2014WI_ED*5300*TR03B Guide

Readings

Herron, J. (2008). Why Phonics Teaching Must Change. Educational Leadership, 66(1), 77-81. Retrieved from Academic Search Premier database.
https://login.proxy.hil.unb.ca/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=aph&AN=34061026&site=ehost-live&scope=site

Williams, C., Phillips-Birdsong, C., Hufnagel, K., Hungler, D., & Lundstrom, R. (2009). Word Study Instruction in the K-2 Classroom. Reading Teacher, 62(7), 570-578. Retrieved from Academic Search Premier database.
https://login.proxy.hil.unb.ca/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=aph&AN=37294829&site=ehost-live&scope=site

Morrison, V., & Wlodarczyk, L. (2009). Revisiting Read-Aloud: Instructional Strategies That Encourage Students' Engagement With Texts. Reading Teacher, 63(2), 110-118. Retrieved from Academic Search Premier database.
https://login.proxy.hil.unb.ca/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=aph&AN=44618154&site=ehost-live&scope=site

Chase, Y., & Rasinski, T. (2009). Implementing Readers Theatre as an Approach to Classroom Fluency Instruction. Reading Teacher, 63(1), 4-13. Retrieved from Academic Search Premier database.
https://login.proxy.hil.unb.ca/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=aph&AN=44054582&site=ehost-live&scope=site

Ellery, V. (2010). How Do We Teach Reading as a Strategic, Decision-Making Process?. Reading Teacher, 63(5), 434-436. Retrieved from Academic Search Premier database.
https://login.proxy.hil.unb.ca/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=aph&AN=47875779&site=ehost-live&scope=site

Lane, H., & Allen, S. (2010). The Vocabulary-Rich Classroom: Modeling Sophisticated Word Use to Promote Word Consciousness and Vocabulary Growth. Reading Teacher, 63(5), 362-370. Retrieved from Academic Search Premier database.
https://login.proxy.hil.unb.ca/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=aph&AN=47875781&site=ehost-live&scope=site

Stahl, S. (1992). Saying the `p' word: Nine guidelines for exemplary phonics instruction. Reading Teacher, 45(8), 618. Retrieved from Academic Search Premier database.
https://login.proxy.hil.unb.ca/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=aph&AN=9204132154&site=ehost-live&scope=site

Find Articles

Have a look at some of the tutorials available from the UNB Libraries website:
http://www.lib.unb.ca/research/video.php

 

ERIC is considered by many people to be the most important database for Education research, but it isn’t particularly rich in materials focusing on Trinidad and Tobago and/or Caribbean issues. Scopus and SpringerLink may prove to be worth searching as an alternative. All of these resources may at times require using Document Delivery, a means of having articles that UNB does not have sent to you by email.

Key Resources

  • ERIC - EBSCO
    ERIC is a "bibliographic database that contains education-related documents and journal articles." The EBSCO interface also provides some full text linking.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Academic Search Premier
    Academic Search Premier is a multidisciplinary resource that "provides journal coverage for most academic areas of studies."
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Scopus
    Scopus, a new multidisciplinary online resource, will be invaluable to students and faculty in various fields of study within the sciences, health sciences and the social sciences. Scopus offers full-text linking, abstracting-and-indexing information and provides access to over 66 million abstracts dating back to 1966.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • SpringerLink
    SpringerLINK service provides access to electronic journals in a variety of subjects, including "life sciences, chemical sciences, geosciences, computer science, mathematics, medicine, physics & astronomy, engineering, environmental sciences, law, and economics."
    [NOTE: pre-1996 Archival content now accessible when available]
    Unlimited simultaneous users.

Additional Resources

  • Google Scholar
    Google Scholar searches a subset of the Web that Google has classified as "scholarly literature". They do not publish a list of chosen sites, and they do not state how often sites are checked. Some important sources are not covered at all. Thus, Google Scholar alone should not be relied on for comprehensive research.

    By accessing Google Scholar as a UNB Libraries user, you benefit from technology that lets on-campus and off-campus users connect directly to full-text articles in journals to which UNB subscribes. Just click on the blue Title link in the Google result list.

    To still view UNB Libraries' holding on-campus or off-campus through Google Scholar, use the following steps:

    - Follow link above or go to https://scholar.google.com/ to ensure bypassing the proxy login.
    - Click the three lines in the top left corner.
    - Click Settings.
    - Click Library Links.
    - Search for University of New Brunswick, check the box next to the result, and save your settings.

    You can now continue to search and should see the Check for Fulltext @ UNB links next to articles and books we have access to.


    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • PsycINFO
    PsycINFO is an abstracting and indexing database of more than 2000 journals (approximately 3.3 million records) devoted to peer-reviewed literature (journals, books and dissertations) in the behavioural sciences and mental health.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • CINAHL with Full Text (Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature)
    CINAHL with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive source of full text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 500 journals indexed in CINAHL. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index - with no embargo. With full-text coverage dating back to 1981, CINAHL with Full Text is the definitive research tool for all areas of nursing and allied health literature.
    Unlimited simultaneous users
  • Canadian Business and Current Affairs (CBCA) Education (ProQuest)
    Please note: CBCA Education is now searchable as part of the larger CBCA Complete collection. Canadian Business and Current Affairs (CBCA) Complete is the nation's largest and most comprehensive bibliographic full-text reference and current events database. Available through the ProQuest Web interface, CBCA Complete combines full text and indexed content from all four CBCA database subsets (Business, Current Events, Education, and Reference). Subject coverage is comprehensive and information is available from the broadest range of Canadian sources anywhere.
    NOTE: In certain instances ProQuest has decided to omit particular 'articles' from full-text access due to copyright restrictions or because the item has not met their criteria for being an 'article' (ie. too short, a letter, not attributed to an author, etc.).
    Unlimited simultaneous users.

RefWorks

RefWorks is software freely available to you for gathering and organizing citations to research, and for outputing them to bibliographies.

RefWorks at UNB: http://www.lib.unb.ca/RefWorks/

Creating a RefWorks account:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nYzuRo1xAO8&feature=related

Exporting references from ERIC-EBSCO (and other EBSCO databases) to RefWorks:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-mFKVUdyflY&feature=mfu_in_order&list=UL

Exporting references from ERIC-ProQuest (and other ProQuest databases) to RefWorks:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SU5_rr06S_Q

Once your references are in RefWorks - Part 1:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uDiqGIuKYys&feature=mfu_in_order&list=UL

Once you references are in RefWorks - Part 2 (Write-n-Cite):
http://bcove.me/klslkvqq

Find Books

We now provide access to two complimentary catalogues for searching UNB Libraries collections.

UNB WorldCat is useful when you don't have a particular title in mind and are instead searching by topic or keyword(s) to see what is available.  Note that UNB WorldCat also includes links to selected article records by default.  After an initial search you can limit results to books, if desired.

Books and other materials appearing in results and not held by UNB may be requested for loan from another institution. Refer to the document delivery page for electronic request forms and more details.

Search UNB WorldCat:     

Advanced Search | Locations Guide | Help

Quest contains materials held at the Harriet Irving, Science and Forestry, Engineering, and Law libraries, as well as the Ward Chipman Library in Saint John. Try searching for specific authors and titles or choose "words or phrase" to scan a broad range of possible sources. Subject searches employ a controlled vocabulary for precise searching.

E-books can be searched at e-Books Licensed Resource

Dissertations and theses

Dissertations and Theses (formerly Digital Dissertations) "is the single, authoritative source for information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses. The database represents the work of authors from over 1,000 graduate schools and universities." All PhD dissertations and Master's theses from depositing universities are available from 1997 onwards, unless the document's author has requested a temporary delay.

The Theses Canada Portal currently provides access to records from the National Library of Canada theses collection (from 1965), and access to fulltext for theses and dissertations submitted between 1998 and 2002.

Reference Sources

Below are electronic reference resources, which can be accessed online and searched.  Credo in particular has some interesting encyclopedic entries on Trinidad and Tobago from a variety of topical angles.

Key Resources

  • Blackwell Guide to the Philosophy of Education
    see also [HIL-REF LB14.7 .B57 2002]

    Philosophy of education has now established itself throughout the world as a theoretically significant and practically vital discipline. In this important survey, an international group of leading philosophers charts the development of the field in the twentieth century and points to important questions for its future.Each chapter has been written as a collaboration between authors in order to emphasize the diversity of thought, and where appropriate, the dissent and debate that is intrinsic to the field. The contributors explore social and cultural theories, politics and education, philosophy as education, teaching and curriculum, and ethics and upbringing. The Blackwell Guide to Philosophy of Education is state-of-the-art map to the field as well as a valuable reference book. Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

  • Oxford Reference
    Multi-part database of the online versions of Oxford University Press texts. Each topical division contains the searchable version of the latest edition of published dictionaries and encyclopedias. Additionally, information about Oxford University Press is provided. Online texts will be updated after new editions of the print monographs are published. Covers the humanities and social sciences.
    5 simultaneous users.
  • Oxford English Dictionary (OED Online)
    "This unique and powerful resource offers unprecedented access to the definitive record of the meaning, history and evolution of more than 600,000 words over the last 1,500 years." A complete text of the 2nd. ed. of the Oxford English dictionary with quarterly updates, including revisions not available in any other form.
    5 simultaneous users.

Citing Your Sources

Accurate, properly formatted footnotes, reading lists, and bibliographies are hallmarks of good academic research. Through citing, you acknowledge the source of any ideas you mention in your writing, document your research, and provide the information your readers need to track down your sources.

Many citation styles exist, and each specifies what elements are required (title, author, journal name, etc.) and how the citation should be formatted. The standard citation style for Education is APA, but your instructor may require or recommend that you use another. Consult your course syllabus or check with your instructor to be sure of using the correct citation style for your assignment.

RefWorks is a web-based bibliographic database manager, available through UNB Libraries, that allows you to create a database of references that can be organized, searched, and used to automatically construct bibliographies and reading lists in many citation styles.

More Information