First Nations' Materials in Archives & Special Collections Guide

Overview

Logo

Introduction & Overview

Introduction to Guide to First Nations' Materials held in Archives & Special Collections:

The current online iteration of such a guide owes a great debt to work done previously by Shauna Clark under Liinda Baier's direction.

That earlier Guide to Micmac-Maliseet Holdings in Archives & Special Collections, Harriet Irving Library, done in 1996 noted that given "...a noticeable growth of interest in native studies in recent years, materials relevant to the study of Micmac and Maliseet cultures have been increasingly in demand." In idenitfying relevant books and archvial materials, like its predecessor, this online guide "is desgined to acquant tihe researcher with the range of information available and draw attention to specific items which might otherwise remain undetected because of thier location within other bodies of material." (cf: link to guide)

Overview of the UNB Archives & Special Collections Department:

  • collects, preserves and administers the records of, and papers related to, the University of New Brunswick and its predecessors and affiliates, to foster an understanding of our past, ensuring also the availability of these materials for administrative, legal and research purposes
  • acquires, preserves and makes accessible private, historical and literary papers, books, pamphlets and periodicals relating to New Brunswick in particular, and the Maritime Provinces in general

All members of the university community as well as those outside the university are welcome to use the resources and services of the department. Most material held in the UNB Archives and in Special Collections can be found via online databases such as WorldCat or The Gateway. 

Some material is accessible in digital format from these and other sources. However, given the nature of such material, an on-site visit may be required to make the best use of it as this material does not circulate. While some special collection books can be retrieved on request at the public service desk, use of all archival manuscript material is by appointment only. 

 During the academic year, from September to April, materials are retrieved for use, Monday to Friday 10 am until noon and 1 to 4 pm. Please consult the departmental web page for summer hours.

Appointments may be arranged by telephone at 506-453-4748 or by filling in the Appointment Request form.

Archival research takes time. To better prepare for a visit, please review departmental hours and policies and procedures covered in our FAQ.

Additional information can be found in the downloadable Introduction to Archives & Special Collections as either a pdf file or a powerpoint slide presentation.

How Archives & Special Collections differs from the rest of the library:

Where materials acquired elsewhere in the library are published and can be duplicated or replaced, all the materials held by this department are rare or unique and irreplaceable. By their very nature these materials are fragile and vulnerable to damage  simply through being handled. If these items are lost, stolen or irreparably damaged, the information contained therein is lost forever. 

Because of this, Archives & Special Collections departments have use and security procedures which differ from those of other library departments. The material can not be browsed on stacks. It must be retrieved by staff and consulted in a supervised reading room, ensuring a balance between preservation and access. 

Find Archival Materials - General

logo Archival/Manuscript Material

Archives & Special Collections house 6, 500 ft of UNB's institutional papers and private historical and literary papers relevant to New Brunswick.

UNB's institutional records constitute the University Archives, whilst the private papers are considered special collections.

Departmental pages provide information on the University Archives, Literary fonds, and Historical fonds. Listed in this guide are those of interest and relevance to First Nations' studies.

Finding Archival/Manuscript Materials

Archival materials are by their nature rare or unique, and so too is their description. Access to most such material is through finding aids. While a significant portion of our materials are discoverable via an online finding aid database, other guides are accessible via our web-page or in print.

The place to begin your search for archival or manuscript material is through our online finding aid database The Gateway.

Additional finding aids are accessible via departmental pages.

Using Archival/Manuscript Materials

Since many of the items housed in Archives & Special Collections are rare, unique, or fragile, special care must be taken when handling them. The co-operation of researchers is requested in order to preserve these items. All of the materials are non-circulating and may only be used in our Research Room. Additionally:

  • material for consultation must be requested in advance
  • full fonds, collection or item information must be supplied for retrieval
  • retrieved items will be available from 9 am to noon and again from 1 to 4 pm
  • drop-in requests for material can not be accommodated
  • please ask before taking photographs, use of flash is prohibited
  • photocopying is done by staff, on request for which there is a charge

To make arrangements, please contact us via e-mail or by telephone: (506) 453-4748. For additional information please see the departmental FAQ page.

 

Relevant Special Collections Books

logoSpecial Book Collections

Archives & Special Collections houses more than twenty (20) Special Book Collections. While information related to Indigenous peoples may appear in several special book collections, here below please find a selective listing of those which are most relevant:

  • Archives Book Collections (HIL-SPECAR)
  • UNB Theses (HIL-SPECAR)
  • Peter Paul (HIL-SPECP)
  • New Brunswick School Book Collection (HIL-SPECTB)

Most of these collections and titles contained therein can be found by searching through WorldCat. A more detailed explanation about some of the collections can be found on the departmental pages about Book Collections. A complete listing of the collections and the codes which can be used to search within them can be found from UNB Libraries Catalogue Location Guide.

Search UNB WorldCat:     

Advanced Search | Locations Guide | Other Catalogues | Help/FAQ

Limiting Searches to Special Collections Materials

Archives & Special Collections material can turn up in any WorldCat search. By way of example, search for "inventing Academic Freedom" as a title rather than keyword. You should find  7 copies of the book in various UNB Libraries, among them the Law Library in Fredericton and HWK in Saint John. There are several copies in HIL, among them the Main Collection (HIL-STACKS) and the Popular Reading Collection (HIL-POP). The Archives & Special Collections copy, indicated by the HIL-SPECAR location code, is signed by the author, and may be used only in the library.

Location Search Results

Alternatively, look here Inventing Academic Freedom to see the live display in WorldCat.

If you wish to search for an item specifically from one of the Special Collections, use a location/collection code to limit the results. 

Sample special collection searches
Type What it searches
b8:HIL-SPECAR kw:Mi'kmaq or maliseet books in the general special collection about Mi'kmaq or Maliseet peoples
b8:HIL-SPECP kw:aboriginal books in the Peter Paul Collection about aboriginal peoples
b8:HIL-SPECTB kw:indian* books from the New Brunswick School Book Collection about Indians

Other Special Collection Book Sources

Much of the older archival, special collection book and periodical materials are beyond copyright dates and in the public domain. As a consequence there have been many dedicated efforts to make these titles available electronically.

Listed here below are a few alternate sources:

Canadiana
Canadiana identifies, catalogues, digitizes and provides access to books, newspapers, periodicals, images and nationally significant archival materials.
HathiTrust Digital Library
HathiTrust describe themselves as "a partnership of major research institutions and libraries working to ensure that the cultural record is preserved and accessible long into the future."
Internet Archive
Internet Archive "is a non-profit library of millions of free books, movies, software, music, websites and more."

Using Special Collections Materials

As with all Archives & Special Collections materials, the following apply:

  • material for consultation must be requested in advance
  • full call number and collection information must be supplied for retrieval
  • retrieved items will be available for use in the Winslow Reading Room only 
  • retrieved items will be available from 10 am to noon and again from 1 to 4 pm
  • drop-in requests for material can not be accommodated
  • appointments during working hours, can be accommodated
  • please ask before taking photographs, use of flash is prohibited
  • photocopying is done by staff, on request, for which there is a charge
To make arrangements, please contact us via e-mail or by telephone: (506) 453-4748.
For additional information please see the departmental FAQ page.

Relevant Manuscript & Special Collections

logoRelevant Manuscript Holdings

The manuscript holdings identified below, in their entirety, or in part, contain information relevant to First Nations' studies. Updated and derived from the 1996 Guide to Micmac-Maliseet Holdings in Archives & Special Collections (1996), the descriptive entries here are to only that portion of the fonds or collections considered relevant. 

Edwin Tappan Adney fonds Lilian Mary Beckwith Maxwell collection
A.G. Bailey fonds John Patterson thesis research
Bailey Family collection Peter Paul fonds
Richard Bedford Bennet fonds Gaby Pelletier basketry project
George Frederick Clarke fonds Henry Harvey Stuart fonds
Oswald Crocket fonds Ruth Otis (Sawtell) Wallis research papers
Indian Affairs Collection Winslow Family papers

Indian Artifacts

 

Edwin Tappan Adney fonds. MG H 22. -- 1892-1950; predominant 1940 - 1950. 74 cm of textual records

Tappan Adney (1868-1950) first became interested in Maliseet culture during a vacation in Woodstock, N.B. in 1887. As a young man, he embarked on a career as an artist and journalist. His book, The Klondike Stampede of 1897-1898, was a result of his experiences in the gold rush. In the early 1930s Adney took up residence in Woodstock, the home of Adney's wife, the former Minnie Bell Sharp. Much of Adney's life was devoted to the study of Maliseet culture as a result of which he became an expert on various aspects of it, in particular the birchbark canoe and the language. His publications included "Birch-bark canoe construction" (Harper's Young People, July 29, 1890), "The Indian hunter of the far northwest" (Outing, March, 1902) and "The Malecite Indian's names for native berries and fruits, and their meanings" (Acadian Naturalist, Vol. l, no. 3, May 1944). In the 1940s he became known as an activist for Indian rights. He died in 1950 in Woodstock,N.B.

This fonds contains largely original material documenting the long involvement of E. Tappan Adney in the affairs of native people in New Brunswick. Although his primary area of interest was Maliseet, there is also some reference to Micmac. As a long time advocate of native rights, Adney's papers are a wealth of information on treaty rights, New Brunswick court cases involving Indian rights, historical development of the reserves and the 1947 review of the Indian Act.

The following is a series level summary of four series in the fonds. Although there is some material found in each series which is not relevant to First Nations people, the following descriptions highlight  that portion which is.

Series 1. Legal 1942-1947.  18 cm of textual records containing legal research and documentation Adney collected inclduing information on several New Brunswick court cases related to First Nations' rights, copies of the Indian Act and documents relationg to treaty rights. Among the court cases are those of Peter Paul (1946); Chief Silboy (1925); and Jack Polchies (1942). Peter Paul was charged with theft of wood to be used for barrel hoops. Adney was a legal advisor for the case. The file contains correspondence, letters to the editor and newspaper clippings. Silboy, Grand Chief of the Micmacs of Nova Scotia, was charged with violation of the game laws by being in possession of green pelts during closed season. The family of Jack Polchies was refused entry to Canada in violation of their right to go back and forth across the US/Canada border.
•To see this record in the The Gateway, click here: MG H22 Series 1.
•Return to list

Series 2. Correspondence and writings. 1891-1949.  13 cm of textual records within which is correspondence between Adney and various researchers, librarians, and historians mostly regarding his Indian studies. Additionally Adney's personal notes and journals, which record two of his trips to Woodstock, New Brunswick, are located with in this series. Adney's personal notes consist of directions, rudimentary sketches, notes and reminders. There are a number of letters from Chief William Saulis of Tobique. Much of the correspondence concerns the 1947 plan of Indian Affairs to develop a central reserve at Kingsclear to replace existing reserves. There is also considerable discussion of the Peter Paul Case, conditions on reserves, the replacement of a band structure by the St. John River Tribe (Maliseet) and the treatment of Indian Veterans. Reserves at Woodstock, Kingsclear and Tobique predominate.
•To see this record in the The Gateway, click here: MG H22 Series 2.
•Return to list

Series 3. First Nations Research. 1933-1939. This series contains Adney'€™s notes and research on issues relating to North American Indian history and culture. His areas of study include canoes, language, mythology, religion and reserves, and Indian veterans. Also included are US federal government Indian Affairs documents. Adney'€™s miscellaneous brief files consist of short essays and briefs possibly written by Adney. Of particular note are the files relating to Belcher's Proclamation and to the history of reserves at Woodstock and Kingsclear. 
•To see this record in the The Gateway, click here: MG H22 Series 3.
•Return to list

Series 4. Publications. 1892-1947. This series contains publications with content of interest to Adney. This includes both commercial and government publications relevant to Native issues, among them  published minutes of the Special Joint Committee of the Senate and the House of Commons appointed to continue and complete the examination and consideration of the Indian Act, 1947-1948, as well as a copy of the Indian Act annotated by Adney. There are aslo  a few issues of The Native Voice (British Columbia), 1950, Wampum (Western Ontario), 1946 and "The waning herds" (MacLean's Magazine, Jan. 1 1933 - Apr. 15 1933).
•To see this record in the The Gateway, click here: MG H22 Series 4.
•Return to list


A.G. Bailey fonds. UA RG 80 -- [18-?], 1919- 1994, predominant 1940 - 1994. 18 m of textual records

  • For access to information about the entire fonds from The Gateway, click here: A.G. Bailey fonds.

Educator, poet, anthropologist, ethno-historian, and academic administrator Dr. Alfred Goldsworthy Bailey, O.C., M.A., PhD, LL.D., D. Litt, F.R.S.C., was born in Quebec on 18 March, 1905, the son of Loring Woart Bailey and Ernestine Valiant (Gale).

Dr. Bailey received his Bachelor of Arts degree in 1927 from the University of New Brunswick and completed his Master of Arts (1929) and Doctorate (1934) degrees at the University of Toronto, with specialization in ethno-history and aboriginal culture. He was awarded a Royal Society of Canada Fellowship for Research in 1934 to study at the School of Economics and Political Science at the University of London. Following completion of his studies abroad, Dr. Bailey was awarded a Carnegie grant to study British and continental museum administration.

From 1935-1938, Dr. Bailey worked as assistant director and associate curator at the New Brunswick Museum in Saint John. The provincial government funded a chair in history at the University of New Brunswick in 1938, and Dr. Bailey served as the first head of the UNB History Department from 1938-1969.

From 1946-1959, Dr. Bailey served as Honorary Librarian and Chief Executive Officer of the UNB Library. 

This fonds documents the pivotal role of Dr. Bailey in the history of the University of New Brunswick, and his contributions to the field of Canadian literature and Canadian history and ethno-history. Of relevance to this guide are drafts and research notes for Dr. Bailey's publications Conflict of European and Algonkian Cultures (1937) and Culture and Nationality (1972)

Series 8, Case 86. File 3 contains a draft of and notes for Conflict of European and Eastern Alkonkian Cultures updating from the original work. File 7 includes correspondence from 1968 - 1969 with respect to the Provincial Archaelogist position.

Series 12, Case 57. File 3 contains information about Archaeology and correspondence with David Sanger between 1967 and 1969. 

Series 13, Cases 102-103. Several files include notes on Anthropology (Files 2 and 3) and History of Indians (Files 9 and 10).

Series 14, Cases 91-92. This series contains reel-to-reel tapes of 63 taped lectures given by Dr. Bailey for the class History 3020 in 1966-1967. Some of the tapes are of very poor quality and can not be played. Notes for many of these lectures are contained in Series 13.

•Return to list


Bailey Family collection. MG H 1 -- 1937, 1972. -- 27cm.

  • For access to information about the entire collection from the departmental web site, clicke here: Bailey Family Collection.

The Archives & Special Collections Department of Harriet Irving Library at the University of New Brunswick holds a collection of fourteen linear feet of documents belonging to the Bailey family, plus seven feet of bound manuscripts, a number of artifacts, and published books. One of the earliest documents in the collection is a letter from Joseph Head Marshall to Edward Jenner dated January 7, 1801.

The collection contains publications of various members of the Bailey and d'Avray families, including other manuscript versions of A. G. Bailey's work.

See the inventory to the Bailey Family fonds for details of MS4.7.1. 20-25 and MS4.7.5 accessible here: Scholarly and travel writings.

•Return to list


Richard Bedford Bennett fonds. MG H 96. --[187-?] - 1946, predominant 1930 - 193

As Prime Minister of Canada (1930-1935), R. B. Bennett had regular contact with the Department of Indian Affairs, as well as individuals, concerning the affairs of Canadian natives. The subject guide to Bennett's priministerial papers contains numerous references to natives. Some references are general or national in scope, but there are also specific files devoted to Indian Affairs in New Brunswick, Nova Scotia and P.E.I. The following subject headings are indicative of the range of topics: Indian Affairs (1928-1938), Indian Act (1931-1933), Indian bands (1935-1938), Indian lands (1928-1932), Indian reserves (n.d.), Indian treaties (1934-1935) and Indian education grants (n.d.).

Researchers should consult the subject index to the R. B. Bennett fonds for details and locations. Available in the department.

•Return to list


George Frederick Clarke fonds. MG L 47. -- 1829, 1888-1974. 2.7 m of textual records and other material

George Frederick Clarke was born on December 29, 1883 in Woodstock, New Brunswick. Clarke attended the Woodstock Grammar School and began an apprenticeship in a dental office at age 15. He then attended the Medico-Chirurgical College at the University of Pennsylvania where he graduated with his dental degree (D.D.S) in 1913. After his degree, Clarke and his wife Mary S. Clarke (née Schubert), a Philadelphia native he married in 1912, moved back to Woodstock to practice dentistry. Clarke retired in 1953 to focus wholly on writing.

Clarke has had many works published throughout his career including monographs, short stories, poems and articles featured in newspapers and magazines. His works cover a wide variety of topics including the Saint John, Tobique, and Miramichi rivers, the Acadians, and the Maliseet and Mi’kmaq communities of New Brunswick. While the majority of Clarke’s works are for an adult reader base, the author is also known for composing fiction for children. One of his most celebrated works in this category is Noel and Jimmy-Why

Along with being a dentist and writer, Clarke was passionate about archaeology. He conducted several digs along the Tobique, Saint John, and Miramichi rivers in New Brunswick, some of which is documented in his fonds.

Clarke died on October 23, 1974 in Woodstock, NB.

Series 3. Correspondence. 1915-1974. 33.5 cm of textual records this series contains correspondence between Tappan Adney and Calrke about First Nations' languages. Other correspondence discuss First Nations communities in New Brunswick.
•To see this record in the The Gateway, click here: MG L 47 Series 3.
•Return to list

Series 7. Graphic and Philatelic material. 1888-1974. 239 photographs and other material this series photographs of Maliseet and Mi'kmaq artefacts collected by Clarke from various regions of New Brunswick
•To see this record in the The Gateway, click here: MG L 47 Series 7.
•Return to list

Series 8. Manuscripts.[19--]-[197-] 1.67 m of textual records which include manuscripts of many of Clarke's works, notably among them Someone Before UsSix Salmon Rivers and Noel and Jimmy-Why.
•To see this record in the The Gateway, click here: MG L 47 Series 8
•Return to list

Series 9. Mi'kmaq and Maliseet material. [193-?] 2 cm of textual records which contains a Mi'kmaq vocaublary developed in collaboration with E. Tappan Adney and the draft of a Maliseet dictionary developed in collaboration with Peter Paul.
•To see this record in the The Gateway, click here: MG L 47 Series 9.
•Return to list

Series 13. Research material. [194-]-[1970] 7.5 cm of textual records which contains material Clarke gathered for his research into many topics, including First Nations and his archaeological digs.
•To see this record in the The Gateway, click here: MG L 47 Series 13.
•Return to list


Oswald Crocket fonds. MG H 17. --[1905-1922]

Oswald Crocket (1868-1945), M.P. for York County, was first elected to the House of Commons on November 3, 1904. He resigned his seat on December 11, 1913, when he was appointed a Justice of the Supreme Court of New Brunswick.

This fonds includes 3 files of general correspondence from 1911 to 1913 concerning Crocket's constituency. Some of the correspondence from the Department of Indian Affairs reflects their involvement with reserves at Kingsclear, St. Mary's and Oromocto. Topics include medical services, especially the appointment of doctors responsible; appointment, salaries and dismissal of Indian agents; housing; construction and inspection of a school at St. Mary's reserve, and Father Ryan, superintendent of Indian schools. Of particular interest is correspondence from Chief Peter A. Paul of Kingsclear seeking to influence the appointment of a medical officer.

•Return to list


Indian Affairs Collection. MG H 54. --1761 - 1864, predominant 1800 - 1845.

These documents were originally part of a miscellaneous grouping of manuscripts related to early New Brunswick history which were purchased by Lord Beaverbrook. The Indian Affairs documents were separated from the other documents on the basis of subject matter.

This collection contains 90 original documents, dealing with issues concerning the Natives of New Brunswick during the 18th and 19th centuries. Included are a number of documents dealing with land disputes between the Natives and the settlers, appointing Native Chiefs and Captains, listing the names of Natives living in various regions, assuring the neutrality of the Natives during the War of 1812, and petitioning for relief for various Native families. There are also a series of French language documents which, in addition to dealing with Native issues, also focus on land disputes between Acadians and the Government. Documents are in the form of personal and official correspondence, reports, maps, certificates, petitions and lists. Of particular note is a Treaty of Peace and Friendship between the President of His Majesty's Council and the Chief of the Jedaick Tribe of Natives at Halifax, in the Province of Nova Scotia or Acadia, 25 June 1761.

Most documents are written in English, although a few are written in French.

 These documents can be found on microfilm (no. E A1 No. 106), and as scanned images https://lib.unb.ca/archives/finding/ia/Indian_Affairs.html. Transcriptions have been prepared for a sampling of the documents. These transcriptions appear as attachments to the scanned images.

There is no access to originals, which are are very fragile. However, there is unrestricted access on microfilm or via the internet.

•Return to list


Indian Artifacts. UA RG 118. -- n.d.-- 212 artifacts; 4 cm of graphic material

The University of New Brunswick Museum held a collection of Indian stone artifacts, many of which were found by Loring Woart Bailey in the 19th century, until the museum was broken up in the 1930s. At that time, some of the artifacts were retained by Alfred G. Bailey. It is those artifacts which constitute the basis of this collection.

 This collection consists of 212 stone artifacts, including the complete Maquapit Lake Collection. Of special note is an unusual elbow - type pipe bowl. The artifacts were accessioned and numbered by Stuart Allen Smith in 1970. Seventy-two of these artifacts have been on loan to the York Sunbury Museum since that time.

 In 1959, David Sanger photographed and classified according to form selected representative samples of the collection. There are 17 black and white photographs by David Sanger.

 L. W. Bailey’s Relics of the stone age in New Brunswick (reprint from the Bulletin of Natural History Society, no. VI) and a manuscript history of the artifacts by Alfred G. Bailey are included with this collection.

 An item level guide to the artifacts is available. This guide indicates sites where the artifacts were found, as well as describing them. Description is also available with the photographs.

•Return to list


Lilian Mary Beckwith Maxwell collection. MG H 9. -- 1948. -- .5cm.

Dr. Lilian M. Beckwith Maxwell (1877-1956) was an author, collector and local historian. She was the author of such books as An outline of the history of Central New Brunswick to the time of confederation (1937), How New Brunswick grew (1943), The River St. John and its poets (1946) and ‘Round New Brunswick roads (1951).

 The Lilian Maxwell papers are a collection of manuscripts, photographs and printed material related to local history of various areas of New Brunswick. Included in the collection are two items concerning native people in New Brunswick.

 Box 1, item 21: "Malecite Indian place names in the vicinity of Passamaquoddy". Translation and analysis by E. Tappan Adney. Manuscript. Attached to the manuscript is correspondence from Adney concerning his research, 1948.

 Box 1, item 55: Letter from Gabriel Acquin re claim to land ownership, 1883. Typescript copy.

•Return to list


John Patterson thesis research. MG H 114-- [1970]. -- 25cm.

 As a student at the University of New Brunswick in the 1970s, John Patterson collected material for a thesis on "Agriculture in New Brunswick".

Although the thesis was not completed, a draft (140 pages) was deposited in the archives. The section of the thesis on Indian agriculture (5 pages) makes specific references to settlements at Meductic, Ek-pah-lak (Aupac), Madawaska, Richibucto, Burnt Church and Old Mission Point. The author discusses agriculture as practiced by Maliseets, Micmacs and Abnakis, including the growing of corn and tobacco.

Included is a box containing alphabetically arranged author and subject indexes.

•Return to list


Peter Lewis Paul fonds MG H 151 --1846-1989, predominant 1950-1989. 14 series

  • For access to information about the entire fonds from The Gateway, click here: Peter Paul fonds

Peter Lewis Paul was a Maliseet (Wolastoqiyik) born in 1902 in Woodstock, N.B. He was raised by his grandparents after his mother and twin brother died in childbirth. 

Peter Paul became an expert on native culture, language and crafts, and acted as advisor, informant and friend to prominent anthropologists and linguists, including Edwin Tappan Adney, Tom McFeat and Nicholas Smith, as well as students of native culture in Canada and the United States. Among the many tributes paid him was the awarding of the Centennial Medal (1967), an honorary Doctor of Letters from the University of New Brunswick (1970) and membership in the Order of Canada (1987). After his death on 25 August, 1989, the Canadian Museum of Civilization published In Memoriam : Peter Lewis Paul, 1902-1989.

Scope and content

 The Peter Paul fonds contains correspondence, working papers, committee minutes and subject files, photographic and audio visual material, and published journal articles which reflect his long involvement with the language, history and culture of native people, Maliseet in particular. A large portion of the fonds consists of research materials collected by Peter Paul from journals and archives during his pursuit of native history and language. Of particular interest are files on Reserves at Tobique, Woodstock and St. Mary’s.

 Peter Paul was as an active advisor to both native and non-native groups. Minutes and related documentation from the Union of New Brunswick Indians (1985-1989), the Maine Indian Program (1985-1989), the New Brunswick Museum (1988-1989) and the New Brunswick Bicentennial Commission (1981-1983) attest to his involvement. Working papers compiled during Paul’s years of acting as an informant on the Maliseet language are an original and significant portion of the fonds. The correspondence reflects the wide range of scholars, including anthropologists, historians and linguists, with whom Peter Paul had contact.

 The more than six hundred photographs deposited with this fonds depict native people in New Brunswick, 1866-1980s. The images are largely of Maliseet, mostly residents of Tobique, Woodstock and Kingsclear. Overall, portraits of individuals or small groups predominate but there are also valuable images of outdoor and craft activities. Extensive efforts were made to obtain identification.

•Return to list


Gaby Pelletier basketry project. MG H 110-- 1973. -- 10cm.

 Gaby Pelletier is a long time student of native cultures with a particular interest in basketry. In 1973, while a student at the University of New Brunswick with anthropologist Vincent Erickson, Gaby Pelletier undertook a project to analyze and classify Maliseet splint ash baskets. She also edited and wrote an introduction for Micmac & Maliseet : decorative traditions : a catalogue featuring a selection of Maliseet and Micmac decorative arts from the collections of the New Brunswick Museum, 1977. She wrote Abenaki basketry in 1982.

 Working papers for the 1973 splint ash basket project, 253 original black and white photographs of Maliseet splint ash baskets, a cassette tape and two reel to reel sound recording tapes of interviews with experts in basketry and a copy of Pelletier's essay entitled "Analysis and classification of Malecite splint ash baskets" were deposited in the archives.

 The working papers give detailed technical description of each basket analyzed and photographed. The tapes are interviews with Mrs. Veronica Atwin, Peter Paul, Mrs. Oliver Polchies and Mr. & Mrs. William Sacobie. The essay discusses the historical background of basketry, construction, classification, dating and historical trends.

•Return to list


Henry Harvey Stuart fonds. MG H 25 -- 1921-1943. -- 2.5cm.

 Henry Harvey Stuart (1873-1952) had a long career as an educator, editor and political activist. He co-founded the Albert County Teachers' Union, the first in Canada. In addition to editing both the Union Advocate and the Educational Review, he played a leading role in the C.C.F. in New Brunswick. His papers include newspaper clippings, on a variety of subjects, which were bound into topical scrapbooks.

Series 6, Sub-series 1 Scrapbooks on Specific Subjects. In this series is scrapbook #15, "N.B.-Indians" which consists of 11 pages of newspaper clippings from a variety of newspapers in New Brunswick and a few from outside the province. Most of these newspaper clippings concern Micmac but some are about Maliseet and Passamaquoddy. People of note in the clippings are Chief Pocologan, a Passamaquoddy; John Gyles and Father Pacifique. The main topics include customs and traditions, treaties, burial grounds and the history of the Passamaquoddy.
•To see this record in the The Gateway, click here: MG H 25 Series 6, Sub-series 1.
•Return to list


Ruth Otis (Sawtell) Wallis research papers. MG H 116-- 1911-1953; predominant 1950-1953. -- 37cm.

Ruth Wallis (1886-1970) and her anthropologist husband, Wilson Wallis, were affiliated with the University of Pennsylvania. They did extensive ethnological studies of the Micmac in New Brunswick and southern Quebec. Wilson Wallis began the work alone in 1911-1912 and Ruth Wallis joined him in 1953. Their publications include Children of the Micmac and Micmac Indians of eastern Canada, 1955.

 These papers include Ruth Wallis' manuscript files and 102 original black and white photographs taken during preparation of Children of the Micmac, 1950-1953, as well as 30 glass transparencies and 26 photographs and drawings, 1911-1912, used in Micmac Indians of eastern Canada. Most photographs were taken by Wilson Wallis. Field work was done at Big Cove, Indian Island, Eel Ground and Burnt Church in New Brunswick, as well as several reserves in Quebec.

 The manuscript files contain raw data on pregnancy, childbirth, and various stages of childhood. Most photographs taken for Children of the Micmac are of informants and/or their children, or buildings on the reserves. Limited description is available. The photographs and drawings done in conjunction with preparation of Micmac Indians of eastern Canada depict dress, crafts and games, in addition to portraits of individuals. Description is available.

•Return to list


Winslow Family papers. MG H 2-- 1695-1866; predominant 1783-1815.

The Winslow Family fonds is a collection of approximately 2,500 letters and other documents created or collected (1695-1866) by members of the family of Edward Winslow, (1746-1815) a Loyalist who was politically active in the separation of New Brunswick from Nova Scotia and held a number of administrative posts in the new colony. Within this correspondence there are numerous references to native affairs. Of particular significance is the 1820 document from Francis Joseph Neptune granting Campobello and nearby islands to David Owen. Researchers should consult the subject index to the Winslow fonds for details.

 

These papers are available on microfilm and through the Centre for Digital Scholarship at: https://lib.unb.ca/winslow/index.html.

•Return to list

Citing Your Sources

LogoCitation Guide for Archival Material

Basic citation for archival material

Footnote/Endnote

Name of fonds/collection, alphanumerical designation, Series #, "Series title," Box #, File #, "File title",

date, Archives & Special Collections, University of New Brunswick Libraries, Fredericton, New

Brunswick.

 

Short form

Name of fonds/collection, Series #, File #, date.

 

Bibliography

Name of fonds/collection, numerical designation. Archives & Special Collections, University of New

Brunswick Libraries, Fredericton, New Brunswick.

 

Example:

Footnote/Endnote

John Hasek Society fonds, MG H 183, Series 1 "John Hasek Society Board Records," Box 1, File 2,

"Board Correspondence," 1990-1991, Archives & Special Collections, University of New Brunswick

Libraries, Fredericton, New Brunswick.

 

Short form

John Hasek Society fonds, Series 1, File 2, 1990-1991.

 

Bibliography

John Hasek Society fonds, MG H 183. Archives & Special Collections, University of New Brunswick

Libraries, Fredericton, New Brunswick.

 

Citation for photographs

Footnote/Endnote

Name of fonds/collection, alphanumerical designation, Series #, "Series title," Photographer's name (if

known), Photograph number, "Title of photograph" date, Archives & Special Collections, University of

New Brunswick Libraries, Fredericton, New Brunswick.

 

Short form

Name of fonds/collection, Series #, photograph number, date.

 

Bibliography

Name of fonds/collection, numerical designation. Archives & Special Collections, University of New

Brunswick Libraries, Fredericton, New Brunswick.

 

Example:

Footnote/Endnote

University of New Brunswick Public Relations Department Photograph Collection, PR, Series 1,"Pre-1980 Fredericton and Saint John Photographs," Item 6759, "Red Bloomers basketball team, Cathy Maxwell, Patty Sheppard and Joyce Pedersen," [19--], Archives & Special Collections, University of New Brunswick Libraries, Fredericton, New Brunswick.

 

Short form

University of New Brunswick Public Relations Department Photograph Collection, Series 1, Item 6759,

[19--].

 

Bibliography

University of New Brunswick Public Relations Department Photograph Collection, PR. Archives &

Special Collections, University of New Brunswick Libraries, Fredericton, New Brunswick.

Citations for AV material

Footnote/Endnote

Name of fonds/collection, alphanumerical designation, Series #, "Series title," "Item title," date, Archives & Special Collections, University of New Brunswick Libraries, Fredericton, New Brunswick.

 

Short form

Name of fonds/collection, Series #, "Item title," date.

 

Bibliography

Name of fonds/collection, numerical designation. Archives & Special Collections, University of New

Brunswick Libraries, Fredericton, New Brunswick.

 

Example:

Footnote/Endnote

Harold A. Sharp fonds, UA RG 333, Series 3, "Collected documentation for the Strax Affair," File 11,

"Recording Tapes/Audio Reels, "Item "Memorial Tribute to A. J. Muste known as the "Dean of Pacifism", Archives & Special Collections, University of New Brunswick Libraries, Fredericton, New Brunswick.

 

Short form

Harold A. Sharp fonds, Series 3, Item "Memorial Tribute to A. J. Muste known as the "Dean of Pacifism" (b.1885 d.1967) WBAI documentary produced for Pacifica Radio and narrated by Steve Post," [196-?].

 

Bibliography

Harold A. Sharp fonds, UA RG 333. Archives & Special Collections, University of New Brunswick

Libraries, Fredericton, New Brunswick.

 

Note: Only use Subseries title and number and file title and number when applicable. This may not be

present in all descriptions.

 

Also available is a printable, pdf version of this guide.

More Information