Ask Us Anthropology Guide

Additional Resources

• Cambridge Encyclopedia of Human Paleopathology [HIL-REF R134.8 .A93 1998]

  The Cambridge Encyclopedia of Human Paleopathology is a major reference work for all those interested in the identification of disease in human remains.

• Encyclopedia of Medical Anthropology: Health and Illness in the World's Culture [HIL-REF RA418 .E354 2004 vols. 1-2]

  Medical practitioners and the ordinary citizen are becoming more aware that we need to understand cultural variation in medical belief and practice. The more we know how health and disease are managed in different cultures, the more we can recognize what is "culture bound" in our own medical belief and practice. The Encyclopedia of Medical Anthropology is unique because it is the first reference work to describe the cultural practices relevant to health in the world's cultures and to provide an overview of important topics in medical anthropology. No other single reference work comes close to marching the depth and breadth of information on the varying cultural background of health and illness around the world. More than 100 experts - anthropologists and other social scientists - have contributed their firsthand experience of medical cultures from around the world. The encyclopedia consists of two volumes: Topics and Cultures. Volume 1, Topics covers: Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

   

• History of Physical Anthropology: An Encyclopedia [HIL-REF GN50.3 .H57 1997 vols.1-2]

  Spencer has written extensively about the history of physical anthropology and has published a lengthy bibliographic treatment of the subject (Ecce Homo: An Annotated Bibliographic History of Physical Anthropology, Greenwood, 1986). For the present work, he enlisted an international group of scholars and specialists to compose biographies on contributors to physical anthropology and essays on subjects such as subfields, national traditions, theories, controversies, sites, fossils, institutions, and museums. Entries include primary and secondary sources and, where applicable, location of archival materials. Cross references are provided, and the type is very small but clear. Although some likely biographies are missing, e.g., Mary Leakey and George Gliddon, the encyclopedia has tremendous breadth and depth, and it adds significantly to the literature. For researchers of the history and theory of science and medicine and library collections covering anthropology in any depth.Joyce L. Ogburn, Old Dominion Univ. Lib., Norfolk, Va. Copyright 1997 Cahners Business Information, Inc. From: Reed Elsevier Inc. Copyright Reed Business Information

• Human Fossil Record, The [HIL-REF GN282 .H83 2002 vols.1-4]

  Illustrated throughout with detailed photographs of excavated remains, this reference covers the craniodental remains from Africa and Asia attributed to the genus Homo. Arranged by continent and then organized alphabetically by site name, each entry features information on the morphology of the fossils and their location as well as a history of their discovery, an overview of previous descriptions and analyses, and a discussion of dating of the fossils and their geological, archaeological, and faunal contexts. References to the primary literature also are included. Schwartz teaches anthropology at the U. of Pittsburgh and Tattersall is with the American Museum of Natural History. Annotation (c)2003 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com) Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

• Wiley-Blackwell encyclopedia of human evolution [HIL-REF GN281 .W534 2011]

  This comprehensive two volume encyclopedia provides extensive coverage of important scientific terms related to improving our understanding of how we evolved.

• Historical dictionary of Mesoamerica [HIL-REF F1219 .W58 2012]

  Mesoamerica is one of six major areas of the world where humans independently changed their culture from a nomadic hunter-gatherer lifestyle into settled communities, cities, and civilization. In addition to China (twice), the Indus Valley, the Fertile Crescent of southwest Asia, Egypt, and Peru, Mesoamerica was home to exciting and irreversible changes in human culture called the Neolithic Revolution. The changes included domestication of plants and animals, leading to agriculture, husbandry, and eventually sedentary village life. These developments set the stage for the growth of cities, social stratification, craft specialization, warfare, writing, mathematics, and astronomy, or what we call the rise of civilization.
  

• Companion to Latin American Anthropology, A
  see also [HIL-REF GN564 .L29 C64 2008]

  Comprised of 24 newly commissioned chapters, this defining reference resource on Latin America introduces English-language readers to the debates, traditions, and sensibilities that have shaped the study of this diverse region. Written by some of the most prominent figures in Latin American and Latin Americanist anthropology and drawing on their own ethnographic research, the Companion highlights national and regional debates. Both geographically and topically focused, these chapters give a vivid sense of how anthropologists often combine intellectual and political work to address the pressing social and cultural issues of Latin America. Ultimately this volume encourages readers to consider how a confrontation with Latin American political, cultural, and historical realities has forced us to rethink traditional categories of scholarly analysis.

• Companion to the Anthropology of American Indians [HIL-REF E76.6 .C66 2004]

  The status of American Indians has been rooted in a view of Indians as members of indigenous polities with distinct cultures. Often, these cultures have been characterized by dominant colonial authorities as "savage" or "primitive," and it is the discipline of anthropology that, willingly and wittingly or not, helped to make the idea of "the primitive" into a social reality. Consequently, the "tribal slot" inhabited by American Indian-with both its benefits and its oppressions-is difficult to imagine without the discipline of anthropology. A Companion to the Anthropology of American Indians contains 26 original contributions by leading scholars who work actively as researchers in American Indian communities, or on the topic of American Indians. The book summarizes the state of anthropological knowledge of Indian peoples, as well as the history that got us to this point. Treated here is the full range of anthropological interest in American Indians: from ecological and political-economic questions to topics concerning religion, language, and expressive culture. Each chapter provides definitive coverage of its topic while situating ethnographic and ethnohistorical data in a broader framework. This framework includes the linked histories of American Indians and anthropology, the role of continued native resistance in changing both the situation of Indian people and the content of anthropology, and the potential roles of anthropology in an anti-colonial project that speaks to the pressing concerns of contemporary Indians. Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

• Companion to Forensic Anthropology

  Presents the most comprehensive assessment of the philosophy, goals, and practice of forensic anthropology currently available, with chapters by renowned international scholars and experts.

• Fifty Key Anthropologists [HIL-REF GN20 .F54 2011]

  Surveys the life and work of some of the most influential figures in anthropology.

• Biographical Dictionary of Social and Cultural Anthropology [HIL-REF GN20 .B56 2004]

  Amit's work consists of basic biographical entries for over 600 individuals who were professionally active from the late 19th century to the present. Entries were selected by an editorial team and include people throughout the world, but with a strong emphasis on American and British individuals. The scholarly interests represented range broadly, including linguistics and sometimes stretching into fields such as human evolution and primatology. Entries include most, if not all, those individuals students encounter in core undergraduate and graduate social and cultural anthropology courses taught in American institutions, as well as many current practitioners. Each entry, approximately one and a half to two pages in length, includes basic biographical information such as birth, death, and education, location of fieldwork, key publications, and a short narrative outlining the person's career, including the nature of his or her work and important contributions. Indexes by interests, institutions, names, and concepts conclude the work. A very useful resource from which one can pursue more information in greater depth in a variety of other sources. Summing Up: Recommended. All libraries, especially at educational institutions, that support study of anthropology. General Readers; Lower-division Undergraduates; Upper-division Undergraduates; Graduate Students; Researchers/Faculty; Professionals/Practitioners. Reviewed by M. R. Dittemore. From: Syndetics Solutions, Inc. Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

• Research Methods in Anthropology : Qualitative and Quantitative Approaches

  Electronic Resource. This text is the standard for anthropology students and researchers alike and offers valuable information and advice to all social scientists interested in research methods and analysis... An absolute must for all libraries, classrooms, and individuals interested in this subject matter.

• Wiley Online Library
  Wiley Online Library hosts the world's broadest and deepest multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. It delivers seamless integrated access to over 4 million articles from 1500 journals. UNB also subscribes to select eBook titles.
  Unlimited simultaneous users.
• Encyclopedia of Human Evolution and Prehistory [HIL-REF GN281 .E53 2000]

  This second edition offers more than 200 new entries covering the latest fossil finds and cutting-edge theories. In addition, all prior entries have been updated, including more than 200 that have been heavily revised and expanded to reflect new developments and discoveries in the field. With a total of more than 800 A-Z entries written by fifty-four internationally recognized scholars, "Encyclopedia of Human Evolution and Prehistory" is widely recognized as a standard in the field, providing the most complete context possible for understanding the 65-million-year story of humankind's origins. Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

• International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences (2nd Ed.)
  see also [HIL-REF H41 .I58 2001 vols. 1-26]
  Fully revised and updated, the second edition of the International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences, first published in 2001, offers a source of social and behavioral sciences reference material that is broader and deeper than any other. Available in both print and online editions, it comprises over 3,900 articles, commissioned by 71 Section Editors, and includes 90,000 bibliographic references as well as comprehensive name and subject indexes.
  
  UNB has online access to the 2001 edition as well as owning print volumes of the earlier edition.
  Unlimited simultaneous users.
• Oxford Handbook of Maritime Archaeology [HIL-REF CC77 .U5 O99 2011]

  The Oxford Handbook of Maritime Archaeology is a comprehensive survey of the field at a time when maritime archaeology has established itself as a mature branch of archaeology. This volume draws on the expertise of nearly fifty international scholars who examine the many distinct and universal aspects of the discipline.

• Dictionary of Human Geography [HIL-REF GF4 .D52 2009]
  With clear, critical, and constructive surveys of key terms by leading researchers in the field, The Dictionary of Human Geography, fifth edition, remains the definitive guide to the concepts and debates in human geography.Comprehensively revised new edition of a highly successful text with over 300 key terms appearing for the first timeSituates Human Geography within the humanities, social sciences and sciences as a wholeWritten by leading experts in the fieldMajor entries not only describe the development of concepts, contributions and debates in Human Geography but also advance themFeatures a new consolidated bibliography along with a detailed index and systematic cross-referencing of headwords Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.
• Companion to cultural resource management
  This title is part of the Wiley/Blackwell Reference Online e-book collection available through the Wiley Online Library.
  Unlimited simultaneous users.
• ARTstor
  Artstor is a repository of approximately 300 collections composed of over 2.5 million digital images (and growing), related data and provides tools to actively use those images in a restricted usage environment that balances the rights of the content providers and the needs of the users. The images are drawn from different sources, such as museums, archaeological teams, photo archives, slide collections, and art reference publishers.

  Scholars can examine wide-ranging material such as Native American art from the Smithsonian, treasures from the Louvre, and panoramic, 360-degree views of the Hagia Sophia in a single, easy-to-use resource. The artistic traditions across many cultures embraces architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, and design as well as many other forms of visual culture.
  Unlimited simultaneous users.

• Oxford Reference
  Multi-part database of the online versions of Oxford University Press texts. Each topical division contains the searchable version of the latest edition of published dictionaries and encyclopedias. Additionally, information about Oxford University Press is provided. Online texts will be updated after new editions of the print monographs are published. Covers the humanities and social sciences.
  5 simultaneous users.
• Smithsonian Global Sound® for Libraries (Music Online)
  Smithsonian Global Sound provides over 35,000 tracks of music, natural sounds and spoken words, delivered via streaming audio. It includes performances of traditional musics from around the world, poetry readings, environmental sounds, and recordings by legendary folk, jazz and blues performers. Liner notes for many recordings are also available.
  5 simultaneous users