2011IN_ED*3024*FRE1 Guide

Class Readings

Please note: for readings not on this list (chapters of books), please go to the Reading Lists tab (last tab to the right on this page).  Login with your UNB login/password combination.  Any problems, contact Marc (mbragdon@unb.ca).

 

Caffarella, R. (Sep/Oct.1996). Can I really do it all? Adult Learning, 8(1), 8-10.
https://login.proxy.hil.unb.ca/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=aph&AN=9702130006&site=ehost-live&scope=site

Fishback, S.J. (Winter 98/99). Learning and the brain. Adult Learning, 10(2), 18-23.
https://login.proxy.hil.unb.ca/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=aph&AN=1742234&site=ehost-live&scope=site

Jensen, Eric. (2000). Brain-Based Learning: A Reality Check. Educational Leadership. 57(7), 76-80. Alexandria, VA: Association for Supervision and Curriculum Development.
https://login.proxy.hil.unb.ca/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=aph&AN=3162330&site=ehost-live&scope=site

Kaplan, P. (May/Aug 1997). Adults who do it all. Adult Learning, 8(5/6), 17-20.
https://login.proxy.hil.unb.ca/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=aph&AN=9710090043&site=ehost-live&scope=site

Riener, C., & Willingham, D. (2010). The Myth of Learning Styles. Change, 42(5), 32-35.
https://login.proxy.hil.unb.ca/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=aph&AN=53306479&site=ehost-live&scope=site

Taras, V., & Rowney, J. (2007). Effects of Cultural Diversity on In-Class Communication and Student Project Team Dynamics: Creating Synergy in the Diverse Classroom. International Studies in Educational Administration (Commonwealth Council for Educational Administration & Management (CCEAM)), 35(2), 66-81.
https://login.proxy.hil.unb.ca/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=aph&AN=27026138&site=ehost-live&scope=site

Wendt, S., Tuckey, M. R., & Prosser, B. (2011). Thriving, not just surviving, in emotionally demanding fields of practice. Health & Social Care in the Community, 19(3), 317-325.
http://onlinelibrary.wiley.com/doi/10.1111/j.1365-2524.2010.00983.x/abstract

Brain-based learning

Davis, Andrew.  The Credentials of Brain Based Learning. Feb 2004, Journal of Philosophy of Education
https://login.proxy.hil.unb.ca/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=eric&AN=EJ686754&site=ehost-live&scope=site

Lombardi, Judy. Beyond Learning Styles: Brain-Based Research and English Language Learners. The Clearinghouse May/June 2008
https://login.proxy.hil.unb.ca/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=aph&AN=32193152&site=ehost-live&scope=site

Kaufman, Eric et al. Engaging Students with Brain-Based Learning. Techniques Sept 2008
https://login.proxy.hil.unb.ca/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=aph&AN=34307951&site=ehost-live&scope=site

Brain Based Learning Introduction, Journal of Philosophy of Education, Vol 42, No 3-4, 2008
https://login.proxy.hil.unb.ca/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=aph&AN=36867264&site=ehost-live&scope=site

Gulpinar, MA. The Principles of Brain-Based Learning and Constructivist Models in Education.  Educational Sciences: Theory and Practie 5(2). Nov 2005 p 299-306
https://login.proxy.hil.unb.ca/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=aph&AN=19141726&site=ehost-live&scope=site

Generational Differences

Deal, J., Altman, D., Rogelberg, S. Millennials at Work: What we Know and What We Need to Do (If anything). J. of Business Psychology (2010) Vol 25, Issue 2, Pages 191-199.
https://login.proxy.hil.unb.ca/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=psyh&AN=2010-09809-001&site=ehost-live&scope=site

Jones, C., Healing, G. Net generation students: agency and choice and the new technologies. Journal of Computer Assisted Learning; Oct2010, Vol. 26 Issue 5, p344-356.
http://onlinelibrary.wiley.com/doi/10.1111/j.1365-2729.2010.00370.x/abstract

McGlynn, Angela. Teaching Millenials, Our Newest Cultural Cohort. Education Digest; Dec2005, Vol. 71 Issue 4, p12-16.
https://login.proxy.hil.unb.ca/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=aph&AN=19097974&site=ehost-live&scope=site

Find Articles

When searching for journal articles, an indexing and abstracting database or print index is usually the best place to begin. Below are some recommended databases for research in Adult Education. For other databases, check the Article and Research Databases page of the library website.

Key Resources

  • ERIC - EBSCO
    ERIC is a "bibliographic database that contains education-related documents and journal articles." The EBSCO interface also provides some full text linking.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Canadian Business and Current Affairs (CBCA) Education (ProQuest)
    Please note: CBCA Education is now searchable as part of the larger CBCA Complete collection. Canadian Business and Current Affairs (CBCA) Complete is the nation's largest and most comprehensive bibliographic full-text reference and current events database. Available through the ProQuest Web interface, CBCA Complete combines full text and indexed content from all four CBCA database subsets (Business, Current Events, Education, and Reference). Subject coverage is comprehensive and information is available from the broadest range of Canadian sources anywhere.
    NOTE: In certain instances ProQuest has decided to omit particular 'articles' from full-text access due to copyright restrictions or because the item has not met their criteria for being an 'article' (ie. too short, a letter, not attributed to an author, etc.).
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Academic Search Premier
    Academic Search Premier is a multidisciplinary resource that "provides journal coverage for most academic areas of studies."
    Unlimited simultaneous users.

Additional Resources

  • Dissertations & Theses (ProQuest PQDT: formerly Digital Dissertations)
    ProQuest Dissertations and Theses (formerly Digital Dissertations) "is the single, authoritative source for information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses. The database represents the work of authors from over 1,000 graduate schools and universities."
    All PhD dissertations and Master's theses from depositing universities are available from 1997 onwards, unless the document's author has requested a temporary delay.
    It is also possible to search within an interface exclusive to Dissertations & Theses @ University of New Brunswick.

    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • PsycINFO
    PsycINFO is an abstracting and indexing database of more than 2000 journals (approximately 3.3 million records) devoted to peer-reviewed literature (journals, books and dissertations) in the behavioural sciences and mental health.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Sociological Abstracts
    Sociological Abstracts "covers the world's literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behaviorial sciences."
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • CINAHL with Full Text (Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature)
    CINAHL with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive source of full text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 500 journals indexed in CINAHL. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index - with no embargo. With full-text coverage dating back to 1981, CINAHL with Full Text is the definitive research tool for all areas of nursing and allied health literature.
    Unlimited simultaneous users
  • Google Scholar
    Google Scholar searches a subset of the Web that Google has classified as "scholarly literature". They do not publish a list of chosen sites, and they do not state how often sites are checked. Some important sources are not covered at all. Thus, Google Scholar alone should not be relied on for comprehensive research.

    By accessing Google Scholar as a UNB Libraries user, you benefit from technology that lets on-campus and off-campus users connect directly to full-text articles in journals to which UNB subscribes. Just click on the blue Title link in the Google result list.

    To still view UNB Libraries' holding on-campus or off-campus through Google Scholar, use the following steps:

    - Follow link above or go to https://scholar.google.com/ to ensure bypassing the proxy login.
    - Click the three lines in the top left corner.
    - Click Settings.
    - Click Library Links.
    - Search for University of New Brunswick, check the box next to the result, and save your settings.

    You can now continue to search and should see the Check for Fulltext @ UNB links next to articles and books we have access to.


    Unlimited simultaneous users.

UNB Libraries subscribes to a number of adult education journals, both in print and online. 

Some examples of adult education journals include:

Find Books

Remember that you can have books delivered to your mailing address, if you live away from Fredericton, via document delivery.  Indicate on the document delivery form that you are requesting deliver, and fill out your mailing address if it doesn't automatically appear.

 

Keyword Searches to try in Quest:

adult education and learning style$
adult education and motivation
employees and training
distance education
open learning

Searching UNB WorldCat for e-Books using the example of Research Methods in Education:
http://youtu.be/9SszJiPnTvY

 

 

Document Delivery

For resources not available through UNB Libraries or if you are a distance education student.

http://www.lib.unb.ca/requests/docdel/

 

Click here for more on services for distance education students


ebrary e-books

Click here to fulltext search our most extensive e-book collection

Find Internet Sites

While there is a wealth of information freely available on the internet, not all sites are created equal. Careful evaluation is a critical part of doing research on the Internet. Below are a few recommended sites:

Citing Your Sources

Accurate, properly formatted footnotes, reading lists, and bibliographies are hallmarks of good academic research. Through citing, you acknowledge the source of any ideas you mention in your writing, document your research, and provide the information your readers need to track down your sources.

Numerous citation styles exist, and each specifies what elements are required (title, author, journal name, etc.) and how the citation should be formatted. The standard citation style for Education is APA, but your instructor may require or recommend that you use another. Consult your course syllabus or check with your instructor to be sure of using the correct citation style for your assignment.

More Information