SOCI*2251 Guide

Find Articles

 

Use the databases below to search for articles on your research topic. If a database does not provide an electronic copy of an article you want, click on the Check for fulltext link beside the article record to see if another database provides a copy. 

If you want an article that is not available at UNB, fill out a Document Delivery request form and the library will try to get a copy for you as quickly as possible (usually between 2-7 days).

Key Resources

  • Communication & Mass Media Complete (CMMC)
    "CMMC incorporates the content of CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association), and Mass media articles index (formerly produced by Pennsylvania State University) along with numerous other journals..."--About the database.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Academic Search Premier
    Academic Search Premier is a multidisciplinary resource that "provides journal coverage for most academic areas of study."
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Literature Online
    Literature Online offers full text access to rare and inacessible works, up-to-date, reference resources, in addition to the full text of poetry, drama, and prose fiction from the seventh century to the present day. Materials are included from almost every period and genre of English literature as well as many works by 20th century authors. Contemporary criticism is available through the Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (ABELL).
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • JSTOR Archival Collection
    JSTOR provides access to back issues of a variety of scholarly journals. UNB Libraries currently subscribes to the Arts & Sciences (I through X) collections, along with the Life Sciences and Ireland collections.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Google Scholar
    Google Scholar searches a subset of the Web that Google has classified as "scholarly literature". They do not publish a list of chosen sites, and they do not state how often sites are checked. Some important sources are not covered at all. Thus, Google Scholar alone should not be relied on for comprehensive research.
    By accessing Google Scholar via the UNB Libraries website, you benefit from technology that lets on-campus and off-campus users connect directly to full-text articles in journals to which UNB subscribes. Just click on the blue Title link in the Google result list.
    Off-campus users can also set Scholar Preferences to show the "Check for fulltext @ UNB" link in search results. See "Scholar Preferences" at the Google Scholar site.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.

Newspapers

Select a database to search for articles across multiple newspapers at the same time.

Search by newspaper title to access individual newspapers online.

Encyclopedias etc.

The print and electronic resources listed below include selected reference materials (encyclopedias, handbooks, dictionaries, and other guides) for the field of Sociology. To find additional reference materials, search the library's database of e-Resources, or try Reference Universe, a master index of print and online reference tools.

Key Resources

Find Books

Citing Your Sources

APA (American Psychological Association)

The APA References List

APA Style Guide To Electronic References

 

RefWorks

RefWorks is an internet application that helps you organize your research materials and create bibliographies.

 

Ask Us

Last modified on August 2, 2017 11:44