When researching a new topic it is often necessary to get an overview, explanations of unfamiliar terms, or brief factual information. The print and electronic resources listed below include selected reference materials (dictionaries, encyclopaedias, handbooks, guides, and standards) for the French Revolution. To find additional reference materials, check UNB WorldCat (the library catalogue) or our Reference Materials database. For a quick search on your topic, try using the Reference Universe search box here:
// //
Search for Reference Materials
Enter your search terms:Key Resources
-
The A to Z of the French Revolution
[HIL-REF DC147 .H36 2007]
Hanson (history, Butler U., Indiana) cites people, laws and decrees, committees and other organizations and agencies, battles and other events, places, ideas, and other aspects of the revolution that revolutionized revolution. The cross-referencing is extensive, but there is no index. He includes a chronology from 1786 to 1799, a bibliography arranged topically, and an introduction placing the revolution in historical context. The 2004 cloth edition was titled Historical Dictionary of the French Revolution. Annotation #169;2007 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com) Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.
-
A Companion to the French Revolution
see also HIL-STACKS DC147.8 .C75 2013A Companion to the French Revolution' comprises twenty-nine newly-written essays reassessing the origins, development, and impact of this great turning-point in modern history. This book examines the origins, development and impact of the French Revolution; Features original contributions from leading historians, including six essays translated from French; Presents a wide-ranging overview of current historical debates on the revolution and future directions in scholarship; and gives equally thorough treatment to both causes and outcomes of the French Revolution.
-
The Cambridge History of Eighteenth-Century Political Thought (The Cambridge History of Political Thought)
Written by a distinguished team of international contributors, this text provides a comprehensive overview of the development of western political thought during the European enlightenment.
Purchased multi-user unlimited access -
The A to Z of Revolutionary America
[HIL-REF E209 .M356 2007]
Reference Reviews Revolutionary America covers the period from around the early 1760s when colonists began to feel British depredations keenly through the post-conflict era during which Americans debated how to constitute themselves as a polity and finally ratified the current US Constitution. Some 1000 alphabetical entries provide information on political and military institutions, events, documents, and people from the era, with the vast bulk of the material being biographical. Included with the entries are an introductory essay, a chronology, and a bibliography. Additionally, appendixes list signers of the Article of Confederation, Constitutional Convention of 1787 attendees, signers of the Declaration of Independence, and Presidents of Congress
-
The Blackwell Companion to Social Movements
This title is part of the Wiley/Blackwell Reference Online e-book collection available through the Wiley Online Library.
Permitted Use | Purchased multi-user unlimited access -
The Blackwell Guide to Social and Political Philosophy
This title is part of the Wiley/Blackwell Reference Online e-book collection available through the Wiley Online Library.
Permitted Use | Purchased multi-user unlimited access
Additional Resources
-
Wiley/Blackwell Reference Online
Wiley/Blackwell Reference Online "is a vast new online library giving instant access to the most authoritative and up-to-date scholarship across the humanities and social sciences. With more than 350 reference volumes to be published in Blackwell Reference Online by the end of 2008, it is the largest academic reference collection available online and includes the critically-acclaimed Blackwell Companions and Handbooks, major reference works such as the Blackwell Encyclopedia of Management and the Companion to Syntax, and a whole host of other valuable reference materials such as dictionaries, encyclopedias and concise companions."
-
Cambridge histories online
This resource, part of Cambridge Core, contains the online versions of over 270 Cambridge Histories publications in the following 15 areas: American History, British History, Economic History, General History, History of Science, History of the Book, Language and Linguistics, Literary Studies, Music, Philosophy, Political and Social Theory, Regional History, Religious Studies, Theatre Studies and Performing Arts, and Warfare. For a complete listing of titles in each area, please refer to the publisher's site, at: https://www.cambridge.org/core/what-we-publish/collections/cambridge-histories
-
A Companion to Eighteenth-Century Europe
This title is part of the Wiley/Blackwell Reference Online e-book collection available through the Wiley Online Library.
Permitted Use | Purchased multi-user unlimited access -
Oxford handbook of the Atlantic world, c.1450-c.1850
[HIL-REF D210 .O94 2011]
The essays in this volume provide a comprehensive overview of Atlantic history from c.1450 to c.1850, offering a wide-ranging and authoritative account of the movement of people, plants, pathogens, products, and cultural practices-to mention some of the key agents{u2014}around and within the Atlantic basin. As a result of these movements, new peoples, economies, societies, polities, and cultures arose in the lands.
-
A Companion to Nineteenth-Century Europe
This title is part of the Wiley/Blackwell Reference Online e-book collection available through the Wiley Online Library.
Permitted Use | Purchased multi-user unlimited access -
A Companion to Philosophy of Law and Legal Theory, Second edition
This title is part of the Wiley/Blackwell Reference Online e-book collection available through the Wiley Online Library.
Permitted Use | Purchased multi-user unlimited access -
A Companion to the American Revolution
This title is part of the Wiley/Blackwell Reference Online e-book collection available through the Wiley Online Library.
Permitted Use | Purchased multi-user unlimited access -
A Companion to Western Historical Thought
This title is part of the Wiley/Blackwell Reference Online e-book collection available through the Wiley Online Library.
Permitted Use | Purchased multi-user unlimited access -
Dictionary of modern French literature : from the age of reason through realism
[HIL-REF PQ41 .D65 1986]
-
Encyclopedia of European social history from 1350 to 2000
[HIL-REF HN373 .E63 2001 vols. 1-6]
"Covering the period from the beginning of the Renaissance to the present, this encyclopedia consists of 209 signed articles and nearly 300 biographical entries. The set is thoroughly indexed, amply illustrated, and a joy to read. Graduate students will find it useful as an introduction to historiography while advanced high school students will enjoy the articles on historical topics."--"Outstanding Reference Sources," American Libraries, May 2001. Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.
-
Guide to French Literature : 1789 to the Present
[HIL-REF PQ146 .L48 1992]
-
Guide to French Literature : Beginnings to 1789
[HIL-REF PQ146 .L46 1994]
-
International Bibliography of Historical Sciences
[HIL-REF D1.I5]
-
HeinOnline - World Constitutions Illustrated
All the world's current constitutions in their original languages and English translations are gathered into this single database, which also includes full-text historical legal and political treatises and scholarly articles. Bibliographies of and links to a multitude of secondary resources are also provided. Researchers can use the advanced search screen to perform cross-jurisdictional searches, but users focusing on one particular country might want to use the "browse by country" option and then search within that jurisdiction.
-
International encyclopedia of the social & behavioral sciences (2nd Ed.)
Fully revised and updated, the second edition of the International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences, first published in 2001, offers a source of social and behavioral sciences reference material that is broader and deeper than any other. Available in both print and online editions, it comprises over 3,900 articles, commissioned by 71 Section Editors, and includes 90,000 bibliographic references as well as comprehensive name and subject indexes.
UNB has online access to the 2001 edition as well as owning print volumes of the earlier edition. -
International historical statistics
[HIL-REF HA155 .M575 2003 vols. 1-3]
This three-volume set of international historical statistics allows the full breadth of statistical analysis and comparisons across both time and across the world.
-
Oxford Reference
Multi-part database of the online versions of Oxford University Press texts. Each topical division contains the searchable version of the latest edition of published dictionaries and encyclopedias. Additionally, information about Oxford University Press is provided. Online texts will be updated after new editions of the print monographs are published.Covers the humanities and social sciences.
Collection limited to subscribed 5-user access -
Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection
A digital collection of current and historical maps, from the Perry-Castaneda Library at the University of Texas at Austin. The online collection features images of over 5700 maps from the Perry-Castaneda Library, as well as extensive links to other map-related sites.
Open Access | 1896 - present -
Slavery, Abolition and Social Justice, 1490-2007 (Adam Matthew Digital)
This digital collection documents key aspects of the history of slavery worldwide over six centuries. Topics covered include the African Coast, the Middle Passage, the varieties of slave experience, religion, revolts, abolition, and legislation. The collection also includes case studies from America, the Caribbean, Brazil, and Cuba.
-
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy (SEP)
An authoritative online encyclopedia of philosophy. SEP is a dynamic reference work with in-depth articles written (and kept up-to-date) by experts in the field. All entries are peer-reviewed by a distinguished editorial board.
-
Oxford Encyclopedia of Economic History, The
International in scope and spanning all time periods of human history, The Oxford Encyclopedia of Economic History includes 900 original articles by noted scholars from more than thirty-five countries. Articles range from 500-word entries on inventors, theoreticians, and industry leaders to overarching, 8,000-word essays on markets, industries, and labor.
-
Women and war : a historical encyclopedia from antiquity to the present
[HIL-REF U24 .W69 2006]
Cook (history, Loyola U., New Orleans) compiles a two-volume encyclopedia for a general audience that considers women's experiences with war--in battle, medical, manufacturing, and administrative roles, and as victims. The entries cover people and events from antiquity to the present, all aspects of war, and places in all parts of the world, from Afghanistan to Yugoslavia. Some entries are topical (e.g. on rape); others are biographical profiles of journalists, government figures, military leaders, Nobel Peace Prize winners, peace activists, photographers, spies, terrorists, writers, and even a few entertainers.
-
Women and Political Participation: a Reference Handbook
[HIL-REF HQ1236.5 .U6 B875 2004]
Women and Political Participation examines the involvement of women in American politics, concentrating mainly on their participation since the birth of the second women's movement in the late 1960s. From the creation of grassroots and national organizations to voting and running for office, this thought-provoking volume explores the diverse ways in which women have affected change and achieved greater representation in political leadership.
Detailed discussions of key documents like the Declaration of Sentiments and the Equal Rights Amendment political action committees such as EMILY's List, which supports pro-choice Democratic female candidates Margaret Sanger, Betty Friedan, and other activists and groups like the League of Women Voters reveal the complexities of women's efforts to gain equality and identify the barriers that remain today.
-
ARTstor
Artstor is a repository of approximately 300 collections composed of over 2.5 million digital images (and growing), related data and provides tools to actively use those images in a restricted usage environment that balances the rights of the content providers and the needs of the users. The images are drawn from different sources, such as museums, archaeological teams, photo archives, slide collections, and art reference publishers.
Scholars can examine wide-ranging material such as Native American art from the Smithsonian, treasures from the Louvre, and panoramic, 360-degree views of the Hagia Sophia in a single, easy-to-use resource. The artistic traditions across many cultures embraces architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, and design as well as many other forms of visual culture.
