Ask Us Civil Engineering Guide

Key Resources

• CRCnetBASE - incorporated into Taylor and Francis Group eBooks
  CRCnetBASE eBooks have been incorporated into Taylor and Francis Group eBooks -- please visit the record for access and further information. Individual titles can still be found in our eBook search or UNBWorldCat, with access redirecting to the new site.
  
• AccessEngineering
  A full text collection of a few hundred McGraw-Hill engineering book titles covering 12 major areas of engineering and more than 200 topics.
  Unlimited simultaneous users.
• ASTM Compass - International Standards & Digital Library
  ASTM Compass - International Standards & Digital Library includes all 13,000 active ASTM standards (equivalent to the printed 82 volumes), the historical standards back to 1998, as well as the withdrawn and redlined version comparisons. In addition, it includes full-text access to Manuals, Monographs, Data Series, STPs (Special Technical Publications) and almost a dozen Journals dating back to the 1930s.
  Unlimited simultaneous users.
• CSA Standards and Codes Online (Canadian Standards Association)
  The Canadian Standards Association is a not-for-profit standards development, membership-based association, in business, industry, government and consumers. CSA is the largest standards development organization (SDO) in Canada and is accredited in Canada and the U.S. to develop standards in a wide range of subject areas.
  
  UNB Libraries’ subscribes to the Complete CSA Collection package which includes over 3,000 current and historical (including IT and Telecommunications standards) and standard related documents such as handbooks, guidelines and commentaries.
  Unlimited simultaneous users.
• Standard specifications for transportation materials and methods of sampling and testing (AASHTO materials)
  As of 2016, AASHTO materials standards are published in digital format only. Updates are released annually in three groups, broken up by subject area. Summaries of changes and revision charts are provided for each release for Part 1, Part 2, and Part 3. When a standard is revised or reconfirmed, the release number will appear, with month and year in parentheses, beneath the designation number. Releases 1 through 3 occur in April, June, and August, respectively, covering the following subjects:
  
  Release 1—Hydraulic Cements; Concrete; Concrete-Related Materials; Pavement Serviceability;Environmental Quality; and Quality Assurance.
  Release 2—General Manufactured Materials
  Release 3—Geotechnical; and Bituminous Materials and Mixtures.
  Limited to 2 simultaneous users.
• TRIS (Transportation Research Information Services)
  The Transportation Research Information Services (TRIS) database is the largest online bibliographic database of transportation research. TRIS now contains more than 650,000 records of published research covering all modes and disciplines of transportation. TRIS is produced and maintained by the Transportation Research Board of the National Academies with sponsorship by state Departments of Transportation and the administrations of the U.S. Department of Transportation, and other sponsors of TRB's core technical activities.

  NOTE: The Transportation Research Record is NOT accessible through the TRB site.
  Please use UNB's access through SAGE Journals Online:
  Transportation Research Record: Journal of the Transportation Research Board
  no. 1517 1996-Current
  Unlimited simultaneous users.

• Standard handbook for civil engineers

  A revision of the classic reference covering all important principles and techniques needed by practicing civil engineers.

• Designing Transportation Systems for Older Adults

  This book provides comprehensive information needed to assist with all aspects of designing, delivering, or evaluating transportation systems for use by older adults, and presents the necessary background on aging and human factors issues as well as practical guidelines needed to accommodate older adult transport users.

• Traffic and Pavement Engineering

  Traffic and Pavement Engineering presents the latest engineering concepts, techniques, practices, principles, standard procedures, and models that are applied and used to design and evaluate traffic systems, road pavement structures, and alternative transportation systems to ultimately achieve greater safety, sustainability, efficiency, and cost-effectiveness. It provides in-depth coverage of the major areas of transportation engineering and includes a broad range of practical problems and solutions, related to theory, concepts, practice, and applications. Solutions for each problem follow step-by-step procedures that include the theory and the derivation of the formulas and computations where applicable. Additionally, numerical methods, linear algebraic methods, and least squares regression techniques are presented to assist in problem solving.

• Highway Planning, Survey, and Design

  Highway Planning, Survey, and Design presents the latest engineering concepts, techniques, practices, principles, standard procedures, and models that are applied and used to design and evaluate alternatives of transportation systems and roadway horizontal and vertical alignments and to forecast travel demand using variety of trip forecasting models to ultimately achieve greater safety, sustainability, efficiency, and cost-effectiveness. It provides in-depth coverage of the major areas of transportation engineering and includes a broad range of practical problems and solutions, related to theory, concepts, practice, and applications. Solutions for each problem follow step-by-step procedures that include the theory and the derivation of the formulas and computations where applicable. Additionally, numerical methods, linear algebraic methods, and least squares regression techniques are presented to assist in problem solving.

• Handbook of Applied Hydrology

  Fully updated hydrology principles, methods, and applications.

  This industry-standard resource has been completely revised for the first time since Ven Te Chow's classic edition was published over 50 years ago. Compiled by a colleague of the late Dr. Chow and featuring chapter contributions from a "who's who" of international hydrology experts, Handbook of Applied Hydrology, Second Edition, covers scientific and engineering fundamentals and presents all-new methods, processes, and technologies. Complete details are provided for the full range of ecosystems and models. Advanced chapters look to the future of hydrology, including climate change impacts, extraterrestrial water, social hydrology, and water security.

• Groundwater Resources: Sustainability, Management, and Restoration

  Written by professional hydrogeologist Dr. Neven Kresic, Groundwater Resources offers an authoritative, comprehensive treatment of groundwater resources development and management, offering sustainability methods and detailed principles on groundwater protection and restoration. The author reviews established as well as emerging techniques and technologies for aquifer restoration.

• Structural Engineering Handbook

  The industry-standard guide to structural engineering—fully updated for the latest advances and regulations.

  For 50 years, this internationally renowned handbook has been the go-to reference for structural engineering specifications, codes, technologies, and procedures. Featuring contributions from a variety of experts, the book has been revised to align with the codes that govern structural design and materials, including IBC, ASCE 7, ASCE 37, ACI, AISC, AASHTO, NDS, and TMS. Concise, practical, and user-friendly, this one-of-a-kind resource contains real-world examples and detailed descriptions of today's design methods.

• Forensic Structural Engineering Handbook

  A thorough, up-to-date resource on structural investigation and expert witness delivery. The investigation of structural and construction failures is a segment of engineering that has come into its own after 9/11, Hurricane Katrina, and other high profile disasters in the U.S. and abroad. Fully revised, Forensic Structural Engineering, Second Edition includes information on how engineers become proficient on the subject; procedures, codes and standards; dealing with clients; critical characteristics of structures; common deficiencies and failures, and more. Written by a leading expert in the field, this handbook contains updated and expanded information on material specific forensics including steel, concrete, masonry, timber, foundations, and the building envelope. Appropriate codes, standards, and regulations as well as customary U.S. and SI units, are included throughout.

• Handbook of Corrosion Engineering

  The most complete corrosion control reference on the market, thoroughly revised for the latest advances.

  This fully updated guide offers total coverage of the latest corrosion-resistant materials, methods, and technologies. Written by a recognized expert on the subject, the book covers all aspects of corrosion damage, including detection, monitoring, prevention, and control. You will learn how to select materials and resolve design issues where corrosion is a factor. Handbook of Corrosion Engineering, Third Edition, shows, step by step, how to understand, predict, evaluate, mitigate, and correct corrosion problems. This edition provides a new focus on the management of corrosion problems and draws on methodologies and examples from the 2016 IMPACT report. A new chapter discusses corrosion management across governments and industries.

• Building Design and Construction Handbook

  A where-would-you-be-without-it handbook covering every single important step in building design and construction, now updated to include key changes in design and construction practices. Surveys materials, structures, soil mechanics and foundations, building types, hardware, insulation, acoustics, plumbing, and more–all the material that will help architects, engineers, contractors, and others work better, faster, and smarter. Includes new design specifications; the latest developments in seismic and wind design criteria; new building systems and material; updated building codes throughout; NFPA requirements; and new wood material and codes.

• Reinforced Concrete Structures: Analysis and Design

  This practical resource offers concise explanations of reinforced concrete design principles and teaches safe and cost-effective engineering and construction techniques. Reinforced Concrete Structures: Analysis and Design, Second Edition, has been thoroughly updated to reflect the latest requirements in both the 2014 ACI 318 structural concrete code and the 2015 International Building Code¯. Examples, procedures, and flowcharts illustrate compliance with each provision. This comprehensive guide features new in-depth coverage of ACI earthquake design requirements. SI units are now included throughout all of the chapters.

• Materials for Civil Engineering: Properties and Applications in Infrastructure

  Analyze material properties and select optimal materials for civil engineering projects.

  This hands-on textbook offers complete coverage of the construction materials that civil engineers use in the field. You will learn how to analyze material properties and select appropriate materials for civil engineering projects of all types and sizes. Materials for Civil Engineering: Properties and Applications in Infrastructure lays out key characteristics, manufacturing processes, and sustainability issues. Data analysis of materials is emphasized throughout, with references to ASTM standards for material testing.

• Handbook of Civil Engineering Calculations

  Up-to-date techniques for solving any civil engineering problem

  Perform complex design and construction calculations quickly and accurately with help from this thoroughly revised guide. Handbook of Civil Engineering Calculations, Third Edition, features more than 3000 logically organized calculations that align with the latest practices, codes, and standards. You will get start-to-finish calculation procedures for load resistance factor design (LRFD), anti-terrorism components, enhanced building security, green construction, safe bridge design, and environmentally sound water treatment. All-new steps to improve indoor air quality and protect structures from hurricanes, tornadoes, floods, and waves are also discussed in this on-the-job resource.

• Design of Wood Structures—ASD/LRFD

  The leading wood design reference—thoroughly revised with the latest codes and data.

  Fully updated to cover the latest techniques and standards, this comprehensive resource leads you through the complete design of a wood structure following the same sequence used in the actual design/construction process. Detailed equations, clear illustrations, and practical design examples are featured throughout the text. This up-to-date edition conforms to both the 2018 International Building Code^® (IBC^®) and the 2018 National Design Specification for Wood Construction (NDS).

• Handbook of Transportation Engineering, Volume II: Applications and Technologies

  The definitive transportation engineering resource—fully revised and updated. The two-volume Handbook of Transportation Engineering, Second Edition offers practical, comprehensive coverage of the entire transportation engineering field. Featuring 18 new chapters and contributions from nearly 70 leading experts, this authoritative work discusses all types of transportation systems—freight, passenger, air, rail, road, marine, and pipeline—and provides problem-solving engineering, planning, and design tools and techniques with examples of successful applications. Volume II focuses on applications in automobile and non-automobile transportation, and on safety and environmental issues.