Ask Us Hospitality, Tourism Management Guide

Reference / Statistics

Dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, guides, maps and other types of reference materials relating to HTM can be found by checking UNB WorldCat, and the Reference Materials collection, or may be publicly accessible via the internet.

Collective

Atlas Obscura: Curious and Wondrous Travel Destinations, public access

Map Collection, Perry-Castañeda Library, University of Texas, public access

Encyclopedia of Ecotourism, licensed resource

International Encyclopedia of Hospitality Management, licensed resource

Encyclopedia of tourism and recreation in marine environments, licensed resource

Encyclopedia of Tourism, licensed resource

Heritage Tourism Guidebook, Texas Historical Commission

Research and Planning

Quantitative Methods in Tourism: A Handbook, licensed resource

Resources for Researchers: How-To Guides, Destination British Columbia, public access

Policy & Planning, National Marine Sanctuaries Documents, NOAA, public access

Parks, Trails and Health Workbook, National Park Service and CDC, US, public access

Trail User Survey Workbook, Rails to Trails Conservancy, Department of Conservation and Natural Resources,  Pennsylvania, public access

Making Nature Your Business: A Guide for Starting a Nature Tourism Business in the Lone Star State, Texas Parks & Wildlife, public access

Statistics, Data, Data Sets ...

Statistics Canada, data on travel and tourism in Canada

Statistics and Figures, Destination Canada, public access

[Travel, Tourism, Transportation] Satellite Industry Accounts Data, Bureau of Economic Analysis, US DOC, public access

Bureau of Transportation Statistics, Research and Innovative Technology Administration, US DOT, public access

International Trade Administration, data and research on US tourism

Tourism, EuroStat, European Commission, public access

Tourism, Office for National Statistics, UK, public access

Tourism Research Australia, public access

Tourism, Statistics New Zealand, public access

Tourism, Ministry of Economic Development, New Zealand

International Travel and Migration, Statistics New Zealand, public access

New Zealand Household Travel Survey, Ministry of Transport, NZ, public access

World Development Indicators: Travel and tourism, World Bank, public access

International tourism, expenditures (current US$), Data, World Bank, public access

Tourism, OECD, selected public access

UNdata, choose World Tourism Data, UNWTO, from the database list, public access

UNWTO World Tourism Barometer, licensed resource

Tourism Statistics, e-unwto, selected public access

Books, Studies, Reports ...

UNB WorldCat searches the WorldCat database and offers up-to-date availability information for material held by UNB Libraries. WorldCat contains more than 130,000,000 bibliographic records (including books, journals, videos, music ...) referring to the holdings of libraries world wide. WorldCat also includes selected journal articles and internet resources.

Mobile users should note that although UNB Libraries has moved to a responsive web design, mobile interfaces and apps may NOT yet provide all the functionality of other types of web-based access.

Please note: While many of the following items allow unlimited simultaneous users, in some cases, the item may allow only a single user at any given time.

Members of the UNB/STU community of users may also use UNB WorldCat to access individual electronic book / book-length titles such as:

Marketing Places and Spaces, Antónia Correia, et al

Advances in Hospitality and Leisure, Joseph S. Chen

Stories of practice : tourism policy and planning, Dianne Dredge and John Jenkins, eds

Visual pollution: advertising, signage and environmental quality,, Adriana Portella

Alternatively, members of the UNB/STU community of users may choose to search one or more of our collections of electronic books and book-length materials such as:

Ebsco eBooks

MyiLibrary

As well, some internet sites offer full-text, public access books, government publications, and book-length works either as collections or as individual linked title. Examples of such sites include:

Publications, Tourism, Heritage and Culture, NB

Publications, Ministry of Tourism and Culture, Ontario

Publications, Travel and Tourism, Statistics Canada

Tourism Research Australia

Research and Publications, Center for Hospitality Research, Cornell University

Policy Research, World Travel and Tourism Council

Reports, World Economic Forum

Travel and Tourism Competitiveness Report 2019, World Economic Forum

Latest Documents, Tourism, Centre for Entrepreneurship, SMEs and Local Development, OECD, selected public access

Open Knowledge Repository, World Bank

e-unwto, UN World Tourism Organization, selected public access

(Don't forget to explore the resources listed under the Internet / Multimedia tab.)

Article / Research Databases

For those interested in HTM, several of the available licensed bibliographic databases are listed in Key and Additional Resources below. These databases contain articles from general magazines, newspapers, and academic journals. IBISWorld contain significant information on hospitality / tourism / travel as industries. CAB Direct includes materials previously found in the Leisure, Recreation, Tourism database. When searching CAB Direct, consider using the CABICODES along with your selected search terms (for instance, the CABICODE uu700 which limits the search to items coded as tourism and travel, or the CABICODE ee119 which limits the search to items coded as leisure, recreation, and tourism economics).

For all of the Libraries' licensed databases, please see the Article Databases page.

There is also a wide variety of individual periodical titles available (some licensed, some public access) including:

Annals of Tourism Research, licensed resource

International Journal of Sport Management, Recreation & Tourism (IJSMaRT) , public access

International Journal of Tourism Research, licensed resource

Journal of Hospitality and Tourism Research, licensed resource

Journal of Sport and Tourism, licensed resource

Journal of Travel & Tourism Marketing, licensed resource

Journal of Travel Research, licensed resource

Tourism and Hospitality Research, licensed resource

Tourism Management, licensed resource

TOURISMOS: An International Multidisciplinary Refereed Journal of Tourism, public access

UNWTO World Tourism Barometer, licensed resource

Internet / Multimedia

Collective Resources

Destination Canada, official guide

Tourism Industry Association of Canada

US Travel Association

Travel and Tourism Research Association

Tourism in Africa, World Bank

Tourism, OECD

UN World Tourism Organization

World Travel and Tourism Council

Planeta

Government Departments, Agencies...

Tourism, Heritage and Culture, New Brunswick

Department of Tourism and Culture, PEI

Department of Tourism, Culture, Industry and Innovation, Newfoundland and Labrador

Atlantic Canada Tourism Partnership

Assistance to Travellers, Government of Canada

Destination Canada, Canadian Tourism Information Services

Parks Canada

National Travel and Tourism Office, ITA, DOC, US

Passports and International Travel, US Department of State

Travelers' Health, CDC, US

National Park Service, US

Discover Our Shared Heritage Travel Itinerary Series, National Park Service, US

[Explore Your America], recreation.gov

Passports, travel and living abroad, Foreign and Commonwealth Office, UK

Culture, tourism and sport, Local Government Association, UK

Tourism, Scottish Government

Tourism, Welsh Government

Smartraveller, Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade, Australia

Discover Aboriginal Tourism, Tourism Australia

Tourism, Ministry of Economic Development, New Zealand

Geotourism, Geoheritage

Stonehammer UNESCO Global Geopark, New Brunswick

Geology and Tourism, Natural Resources, Newfoundland and Labrador

The Origin of Landscape: A Guide to Wyoming's Cultural Geology, Wyoming State Geological Survey

America's Geologic Heritage, Explore Nature, National Park Service, US

Geotourism, Department of Mines and Petroleum, Western Australia

Geology and Landforms, Dartmoor National Park, UK

Travel, Travellers Accounts ...

Travel Literature, Center for Retrospective Digitization, Göttingen

American Notes: Travels in America, 1750-1929, "full-text online access to 253 published narratives by Americans and foreign visitors" American Memory Project, Library of Congress

American Journeys: Eyewitness Accounts of Early American Exploration and Settlement, "from the sagas of Vikings in Canada in AD1000 to the diaries of mountain men in the Rockies 800 years later", Wisconsin Historical Society

Travelers in the Middle East Archive, Rice University

[keyword search of "travel"], Digital Library of the Caribbean

Gertrude Bell Archive, Newcastle University Library

19th-Century European & North American Encounters with Taiwan: A Bibliography of Texts Input, Formosa, Reed Institute

Multimedia

National Film Board, Canada, public access

National Film Board, Canada, licensed resource

Arizona Tourism Webinars, Arizona Office of Tourism

Videos, Keep Exploring Canada

BBC Fast Track, archived episodes

Citing / Writing

Citing Your Sources

Accurate, properly formatted references and bibliographies are hallmarks of good academic research, as they acknowledge the source of any ideas you mention in your writing, document your research, and provide the information your readers need to track down your sources.

The standard citation style for Business is American Psychological Association (APA) style, but your instructor may require or recommend that you use another. Always check your course syllabus or ask your instructor to be sure you are using the correct citation style.

The Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association (7th Edition) provides guidance on writing research papers and acknowledging sources. The below examples, based on APA style, are intended to provide help on how to format in-text references/citations in a reference list for the kinds of resources frequently used by Business students and faculty. 

In addition to these examples, citation management tools like Zotero can help you with your research, as they can serve as a repository for your references and are able to auto generate* in-text citations and a Reference list.

*Just a word of caution when using auto generation: double check the citations and references for accuracy, as they are generated by vendor software not humans! 

Every Business assignment (e.g., report/paper) must include references that have TWO parts:

1. In-Text Reference (Citation): The purpose of in-text references/citations is to identify the sources of your information and to distinguish your ideas from those of others. In the body of your paper, provide the surname of the author(s) and the year of publication to credit a specific passage/idea used. You can provide the reference information in your own text or within parentheses. The standard format is: (Author, Year of Publication, Page Number*). *Page number is required for direct quotes, but optional when paraphrasing. 
   1. Example for narrative in-text citation: In Dill’s 2021 article, it is cited that certain industries like health, retail and food services have experienced especially high rates of turnover. 
   2. Example for parenthetical in-text citation: Certain industries like health, retail and food services have experienced especially high rates of turnover (Dill, 2021). 
2. Reference List: The purpose of the list is to guide your reader to the sources you have used in your paper. At the end of your paper, on a separate page, provide the full details of all sources in a reference list, entitled “References” (without quotation marks and centered). Your reference list should display each entry in alphabetical order by the surname of the first author. Each reference entry should be double-spaced with the second line indented. Double-spacing is also required between all entries. APA Style has a useful Guide to Creating An APA Style Reference List. 

See the below Reference List examples for frequently-used UNB Libraries’ business databases. Note that due to formatting constraints, they do not display double-spacing or indentation. The Examples are also available in PDF format. 

Reference List Examples

Citing Indigenous Knowledge

Indigenous scholars have long pointed out the ways the rules of academic citation styles can be exclusionary. Following the existing rules, it can be difficult to grant Indigenous knowledges, particularly oral teachings, the respect they deserve. In 2021, Lorisia MacLeod of the James Smith Cree Nation published templates for citing Indigenous Elders and Knowledge Keepers in various styles. MacLeod's complete article is available here. 

Here is her template for APA format:

Last name, First initial. Nation/Community. Treaty Territory if applicable. Where they live if applicable. Topic/subject of communication if applicable. personal communication. Month Date, Year.

For example: 

Cardinal, D. Goodfish Lake Cree Nation. Treaty 6. Lives in Edmonton. Oral teaching. personal communication. April 4, 2004.

Key Resources

• Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association. 7th edition.
  HIL-REFDSK & HWK-REF BF 76.7 .P83 2020
• Writing Answers - UNB Writing Centre
• Purdue OWL: APA Formatting and Style Guide
• Printable APA style citation guide (7th edition)
  A comprehensive PDF file maintained by Taylor & Francis Publishers UK
• UNB Libraries' Guide to Citation and Plagiarism
• APA 7 Citation and Referencing for Business (Business Library, University of Calgary)
• NorQuest College on citing Indigenous sources

APA Style Resources

• APA Style Reference Examples
• APA Style Paper Format
• APA Style Sample Papers
• APA Style Handouts & Guides