Ask Us Kinesiology Guide

• SportDiscus (EBSCO)
  SportDiscus is an international database that covers all aspects of "sport, fitness, recreation and related fields."
  8 simultaneous users.
• CAB Direct
  Combines CAB abstracts and CAB abstracts archive into a single database indexing literature in the fields of plant science; animal science; pathogen, pest, parasite, and weed management; natural resources and ecology; forestry, forest products, and agroforestry; soil science; rural development, tourism, and economics; food science and food products; biotechnology; and agricultural engineering. The database is grouped into the following categories: animal sciences, plant sciences, ecology & environmental sciences, agricultural economics & rural studies, human sciences, and leisure, recreation, and tourism.
  4 simultaneous users.
• Scopus
  Scopus, a multidisciplinary online resource, will be invaluable to students and faculty in various fields of study within the sciences, health sciences and the social sciences. Scopus offers full-text linking, abstracting-and-indexing information including peer-reviewed titles from international publishers, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, quality web sources.
  Unlimited simultaneous users.
• ERIC (EBSCO)
  ERIC is a "bibliographic database that contains education-related documents and journal articles." The EBSCO interface also provides some full text linking.
  Unlimited simultaneous users.
• EMBASE
  EMBASE is a major biomedical and pharmaceutical database indexing international journals in the following fields: drug research, pharmacology, pharmaceutics, toxicology, clinical and experimental human medicine, health policy and management, public health, occupational health, environmental health, drug dependence and abuse, psychiatry, forensic medicine, and biomedical engineering/instrumentation.
  Unlimited simultaneous users.
• Medline (1950 to Present)
  "MEDLINE® is the United States National Library of Medicine's (NLM®) premier bibliographic database providing information from the following fields: Medicine, Nursing, Dentistry, Veterinary medicine, Allied health, and Pre-clinical sciences. As well, MEDLINE is the primary source of global information from international literature on biomedicine, including the following topics as they relate to biomedicine and health care: Biology, Environmental science, Marine biology, Plant and animal science, Biophysics, and Chemistry."
  50 simultaneous OLRN users.
• CINAHL with Full Text (Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature - EBSCO)
  CINAHL with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive source of full text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 500 journals indexed in CINAHL. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index - with no embargo. With full-text coverage dating back to 1981, CINAHL with Full Text is the definitive research tool for all areas of nursing and allied health literature.
  Unlimited simultaneous users
• PsycINFO (American Psychological Association - EBSCO)
  PsycINFO is an abstracting and indexing database of more than 2000 journals (approximately 3.3 million records) devoted to peer-reviewed literature (journals, books and dissertations) in the behavioural sciences and mental health.
  Unlimited simultaneous users.
• Sociological Abstracts (ProQuest)
  Sociological Abstracts "covers the world's literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behaviorial sciences."
  Unlimited simultaneous users.

Key Resources

• Oxford Reference
  Multi-part database of the online versions of Oxford University Press texts. Each topical division contains the searchable version of the latest edition of published dictionaries and encyclopedias. Additionally, information about Oxford University Press is provided. Online texts will be updated after new editions of the print monographs are published. Covers the humanities and social sciences.
  5 simultaneous users.
• Oxford companion to the body

  "he Oxford Companion to the Body is a fascinating and authoritative guide to every aspect of the body. It provides concise and readable accounts of the structure and function of all the major systems of the body and the causes of disorders that affect them. Interwoven with this coverage of the science of the body, are entertaining and informative articles on social and religious attitudes to the body, and its significance for artists, philosophers and writers." [from the website]

• Oxford Dictionary of Sports Science and Medicine
  see also [HIL-REF RC1206 .O94 1994]

  This dictionary covers all the major areas of sports science and medicine including: anatomy, biomechanics, exercise physiology, nutrition, sports psychology, sports sociology, sports injuries, and training principles. It was compiled with the help of a team of eminent contributors and advisers; the third edition has been updated to incorporate recent advances, for example in the areas of gene technology and drug and doping regulations.

• Food and fitness: a dictionary of diet and exercise
  "This dictionary enables users to evaluate the claims made about different diets and types of exercise. It covers all matters relating to diet and exercise including diet methods, food supplements, sex and exercise, sports injuries, anatomy, energy-related terms, exercises for improving strength, flexibility, stamina, weight control, training methods and principles, calorie requirements of different activities, and much more."
  5 simultaneous users.
• Encyclopedia of Human Rights
  The five-volume Encyclopedia of Human Rights, edited by David Forsythe, offers comprehensive coverage of all aspects of human rights theory, practice, law, and history in over 300 entries signed by leading scholars and human rights experts. The coverage includes major figures, organizations and institutions, human rights events and crises, and human rights norms.
  Unlimited simultaneous users.
• Wiley International Encyclopedia of Marketing
  WARNING: This resource loads slowly and may need a page reload. Contents: v. 1. Marketing strategy / edited by Robert A. Peterson and Roger A. Kerin -- v. 2. Marketing research / edited by Wagner A. Kamakura -- v. 3. Consumer behavior / edited by Richard P. Bagozzi and Ayalla A. Ruvio -- v. 4. Advertising and integrated communication / edited by Michael A. Belch and George E. Belch -- v. 5. Product innovation and management / edited by Barry L. Bayus -- v. 6. International marketing / edited by Daniel C. Bello and David A. Griffith -- v. 7. Cumulative index.
  Unlimited simultaneous users.
• Dictionary of biology, A
  This dictionary "provides comprehensive coverage of biology, biophysics, and biochemistry, as well as key terms from medicine and palaeontology. There are also feature articles on important topics, such as genetically modified organisms."
  5 simultaneous users.
• Dictionary of sociology, A
  see also [HIL-REF HM425 .D5735 2005]
  "Compiled by an expert team of sociologists under the editorship of Gordon Marshall, this dictionary has international coverage of terms, methods, and concepts; related terms from psychology, economics, anthropology, philosophy, and political science; and material on topics such as cultural studies and identity, mass media, and the Internet, nationalism and McDonaldization."
  5 simultaneous users.
• Dictionary of the social sciences
  "Oxford's unprecedented Dictionary of the Social Sciences is designed to break down the barriers between social science disciplines, as well as to make social scientific language comprehensible to general readers. Collecting anthropology, sociology, political science, economics, human geography, cultural studies, and Marxism in one volume, the Dictionary presents concise, clearly written definitions of more than 1,500 important terms. Entries are true definitions, not extended essays or summaries. Ranging from 50 to 500 words, they succinctly define terms within each specific discipline and acquaint readers with the intellectual issues at stake when the terms are used. The entries draw on classic and contemporary scholarship, and include basic terms, concepts, theories, schools of thought, methodologies, techniques, topics, issues, and controversies. In addition to terminology, the Dictionary includes nearly 275 biographies of major figures—from Franz Boas to John Maynard Keynes to Max Weber, whose work has had a profound impact on the various fields."
  5 simultaneous users.
• Canadian Encyclopedia
  Free online encyclopedia, containing the full text of the print Canadian Encyclopedia, "the most comprehensive source of information on all things Canadian." Includes the full text of the Encyclopedia of Music in Canada.
  Unlimited simultaneous users.
• Concise medical dictionary
  "This best-selling dictionary is indispensable both as a home medical guide and as an aid for all those working in the medical and allied professions. The entries are clearly laid out and jargon-free, making the book both accessible and informative."
  5 simultaneous users.