressed, a history encoded in sacred texts as well as in works of art, music, dance and other media. Drawing upon religion, mythology, folklore, anthropology, history and the arts, the Encyclopedia is a cornucopia of queer spirituality, containing over 1,500 alphabetically arranged entries from Aakulujjuusi to Zeus.
- Companion to Gender Studies
"... presents a unified and comprehensive vision of its field, and its new directions. It demonstrates in action the rich interplay between gender and other markers of social position and (dis)privilege, such as race, class, ethnicity, and nationality. The contributions are heterogeneous, ranging from essay statements, even provocations, to state-of-the-art overviews." [from the website]
- Companion to Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, and Queer Studies
A Companion to Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, and Queer Studies is a survey of current discussions on LGBTQ issues.
- Recognizing the multidisciplinary nature of the field, the editors gather new essays by an international team of established and emerging scholars
- Addresses the politics, economics, history, and cultural impact of sexuality
- Engages the future of queer studies by asking what sexuality stands for, what work it does, and how it continues to structure discussions in various academic disciplines as well as contemporary politics
- Concise companion to feminist theory, A This title is part of the Wiley/Blackwell Reference Online e-book collection available through the Wiley Online Library.
Unlimited simultaneous users
- Culture wars: an encyclopedia of issues, viewpoints, and voices [HIL-REF HM1121 .C85 2010 Vols. 1-2]
Although openness and inclusion are cornerstones of life in the United States, intolerance and reactionary politics are also very real. As the nation prepares to elect a new president, "The Culture Wars" addresses the key defining issues of contemporary American society through the lens of political and social controversy.
- Defining Gender, 1450-1910 (Adam Matthew Digital) Defining Gender is structured in five sections, each containing a substantial body of original source material, together with thematic essays by leading scholars in the field. The thematic essays introduce students to the material, suggest possible approaches, and place the documents within a broad historical, literary and cultural context. The sources all have distinct URLs and can be readily integrated into course packs or projected in the classroom.
Unlimited simultaneous users.
- Dictionary of Homophobia : a Global History of Gay & Lesbian Experience
Based on the work of seventy researchers in fifteen countries, The Dictionary of Homophobia documents the history of homosexuality, and various cultural responses to it, in all regions of the world: a masterful, engaged, and wholly relevant study that traces the political and social emancipation of a culture. The book, which includes Canadian contributors and issues, is the first English translation of Dictionnaire de L'Homophobie, published in France in 2003 to world-wide acclaim.
- Dirty words: a literary encyclopedia of sex [HIL-REF HQ9 .D58 2008]
This witty reference steps in where time-honored discussions of the birds-and-the-bees typically fall short. Each of the 90-some entries are formally defined and further explained through reflective and ribald definitions, essays, and stories by some of today's most exciting writers.
- Encyclopedia of Domestic Violence [HIL-REF HV6626 .E534 2007]
Jackson (Purdue U.) presents this encyclopedia as a "state of the research" compilation of topics related social scientific understandings of domestic violence. The 140 alphabetical entries include both well-understood issues and neglected areas. The entries can be categorized according to seven primary themes. Entries on victims of domestic violence include discussion of battered wives, battered husbands, parricide, dating violence, and domestic violence in the workplace. Theoretical perspectives and correlates of domestic violence are discussed, including animal abuse, batterer typology, exchange theory, post-incest syndrome, popular culture and domestic violence, and victim-blaming theory. Cross-cultural and religious perspectives are presented, including domestic violence in Greece, cultural dimensions of domestic violence amongst Asian Americans, Qur'anic perspectives on wife abuse, religious attitudes towards corporal punishment. The entries also include discussion of understudied areas and "special" topics, including lesbian battering, domestic violence by law enforcement officers, pseudo-family abuse, sexual aggression perpetrated by females, community response to domestic violence, and measuring domestic violence. Child abuse and elder abuse are the subjects of a number of entries and the final category of entries provides coverage of issues related to domestic violence and the law. Where there is not explicitly cross-cultural content, the material generally is presented from the US perspective, especially those that concern the law. Annotation #169;2007 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com) Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.
- Encyclopedia of Feminist Theories
see also [HIL-REF HQ1190 .E63 2000]
The path-breaking "Encyclopedia of Feminist Theories" is an accessible, multidisciplinary insight into the complex field of feminist thought. The "Encyclopedia" contains over 500 authoritative entries commissioned from an international team of contributors and includes clear, concise and provocative explanations of key themes and ideas. Each entry contains cross references and a bibliographic guide to further reading; over 50 biographical entries provide readers with a sense of how the theories they encounter have developed out of the lives and situations of their authors. Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.
- Encyclopedia of gender and society
see also [HIL-REF HQ1115 .E54 2009 vols. 1-2]
This encyclopedia is a scholarly, entertaining, and highly readable reference work. Editor O'Brien (Seattle Univ.) provides readers with a "gender lens" on society, while emphasizing both individual and global aspects of social life. Entries, written by gender scholars across the US and abroad, are organized in 14 categories: "Arts, Popular Culture, and Sports," "Associations and Organizations," "Biographies," "Body Image, Health and Illness," "Crime and Criminal Justice," "Economics, Environment, and Ecology," "Gender Identities and Roles," "International Development and Human Rights," "Politics, Public Policy, and Social Movements," "Race and Ethnicity," "Relationships, Marriage, and the Family," "Religion, Mythology, and Spirituality," "Science, Research, Education, and Technology," and "Sexuality and Reproduction." Individual entries are as diverse as "Superheroes," "Misogyny," "Buffy the Vampire Slayer," "Sperm Donors," "Feminist Bioethics," "Hip Hop," and "Chastity," and are presented with up-to-date analysis and discussion.
- Encyclopedia of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender history in America [HIL-REF HQ76.3 .U5 E53 2004]
This reference features over 500 topics, more than half of which are biographies, about issues, events, concepts, and figures pertinent to gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender history in the US. The entries are directed at beginning undergraduates and the general reader. Among the entries on general topics are advertising, bookstores, Arab Americans, boycotts, churches, coming out, dance, economics, geography, language, and suicide.
- Encyclopedia of Women Social Reformers
see also [HIL-REF HQ1236 .R29 2001 vols. 1-2]
The first comprehensive guide to women activists from every part of the world, illuminating the broad range of women's struggles to reform society from the 18th century to the present.
- Gay Canada: a bibliography and videography, 1984-2000 [HIL-REF HQ76.3 .C3 S63 2001]
Providing, in conjunction with the 1979 and 1984 editions of Homosexuality in Canada: a bibliography, a guide to Canadian gay/lesbian/bisexual/transgender issues from the earliest times to the opening of the 21st century.
- Gerritsen Collection of Aletta H. Jacobs - Books & Journals "This database is the definitive cross-cultural resource for information on women's history. It spans more than four centuries and 15 languages and includes over two million pages in full image. Users can trace the evolution of feminism within a single country, as well as the impact of that country's feminist movement on other countries and their movements. The Gerritsen Collection also provides immediate access to many primary sources from around the world that were previously available only in a limited number of rare book rooms."
Unlimited simultaneous users.
- Greenwood Encyclopedia of Women's Issues Worldwide, The [HIL-REF HQ1115 .G74 2003 vols. 1-4]
Women are working internationally to build a world based on gender equality and justice. Their concerns are shaped by conditions in their own countries and regions, and also by conditions for women in other parts of the world. Links forged by globalization, international relations, United Nations gender equality and development programs, and women's nongovernmental organizations connect their futures. This groundbreaking reference set documents the achievements and current challenges for all women, providing distortion-free and newly available information about women's status, in matters from education to violence, in more than 130 countries in the world's most populated areas.
- Handbook of Feminist Research: Theory and Praxis [HIL-REF HQ1180 .H35 2012]
This Handbook presents both a theoretical and practical approach to conducting social science research on, for, and about women. It develops an understanding of feminist research by introducing a range of feminist epistemologies, methodologies, and emergent methods that have had a significant impact on feminist research practice and women's studies scholarship. Contributors to the Second Edition continue to highlight the close link between feminist research and social change and transformation. The new edition expands the base of scholarship into new areas, with 12 entirely new chapters on topics such as the natural sciences, social work, the health sciences, and environmental studies. It extends discussion of the intersections of race, class, gender, and globalization, as well as transgender, transsexualism and the queering of gender identities.
- Handbook of Gender and Women's Studies [HIL-REF HQ1180 .H355 2006] Reviews the developments within gender and women's studies, including the study of masculinity, the feminist implications of postmodernism, the 'cultural turn', and globalization. This book offers critical analyses of women's and gender studies in work, the welfare state, family, education, religion, violence and war, and feminist global politics.
- Oxford Encyclopedia of Women in World History, The The Oxford Encyclopedia of Women in World History, edited by Bonnie G. Smith, captures the experiences of women throughout history in a far-reaching, four-volume work. Although there has been extensive research on women in history by region, no other text or reference work has comprehensively covered the role women have played throughout world history. With over 650 biographies of influential women and over 600 topical articles covering topics such as geography and history, culture and society, organizations, movements, and gender studies, Women in World History is the definitive reference work in the field.
Unlimited simultaneous users.
- Oxford Reference Multi-part database of the online versions of Oxford University Press texts. Each topical division contains the searchable version of the latest edition of published dictionaries and encyclopedias. Additionally, information about Oxford University Press is provided. Online texts will be updated after new editions of the print monographs are published. Covers the humanities and social sciences.
5 simultaneous users.
- Palgrave Handbook of Gender, Sexuality, and Canadian Politics
The Palgrave Handbook of Gender, Sexuality, and Canadian Politics offers the first and only handbook in the field of Canadian politics that uses 'gender' (which it interprets broadly, as inclusive of sex, sexualities, and other intersecting identities) as its category of analysis. Its premise is that political actors' identities frame how Canadian politics is thought, told, and done; in turn, Canadian politics, as a set of ideas, state institutions and decision-making processes, and civil society mobilizations, does and redoes gender. Following the standard structure of mainstream introductory Canadian politics textbooks, this handbook is divided into four sections (ideologies, institutions, civil society, and public policy) each of which contains several chapters on topics commonly taught in Canadian politics classes. The originality of the handbook lies in its approach: each chapter reviews the basics of a given topic from the perspective of gendered/sexualized and other intersectional identities. Such an approach makes the handbook the only one of its kind in Canadian Politics.
- Palgrave Handbook of Sexuality Education [HIL-REF HQ56 .P35 2017]
This state-of-the-art Handbook provides an authoritative overview of issues within sexuality education, coupled with ground-breaking discussion of emerging and unconventional insights in the field. With 32 contributions from 12 countries it definitively traces the landscape of issues, theories and practices in sexuality education globally. These rich and multidisciplinary essays are written by renowned critical sexualities studies experts and rising stars in this area and grouped under four main areas: Global Assemblages of Sexuality Education; Sexualities Education in Schools; Sexual Cultures, Entertainment Media and Communication Technologies; Re-animating What Else Sexuality Education Research Can Do, Be and Become. Importantly, this Handbook does not equate sexuality education with safer sex education nor understand this subject as confined to school based programmes. Instead, sexuality education is understood more broadly and to occur in spaces as diverse as community settings and entertainment media, and via communication technologies. It is an essential and comprehensive reference resource for academics, students and researchers of sexuality education that both demarcates the field and stimulates critical discussion of its edges. -- Back cover.
- Routledge Companion to Feminist Philosophy [HIL-REF HQ1190 .R68 2017]
"The Routledge Companion to Feminist Philosophy is an outstanding guide and reference source to the key topics, subjects, thinkers, and debates in feminist philosophy. Fifty-six chapters, written by an international team of contributors specifically for the Companion, are organized into five sections: (1) Engaging the Past; (2) Mind, Body, and World; (3) Knowledge, Language, and Science; (4) Intersections; (5) Ethics, Politics, and Aesthetics. The volume provides a mutually enriching representation of the several philosophical traditions that contribute to feminist philosophy. It also foregrounds issues of global concern and scope; shows how feminist theory meshes with rich theoretical approaches that start from transgender identities, race and ethnicity, sexuality, disabilities, and other axes of identity and oppression; and highlights the interdisciplinarity of feminist philosophy and the ways that it both critiques and contributes to the whole range of subfields within philosophy."--The publisher.
- SAGE Encyclopedia of LGBTQ Studies
This far-reaching and contemporary new Encyclopedia examines and explores the lives and experiences of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender and Queer (LGBTQ) individuals, focusing on the contexts and forces that shape their lives
- Sourcebook on Violence Against Women, The [HIL-REF HV6250.4 .W65 S68 2001]
This textbook comprises a collection of original scholarly writings extensively coving current research on violence against women. It is an excellent resource for students, practitioners, and academics.
- Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000 (Basic Edition) Women and Social Movements in the United States serves as a resource for students and scholars of U.S. history and U.S. women's history. It provides learning modules in the form of mini-monographs, each of which is organized around a specific question about a single social movement.
Unlimited simultaneous users.
- Women in American history : a social, political, and cultural encyclopedia and document collection [HIL-REF HQ1410 .W6468 2017]
This four-volume set documents the complexity and richness of women's contributions to American history and culture, empowering all students by demonstrating a more populist approach to the past.
Based on the content of most textbooks, it would be easy to reach the erroneous conclusion that women have not contributed much to America's history and development. Nothing could be further from the truth. Offering comprehensive coverage of women of a diverse range of cultures, classes, ethnicities, religions, and sexual identifications, this four-volume set identifies the many ways in which women have helped to shape and strengthen the United States.
This encyclopedia is organized into four chronological volumes, with each volume further divided into three sections. Each section features an overview essay and thematic essay as well as detailed entries on topics ranging from Lady Gaga to Ladybird Johnson, Lucy Stone, and Lucille Ball, and from the International Ladies of Rhythm to the International Ladies Garment Workers Union. The set also includes a vast variety of primary documents, such as personal letters, public papers, newspaper articles, recipes, and more. These primary documents enhance users' learning opportunities and enable readers to better connect with the subject matter.
- Provides significantly more detail than typical reference works on women's history and culture, enabling readers to better appreciate the contributions of women of all socio-cultural statuses
- Covers the astounding range of American women's experience, including women of various economic and racial statuses, religious affiliations, political and ideological identifications, and sexualities
- Includes a significant selection of primary documents, thereby combining the educational power of secondary and primary literature to create a richer learning experience for users
- Women in World History: A Biographical Encyclopedia [HIL-REF HQ1115 .W6 1999 vols. 1-17]
Projected to be 15 volumes upon completion in late 2000 (with an index to follow in mid-2001), this ambitious set will be international in scope and span from antiquity to the 20th century. (The first three volumes are reviewed here.) The scope is generally limited to women born before 1926, except for those active in the women's movement or whose place in history is assured. Initially hatched while the editors were working on Historic World Leaders (1994)--which profiled mainly men--this resource will include more than 10,000 entries varying in length from several pages to brief paragraphs. Frequent sidebars give information on women closely associated with the main entry, and numerous See references address name variations. Although indexes by time period, nationality, and subject would greatly enhance its usefulness as a reference, this set far exceeds recent single-volume international dictionaries (the Larousse Dictionary of Women, LJ 1/97, has about 3000 entries) and is unlikely to have any competitors on this scale soon. Recommended for large public and academic libraries and women's studies collections.Patricia A. Beaber, Coll. of New Jersey, Ewing Copyright 2000 Cahners Business Information, Inc. From: Reed Elsevier Inc. Copyright Reed Business Information