Library hours forTuesday, April 16, 2024
Harriet Irving	Unavailable
Science & Forestry	Unavailable
Engineering & CS	Unavailable
Saint John	Unavailable
Complete Hours

2014WI_ED4012FRE1B Guide Ask Us

Readings

January 20 - Privilege/oppression/affirmative-action

McIntosh, P. (1990). White privilege: Unpacking the invisible knapsack. Independent School, 49(2), 31.
https://login.proxy.hil.unb.ca/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=aph&AN=9604164115&site=ehost-live&scope=site

Gallavan, N. P. (2005). Helping Teachers Unpack Their "Invisible Knapsacks.". Multicultural Education, 13(1), 36-39.
https://login.proxy.hil.unb.ca/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=sih&AN=18346410&site=ehost-live&scope=site

January 27 - Culture through art/music/food/language

Robinson, C., & Clardy, P. (2011). It ain't what you say, it's how you say it: Linguistic and cultural diversity in the classroom. Journal Of Cultural Diversity, 18(3), 101-110.
https://login.proxy.hil.unb.ca/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=aph&AN=66684670&site=ehost-live&scope=site

Hoffman, A. R. (2012). Performing Our World: Affirming Cultural Diversity through Music Education. Music Educators Journal, 98(4), 61-65.
https://login.proxy.hil.unb.ca/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=aph&AN=77193069&site=ehost-live&scope=site

February 10: Environmental influences

Milheim, K. L. (2007). Influence of Technology on Informal Learning. Adult Basic Education & Literacy Journal, 1(1), 21-26.
https://login.proxy.hil.unb.ca/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=aph&AN=26979701&site=ehost-live&scope=site

Lei, S. A. (2010). Classroom physical design influencing student learning and evaluations of college instructors: A review of the literature. Education, 131(1), 128-134.
https://login.proxy.hil.unb.ca/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=aph&AN=54592234&site=ehost-live&scope=site

Feb 17 - Non-traditional students / International and adult learners

Falasca, M. (2011). Barriers to Adult Learning: Bridging the Gap. Australian Journal Of Adult Learning, 51(3), 583-590.
https://login.proxy.hil.unb.ca/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=eric&AN=EJ954482&site=ehost-live&scope=site

Fogg, P. (2009). When Generations Collide. Education Digest: Essential Readings Condensed For Quick Review, 74(6), 25-30.
https://login.proxy.hil.unb.ca/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=eric&AN=EJ857661&site=ehost-live&scope=site

February 24 - Students with disabilities

Obiakor, F. E., Harris, M., Mutua, K., Rotatori, A., & Algozzine, B. (2012). Making Inclusion Work in General Education Classrooms. Education And Treatment Of Children, 35(3), 477-490.
https://login.proxy.hil.unb.ca/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=eric&AN=EJ999342&site=ehost-live&scope=site

Matthews, N. (2009). Teaching the "Invisible" Disabled Students in the Classroom: Disclosure, Inclusion and the Social Model of Disability. Teaching In Higher Education, 14(3), 229-239.
https://login.proxy.hil.unb.ca/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=eric&AN=EJ858138&site=ehost-live&scope=site

March 10 - Bullying

Cassidy, W., Brown, K., & Jackson, M. (2012).‘Under the radar’: Educators and cyberbullying in schools. School Psychology International, 33(5), 520-532.
https://login.proxy.hil.unb.ca/login?url=http://spi.sagepub.com/content/33/5/520.full.pdf+html

Smith, P. K., Ananiadou, K., & Cowie, H. (2003). Interventions to Reduce School Bullying. Canadian Journal Of Psychiatry, 48(9), 591.
https://login.proxy.hil.unb.ca/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=aph&AN=11344217&site=ehost-live&scope=site

March 17 - First Nations students

Brasfield, C. R. (2001). Residential school syndrome. BC Medical Journal, 43(2), 78-81.
http://www.bcmj.org/article/residential-school-syndrome

Mendelson, M. (2006). Aboriginal peoples and postsecondary education in Canada. Caledon Institute of Social Policy
http://www.caledoninst.org/publications/pdf/595eng.pdf

Preston, J. P. (2008). The urgency of postsecondary education for Aboriginal peoples. Canadian Journal of Educational Administration and Policy, 86, 1-22.
http://www.umanitoba.ca/publications/cjeap/pdf_files/preston.pdf

O'Connor, P. (2000). Squaring the circle: how Canada is dealing with the legacy of its Indian residential schools experiment. Int'l J. Legal Info., 28, 232.
https://login.proxy.hil.unb.ca/login?url=http://heinonline.org/HOL/Page?handle=hein.journals/ijli28&div=28&g_sent=1&collection=journals#262

March 24 - Gender

Alvarez, S. D., & Schneider, J. (2008). One college campus's need for a safe zone: a case study. Journal Of Gender Studies, 17(1), 71-74.
https://login.proxy.hil.unb.ca/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=aph&AN=28791089&site=ehost-live&scope=site

Ottenritter, N. (2012). Crafting a Caring and Inclusive Environment for LGBTQ Community College Students, Faculty, and Staff, Community College Journal of Research and Practice, 36(7), 531-538
https://login.proxy.hil.unb.ca/login?url=http://www.tandfonline.com/doi/full/10.1080/10668926.2012.664094

Find Articles

Databases listed below provide access to citations and often the full text of journal/magazine/other articles when UNB has an electronic subscription to the host or source publication. Where full text is not linked directly, there should be some facility (often denoted by the UNB sail logo) to "Check for Fulltext".

If fulltext electronic access does not appear to be available, check the library's e-Journals database to see if the item is available through our own holdings, either in print or electronically.

If you are unable to locate the item you are looking for at UNB, either in print or online, you can still submit a document delivery request.

Key Resources

ERIC (EBSCO)
ERIC is a "bibliographic database that contains education-related documents and journal articles." The EBSCO interface also provides some full text linking.
Subscribed multi-user unlimited access | 1966-Current
Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)
Academic Search Premier is a multidisciplinary resource that "provides journal coverage for most academic areas of studies."
Permitted Use | eResources record | Subscribed multi-user unlimited access | Full text: 1990 - present. I
Google scholar
Google Scholar searches a subset of the Web that Google has classified as "scholarly literature". They do not publish a list of chosen sites, and they do not state how often sites are checked. Some important sources are not covered at all. Thus, Google Scholar alone should not be relied on for comprehensive research.

See Additional Resources Hide Additional Resources

Additional Resources

Dissertations & Theses (ProQuest PQDT)

"Searchable and browsable database of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day. It also offers full text for graduate works added since 1997, along with selected full text for works written prior to 1997. It contains a significant amount of new international dissertations and theses both in citations and in full text. Includes citations for dissertations and theses from around the world, ranging from 1861 to those accepted last semester. Dissertations published from 1980 forward include 350-word abstracts; master's theses from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts. Digital dissertations and theses are archived as submitted by the degree-granting institution. Designated as an official offsite repository for the U.S. Library of Congress, PQDT Global offers comprehensive historic and ongoing coverage for North American works and significant and growing international coverage from a multiyear program of expanding partnerships with international universities and national associations."

All PhD dissertations and Master's theses from depositing universities are available from 1997 onwards, unless the document's author has requested a temporary delay.

It is also possible to search within an interface exclusive to Dissertations & Theses @ University of New Brunswick.
For UNB theses submitted after 2012, please consult UNB’s institutional repository, UNB Scholar, or the library catalogue, UNBWorldCat.
Permitted Use | Subscribed multi-user unlimited access | 1743-Current
PsycINFO (American Psychological Association; APA - EBSCO)
PsycINFO is an abstracting and indexing database of more than 2000 journals (approximately 3.3 million records) devoted to peer-reviewed literature (journals, books and dissertations) in the behavioural sciences and mental health.
Permitted Use | Subscribed multi-user unlimited access | 1887-Current
Canadian Business and Current Affairs (CBCA) Education (ProQuest)
Please note: CBCA Education is now searchable as part of the larger CBCA Complete collection. Canadian Business and Current Affairs (CBCA) Complete is the nation's largest and most comprehensive bibliographic full-text reference and current events database. Available through the ProQuest Web interface, CBCA Complete combines full text and indexed content from all four CBCA database subsets (Business, Current Events, Education, and Reference). Subject coverage is comprehensive and information is available from the broadest range of Canadian sources anywhere.
NOTE: In certain instances ProQuest has decided to omit particular 'articles' from full-text access due to copyright restrictions or because the item has not met their criteria for being an 'article' (ie. too short, a letter, not attributed to an author, etc.).
Permitted Use | Subscribed multi-user unlimited access
Scopus
Scopus, a multidisciplinary online resource, will be invaluable to students and faculty in various fields of study within the sciences, health sciences and the social sciences. Scopus offers full-text linking, abstracting-and-indexing information including peer-reviewed titles from international publishers, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, quality web sources.
SpringerLink
SpringerLINK service provides access to electronic journals in a variety of subjects, including "life sciences, chemical sciences, geosciences, computer science, mathematics, medicine, physics & astronomy, engineering, environmental sciences, law, and economics."
[NOTE: pre-1996 Archival content now accessible when available]
CINAHL with Full Text (Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature - EBSCO)
CINAHL with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive source of full text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 500 journals indexed in CINAHL. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index - with no embargo. With full-text coverage dating back to 1981, CINAHL with Full Text is the definitive research tool for all areas of nursing and allied health literature.
Permitted Use | Subscribed multi-user unlimited access | 1981-Current

Reference Sources

Below are electronic reference resources, which can be accessed online and searched. Credo in particular has some interesting encyclopedic entries on Trinidad and Tobago from a variety of topical angles.

Key Resources

The Blackwell guide to the philosophy of education
see also [HIL-REF LB14.7 .B57 2002]

Philosophy of education has now established itself throughout the world as a theoretically significant and practically vital discipline. In this important survey, an international group of leading philosophers charts the development of the field in the twentieth century and points to important questions for its future.Each chapter has been written as a collaboration between authors in order to emphasize the diversity of thought, and where appropriate, the dissent and debate that is intrinsic to the field. The contributors explore social and cultural theories, politics and education, philosophy as education, teaching and curriculum, and ethics and upbringing. The Blackwell Guide to Philosophy of Education is state-of-the-art map to the field as well as a valuable reference book. Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.
Oxford Reference
Multi-part database of the online versions of Oxford University Press texts. Each topical division contains the searchable version of the latest edition of published dictionaries and encyclopedias. Additionally, information about Oxford University Press is provided. Online texts will be updated after new editions of the print monographs are published.Covers the humanities and social sciences.
Collection limited to subscribed 5-user access
Oxford English dictionary (OED)
"This unique and powerful resource offers unprecedented access to the definitive record of the meaning, history and evolution of more than 600,000 words over the last 1,500 years."A complete text of the 2nd. ed. of the Oxford English dictionary with quarterly updates, including revisions not available in any other form.
5 simultaneous users

Marc Bragdon
Head, Harriet Irving Research Commons
UNB Fredericton
mbragdon@unb.ca
(506)-458-7741

Last modified on April 16, 2024 11:24

2014WI_ED4012FRE1B Guide Ask Us

Readings

January 20 - Privilege/oppression/affirmative-action