Library hours forSaturday, April 20, 2024
Harriet Irving	Unavailable
Science & Forestry	Unavailable
Engineering & CS	Unavailable
Saint John	Unavailable
Complete Hours

ED*3011 Guide Ask Us

Course readings

Please note: for readings not on this list (chapters of books), please go to the Reading Lists tab (last tab to the right on this page). Login with your UNB login/password combination. Any problems, contact Marc (mbragdon@unb.ca).

Begley, A. M. (2006). Facilitating the development of moral insight in practice: teaching ethics and teaching virtue. Nursing Philosophy, 7(4), 257-265.
https://login.proxy.hil.unb.ca/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=aph&AN=22285223&site=ehost-live&scope=site

Bradley, L. J., & Hendricks, C. (2008). Ethical Decision Making: Basic Issues. Family Journal: Counseling and Therapy for Couples and Families, 16(3), 261-263.
https://login.proxy.hil.unb.ca/login?url=http://tfj.sagepub.com/content/16/3/261.full

Brockett, R. G., & Hiemstra, R. (2005). Promoting Ethical Practice in Adult Education. Adult Learning, 16(3/4), 4-6.
https://login.proxy.hil.unb.ca/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=aph&AN=33958039&site=ehost-live&scope=site

Campbell, E. (2000). Professional Ethics in Teaching: towards the development of a code of practice. Cambridge Journal of Education, 30(2), 203-221.
https://login.proxy.hil.unb.ca/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=aph&AN=3408593&site=ehost-live&scope=site

Ehrich, L., Kimber, M., Millwater, J., & Cranston, N. (2011). Ethical Dilemmas: A Model to Understand Teacher Practice. Teachers and Teaching: Theory and Practice, 17(2), 173-185.
https://login.proxy.hil.unb.ca/login?url=http://www.informaworld.com/openurl?genre=article&issn=1354-0602&volume=17&issue=2&spage=173

Frame, M., & Williams, C. (2005). A Model of Ethical Decision Making from a Multicultural Perspective. Counseling and Values, 49(3), 165.
https://login.proxy.hil.unb.ca/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=eric&AN=EJ699390&site=ehost-live&scope=site

Hansman, C. A. (2009). Ethical issues in mentoring adults in higher education. New Directions for Adult & Continuing Education, (123), 53-63.
https://login.proxy.hil.unb.ca/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=aph&AN=44338746&site=ehost-live&scope=site

Herman, W. E. (2005). Values Acquisition and Moral Development: An Integration of Freudian, Eriksonian, Kohlbergian and Gilliganian Viewpoints.
https://login.proxy.hil.unb.ca/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=eric&AN=ED490607&site=ehost-live&scope=site

Keefer, M., & Ashley, K. D. (2001). Case-based Approaches to Professional Ethics: A Systematic Comparison of Students' and Ethicists' Moral Reasoning. Journal of Moral Education, 30(4), 377-98.
https://login.proxy.hil.unb.ca/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=eric&AN=EJ678345&site=ehost-live&scope=site

MacFarlane, B. (2002). Dealing with Dave's Dilemmas: Exploring the Ethics of Pedagogic Practice. Teaching in Higher Education, 7(2), 167-78.
https://login.proxy.hil.unb.ca/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=eric&AN=EJ655921&site=ehost-live&scope=site

McDonald, W. M., Ebelhar, M., Orehovec, E. R., & Sanderson, R. H. (2006). Ethical Decision Making: A Teaching and Learning Model for Graduate Students and New Professionals. College Student Affairs Journal, 25(2), 152-163.
https://login.proxy.hil.unb.ca/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=eric&AN=EJ902792&site=ehost-live&scope=site

Missey, J. T. (1997). A New Approach: Making Ethical Decisions regarding Adult Learner Issues.
https://login.proxy.hil.unb.ca/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=eric&AN=ED406634&site=ehost-live&scope=site

Murray, et al. Ethical Principles in University Teaching (Link does not work at present)
http://www.stlhe.ca/en/projects/index.php

National Education Association Code of Ethics
http://www.nea.org/home/30442.htm

New Brunswick Teachers' Association Code of Professional Conduct
http://www.district16.nbed.nb.ca/files/documents/nbta_code_of_professional_conduct.pdf

Purkey, W., & Novak, J. M. (1998). An Invitational Approach to Ethical Practice in Teaching. Educational Forum, 63(1), 37-43.
http://unbf-resolver.asin-risa.ca/?genre=article&isbn=&issn=00131725&title=Educational+Forum&volume=63&issue=1&date=19980901&atitle=An+Invitational+Approach+to+Ethical+Practice+in+Teaching.&au=Purkey%2c+William+Watson%3bNovak%2c+John+M.&spage=37&sid=EBSCO:ERIC&pid=

Shapira-Lishchinsky, O. (2010). Ethical Dilemmas in Teaching and Nursing: The Israeli Case. Oxford Review of Education, 36(6), 731-748.
https://login.proxy.hil.unb.ca/login?url=http://www.informaworld.com/openurl?genre=article&issn=0305-4985&volume=36&issue=6&spage=731

Sork, T. J. (2009). Applied ethics in adult and continuing education literature. New Directions for Adult & Continuing Education, (123), 19-32.
https://login.proxy.hil.unb.ca/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=aph&AN=44338749&site=ehost-live&scope=site

Taylor, B. A Letter to My Students (Doesn't appear to be what is at the url below)
http://www.grinnell.edu/academic/writinglab/faculty

Find Articles

When searching for journal articles, an indexing and abstracting database or print index is usually the best place to begin. Below are some recommended databases for research in Adult Education. For other databases, check the Article and Research Databases page of the library website.

Key Resources

ERIC (EBSCO)
ERIC is a "bibliographic database that contains education-related documents and journal articles." The EBSCO interface also provides some full text linking.
Subscribed multi-user unlimited access | 1966-Current
Canadian Business and Current Affairs (CBCA) Education (ProQuest)
Please note: CBCA Education is now searchable as part of the larger CBCA Complete collection. Canadian Business and Current Affairs (CBCA) Complete is the nation's largest and most comprehensive bibliographic full-text reference and current events database. Available through the ProQuest Web interface, CBCA Complete combines full text and indexed content from all four CBCA database subsets (Business, Current Events, Education, and Reference). Subject coverage is comprehensive and information is available from the broadest range of Canadian sources anywhere.
NOTE: In certain instances ProQuest has decided to omit particular 'articles' from full-text access due to copyright restrictions or because the item has not met their criteria for being an 'article' (ie. too short, a letter, not attributed to an author, etc.).
Permitted Use | Subscribed multi-user unlimited access
Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)
Academic Search Premier is a multidisciplinary resource that "provides journal coverage for most academic areas of studies."
Permitted Use | eResources record | Subscribed multi-user unlimited access | Full text: 1990 - present. I

See Additional Resources Hide Additional Resources

Additional Resources

Dissertations & Theses (ProQuest PQDT)

"Searchable and browsable database of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day. It also offers full text for graduate works added since 1997, along with selected full text for works written prior to 1997. It contains a significant amount of new international dissertations and theses both in citations and in full text. Includes citations for dissertations and theses from around the world, ranging from 1861 to those accepted last semester. Dissertations published from 1980 forward include 350-word abstracts; master's theses from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts. Digital dissertations and theses are archived as submitted by the degree-granting institution. Designated as an official offsite repository for the U.S. Library of Congress, PQDT Global offers comprehensive historic and ongoing coverage for North American works and significant and growing international coverage from a multiyear program of expanding partnerships with international universities and national associations."

All PhD dissertations and Master's theses from depositing universities are available from 1997 onwards, unless the document's author has requested a temporary delay.

It is also possible to search within an interface exclusive to Dissertations & Theses @ University of New Brunswick.
For UNB theses submitted after 2012, please consult UNB’s institutional repository, UNB Scholar, or the library catalogue, UNBWorldCat.
Permitted Use | Subscribed multi-user unlimited access | 1743-Current
PsycINFO (American Psychological Association; APA - EBSCO)
PsycINFO is an abstracting and indexing database of more than 2000 journals (approximately 3.3 million records) devoted to peer-reviewed literature (journals, books and dissertations) in the behavioural sciences and mental health.
Permitted Use | Subscribed multi-user unlimited access | 1887-Current
Sociological Abstracts (ProQuest)
Sociological Abstracts "covers the world's literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behaviorial sciences."
CINAHL with Full Text (Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature - EBSCO)
CINAHL with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive source of full text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 500 journals indexed in CINAHL. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index - with no embargo. With full-text coverage dating back to 1981, CINAHL with Full Text is the definitive research tool for all areas of nursing and allied health literature.
Permitted Use | Subscribed multi-user unlimited access | 1981-Current
Google scholar
Google Scholar searches a subset of the Web that Google has classified as "scholarly literature". They do not publish a list of chosen sites, and they do not state how often sites are checked. Some important sources are not covered at all. Thus, Google Scholar alone should not be relied on for comprehensive research.

UNB Libraries subscribes to a number of adult education journals, both in print and online.

Some examples of adult education journals include:

Adult Education Quarterly -- Also in print: LC5201 .A33 v.33-48 1983-98 HIL-STACKS
Canadian Journal of Education -- Also in print: LB1501 .C36 HIL-STACKS
Canadian Journal of Higher Education -- Also in print: LB2300 .C2622 HIL-STACKS
Canadian Journal of University Continuing Education
Canadian Journal for the Study of Adult Education -- Also in print: LC5254 .C3364
Convergence Also in print: LC5201 .C686 HIL-STACKS and HIL-STORA
International Journal of Lifelong Education -- Also in print: LC5201 .I587 HIL-STACKS
New Horizons in Adult Education
Studies in the Education of Adults
Training and Development Journal -- Also in print: HF5549.5 .T7 A545a HIL-STORA

Reference Sources

The print and electronic resources listed below include selected reference materials (dictionaries, encyclopaedias, handbooks, guides, and standards). To find additional reference materials, check Quest (the library catalogue) or our Reference Materials database, or ask a library staff member for help.

Key Resources

Handbook of adult development [multiple locations HIL-REF BF724.5 .H36 2003 ]

Includes sections on introductory theory and method, biocognitive development in adulthood, and social development in adulthood. By soliciting contributions from leading theoreticians and researchers in the field of adult development, this volume presents theory and research on this subfield of developmental psychology.
Handbook of complementary methods in education research [HIL-REF LB1028 .C577 2006]

In this successor to Complementary Methods for Research in Education (1987), Green (U. of California., Santa Barbara) and colleagues at other U.S. universities introduce this volume as a continuation of the commitment by the American Educational Research Association to professional development. The editors launch the 46 chapters by addressing "what's complementary about complementary methods" in education research, emphasizing epistemic and methodological plurality. Other contributors address the field's philosophical, epistemological, and ethical issues; range of quantitative and qualitative methods; theory-to-practice challenges; and the impact of policy on education. Annotation #169;2006 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com) Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.
Handbook of complementary methods in education research [HIL-REF LB2395.7 .R83 2002]

Chronicle of Higher Education article about the handbook: http: //chronicle.com/free/2002/08/2002081301t.htm" "The Fielding Institute authors apply an impressive wealth of organizational management theory and experience in their analyses of computer-mediated teaching and learning. The result is an enjoyable-to-read, fresh and lively book, delivering an abundance of ideas about how to establish a supportive learning environment, design a well structured course and manage electronically mediated dialog, -- in other words, how to successfully facilitate learning in the new context of on-line distance education." #62; Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

Table of Contents
International encyclopedia of adult education [HIL-REF LC5211 .I56 2005]

English (adult education, St. Francis Xavier University, Canada) compiles 171 entries, by authors on six continents, in this reference for scholars, graduate students, and practitioners in adult education. Contributors define the field and raise key questions for the 21st century, exploring terms, theories, movements, and concepts in the field, as well as strategies, institutions and organizations, and areas of practice. Entries are 1,000-3,000 words long, and include cross-references and extensive bibliographies. Annotation #169;2005 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com) Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.
International Handbook of Higher Education
see also [HIL-REF LB2322.2 .I58 2006 pts. 1-2]

The purpose of this publication is to provide a central, authoritative reference source on the most essential topics of higher education. The International Handbook of Higher Education combines a rich diversity of scholarly perspectives with a wide range of internationally derived descriptions and analyses. Chapters in the first volume cover central themes in the study of higher education, while contributors to the second volume focus on contemporary higher education issues within specific countries or regions.
International encyclopedia of the social & behavioral sciences (2nd Ed.)
Fully revised and updated, the second edition of the International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences, first published in 2001, offers a source of social and behavioral sciences reference material that is broader and deeper than any other. Available in both print and online editions, it comprises over 3,900 articles, commissioned by 71 Section Editors, and includes 90,000 bibliographic references as well as comprehensive name and subject indexes.

UNB has online access to the 2001 edition as well as owning print volumes of the earlier edition.

Find Books

UNB WorldCat is useful for searching across collections of books and articles, but not as useful as the article databases (ERIC, Academic Search Premier, CINAHL, etc.) or Quest for comprehensive searching. Note that you can expand your search to include either Atlantic region libraries or libraries worldwide. This can be helpful for locating items for which you have citations but no access via UNB. WorldCat results include a link to Document Delivery so that you can order items not available through UNB.

Quest enables exact searching of book titles, authors, and special collections available through UNB Libraries.

Books and other materials not available at UNB may be requested for loan from another institution. Refer to the document delivery page for electronic request forms and more details. To search for materials not held by UNB Libraries, try World Cat.

Document Delivery

For resources not available through UNB Libraries or if you are a distance education student.

http://www.lib.unb.ca/requests/docdel/

More on services for distance education students-->

ebrary e-books

Click here to fulltext search our most extensive e-book collection

To browse the shelves for books in Adult Education, try the following range:

LC 5201 - 6660.4	Adult Education, Continuing Education

Marc Bragdon
Head, Harriet Irving Research Commons
UNB Fredericton
mbragdon@unb.ca
(506)-458-7741

Last modified on April 20, 2024 01:45

ED*3011 Guide Ask Us

Course readings

Please note: for readings not on this list (chapters of books), please go to the Reading Lists tab (last tab to the right on this page). Login with your UNB login/password combination. Any problems, contact Marc (mbragdon@unb.ca).

Web Tutorials

UNB-produced tutorials available through YouTube

Find Articles

Key Resources

Additional Resources

Reference Sources

Key Resources

Find Books

Document Delivery

ebrary e-books

Citing Your Sources

ED*3011 Guide Ask Us

Guide Sections

Course readings

Please note: for readings not on this list (chapters of books), please go to the Reading Lists tab (last tab to the right on this page). Login with your UNB login/password combination. Any problems, contact Marc (mbragdon@unb.ca).

Web Tutorials

UNB-produced tutorials available through YouTube

Find Articles

Key Resources

Additional Resources

Reference Sources

Key Resources

Find Books

Document Delivery

ebrary e-books

Citing Your Sources

More Information