FILM*3082 Guide

Find Reviews

Note that several of the sources below are indexes (i.e. searchable and/or browsable) either with or without accompanying full text, while other sources are full text collections without article-/review-level indexing (such as newspaper microfilms).  You may need to use a combination of these sources to both identify and obtain the reviews you desire.

You may also want to search UNB WorldCat on the next tab for particular magazine, newspaper, or trade publications containing full text of reviews referenced elsewhere.

List of Canadian online newspaper archives from Wikipedia (several free and searchable)
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wikipedia:List_of_online_newspaper_archives#Canada

Canadian film and video : a bibliography and guide to the literature (available as an eBook and in print in HIL-REF, index, no full text)
Volume 2 contains a film index pointing to critiques, some contemporary to the film in question's release. Available online and in print.
https://unb.on.worldcat.org/oclc/244764734

Canadian Periodical Index (index, no full text)
Useful for Canadian Film Reviews. To find reviews, look under the heading “Moving picture reviews” from 1927 to 1986 and “Movie reviews” from 1984 onwards. Available in print (1920 to 1947, 1960 onwards) at: HIL-REFAB AI3 .C242
https://unb.on.worldcat.org/oclc/17873856
https://unb.on.worldcat.org/oclc/2336854

Cinema Canada (index, full text)
For a time the trade journal of record for the Canadian Film and television industry. Holding from 1972 to 1989
http://cinemacanada.athabascau.ca/index.php/cinema

Film Canadiana (index, no full text)
Holdings from 1972 to 1982; includes reviews and critiques in the Bibliography section of each issue.
https://unb.on.worldcat.org/oclc/1080285888

Film Literature Index (1973-2004, no full text)
Covers literature on both film and television/video appearing in over 300 titles around the world, including standard well-known film journals and more specialized titles.
https://unb.on.worldcat.org/oclc/1792681

Globe and Mail 1936-2014 (index, full text)
http://linker2.worldcat.org/?jHome=https%3A%2F%2Flogin.proxy.hil.unb.ca%2Flogin%3Furl%3Dhttps%3A%2F%2Fsearch.proquest.com%2Fhnpglobeandmail%2Fpublication%2F1396354%2F&linktype=best

Movie Review Query Engine (index, some full text)
Searchable index that links to full text content where available.
https://www.mrqe.com

New York Times Film Reviews 1913-1974 (full text, indexing only up to 1968)
https://unb.on.worldcat.org/oclc/2293207

Newspapers @ UNB Libraries (full text)
Search UNB Libraries' microfilm holdings against a citation for which no online full text is available:
https://newspapers.lib.unb.ca/

Readers’ Guide to Periodical Literature (index, no full text)
To find reviews of films from 1925 to February 1977, look under the heading “Moving picture plays – Criticism, plots, etc. – Single works”, and from March 1977 onwards, use “Motion picture reviews – Single works”.
https://unb.on.worldcat.org/oclc/5855603

Sight and Sound 1932-1995 (index, full text)
British Film Institute publication, searchable online full text access
https://unb.on.worldcat.org/oclc/1645027

UNB WorldCat

Search WorldCat to find books, magazines, and articles at UNB and beyond.

Here is a brief video on how to search UNB WorldCat to find books:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RPZW7KrzCns

Search UNB WorldCat:     

Advanced Search | Locations Guide | Help

Searching for films infographic ->>

UNB Libraries book holdings on "Canadian film" ->>

Encyclopedias, etc.

Below are some potentially useful reference sources - quick start / easy reference guides for background on specific topics.

Key Resources

  • Canadian Encyclopedia
    Free online encyclopedia, containing the full text of the print Canadian Encyclopedia, "the most comprehensive source of information on all things Canadian." Includes the full text of the Encyclopedia of Music in Canada.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Canadian Film Encyclopedia

    CFE includes over 750 film title, biographical and subject entries, covering some of Canada’s foremost historical and modern films and filmmakers. The film title entries include plot summaries, commentary and credits, and the biographical entries have a comprehensive list of film and video works indicating the person’s key creative roles.

     

  • Canadian film and video: A bibliography and guide to the literature
    see also [HIL-REF PN1993.5 .C3 L47 V.1 and V.2]

    A good beginning guide to literature on Canadian film, though bear in mind it was published in 1997.

Additional Resources

  • Century of Canadian Cinema: Gerald Pratley's Feature Film Guide, 1900 to present, A [HIL-REF PN1993.5 .C3 P687 2003]
  • Take One's Essential Guide to Canadian Film [HIL-REF PN1993.5 .C2 T29 2001]

    This reference contains some 700 entries identifying Canadians who have made a contribution to the world of cinema and important, award- winning Canadian films. A chronology of Canadian film and television and a list of winners of Canadian film awards are included. c. Book News Inc.

  • Film Companion: A Comprehensive Guide to more than 650 Canadian Films and Filmmakers, The [HIL-REF PN1993.5 .C2 M62]
  • Dictionnaire du Cinema Quebecois, Le [HIL-REF PN1993.45 .D42 2006]

      

 

Find Articles

Key Resources

  • Canadian Business and Current Affairs (CBCA) Complete (ProQuest)
    Canadian Business and Current Affairs (CBCA) Complete is the nation's largest and most comprehensive bibliographic full-text reference and current events database. Available through the ProQuest Web interface, CBCA Complete combines full text and indexed content from all four CBCA database subsets (Business, Current Events, Education, and Reference). Subject coverage is comprehensive and information is available from the broadest range of Canadian sources anywhere.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Communication & Mass Media Complete (CMMC)
    "CMMC incorporates the content of CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association), and Mass media articles index (formerly produced by Pennsylvania State University) along with numerous other journals..."--About the database.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Academic Search Premier
    Academic Search Premier is a multidisciplinary resource that "provides journal coverage for most academic areas of studies."
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Canadian Periodicals Index Quarterly (CPI.Q)
    Indexes over 400 Canadian periodicals (English and French) with full-text and reports from 165 periodicals.
    Limited to single-user access.
  • Modern Language Association (MLA) International Bibliography & Directory of Periodicals (EBSCOhost)
    MLA International Bibliography is a subject index for books, articles and websites published on modern languages, literature, folklore, film, literary theory and criticism, dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing. Listings on rhetoric and composition and the history, theory and practice of teaching language and literature are also included. Dating back to 1925, the database contains more than 2.7 million citations, over 6,000 journals and series, 1,200 book publishers and over 372,000 subject names and terms and adds over 66,000 records annually (May 2018).

    Coverage is international and includes titles and full-text links from online publishers including JSTOR, Project MUSE, Wiley-Blackwell and Taylor & Francis.

    The MLA Directory of Periodicals contains all information available on the journals and series on the bibliography's Master List of Periodicals.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.

Additional Resources

  • Google Scholar
    Google Scholar searches a subset of the Web that Google has classified as "scholarly literature". They do not publish a list of chosen sites, and they do not state how often sites are checked. Some important sources are not covered at all. Thus, Google Scholar alone should not be relied on for comprehensive research.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Globe and Mail
    Canada's Heritage from 1844 contains complete coverage of The Globe and Mail newspaper from 1844 through 2011. Coverage includes major events in Canadian history, images, advertisements, classifieds, cartoons, birth/death notices and the full content of the Report on Business section first published in 1962.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • JSTOR Archival Collection
    JSTOR provides access to back issues of a variety of scholarly journals. UNB Libraries currently subscribes to the Arts & Sciences (I through X) collections, along with the Life Sciences and Ireland collections.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Project Muse
    "Project MUSE covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and many others." UNB subscribes to almost 400 eJournals, and provides access to select Open Access eBooks.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Dissertations & Theses (ProQuest PQDT: formerly Digital Dissertations)
    ProQuest Dissertations and Theses (formerly Digital Dissertations) "is the single, authoritative source for information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses. The database represents the work of authors from over 1,000 graduate schools and universities."
    All PhD dissertations and Master's theses from depositing universities are available from 1997 onwards, unless the document's author has requested a temporary delay.
    It is also possible to search within an interface exclusive to Dissertations & Theses @ University of New Brunswick.

    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • PsycINFO
    PsycINFO is an abstracting and indexing database of more than 2000 journals (approximately 3.3 million records) devoted to peer-reviewed literature (journals, books and dissertations) in the behavioural sciences and mental health.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.

Citing Your Sources

Accurate, properly formatted footnotes, reading lists, and bibliographies are hallmarks of good academic research. Through citing, you acknowledge the source of any ideas you mention in your writing, document your research, and provide the information your readers need to track down your sources.

Zotero for citation management

A software program that collects, manages, and cites research sources, Zotero is easy to use, works with your web browser where you do your work, and best of all it's free. With one click, Zotero will save web pages, books, PDFs, abstracts, and almost anything else with all its citation information. Learn more here:
https://lib.unb.ca/guides/view/index.php/683

More Information