Company & Industry Information Guide

Overview / News

Getting Started

While there are many resources from which you can collect company information, there are a number of factors will influence just how much information you can retrieve quickly. They include: whether the company is public or private; its size and sales; where the company is registered, incorporated, or physically located; the fame and notoriety of the company and the people associated with it; and the amount of money you can afford to spend -- remember, information often comes with a price.

Begin by collecting basic information associated with the company: physical / mailing addresses; phone / fax / telex numbers; email addresses / urls; SIC codes; stock market(s)/ ticker symbol if publicly traded; product names / trademarks / service marks; and associated names, both of people and of other companies.

After you have a gathered basic company information, you should know if the company is a public or private entity. If it is a North American public company, you should be able to find out a great deal about it. Public companies are required by law to disclose certain information such as: assets, liabilities, employees owning stock, balance sheets and income statements. As well, unscheduled events materially affecting stock prices must be reported. In Canada, they disclose this type of information to the Canadian Securities Administration; in the US, they must file with the Securities and Exchange Commission. Both the CSA and the SEC offer free, public, electronic access to many of these disclosure documents through SEDAR and EDGAR, respectively.

New Brunswick companies may also be subject to various New Brunswick regulations and laws including: the Companies Act, C-13; the Corporations Act, C-24; the Business Corporations Act, B-9.1; and the like.

Once you have some background on your company which may help you think critically about related information and data, you will be ready to plunge into journal articles, grey literature, and beyond. Enjoy the search and remember, you can always visit a library and ask a librarian for some help.

In addition to this guide to company and industry information, you might also wish to explore:

UNB Libraries Guide to Business, UNB Libraries Saint John

UNB Libraries Guide to Economics, UNB Libraries Saint John

 

News and Views

Bloomberg

Canada NewsWire, CNW Group, company profiles, company and government news releases

Global Markets News, Reuters

Globe Investor, Globe and Mail

PR Newswire

Report on Business, Globe and Mail

Athens Stock Exchange

Australian Securities Exchange

Hong Kong Exchanges

Johannesburg Stock Exchange

London Stock Exchange

Montreal Exchange

Nasdaq Stock Market

New York Stock Exchange, NYSE Euronext

Japan Exchange Group

TMX Group, Toronto Stock Exchange, TSX Venture Exchange ...

Reference / Statistics

Directories, encyclopedias, handbooks, guides, and standards containing company and industry related information may be found by checking UNB WorldCat, and the Reference Materials collection, or may be publicly accessible via the internet.

For more reference materials and statistical data related to business, please choose the Reference / Statistics tab on the UNB Libraries' Guide to Business, UNB Libraries, Saint John.

 

Reference Resources

Specialized Directories, Canadian Companies Capabilities, Industry Canada, public access

North American Industry Classification System (NAICS), public access

HTS Online Reference Tool, Harmonized Tariff Schedule of the United States, public access

Corporations Returns Act, Statistics Canada, public access

Inter-Corporate Ownership, Statistics Canada, public access

 

Statistics, Data, Data Sets ...

Significant company and industry statistical information may be found in annual reports, company filings and the like. Please see the links under the Profiles / Financials / Filings tab, above. Additional statistical information may be found through:

Quarterly Financial Statistics for Enterprises, Statistics Canada, public access

Financial and Taxation Statistics for Enterprises, Statistics Canada, public access

Information by Industrial Category, Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada, public access

Financial Performance Data, Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada, public access

Trade Data Online, Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada, public access

Industries at a Glance, Bureau of Labor Statistics, US, public access

Industry Statistics Portal, US Census Bureau, public access

Economic Census, US Census Bureau, public access

Charting International Labor Comparisons, US Bureau of Labor Statistics, public access

National U.S. Trade Data, international trade statistics, export.gov, public access

Data & Analysis, International Trade Administration, US, public access

Profiles/Financials/Filings

(Descriptions adapted from database information)

Mergent Online, licensed resource

    Mergent Online provides access to financial data for over 25,000 public U.S. and international companies. Results include: company details/history, executives, ownership, key financials, equity pricing, reports, filings, news, competitors, plus a customized Report Builder. Company financial reports for up to 15 years can be downloaded via Excel spreadsheet software. Mergent also offers real-time access to company filings submitted to the SEC (U.S.) and SEDAR (Canada). Additional attributes include a Global Private Company database for over 20 million private companies, reports (industry or equity), economic indicators, and country profiles

Mergent Intellect, licensed resource

    Mergent Intellect is a web-based application powered by D&B/Hoover’s business datasets for over 100 million public and private North American/global companies. Alongside company research, the enhanced features of the Intellect interface offer users the opportunity to look up executives, build contact/mailing lists and perform market research queries. Use Mergent's Quick Tips and/or Help Guide to discover more about the features that Mergent Intellect provides.

First Research, Industry Profiles (Mergent Intellect), licensed resource

    First Research offers knowledge tools (Industry Profiles and State and Provincial Profiles) that are essential for enhancing presentations and learning about key issues within 1000+ U.S. and Canadian industries. Canadian Industries: Select the International/Global Content tab on the Blue Navigation ribbon.

Hoover's Online (D & B/Mergent), licensed resource

    Hoover’s Online is a quality business database from Dun & Bradstreet (D& B) that offers reliable and comprehensive insight and analysis on more than 85 million companies, 100 million contacts, and 900 industry segments. Whether you are generating leads, researching companies and industries, or comparing competitive strategies, Hoover’s data provides some of the most up-to-date information available. Note: 10 simultaneous users

Million Dollar Database (D & B/Mergent), licensed resource

    Million Dollar Database (MDDI) is a valuable source of global information from Dun & Bradstreet on 34 million private and public companies and their executives. MDDI offers comprehensive coverage on U.S. and Canadian businesses plus business profiles on firms in over 200 countries worldwide.

IBISWorld, licensed resource

    IBISWorld provides access to information on both U.S. and Canadian industries. Industry analysis includes key statistics, market conditions and forecasts, supply chain information, and competitive landscape.

Passport GMID, licensed resource

    Passport GMID is an international market research database and analysis tool from Euromonitor. The database contains business intelligence and reports across key industries, companies, markets, and consumers in more than 200 categories for 80 countries. Also available is research on lifestyle, demographic and socio-economic country data that spans 206 countries.

Infomart, formerly FPinfomart.ca, licensed resource

    Infomart provides access to a wide range of Financial Post (FP) electronic products including the Analyser, Dividends, Profiler, and Reports databases. The FP site features historical, investor and industry reports for 500 of Canada's leading publicly-traded companies and supplies corporate information on all Canadian publicly-traded companies. In addition, Infomart allows you to retrieve, manipulate and analyse basic data for over 1400 companies. Also offers a personal name search function and a Directory of Directors.

 

Australian Securities and Investments Commission, public access

SEDAR Company Profiles, securities related information filed with Canadian Securities Administrators, public access

Charities Listings, Canada Revenue Agency

SEDI, the System for Electronic Disclosure by Insiders, Canada, public access

US Securities and Exchange Commission EDGAR Database, public access

Companies House, the incorporation, re-registration and striking-off of companies; registration of documents; provision of company information to the public, UK, public access

Google Finance, public access

Yahoo! Finance, public access

Baidu Finance, public access

Concentration Ratios: Business and Industry, US Census Bureau, public access

Business Guides by Industry, US SBA, public access

Forbes Lists, public access

100 Best Companies to Work For, Fortune, public access

Books, Studies, Reports ...

UNB WorldCat searches the WorldCat database and offers up-to-date availability information for material held by UNB Libraries. WorldCat contains more than 130,000,000 bibliographic records (including books, journals, videos, music ...) referring to the holdings of libraries world wide. WorldCat also includes selected journal articles and internet resources.

To find company and industry information you might want to try a subject search on the company name, associated persons, or the industry. For example:

    Microsoft Corporation
    Gates, Bill, -- 1955-
    Computer software industry -- United States

 

Mobile users should note that although UNB Libraries has moved to a responsive web design, mobile interfaces and apps may NOT yet provide all the functionality of other types of web-based access.

Search UNB WorldCat:     

Advanced Search | Locations Guide | Other Catalogues | Help/FAQ

For members of the UNB/STU community of users, the Library provides access to individual electronic books, through UNB WorldCat. As well, the University community may access several collections of electronic books.

Some internet sites offer full-text or previews of books and book-length works either as collections or as individual linked titles.

Research Reports, SME Research and Statistics, Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada

Market Reports, Canadian Trade Commissioner Service

Country Commercial Guides, export.gov

BLS Research Papers, Office of Survey Methods Research, US Bureau of Labor Statistics

ITA Publications, International Trade Administration, US

Top Markets Series, International Trade Administration, US

Publications, US Census Bureau

Open Knowledge Repository: Books, World Bank

Flagship Reports, ILO

Research Publications, ILO

Articles / Research Databases

For those interested in company and industry information, several of the available licensed bibliographic databases are listed in Key and Additional Resources below.  These databases contain a variety of items from a variety of sources including articles from newspapers, magazines and academic journals, market reports and the like. Business Source Premier also includes a significant collection of company profiles from MarketLine Reports and allows users a clickable link within the profiles to search the whole BSP database for articles relating to a selected company.

Be sure to check out the databases and web sites listed under the Profiles / Financials / Filings tab as well.

For all of the Libraries' licensed databases, please see the Article Databases page.

Key Resources

  • Business Source Premier
    Business Source Premier provides full text for more than 3,700 scholarly business journals and other sources. Coverage includes virtually all subject areas related to business. BSP provides full text (PDF) for more than 350 of the top scholarly journals dating as far back as 1922.
    --- Try EBSCO's specialized Business Searching Interface for Business Source Premier. ---
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • ABI/INFORM Complete (ProQuest)
    Indexing, abstracts, and full-text of scholarly and trade journal articles in business, management, and trade. Also covers dissertations, SSRN working papers, market reports, industry reports, business cases, local and regional business information, and global and trade news. Includes full text of The Wall Street Journal and digital images of selected key business journals from the first issue to the present. ABI Help Guide
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Canadian Business and Current Affairs (CBCA) Complete (ProQuest)
    Canadian Business and Current Affairs (CBCA) Complete is the nation's largest and most comprehensive bibliographic full-text reference and current events database. Available through the ProQuest Web interface, CBCA Complete combines full text and indexed content from all four CBCA database subsets (Business, Current Events, Education, and Reference). Subject coverage is comprehensive and information is available from the broadest range of Canadian sources anywhere.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Science Direct
    Science Direct offers comprehensive coverage of literature across all fields of science, medicine and technology. All previous ScienceDirect journal collections have been merged into this single collection.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.

Additional Resources

  • Financial times (FT.com)
    UNB has purchased a premium online subscription to FT.com which provides our academic community with the current Financial Times newspaper, the latest international business, finance, economic and political news, analysis, data, tools, plus RSS feeds. Users can also view the Financial Times on mobile devices by downloading their apps: http://apps.ft.com
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Canadian Newspapers FULLTEXT (Infomart)
    This database offers fulltext access to a variety of Canadian newspapers, (coverage dates vary by title). New Brunswick newspapers, The Daily Gleaner, The Telegraph Journal, and The Moncton Times Transcript have coverage from 1998-date.

    DURABLE LINKS TO PDFs
    ON-CAMPUS

    Upon viewing an article's full text there is a DOCUMENT TOOLS menu in the upper right corner allowing various modes of output/saving. Click “PDF Output” and a PDF should open in your browser. Copy that PDF link and paste it into a blank text file, email, etc. The link you copy needs to begin with http:// , like this: http://www.fpinfomart.ca/download/pdf/irvinglibrary_20141007_0827_gdqd_3.pdf
    Then copy/paste the proxy prefix to insert at the start of your URL to ensure ready access from any location, and save your link for future use, and/or copy/paste the link into a browser for access:
    https://login.proxy.hil.unb.ca/login?url=
    Sample: https://login.proxy.hil.unb.ca/login?url=http://www.fpinfomart.ca/download/pdf/irvinglibrary_20141007_0827_gdqd_3.pdf
    OFF-CAMPUS
    Upon viewing an article's full text there is a DOCUMENT TOOLS menu in the upper right corner allowing various modes of output/saving. Click “PDF Output” and a PDF should open in your browser. The URL is all set for access from any location so simply copy/save that PDF link for future reference.
    Sample: http://www.fpinfomart.ca.proxy.hil.unb.ca/download/pdf/irvinglibrary_20141007_0827_gdqd_3.pdf

    For assistance, please contact library staff at:
    The Harriet Irving Library, Tel: 506-453-3546, Email: askus@unb.ca
    Science and Forestry Library: Tel: 506-453-4601, Email: scilib@unb.ca
    Engineering Library: Tel: 506-453-4747, Email: englib@unb.ca
    CONTENT IS PROTECTED BY COPYRIGHT AND IS LICENSED ONLY FOR YOUR PERSONAL USE. ALL OTHER RIGHTS ARE RESERVED. THE CONTENT MAY NOT BE REPRODUCED, RETRANSMITTED, DISSEMINATED, SOLD, DISTRIBUTED, PUBLISHED; BROADCAST, OR CIRCULATED WITHOUT THE PRIOR WRITTEN CONSENT OF CANWEST INTERACTIVE. TO LEARN MORE ABOUT BUSINESS AND CORPORATE SUBSCRIPTIONS PLEASE CONTACT FPINFOMART.CA AT 1-800-661-7678
    4 Simultaneous Users
  • PressDisplay - Newspapers From Around the World (Library Press Display)
    Thousands of newspapers, magazines, and other news sources from 100 countries in 60 different languages. News sources are searchable and current with up to a 60-day backfile at most -- access varies per news source.
    4 simultaneous users.

There is also a wide variety of periodical titles available (some licensed, some public access).

 

Collective Resources

OECDiLibrary, licensed resource

Periodicals Catalogue, Employment, Social Affairs and Inclusion, European Commission

 

Individual Titles

Asia Pacific Business Review, licensed resource

GlobalData company deals and alliances profiles, licensed resource

Globe and Mail, licensed resource

Horizon Magazine, EU, public access

Monthly Labor Review, public access

Report on Business, licensed resource

Citing / Writing

Citations are a natural by-product of a good literature or bibliographic search -- they come from the results your search produces. They may be found, collectively, in bibliographic databases and citation indexes. They may be derived from statistical databases and other data collections. They may make reference to individual books, periodicals (journals, magazines and newspapers), working papers, and technical reports. They may be gathered from compilations such as bibliographies or appear in lists of works cited and references. Citations may also be produced in reference to material you read or heard, to images you discover, and to all kinds of electronic files which are displayed, read, played, or otherwise accessed.

To structure citations appropriately it helps to have a good guide. There are several standard guides from which you may choose. In university, choosing the "best" one will depend on the requirements of the assignment, the nature of the contents and the preferences of the individual professor. Some guides emphasize a particular discipline, some are cross-discipline and some may emphasize a particular form of material.

 

Style Guides

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, HWK-REF BF76.7 .P83 2010

APA Style Guide to Electronic References, 2012 edition, licensed resource

APA Style, American Psychological Association, public access

Chicago Manual of Style, HWK-REF Z253 .U7 2010

 

Abbreviations and Acronymns

Sometimes you will find a citation which uses an unfamiliar abbreviation or acronym in place of the full periodical title. For help, try:

Journal Title Abbreviations, Web of Science, public access

 

Citation Management Software

Zotero

UNB Libraries' Guide to Zotero

Mendeley

More Information

I am located in Rm 210, HWK Commons, UNBSJ. During the regular term, my office hours are: Mondays: 2:30 pm - 3:30 pm; Tuesdays: 4:00 pm - 5:30 pm; Thursdays: 9:30 am - 11:00 am; or by appointment or chance. You can also send me an email using the convenient link, above.