Finance & Investment Guide

Keeping Current

Keeping Current

The world of finance is constantly evolving.  A great way for students to stay in the loop with what's current is to keep building your skills by scanning Business headlines every morning. Below are links to a few free resources and library subscriptions that can help:

Finding Data/Articles

Finding Data/Articles

When searching for journal/magazine/news articles about finance, our subscriptions to Business Source Premier and ABI Inform Complete databases are usually the best places to begin.

For additional databases, check the Article Databases page of the library website.

Key Resources

  • Hoover's Online (D & B/Mergent ; FLASH REQUIRED FOR ACCESS)
    Hoover’s Online is a quality business database from Dun & Bradstreet (D& B) that offers reliable and comprehensive insight and analysis on more than 85 million companies, 100 million contacts, and 900 industry segments. Whether you are generating leads, researching companies and industries, or comparing competitive strategies, Hoover’s data provides some of the most up-to-date information available.
    10 simultaneous users only
  • Infomart (formerly FPinfomart.ca)
    Infomart provides access to a wide range of Financial Post (FP) electronic products including the Analyser, Dividends, Profiler, and Reports databases. The FP site features historical, investor and industry reports for 500 of Canada's leading publicly-traded companies and supplies corporate information on all Canadian publicly-traded companies. In addition, Infomart allows you to retrieve, manipulate and analyse basic data for over 1400 companies. Also offers a personal name search function and a Directory of Directors.
    4 simultaneous users.
  • Mergent Online
    Mergent Online provides access to financial data for over 25,000 public U.S. and international companies. Results include: company details/history, executives, ownership, key financials, equity pricing, reports, filings, news, competitors, plus a customized Report Builder. Company financial reports for up to 15 years can be downloaded via Excel spreadsheet software. Mergent also offers real-time access to company filings submitted to the SEC (U.S.) and SEDAR (Canada). Additional attributes include a Global Private Company database for over 20 million private companies, reports (industry or equity), economic indicators, and country profiles.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Mergent Intellect
    Mergent Intellect is a web-based application powered by D&B/Hoover’s business datasets for over 100 million public and private North American/global companies. Alongside company research, the enhanced features of the Intellect interface offer users the opportunity to look up executives, build contact/mailing lists and perform market research queries. Use Mergent's Quick Tips and/or Help Guide to discover more about the features that Mergent Intellect provides.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Million Dollar Database (D & B/Mergent)
    Million Dollar Database (MDDI) is a valuable source of global information from Dun & Bradstreet on 34 million private and public companies and their executives. MDDI offers comprehensive coverage on U.S. and Canadian businesses plus business profiles on firms in over 200 countries worldwide.
    Unlimited simultaneous users
  • IBISWorld - US/Canadian Industry Reports
    Our IBISWorld database contains a range of comprehensive industry reports that offer valuable insight into U.S. and Canadian industries. Industry analysis includes key statistics, market conditions and forecasts, supply chain information, and competitive landscape. • US Industry Reports: The core collection has 30-40 page reports on more than 700 U.S. industries. The reports are written to the official North American Industry Classification System (NAICS). • Canada Industry Reports: The Canadian collection has over 400 detailed research reports on a wide variety of Canadian industries with new reports added every month.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Statista
    Statista is a multidisciplinary database that aggregates information covering 80,000 topics. Access to data from over 18,000 sources covering 1.5 million statistics. All statistics can be directly downloaded in PNG, PDF, Excel, and PowerPoint formats. Data prepared according to academic citation standards, with a citation tool (APA, Chicago, Harvard, MLA, and Bluebook) and links to the original source for further research. Statista also covers industry reports, studies, forecasts, dossiers, digital market outlook , aesthetically pleasing infographics, and more.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.

Additional Resources

  • ABI/INFORM Complete (ProQuest)
    Indexing, abstracts, and full-text of scholarly and trade journal articles in business, management, and trade. Also covers dissertations, SSRN working papers, market reports, industry reports, business cases, local and regional business information, and global and trade news. Includes full text of The Wall Street Journal and digital images of selected key business journals from the first issue to the present. ABI Help Guide
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Business Source Premier
    Business Source Premier provides full text for more than 3,700 scholarly business journals and other sources. Coverage includes virtually all subject areas related to business. BSP provides full text (PDF) for more than 350 of the top scholarly journals dating as far back as 1922.
    --- Try EBSCO's specialized Business Searching Interface for Business Source Premier. ---
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Canadian Business and Current Affairs (CBCA) Complete (ProQuest)
    Canadian Business and Current Affairs (CBCA) Complete is the nation's largest and most comprehensive bibliographic full-text reference and current events database. Available through the ProQuest Web interface, CBCA Complete combines full text and indexed content from all four CBCA database subsets (Business, Current Events, Education, and Reference). Subject coverage is comprehensive and information is available from the broadest range of Canadian sources anywhere.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Canadian Periodicals Index Quarterly (CPI.Q)
    Indexes over 400 Canadian periodicals (English and French) with full-text and reports from 165 periodicals.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Econlit
    Produced by the American Economic Association, EconLit is a bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts more than 700 international economic journals back to 1969. The database contains over one million records and is considered the foremost source for journal articles, books, dissertations. book reviews, and working papers in the field of Economics.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Frost & Sullivan
    Frost & Sullivan provides in-depth full-text market research and strategy reports in various emerging high-technology sectors.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Passport GMID (Global Market Information Database)
    Passport GMID is an international market research database and analysis tool from Euromonitor. The database contains business intelligence and reports across key industries, companies, markets, and consumers in more than 200 categories for 80 countries. Also available is research on lifestyle, demographic and socio-economic country data that spans 206 countries.
    Passport GMID User Guide PDF
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Mergent Archives
    Mergent Archives provides access to a vast, indexed collection of historic corporate and industry-related documents covering over 100 countries and industries. Digitized content includes: Mergent (Moody’s) manuals (1909 -), Ford Equity Research Reports for over 4500 U.S. and Canadian companies, 85 years of annual reports beginning as early as 1925, and access to the entire collection of Mergent’s semi-annual industry reports (2003 -).
    Unlimited simultaneous users.

UNB Libraries subscribe to a wide variety of academic journals, magazines, and newspapers, in print and/or online formats. A few titles in Finance and Investment include:

Journals
Magazines
Electronic Newspapers - Current
Journal Packages

 

Document Delivery

If a journal article is not available at UNB, it can usually be obtained through our document delivery service.  See the document delivery page for the electronic request form.  Article delivery in print or electronic form takes between 3-7 days.

Bloomberg Terminal

Bloomberg Terminal - Room 310 (Harriet Irving Library)

What is Bloomberg?

Bloomberg is an independent text-based data service accessed using a specialized Bloomberg terminal. The service provides real-time and historical, financial, economic and market data covering numerous industry sectors worldwide.  Bloomberg also offers analytics, company financials, worldwide security market information for equities, corporate bonds, government securities, money market data, currencies, commodities, municipal bonds, macroeconomic data as well as current news.  The service can also generate customized charts.

    Who uses Bloomberg?

    BBA/MBA andTME/MTME students requiring real-time financial data.  UNB Student Investment Fund (SIF) students are required to use Bloomberg in their portfolio management course.

      Where can students access a Bloomberg terminal?

      One Bloomberg dual-monitor terminal is available in Room 310 (3rd floor) of Harriet Irving Library.

      PLEASE NOTE: UNB's Centre for Financial Studies (CFS) is responsible for ALL Bloomberg terminals AND access at UNB.   CFS is housed within the Faculty of Business Administration. The terminal in Harriet Irving Library is part of the CFS subscription. To report a problem with a Bloomberg terminal, please contact the Faculty of Business Administration at  fba@unb.ca, Tel: 506-453-4869.

        Are there any other Bloomberg terminals on campus?

        Yes.  The Faculty of Business Administration (FBA) has several Bloomberg terminals in their TMX room (3rd floor - Singer Hall). The TMX Room simulates a stock exchange trading floor. Activity in the room is supervised by the FBA’s Centre for Financial Studies (CFS).

         

            How do students get started on the library's Bloomberg terminal?

            Step 1

            Login with your UNB ID/PIN

              Step 2

              Click Green Bloomberg Icon on the desktop

                Step 3

                Students are prompted to enter their Bloomberg Login/Password

                  No Login/Password?

                  Each UNB student must create their own unique Bloomberg account:

                  • Enter Name/Telephone & Cell – Bloomberg calls/texts the student a validation code
                  • Enter the validation code on screen
                  • Follow prompts and create your own Bloomberg Login and Password

                  Once logged on, Bloomberg will open FOUR windows. Blue PANEL key toggles between each of the four windows.

                  Need help with Bloomberg?

                  Bloomberg offers direct online Help Desk assistance 24 /7.  Once in the system, students can connect with Help Desk personnel by pressing the green HELP key twice.

                  UNB students requiring Bloomberg terminal training, please contact the Faculty of Business Administration at  fba@unb.ca, 506-453-4869.

                   

                  Find Books

                  UNB WorldCat is our catalogue for searching UNB Libraries' collections.  It is useful when you don't have a particular title in mind and are instead searching by topic or keyword(s) to see what is available.  Note that UNB WorldCat also includes links to selected article records by default.  After an initial search you can limit results to books, if desired.

                  Search UNB WorldCat:     

                  Advanced Search | Locations Guide | Other Catalogues | Help/FAQ

                  Books and other materials appearing in your results and not held by UNB may be requested for loan from another institution.  Please refer to the document delivery page for electronic request forms and more details.

                  Finance titles (in print) can be found on the 2nd floor in Harriet Irving Library in these Call Number ranges:

                  • HG 1 - HG 9999 (Finance)
                  • HG 201 - HG 1496 (Money)
                  • HG 1501 - HG 3550 (Banking)
                  • HG 3810 - HG 4000 (Foreign Exchange. International Finance)
                  • HG 4001 - HG 4285 (Finance Management; Corporate Finance)
                  • HG 4501 - HG 6051 (Investment; Capital Formation)
                  • HG 4551 - HG 4598 (Stock Exchanges)
                  • HG 4701 - HG 4751 (Government Securities)
                  • HG 8011 - HG 9999 (Insurance)
                  • HJ 9 - HJ 9940 (Personal Finance)

                  Government Documents

                  Our Government Documents, Data, and Maps Department website also provides access to a variety of materials. This web site includes a list of Internet sites of federal, provincial and international governments which provide information sources and publications for downloading, to supplement the collection found in UNB WorldCat.

                  UNB Libraries is a depository library for the federal Depository Services Program (including Statistics Canada publications), the European Union, the Asian Development Bank and the United Nations. Contact the Government Documents Information desk for help.

                   

                  Document Delivery

                  Books and other materials not available at UNB may be available for loan from another institution through our document delivery service.  See the document delivery page for electronic request forms and more details.  Delivery in print or electronic form usually takes between 3-7 days.

                   

                  Free Internet Sites

                  Free Internet Sites

                  While there is a wealth of information freely available on the internet, not all sites are created equal. Careful evaluation is a critical part of doing research on the Internet. Below are a few recommended sites:

                  Canada

                  United States

                  Global

                  Last modified on August 30, 2017 10:09