ED*6821 Guide Ask Us

Books available at the Harriet Irving Library:

Damasio, Antonio. (2003). Looking for Spinoza : joy, sorrow, and the feeling brain.https://quest.unb.ca/uhtbin/title-search/Looking%20for%20Spinoza%20joy%20sorrow%20feeling%20brain (Can be requested from the Ward Chipman Library at UNBSJ via Document Delivery.)

Denzin, Norman K. (2005). The Sage handbook of qualitative research.
https://quest.unb.ca/uhtbin/keyword-search/076192757

Dewey, John. (1934). Art as experience.
https://quest.unb.ca/uhtbin/keyword-search/0399500251

Knowles, J. Gary and Cole, Andra. (2008). Handbook of the arts in qualitative research.
https://quest.unb.ca/uhtbin/subject-search/Handbook%20of%20the%20arts%20in%20qualitative%20research

Leavy, Patricia. (2009). Method meets art: arts-based research practice.
https://quest.unb.ca/uhtbin/title-search/Method%20meets%20art%20arts-based%20research%20practice

Noddings, Nel. (1995). Philosophy of Education.
https://quest.unb.ca/uhtbin/keyword-search/081338429X

Richardson, Robert. (2006). William James : in the maelstrom of American modernism.
https://quest.unb.ca/uhtbin/title-search/William%20James%20in%20the%20maelstrom%20of%20American modernism

Sagar, Keith (2006). The laughter of foxes : a study of Ted Hughes.
https://quest.unb.ca/uhtbin/title-search/laughter%20of%20foxes%20ted%20hughes

The print and electronic resources listed below include selected reference materials (dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, guides, and standards) for the field of Education. To find additional reference materials:

(A) Check Quest (Advanced Search - limit Location to HIL-REF) or our Reference Materials database; or

(B) Try keyword searching Reference Universe.

Key Resources

See Additional Resources Hide Additional Resources

We now provide access to two complimentary catalogues for searching UNB Libraries collections.

UNB WorldCat is useful when you don't have a particular title in mind and are instead searching by topic or keyword(s) to see what is available.  Note that UNB WorldCat also includes links to selected article records by default.  After an initial search you can limit results to books, if desired.

Books and other materials appearing in results and not held by UNB may be requested for loan from another institution. Refer to the document delivery page for electronic request forms and more details.

Quest contains materials held at the Harriet Irving, Science and Forestry, Engineering, and Law libraries, as well as the Ward Chipman Library in Saint John.

Some keyword phrases (from page 2 of the course syllabus) that you might try searching in Quest include: narrative research, phenomenological research, grounded theory research, ethnographic research, and case study research.

Below is a pre-built subject search, which run Quest searches and might also be useful as one set of terms to be used in combination with others in Quest's Advanced Search.

• Education research methodology
• Social sciences research methodology

Dissertations and theses

Dissertations and Theses (formerly Digital Dissertations) "is the single, authoritative source for information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses. The database represents the work of authors from over 1,000 graduate schools and universities." All PhD dissertations and Master's theses from depositing universities are available from 1997 onwards, unless the document's author has requested a temporary delay.

The Theses Canada Portal currently provides access to records from the National Library of Canada theses collection (from 1965), and access to fulltext for theses and dissertations submitted between 1998 and 2002.

UNB Libraries subscribes to a wide variety of education journals, both in print and online. You may be able to link directly to the online article, from one of databases listed above if UNB has a subscription to the journal and if the article is available electronically. Many of our databases also use the UNB Resolver: look for the button to check your article's availability within the library's print and e-journal collections. Otherwise, check the library's e-Journals database and/or Quest to see if the item is available through our own holdings. If you can't locate the item you're looking for at UNB, either in print or online, you can still submit a document delivery request.

Key Resources

See Additional Resources Hide Additional Resources

Accurate, properly formatted footnotes, reading lists, and bibliographies are hallmarks of good academic research. Through citing, you acknowledge the source of any ideas you mention in your writing, document your research, and provide the information your readers need to track down your sources.

Many citation styles exist, and each specifies what elements are required (title, author, journal name, etc.) and how the citation should be formatted. The standard citation style for Education is APA, but your instructor may require or recommend that you use another. Consult your course syllabus or check with your instructor to be sure of using the correct citation style for your assignment.

RefWorks is a web-based bibliographic database manager, available through UNB Libraries, that allows you to create a database of references that can be organized, searched, and used to automatically construct bibliographies and reading lists in many citation styles.

• APA Examples
  (http://www.lib.unb.ca/instruction/APAcitation.html)
• APA Style Guide to Electronic References
  (online & in print)
  HIL-REFDSK BF76.7 .A63 2007
• Cite Right: A Quick Guide to Citation Styles – MLA, APA, Chicago, the Sciences, Professions and More
  HIL-REF PN171.F65 L55 2006
• Chicago Manual of Style
• Plagiarism: a How-NOT-To Guide
  (http://www.lib.unb.ca/research/Plagiarism.html)
• RefWorks e-Resources