Ask Us History, Asian Guide

Additional Resources

• Cambridge economic history of India. Vol. 2, C. 1757-c. 1970
  From the establishment of British rule to its termination, with epilogues on the post-Independence period.
  Unlimited simultaneous users
• Cambridge history of ancient China from the origins of civilization to 221 B.C., The
  This survey of the cultural history of pre-imperial China covers over 1000 years, giving 2 chapters for each time period included. Scholars, students and general readers with no special knowledge of Chinese history will be interested in this book.
  Unlimited simultaneous users
• Cambridge history of China. Vol. 1, The Ch'in and Han Empires, 221 B.C.-A.D. 220
  Begins the historical coverage of "The Cambridge History of China" with the establishment of the Ch'in empire in 221 BC and ends with the abdication of the last Han emperor in AD 220. This volume summarizes the information given in primary sources in the light of critical scholarship.
  Unlimited simultaneous users
• Cambridge history of China. Vol. 3, Sui and T'ang China, 589-906. Part 1
  This volume covers the second great period of unified imperial power, 589-906.
  Unlimited simultaneous users
• Cambridge history of China. Volume 5, Part One, The Sung dynasty and its precursors, 907-1279
  This first of two volumes presents the political history of China from the fall of the T'ang Dynasty in 907 to the Mongol conquest of the Southern Sung in 1279. It surveys the events and personalities that marked the rise, consolidation, and demise of the Sung polity during an era of profound social, economic, and intellectual ferment.
  Unlimited simultaneous users
• Cambridge history of China. Vol. 6, Alien regimes and border states, 907-1368
  Volume six deals with four non-Chinese regimes: the Khitan dynasty of Liao; the Tangut state of Hsi Hsia; the Jurchen empire of Chin; and the Mongolian Yuan dynasty that eventually engulfed the whole of China.
  Unlimited simultaneous users
• Cambridge history of China. Vol. 7, The Ming dynasty, 1368-1644. Part 1
  Provides a detailed account of the Ming period in any language (1368-1644). This volume deals primarily with the political developments of the period. It also incorporates the background in social, economic, and cultural history.
  Unlimited simultaneous users
• Cambridge history of China. Vol. 9. Part 1, Ch'ing Empire to 1800
  Willard Peterson considers the historical, political, military social and economic developments that characterised the Chinese Empire. This volume ends with the beginning of the collapse of the imperial system in the 19th century.
  Unlimited simultaneous users
• Cambridge history of China. Vol.10, Late Ch'ing, 1800-1911.. Vol. 10, Late Ch'ing, 1800-1911. Part 1
  This is the first of two volumes in the major Cambridge history dealing with the decline of the Ch'ing empire. Contributors to this volume study the complex interplay of foreign invasion, domestic rebellion and Ch'ing decline and restoration. Each chapter is written by a specialist from the international community of sinological scholars.
  Unlimited simultaneous users
• Cambridge history of China. Vol. 11, Late Ch'ing, 1800-1911. Part 2
  The second of two volumes dealing with the decline of the Ch'ing empire.
  Unlimited simultaneous users
• Cambridge history of China. Vol. 12, Republican China, 1912-1949. Part 1
  International scholars and sinologists discuss culture, economic growth, social change, political processes, and foreign influences in China since the earliest pre-dynastic period.
  Unlimited simultaneous users
• Cambridge history of China. Vol. 13, Republican China, 1912-1949. Part 2
  International scholars and sinologists discuss culture, economic growth, social change, political processes, and foreign influences in China since the earliest pre-dynastic period.
  Unlimited simultaneous users
• Cambridge history of China. Vol. 14, The People's Republic. Part 1, The emergence of revolutionary China, 1949-1965
  Describes the efforts of the People's Republic of China to grapple with the problems of adaptation to modern times. It deals with the achievements of the economic and human disasters of the regime's first sixteen years (1949-65).
  Unlimited simultaneous users
• Cambridge history of China. Vol. 15, The People's Republic. Part 2, Revolutions within the Chinese Revolution, 1966-1982
  Volume 15 considers the developments in Mao's thoughts and how they related to China's government. The most comprehensive account of this turbulent period in Chinese history.
  Unlimited simultaneous users
• The Cambridge history of early Inner Asia
  This volume introduces the geographical setting of Central Asia and follows its history from the palaeolithic era to the rise of the Mongol empire in the thirteenth century.
  Unlimited simultaneous users
• Cambridge history of Iran. Vol. 7, From Nadir Shah to the Islamic Republic
  'The Cambridge History of Iran' is an eight-volume survey of Iranian history and culture, and its contribution to the civilisation of the world. All aspects of the religious, philosophical, political, economic, scientific and artistic elements in Iranian civilisation are studied.
  Unlimited simultaneous users
• Cambridge history of Japan. Vol. 1, Ancient Japan
  This comprehensive work surveys the historical events and developments in Japan's polity, economy, society and culture.
  Unlimited simultaneous users
• Cambridge history of Japan. Vol. 2, Heian Japan
  This volume covers the Heian period, the golden age of the Japanese imperial court. It emphasizes political history, the land system, provincial administration, the capital and its society, the acceptance of Buddhism and religious practices.
  Unlimited simultaneous users
• Cambridge history of Japan. Vol. 3, Medieval Japan
  This comprehensive work surveys the historical events and developments in Japan's polity, economy, society and culture.
  Unlimited simultaneous users
• Cambridge history of Japan. Vol. 4, Early modern Japan
  This comprehensive work surveys the historical events and developments in Japan's polity, economy, society and culture.
  Unlimited simultaneous users
• Cambridge history of Japan. Vol. 5, Nineteenth century
  This comprehensive work surveys the historical events and developments in Japan's polity, economy, society and culture.
  Unlimited simultaneous users
• Cambridge history of Japan. Vol. 6, Twentieth century
  This comprehensive work surveys the historical events and developments in Japan's polity, economy, society and culture.
  Unlimited simultaneous users
• Blackwell companion to Hinduism, The
  This title is part of the Wiley/Blackwell Reference Online e-book collection available through the Wiley Online Library.
  Unlimited simultaneous users
• Civilizations of the Ancient Near East [HIL-REF DS57 .C55 1995 vols. 1-4]

  This 4-vol. set examines the cultures of the ancient Near East from the Bronze Age (3200 B.C.E.) to the Hellenistic era (325 B.C.E) and describes the archaeology and the history of each subregion. Languages, religious life, governments, peace and war, commerce and agriculture, and the visual and performing arts are covered. The set explores an area ranging from North Africa to Central Asia, and treats Syro-Palestine, Mesopotamia, Iran/Persia, Anatolia (modern-day Turkey), the Arabian Peninsula, and the island cultures of the Mediterranean. Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

• Companion to the ancient Near East, A
  This title is part of the Wiley/Blackwell Reference Online e-book collection available through the Wiley Online Library.
  Unlimited simultaneous users
• Companion to the anthropology of Japan, A
  This title is part of the Wiley/Blackwell Reference Online e-book collection available through the Wiley Online Library.
  Unlimited simultaneous users
• Companion to the Vietnam War, A
  This title is part of the Wiley/Blackwell Reference Online e-book collection available through the Wiley Online Library.
  Unlimited simultaneous users
• Dictionary of Asian mythology, A
  "This dictionary features stories of revered deities, sacred places, key events and epics, with many recurring themes and traditions. Entries address the key mythologies of the regions we now call India, China, Tibet, Central Asia, Southeast Asia, and Japan, and broad overviews of specific cultures and their mythic traditions round out the coverage."
  5 simultaneous users.
• New Cambridge history of India. I.1, The Portuguese in India
  An account of the activities of the Portuguese in India and the Indian Ocean from the 16th century onwards, written squarely from an Indian point of view. The author lays particular stress on social, economic and religious interaction between Portuguese and Indians.
  Unlimited simultaneous users
• New Cambridge history of India. I.3, Mughal and Rajput painting, The
  This is one in a set of volumes on the history of India which is designed to take full account of recent scholarship and changing conceptions of South Asia's development.
  Unlimited simultaneous users
• New Cambridge history of India. I.4, Architecture of Mughal India
  Traces the development and spread of architecture under the Mughal emperors who ruled the Indian subcontinent from the early-16th to the mid-19th centuries. The book considers the entire scope of architecture built under the auspices of the imperial Mughals and their subjects.
  Unlimited simultaneous users
• New Cambridge history of India. I.6, Architecture and art of southern India : Vijayamagara and the successor states, The
  In a previously neglected area of art history, the author presents an original and much needed re-assessment of the artistic heritage of the architecture, sculpture and painting of the Vijayanagara Empire.
  Unlimited simultaneous users
• New Cambridge history of India. I.7, The architecture and art of the Deccan sultanates
  This is the first book to offer an overall survey of architectural and artistic traditions and to place them within their historical context. This will be a source of inspiration to all those interested in the culture of India.
  Unlimited simultaneous users
• New Cambridge history of India. I.8, A social history of the Deccan, 1300-1761 : eight Indian lives
  A narrative history of the Deccan, portrayed through eight Indian lives.
  Unlimited simultaneous users
• New Cambridge history of India. II.1, Indian society and the making of the British Empire
  This volume reassesses the role of Indians in the politics and economics of early colonialism.
  Unlimited simultaneous users
• New Cambridge history of India. II.3, Sikhs of the Punjab
  In a revised edition of The Sikhs of Punjab, J.S. Grewal traces the history of the Sikhs, from the time of Guru Nanak right up to the present day.
  Unlimited simultaneous users
• New Cambridge history of India. II.4, Marathas, 1600-1818
  This is one in a set of volumes on the history of India which is designed to take full account of recent scholarship and changing conceptions of South Asia's development.
  Unlimited simultaneous users
• New Cambridge history of India. II.5, European commercial enterprise in pre-colonial India
  European traders first appeared in India at the end of the 15th century and began exporting goods to Europe as well as to other parts of Asia. This book considers the impact of European trade on the pre-colonial Indian economy.
  Unlimited simultaneous users
• New Cambridge history of India. III.1, Socio-religious reform movements in British India
  The author looks at the numerous 19th movements for social and religious change - Christian, Hindu, Muslim, Sikh, and Zoroastrian - that used various forms of religious authority to legitimise their reform programmes.
  Unlimited simultaneous users
• New Cambridge history of India. III.2, Peasant labour and colonial capital : rural Bengal since 1770
  This is one in a set of volumes on the history of India which is designed to take full account of recent scholarship and changing conceptions of South Asia's development.
  Unlimited simultaneous users
• New Cambridge history of India. III.3, Economy of modern India, 1860-1970
  This book presents the first comprehensive account of the history of economic growth in modern India.
  Unlimited simultaneous users
• New Cambridge history of India. III.4, Ideologies of the Raj, The
  Students of modern Indian history and the British Empire will find this book relevant & accessible. It examines how the British sought to justify their rule over India.
  Unlimited simultaneous users
• New Cambridge history of India. III.5, Science, technology and medicine in colonial India
  From the start of East India Company rule to Independence, this analytical study demonstrates the importance of examining the role of science, technology and medicine in conjunction with the development of the British engagement in India.
  Unlimited simultaneous users
• New Cambridge history of India. III.6, The Indian princes and their states
  A portrait of the princes of India from their pre-colonial origins to post-World War II. Barbara Ramusack's study reveals them to have been consummate political animals who were classified as stooges of the Raj but who in reality wielded considerable autonomy before independence in 1947.
  Unlimited simultaneous users
• New Cambridge history of India. IV.2, Women in modern India
  In a sympathetic and comprehensive study of Indian women, Geraldine Forbes considers their recent history from the 19th century under colonial rule, to the 20th century after Independence.
  Unlimited simultaneous users
• New Cambridge history of India. IV.3, Caste, society and politics in India from the eighteenth century to the modern age
  Susan Bayly's analysis explores the emergence of the ideas, experiences and practices which gave rise to the so-called caste society from the pre-colonial period to the end of the twentieth century.
  Unlimited simultaneous users
• New Cambridge history of India. IV.4, An agrarian history of South Asia
  Adopting a long-term view of history, David Ludden's book offers a comprehensive historical framework for understanding the regional diversity of agrarian South Asia.
  Unlimited simultaneous users