Ask Us Organizational Studies Guide

Additional Resources

• Encyclopedia of leadership [HIL-REF HD57.7 .E53 2004 vols. 1-4]

  Goethals (Williams College), Georgia J. Sorenson (U. Maryland) and Jas. MacGregor Burns (also Williams) have edited a wide-ranging reference of some 400 articles (1,000 to 6,000 words each) by 330 contributors. Topics are diverse: Castro, Rockefeller (JD), Kroc, The Beatles, gangs, E. Timor, Lombardi, D-Day.... Biographies account for a third of the 1.2 million words. Topics include case studies, gender issues, and theories that relate to business, management, politics, history, psychology. The set contains 150 illustrations and 300 sidebars from public records, memoirs, newspapers. Four appendices (95 p.) provide: a general bibliography; a directory of educational programs; presidential speeches on foreign policy and war (including the younger Bush's 2002 State of the Union speech); and extracts from sacred texts. While no "see also" references appear in the entries the set contains 125 pages of index (in v.4 only). Sage has, again, been the first to hit the market with a major reference in a rapidly growing field of the social sciences. Virtually every academic and large public library will need the Encyclopedia of Leadership. No mention of plans for an electronic edition. Annotation #169;2004 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com) Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

• Encyclopedia of leadership: a practical guide to popular leadership theories and techniques, the [HIL-REF HD57.7 .H525 2001]

  The Encyclopedia of Leadership is a comprehensive reference guide to over 200 of the most important business leadership principles, theories, tools, and techniques. Each entry features a brief, one-page summary of an influential theory or tools - often illustrated graphically - followed by a worksheet or exercise. Thoroughly cross-referenced, it allows busy leaders to find what they need, review it, and even implement it - often in as little as 15 minutes. Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

• Encyclopedia of Business Ethics and Society [HIL-REF HF5387 .E53 2008]
  General editor Kolb (finance and applied ethics, Loyola U. Chicago) and his associates present some 900 entries in this encyclopedia bringing together the related fields of business ethics and business and society. Broadly speaking, the encyclopedia encompasses the following themes and dimensions of business: accounting; applied ethics; corporate management and the environment; corporate powers, organization and governance; corporations in the social sphere; customers and consumers; economics and business; employee issues; environmental thought, theory, regulation, and legislation; ethical thought and theory; finance; gender, age, ethnicity, diversity, and sexual orientation; information systems; international social and ethical issues; justice; legislation and regulation; management; marketing; organizations; political theory, thought, and policy; problematic practices; and rights. The essays range in length from 11,000 words for such broad topics as justice, freedom, stakeholder theory, and regulation to 500-word entries introducing important personages or explaining the function of various organizations. An appendix provides information on business ethics periodicals and is followed by a general index. Annotation ©2008 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com) Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.
• International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences (2nd Ed.)
  see also [HIL-REF H41 .I58 2001 vols. 1-26]
  Fully revised and updated, the second edition of the International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences, first published in 2001, offers a source of social and behavioral sciences reference material that is broader and deeper than any other. Available in both print and online editions, it comprises over 3,900 articles, commissioned by 71 Section Editors, and includes 90,000 bibliographic references as well as comprehensive name and subject indexes.
  
  UNB has online access to the 2001 edition as well as owning print volumes of the earlier edition.
  Unlimited simultaneous users.
• Oxford handbook of conflict management in organizations [HIL-REF HD42 .O936 2014]

  This handbook gives a comprehensive overview of conflict resolution. Leading scholars in the field examine a range of innovative alternative dispute resolution (ADR) practices, drawing on international research and scholarship and covering both case studies of major exemplars and developments in countries in different parts of the global economy.

• Encyclopedia of Industrial and Organizational Psychology
  see also [HIL-REF HF5548.8 .E498 2007 vols 1-2]

  Presents a thorough overview of the cross-disciplinary field of industrial and organizational psychology for students, researchers, and professionals in the areas of psychology, business, management, and human resources. Covers cutting-edge topics such as terrorism at work and cyber-loafing as well as timeless topics such as employee selection techniques, performance management, leadership, diversity, career development, compensation and work rewards, and much more.

• Handbook of research methods in industrial and organizational psychology
  This title is part of the Wiley/Blackwell Reference Online e-book collection available through the Wiley Online Library.
  Unlimited simultaneous users
• APA Handbook of Industrial and Organizational Psychology [HIL-REF HF5548.8 .A684 2011]

  The APA Handbook of Industrial and Organizational Psychology, a three volume set, offers an in-depth examination of the types of behavioral and structural issues that I/O psychologists study every day, from both a theoretical and applied perspective. It explores a natural progression, from how problems are diagnosed to how research is conducted to generate answers to those problems to how interventions are implemented and, finally, to how they are evaluated.

• Oxford handbook of positive organizational scholarship [HIL-REF HD58.82 .O95 2012]

  An ideal resource for organizational scholars, students, practitioners, and human resource managers, this handbook covers the full spectrum of organizational theories and outcomes that define, explain, and predict the occurrence, causes, and consequences of positivity.

• Encyclopedia of career development [HIL-REF HF5381 .E5165 2006]

  Examines career-related issues from psychological, sociological, educational, counseling, organizational behavior, and human resource management perspectives in over 400 articles.

• HR vendors guide: the essential vendor directory and reference for HR management [HIL-REF HF5549.2 .C3 H74]
• Directory of business information resources: associations, newsletters, magazines & journals, trade shows, directories & databases, web sites [HIL-REF HF54.52 .U5 D567 2015]

  The Directory of Business Information Resources offers a complete picture of the information resources needed to participate effectively in a chosen industry.

• LabourSource
  WestlawNext Canada's LabourSource provides access to arbitration, labour board, and court decisions in Canada; labour and employment legislation from all jurisdictions in Canada; and the latest commentary from Canada's labour law experts, including Donald Brown and David Beatty's Canadian Labour Arbitration, George Adams' Canadian Labour Law, and Warren Winkler and Elaine Willis' Willis & Winkler on Leading Labour Cases.
  Please note that UNB does not subscribe to all components of LabourSource; UNB subscribes to the Classic Edition package.
  Unlimited simultaneous users.
• Handbook of communication and corporate social responsibility
  This title is part of the Wiley/Blackwell Reference Online e-book collection available through the Wiley Online Library.
  Unlimited simultaneous users.
• Blackwell handbook of global management a guide to managing complexity, The
  This title is part of the Wiley/Blackwell Reference Online e-book collection available through the Wiley Online Library.
  Unlimited simultaneous users
• Blackwell handbook of cross-cultural management, The
  This title is part of the Wiley/Blackwell Reference Online e-book collection available through the Wiley Online Library.
  Unlimited simultaneous users
• Blackwell companion to social inequalities, The
  This title is part of the Wiley/Blackwell Reference Online e-book collection available through the Wiley Online Library.
  Unlimited simultaneous users
• Oxford Reference
  Multi-part database of the online versions of Oxford University Press texts. Each topical division contains the searchable version of the latest edition of published dictionaries and encyclopedias. Additionally, information about Oxford University Press is provided. Online texts will be updated after new editions of the print monographs are published. Covers the humanities and social sciences.
  5 simultaneous users.
• Wiley/Blackwell Reference Online
  Wiley/Blackwell Reference Online "is a vast new online library giving instant access to the most authoritative and up-to-date scholarship across the humanities and social sciences. With more than 350 reference volumes to be published in Blackwell Reference Online by the end of 2008, it is the largest academic reference collection available online and includes the critically-acclaimed Blackwell Companions and Handbooks, major reference works such as the Blackwell Encyclopedia of Management and the Companion to Syntax, and a whole host of other valuable reference materials such as dictionaries, encyclopedias and concise companions."
  Unlimited simultaneous users.
• Cabells Scholarly Analytics – Journalytics (Business Set) & Predatory Reports
  UNB has access to Journalytics and Predatory Reports offered by Cabells International. Journalytics covers more than 3,000 qualified academic journals spanning UNB's 4 accessible business related disciplines (Accounting, Economics & Finance, Management, and Marketing) to help researchers select the best match to publish their manuscripts. Each entry displays contact information, manuscript and submission guidelines, and actionable metrics to help researchers make informed decisions. Predatory Reports is described as a listing of “deceptive” scholarly journals. Journal titles are added on an ongoing basis. The listing first became available in 2017 as a response to a growing number of predatory publishers. It offers journal information, evaluation metrics, and contains details of practices which threaten to undermine quality research.
  Unlimited simultaneous users.