Classical Archaeology Guide

Reference Tools

When researching a new topic it is often necessary to get an overview, explanations of unfamiliar terms, or brief factual information.

The print and electronic resources listed below include selected reference materials (dictionaries, encyclopaedias, handbooks, guides, and standards) for the field of Classical Archaeology. To find additional reference materials, check our Reference Materials database.

Key Resources

  • Oxford Classical Dictionary, The [HIL-REF DE5 .O9 2012]

    The authoritative one-volume guide to all aspects of the ancient world.

  • Brill's New Pauly: Encyclopaedia of the Ancient World: Antiquity [HIL-REF DE5 .N3513 2002 vols. 1-15]

    Updating and translation of Pauly's Real-Encyclopädie der classischen Altertumswissenschaft.

  • Encyclopedia of the History of Classical Archaeology, An [HIL-REF DE5 .E5 1996 vols. 1-2]

    With 1,125 entries and 170 contributors, this is the first encyclopedia on the history of classical archaeology. It focuses on Greek and Roman material, but also covers the early cultures of the Bronze Age Aegeans and the Etruscans and manifestations of Greek and Roman culture in other parts of Europe and the Mediterranean Sea. Unlike recent studies focusing on the science of excavating, this book considers archaeological study in the Middle Ages, the Renaissance, and the modern era. It includes entries on individuals whose activities influenced knowledge of sites and monuments and sites as seen, changed, and interpreted through time; entries on major works of art excavated during the Renaissance; and works that were known in the Middle Ages. Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

  • Encyclopedia of Archaeology : History and Discoveries [HIL-REF CC100 .E54 2001 vols. 1-3]

    Written by the most authoritative scholars from around the world, a massive treasure-house of information on all aspects of archaeology, from prehistory to the present day.

  • Oxford handbook of the Bronze Age Aegean (ca. 3000-1000 BC) [HIL-REF DF220 .O946 2010]

    Divided into four parts, the handbook begins with "Background and Definitions," which contains chapters establishing the discipline in its historical, geographical, and chronological settings, and in its relation to other disciplines. The second part, "Chronology and Geography," contains chapters examining the Bronze Age Aegean by chronological period (Early Bronze Age, Middle Bronze Age, Late Bronze Age). Each of the periods is further subdivided geographically, so that individual chapters are concerned with Mainland Greece during the Early Bronze Age, Crete during the Early Bronze Age, the Cycladic Islands during the Early Bronze Age, and the same for the Middle Bronze Age, followed by the Late Bronze Age. The third part, "Thematic and Specific Topics," includes chapters examining thematic topics that cannot be done justice in a strictly chronological/geographical treatment, including religion, state and society, trade, warfare, pottery, writing, and burial customs, as well as specific events, such as the eruption of Santorini and the Trojan War. The fourth part, "Specific Sites and Areas," contains chapters examining the most important regions and sites in the Bronze Age Aegean, including Mycenae, Tiryns, Pylos, Knossos, Kommos, Rhodes, the northern Aegean, and the Uluburun shipwreck, as well as adjacent areas such as the Levant, Egypt, and the western Mediterranean.

  • Encyclopedia of Archaeology [HIL-REF CC70 .E53 2008 vols. 1-3]

    Archaeology is a subject that fascinates us. From Egyptian tombs to a frozen Alpine wayfarer, from cities buried under volcanic ash to stone arrow heads turned up by the plow, archaeology is in the news and in our backyards. It is paradoxical that a subject that so easily captures the imagination is so difficult for the serious layman to access. Superficial media treatments and picture-book atlases and site guides on the one hand, jargon-heavy scholarly books and narrowly focused articles on the other-there are few ways to learn about the real world of archaeology outside the college classroom or the dig site. The Encyclopedia of Archaeology changes this, in making all aspects of archaeology accessible to a broad audience of the general scientific community, educators, students, and avocational archaeologists. Professional archaeologists and anthropologists will also find the encyclopedia a ready source of up-to-date information on specialities outside their own expertise. The Encyclopedia of Archaeology encompass all aspects of archaeology, including the nature and diversity of archaeology as a scientific discipline, the practice of archaeology, archaeology in the everyday world, and the future of the discipline. Featured in the Encyclopedia of Archaeology are articles by leading authors that summarize archaeological knowledge at the beginning the 21st century, highlighting important sites and issues, and tracing the development of prehistoric cultures around the globe. No existing work provides the breadth and depth of coverage as the Encyclopedia of Archaeology. * A completely new encyclopedia; not a revision or expansion of an earlier publication * The first and only reference work to cover all elements of archaeology, from the Artic to Underwater * Topics provide coverage of 15 general subject areas, encompassing many specific fields of study. Approximately 200 overview articles, specifically commissioned for this work * Distinguished Editorial Board headed by Editor-in-Chief Professor Deborah Pearsall, University of Missouri, along with many other prominent scientists serving as Editorial Advisors * Every article is carefully peer-reviewed to ensure accuracy and comprehensiveness * Each entry in the Encyclopedia begins with an outline of the article content and a concise definition of the subject of the article * Glossary entries explain key terms * Further Reading lists appear at the end of each entry * Extensive cross-referencing system links related articles Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

  • Archaeological Method and Theory: An Encyclopedia [HIL-REF CC75 .A654 2000]
  • Handbook of Archaeological Methods [HIL-REF CC75 .H337 2005 vols. 1-2]

    Designed to accompany the Handbook of Archaeological Theory (2005), this reference contains 34 essays by British and American archaeologists describing the history and various practices utilized in their field, with the chapters grouped according to type, namely, methods used in the field, for analysis, in application, methodological frameworks, and management issues. Individual chapter topics include ethnoarchaeology, maritime archaeology, statistics, pottery, rock art analysis, geoarchaeology, and funding archaeological research. Each chapter concludes with a bibliography. The reference will be used by undergraduate and graduate students as well as specialists. Maschner teaches anthropology at Idaho State U. Chippindale, former editor of Antiquity, is with the Cambridge U. Museum of Archaeology and Anthropology in the UK. Annotation #169;2006 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com) Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

  • Oxford Companion to Archaeology, The
    Since its publication in 1996, the Oxford Companion to Archaeology has firmly established itself as the standard reference work in the field of archaeology, remaining a favorite among students, scholars, and anyone interested in archaeology. In close to 800 entries, the second edition provides thorough coverage of historical archaeology, the development of archaeology as a field of study, and the ways the discipline works to explain the past. In addition to these theoretical entries, other entries describe the major excavations, discoveries, and innovations, from the discovery of the cave paintings at Lascaux to the deciphering of Egyptian hieroglyphics and the use of luminescence dating.
    5 simultaneous users.
  • Encyclopedia of Archaeology: The Great Archaeologists

    Created over almost 10 years and involving scholars from all over the world contributing articles on their areas of expertise, the five volumes of this encyclopedia aim to provide general readers with up-to-date information, to dispel myths and misconceptions, and to celebrate the vitality of an ever-evolving science. In this first set, some of the world's best known archaeologists have written 58 biographies of their predecessors. These essays constitute a history of archaeology from its beginnings in Renaissance antiquarianism down to the end of the 20th century.

  • Oxford Dictionary of National Biography

    Oxford Dictionary of National Biography is an illustrated/fulltext reference tool providing 55,000 specially-written signed biographies of the men and women who shaped all aspects of the British past from the earliest times to the end of the year 2000. It is the product of research instituted at the University of Oxford and funded by the British Academy and by Oxford University Press. It is the achievement of 10,000 contributors and advisers staff in Oxford. The Oxford DNB aims to provide full, accurate, concise, and readable articles on noteworthy people in all walks of life. No living person is included: the Dictionary's articles are confined to people who died before 31 December 2000.

  • ARTstor
    Searchable database of over 1.2 million digital images. ARTstor covers many time periods and cultures, and documents the fields of architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, and design, as well as many other forms of visual culture. Images are drawn from a variety of sources including: museums, archaeological teams, photo archives, slide collections, and art reference publishers. Users can search, view, and download images.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.

Additional Resources

  • Cambridge Histories Online (Cambridge Core)
    This resource, part of Cambridge Core, contains the online versions of over 270 Cambridge Histories publications in the following 15 areas: American History, British History, Economic History, General History, History of Science, History of the Book, Language and Linguistics, Literary Studies, Music, Philosophy, Political and Social Theory, Regional History, Religious Studies, Theatre Studies and Performing Arts, and Warfare. For a complete listing of titles in each area, please refer to the publisher's site, at: https://www.cambridge.org/core/what-we-publish/collections/cambridge-histories
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Companion to ancient history, A
    This title is part of the Blackwell Reference Online e-book collection.
    Unlimited simultaneous users
  • Companion to archaic Greece, A
    This title is part of the Blackwell Reference Online e-book collection.
    Unlimited simultaneous users
  • Greece: An Oxford Archaeological Guide [HIL-REF DF78 .M37 2001]

    Greece, with all its temples, cities, and sanctuaries created by Europe's most formative ancient civilization, is a must-see for the archaeological traveler. This valuable new addition to the acclaimed Oxford Archaeological Guides series provides coverage of all the main archaeological sites in Greece, ranging from prehistory to the sixth century AD. The individual sites are arranged by region, and include Philip's Tomb at Vergina, the Palace complex at Mycenae, the Temples of the Acropolis, the Hellenistic city of the Messene, and the Roman colony of Corinth. Also included in the book are 'partner factor' ratings that rank the most worthwhile sites for travelers to visit during their stay. An up-to-date introduction surveys Greece's landscape, history, and archaeology from the Neolithic period to the end of antiquity, and places the sites in their cultural context. Finally, there is a chronology for reference and a glossary of essential terms. Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

  • Rome: An Oxford Archaeological Guide to Rome [HIL-REF DG62 .C53 2010]

    The largest archaeological site in the world, Rome includes such breathtaking structures as the Capitoline Hill, the Roman Forum, the Colosseum, the Mausoleums of Augustus and Hadrian, the Circus Maximus, and the Catacombs. Maps diagrams.

  • Barrington Atlas of the Greek and Roman World [HIL-REF G1033 .B3 2000]

    "Quite simply the most important and most complicated project to be undertaken in classical studies this generation."--NEH reviewer "This atlas provides us with a vital missing tool. It is a model of creative planning, and will be absolutely indispensable."--C. Nicolet (Sorbonne, Paris)

  • Rome and environs : an archaeological guide
    see also [HIL-REF DG62 .C623 2007]

    This guide brings the work of one of the best known scholars of Roman archeology and art to an English-language audience. Conveniently organized by walking tours and illustrated throughout with clear maps, drawings, and plans, it covers all of the city's ancient sites (including the Capitoline, the Forum, the Palatine Hill, the Valley of the Colosseum, the Esquiline, the Caelian, the Quirinal, and the Campus Martius), and, unlike most other guides, now includes the major monuments in a large area outside Rome proper but within easy reach, such as Ostia Antica, Palestrina, Tivoli, and the many areas of interest along the ancient Roman roads.

  • Companion to Roman Architecture

    A Companion to Roman Architecture presents a comprehensive review of the critical issues and approaches that have transformed scholarly understanding in recent decades in one easy-to-reference volume.

  • Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Greece and Rome [HIL-REF DE5 .O95 2010 v.1-7]

    v. 1. Academy-Bible -- v. 2. Bilingualism and multilingualism-Dura-Europos -- v. 3. Earthquakes-Hetaera -- v. 4. Hippocratic Corpus-Mosaics -- v. 5. Mos Maiorum-Posidonius of Apamea -- v. 6. Postal service-Teleology -- v. 7. Temples-Zoology ; Topical outline ; Index.

  • Encyclopedia of Greece and the Hellenic Tradition [HIL-REF DF77 .E54 2000 vols. 1-2]

    This two-volume encyclopedia explores Greece and the Greeks for the 3500 years of their recorded history. It is restricted to the history and culture of the Greeks themselves, and does not focus on the Hellenic tradition in global terms or the influence that Hellenism has exerted on other cultures.

  • New Topographical Dictionary of Ancient Rome [HIL-REF DG68 .R5 1992]

    Richardson defines and describes the known buildings and monuments, as well as the geographical and topographical features, of ancient Rome.

  • Oxford Encyclopedia of Archaeology in the Near East [HIL-REF DS56 .O9 1997 vols. 1-5]

    This comprehensive five-volume work analyzes the archaeological and linguistic data that pertain to the broad cultural milieu of the ancient Near East, the crossroads of three of the world's most influential religions -- Judaism, Christianity, and Islam. Ranging from prehistoric times up to the early centuries of the rise of Islam, the work covers the civilizations of Syria-Palestine, Mesopotamia, Anatolia, Iran, Arabia, Cyprus, Egypt, and the coastal regions of North and East Africa. It includes 1,125 alphabetically arranged entries on sites, languages, material culture, archaeological methods, organizations and institutions, and major excavators and scholars of the field.

  • Pictorial Dictionary of Ancient Rome [HIL-REF NA310 .N28 1968]
  • Lexicon Topographicum Urbis Romae [HIL-REF DG63 .L49 1993]

    A five-volume set containing 2,300 entries on the topography of ancient Rome including buildings and monuments constructed within the Aurelianic walls through the early seventh century A.D.

  • Grove Encyclopedia of Classical Art and Architecture, The [HIL-REF HIL-REF N5610 .G76 2007 vols. 1-2]

    The Grove Encyclopedia of Classical Art and Architecture spans every art form, medium, and civilization the fall of the Roman Empire, The Grove Encyclopedia of Classical Art #38; Architecture is a comprehensive reference source on this important field of study. Drawing on the expansivescholarship of The Dictionary of Art (1996, 34 vols) and Grove Art Online, and adding dozens of new entries, the Encyclopedia includes all subject areas in the classical arts, including philosophers, rulers, writers and artists, architecture, ceramics, sculpture, and more. Arranged alphabetically, this two-volume set contains over 800 entries tracing the development of the art forms in classical civilizations such as ancient Greece and Rome. Illustrated with 400 halftones, maps and line drawings, and 32 color plates, the Encyclopedia is a reliable and convenientresource covering this field of everlasting significance in the development of western culture. Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

  • Handbook to Life in Ancient Rome [HIL-REF DG75 .A35 2004]

    Handbook to Life in Ancient Rome, Updated Edition provides in-depth, easy-to-understand information on all areas of Roman life, moving from the eighth century B.C. to the fifth century A.D., spanning more than 1,200 years. Organized thematically, each chapter includes an extensive bibliography as well as site-specific photographs, line drawings, and maps, more than 175 in all. Clear, authoritative, and well-organized, Handbook to Life in Ancient Rome, Updated Edition provides a unique look at a society whose art, literature, law, and engineering have profoundly influenced the development and shape of Western civilization throughout the Middle Ages and the Renaissance and up to today. Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

  • Topography and Monuments of Ancient Rome [HIL-REF DG63 .P72]
  • Ruins and Excavations of Ancient Rome [HIL-REF DG63 .L25 1897]
  • Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Egypt, The [HIL-REF DT58 .O94 2001 vols. 1-3]

    Featuring 600 original articles written by leading scholars, The Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Egypt goes far beyond the records of archaeology to make available what we know about the full social, political, religious, cultural and artistic legacy of this 5,000 year civilization.The Encyclopedia offers the most complete picture available of ancient Egyptian civilization, from the predynastic era to its eclipse in the seventh century CE. Here is the Egyptian world in illuminating, accessible detail: art, architecture, religion, language, literature, trade, politics, everyday social life and the culture of the court. Of special interest is the coverage of themes and issues that are particularly controversial--such as the new theories of the origins of complex society in the Nile Valley, new discoveries about Greco-Roman Egypt, and new developments in literature, religion, linguistics and other fields, including the debates about Egypt's African legacy.Extensively illustrated with photographs, line drawings, and maps, the Encyclopedia of Ancient Egypt is designed for the widest possible access, serving students, teachers, and scholars in fields ranging from Near East archaeology and classics to ancient art, architecture, history, language and religion, as well as general readers fascinated by a world that remains--even today--incompletely mapped. Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

  • Companion to ancient Egypt, A
    This title is part of the Blackwell Reference Online e-book collection.
    Unlimited simultaneous users
  • Historical Dictionary of Mesopotamia [HIL-REF DS70.82 .L45 2010]

    Leick (Chelsea College of Art and Design, London) has written widely about ancient Mesopotamia and Babylonia. Here she offers a reference on the area between the Tigris and Euphrates Rivers and surrounding territory from the earliest record of irrigation and large permanent settlements some 80,000 years ago through the myriad civilizations and empires to the arrival of Islam in the seventh century AD. Among her entries are building materials, the trade city of Dilmun, archaeologist Jacobsen Thorkild (1904-93), the Babylonian king Rim-Sin I (r. 1822-1763 BC), and warfare. The cross-referencing is extensive; there is no index. No date is noted for the first edition. Annotation c2010 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com) Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

  • Archaeological Survey Manual, The [HIL-REF CC76.3 .W458 2007]

    Governmental guidelines have forced a dramatic change in the practice of archaeological surveying. This book provides an introduction to students, field novices, and land managers on the strategies, methods, and logic of contemporary survey work. It is useful for an archaeological methods class, field school, or reference collection.

  • Archaeologist's Fieldwork Companion, The [HIL-REF CC76 .K57 2007]

    Kipfer, a lexicographer and author, provides a guide to information and materials needed when doing archeological fieldwork, compiled in one volume that can be carried while in the field. Aimed at students, amateurs, and professionals, the book covers classification and typology; sample forms and records; lists and checklists; mapping, drawing, and photographing settings and artifacts; measurements and conversion, including charts and using equipment; and planning and designing projects. Resources are listed in the final chapter, including organizations and journals, ethical guidelines, legislation, and government information. Chapters cover topics in alphabetical order; no index is supplied. Annotation #169;2007 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com) Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

  • Dictionary of Artifacts [HIL-REF CC70 .K55 2007]

    While archaeologists, researchers, and students generally know the meanings and terms used for artifacts within their own areas of study, it is difficult to find authoritative definitions for those from periods or cultures outside of their expertise. Containing close to 3,000 words and definitions, the Dictionary of Artifacts is an indispensable reference for anyone working within the field of archaeology.

  • Encyclopedia of Underwater and Maritime Archaeology [HIL-REF CC77 .U5 E53 1998]

    The Encyclopedia of Underwater and Maritime Archaeology is the first comprehensive reference book on the discovery and recovery of the submerged past. Written by archaeologists and other scientists who have made the discoveries, the encyclopedia's entries describe sites around the world and across time: prehistoric American Indian settlements; submerged Bronze and Iron Age settlements; sunken Phoenician, Greek, and Roman cities and harbors; Viking ship burials; ancient warships and merchant craft in the Mediterranean; warships sunk during atomic bomb tests; and much more. Detailed entries also cover new fields of research in underwater and maritime archaeology, the techniques and tools used by underwater archaeologists, critical issues and the relevant legislation that has been passed, and important institutions and individuals. Overview articles examine work in broader regional, national, and scientific contexts.

  • Oxford Handbook of Maritime Archaeology [HIL-REF CC77 .U5 O99 2011]

    The Oxford Handbook of Maritime Archaeology is a comprehensive survey of the field at a time when maritime archaeology has established itself as a mature branch of archaeology. This volume draws on the expertise of nearly fifty international scholars who examine the many distinct and universal aspects of the discipline.

  • Concise Oxford dictionary of archaeology, The
    "From amphora to ziggurat, and Beaker Culture to molluscan analysis, this comprehensive dictionary, covers the essential vocabulary for archaeological work, including principles, theories, techniques, artefacts, materials, people, places, monuments, equipment, and descriptive terms. The dictionary focuses especially on Europe, the Old World, and the Americas, and covers legislation relating to the United Kingdom and the USA."
    5 simultaneous users.
  • Handbook for Classical Research [HIL-REF DE71 .S27 2011]

    Offers guidance to students needing to learn more about the different fields and subfields of classical research, and its methods and resources. This book is divided into 7 parts: The Basics, Language, The Traditional Fields, The Physical Remains, The Written Word, The Classics and Related Disciplines, The Classics since Antiquity.

  • Blackwell Reference Online
    WARNING: This resource loads slowly and may need a page reload. Blackwell Reference Online "is a vast new online library giving instant access to the most authoritative and up-to-date scholarship across the humanities and social sciences. With more than 350 reference volumes to be published in Blackwell Reference Online by the end of 2008, it is the largest academic reference collection available online and includes the critically-acclaimed Blackwell Companions and Handbooks, major reference works such as the Blackwell Encyclopedia of Management and the Companion to Syntax, and a whole host of other valuable reference materials such as dictionaries, encyclopedias and concise companions."
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Oxford Reference
    Multi-part database of the online versions of Oxford University Press texts. Each topical division contains the searchable version of the latest edition of published dictionaries and encyclopedias. Additionally, information about Oxford University Press is provided. Online texts will be updated after new editions of the print monographs are published. Covers the humanities and social sciences.
    5 simultaneous users.
  • Oxford Bibliographies Online
    "Oxford Bibliographies Online (OBO) is an entirely new research tool for the social sciences and humanities. A scholar-curated library of discipline-based subject modules, OBO is designed to help busy researchers find reliable sources of information in half the time by directing them to exactly the right chapter, book, website, archive, or data set they need for their research."
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Dictionary of Bibliographic Abbreviations Found in the Scholarship of Classical Studies and Related Disciplines [HIL-REF PA99 .W44 2003]

    The problem that led Wellington (classics, U. of Cincinnati) to compile the reference is that colleagues and journals in her and related disciplines tend to make up their own bibliographic abbreviations without letting anyone in on what they mean. So, she has identified abbreviations scholars are most apt to run across. She updates and expands the 1983 edition by doubling the entries, expanding the titles referred to, enlarging the field covered, integrating Internet abbreviations, and including more regional historical and archaeological publications and eastern European titles. Annotation (c)2003 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com) Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

Find Books

UNB WorldCat is our catalogue for searching UNB Libraries' collections.  It is useful when you don't have a particular title in mind and are instead searching by topic or keyword(s) to see what is available.  Note that UNB WorldCat also includes links to selected article records by default.  After an initial search you can limit results to books, if desired.

Search UNB WorldCat:     

Advanced Search | Locations Guide | Other Catalogues | Help/FAQ

Books and other materials appearing in your results and not held by UNB may be requested for loan from another institution.  Please refer to the document delivery page for electronic request forms and more details.

To browse the shelves for books in archaeology, try the following Call Number ranges:

CB 3-482History of Civilization
CCArchaeology - General
DEGreco-Roman World
DF
Greece, History
DG
Italy, History
N
Fine Arts
NAArchitecture
NBSculpture
NDPainting

Document Delivery Service

Books and other materials not available at UNB may be available for loan from another institution through our document delivery service.  See the document delivery page for the electronic request form.  Delivery in print or electronic form usually takes between 3-7 days.

Key Databases & Journals

When searching for journal articles, an article/research database is usually the best place to begin.  Below are some recommended article databases for research in Classical Archaeology. For other databases, check the Article & Research Databases tab on the library website.

The key database used to research all aspects of Greek and Roman antiquity (prehistory to AD 800) is an international index - L'Annee Philologique

Key Resources

  • Année philologique
    L'Année philologique (APh) is the most comprehensive international index to scholarly research in Classical Studies from prehistory to 800 A.D. The web version covers a wide variety of subjects including archaeology, ancient history, language, literature, law, philosophy, religion, science, and technology. APh currently indexes over 400,000 bibliographic records to journal articles, books, conference papers and book reviews from 1949 onward.
    3 simultaneous users.
  • JSTOR Archival Collection
    JSTOR provides access to back issues of a variety of scholarly journals. UNB Libraries currently subscribes to the Arts & Sciences (I through X) collections, along with the Life Sciences and Ireland collections.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Academic Search Premier
    Academic Search Premier is a multidisciplinary resource that "provides journal coverage for most academic areas of study."
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Art Index
    Art Index "references articles from international art publications, as well as paintings that appear as illustrations for articles or advertisements, listing the works under the artists' names with full bibliographic citations."
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • ARTstor
    Searchable database of over 1.2 million digital images. ARTstor covers many time periods and cultures, and documents the fields of architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, and design, as well as many other forms of visual culture. Images are drawn from a variety of sources including: museums, archaeological teams, photo archives, slide collections, and art reference publishers. Users can search, view, and download images.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Scopus
    Scopus, a new multidisciplinary online resource, will be invaluable to students and faculty in various fields of study within the sciences, health sciences and the social sciences. Scopus offers full-text linking, abstracting-and-indexing information and provides access to over 66 million abstracts dating back to 1966.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • GeoRef
    GeoRef "covers worldwide technical literature on geology and geophysics."
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Periodicals Archive Online (PAO - ProQuest)
    "Periodicals Archive Online is a major online periodical archive that makes the backfiles of periodicals in the humanities and social sciences available electronically, providing access to the full text of a growing number of digitized periodicals that have been indexed in its sister database, Periodicals Index Online."--About page.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.

Additional Resources

  • Films on Demand
    Note: UNB Libraries subscribes to the Master Academic Collection and FMG Archival Films & Newsreels Collection. Not all films listed are viewable. Videos are in Flash format. Includes 5,500+ educational titles and over 60,000 video segments licensed for use in Canada, covering a broad range of subjects including business, social sciences, education, health and medicine, humanities, sciences, and guidance, and including archival films and newsreels.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Kanopy
    Kanopy provides access to over 7,000 films covering a broad range of subjects courtesy of distributors such as the Criterion Collection, First Run Features, Green Planet Films, BBCActive, and many others.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Dissertations & Theses (ProQuest PQDT: formerly Digital Dissertations)
    ProQuest Dissertations and Theses (formerly Digital Dissertations) "is the single, authoritative source for information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses. The database represents the work of authors from over 1,000 graduate schools and universities."
    All PhD dissertations and Master's theses from depositing universities are available from 1997 onwards, unless the document's author has requested a temporary delay.
    It is also possible to search within an interface exclusive to Dissertations & Theses @ University of New Brunswick.

    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Google Scholar
    Google Scholar searches a subset of the Web that Google has classified as "scholarly literature". They do not publish a list of chosen sites, and they do not state how often sites are checked. Some important sources are not covered at all. Thus, Google Scholar alone should not be relied on for comprehensive research.
    By accessing Google Scholar via the UNB Libraries website, you benefit from technology that lets on-campus and off-campus users connect directly to full-text articles in journals to which UNB subscribes. Just click on the blue Title link in the Google result list.
    Off-campus users can also set Scholar Preferences to show the "Check for fulltext @ UNB" link in search results. See "Scholar Preferences" at the Google Scholar site.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
Need help using L'Année philologique? Try Tips and Tricks for Using L'Année philologique.

Academic Journals

UNB Libraries subscribe to a wide variety of academic journals, both in print and online. A few journal titles in Classical Archaeology include:

Document Delivery

If you can't locate the item you're looking for at UNB, either in print or online, you can still submit a document delivery request.

Find Images

Images from archaeological sites, excavations plus artifacts in museums/private collections are often digitized and made available through databases or on the web.

The following are a selection of a few image databases:

Free Internet Sites

While there is a wealth of information freely available on the internet, not all sites are created equal. Careful evaluation is a critical part of doing research on the Internet.

Below are some recommended sites:

Citing Your Sources

Accurate, properly formatted footnotes, reading lists, and bibliographies are hallmarks of good academic research. Through citing, you acknowledge the source of any ideas you mention in your writing, document your research, and provide the information your readers need to track down your sources.

Numerous citation styles exist, and each specifies what elements are required (title, author, journal name, etc.) and how the citation should be formatted.

The standard citation style for Classical Archaeology is the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers but your instructor may require or recommend that you use another.

Please consult your course syllabus or check with your instructor to be sure of using the correct citation style for your assignment.

Ask Us

Last modified on August 2, 2017 11:44