POLS*1301 Guide

Find Articles

Use the databases below to search for articles on your research topic. If a database does not provide a copy of an article you want, click the Check for fulltext link beside the article record to see if another database provides a copy.

If you want an article that is not available at UNB, either online or in print, fill out a Document Delivery request form and the library will try to get a copy for you as quickly as possible (usually between 2-7 days).

Key Resources

  • ProQuest Politics Collection
    This collection allows users to easily conduct in-depth political science research, discovering more of the most relevant full-text and A&I records. It offers consolidated access for the bibliographic records contained in Worldwide Political Science Abstracts, PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service), and International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS) and combines these with the full-text articles in ProQuest Political Science.

    The collection also contains full-text dissertations, thousands of working papers, country reports, and government documents, offering an international perspective from leading and emerging academics, policy makers, and think tanks.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Worldwide Political Science Abstracts (ProQuest)
    Worldwide Political Science Abstracts provides "citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration / policy."
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Public Affairs Information Service (PAIS) International and Archive (ProQuest)
    The PAIS International database contains references to journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies, microfiche, Internet material, and more. Newspapers and newsletters are not indexed. Also included in PAIS are the PAIS Archive and ProQuest Deep Indexing: Public Administration and Policy databases.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Academic Search Premier
    Academic Search Premier is a multidisciplinary resource that "provides journal coverage for most academic areas of study."
    Unlimited simultaneous users.

Additional Resources

  • JSTOR Archival Collection
    JSTOR provides access to back issues of a variety of scholarly journals. UNB Libraries currently subscribes to the Arts & Sciences (I through X) collections, along with the Life Sciences and Ireland collections.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Google Scholar
    Google Scholar searches a subset of the Web that Google has classified as "scholarly literature". They do not publish a list of chosen sites, and they do not state how often sites are checked. Some important sources are not covered at all. Thus, Google Scholar alone should not be relied on for comprehensive research.
    By accessing Google Scholar via the UNB Libraries website, you benefit from technology that lets on-campus and off-campus users connect directly to full-text articles in journals to which UNB subscribes. Just click on the blue Title link in the Google result list.
    Off-campus users can also set Scholar Preferences to show the "Check for fulltext @ UNB" link in search results. See "Scholar Preferences" at the Google Scholar site.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Taylor and Francis Online
    "Taylor & Francis Group collaborates with researchers, scholarly societies, universities and libraries worldwide to bring knowledge to life. Our journals program encompasses over 1,600 titles and as one of the world’s leading publishers of scholarly journals our content spans all areas of Humanities, Social Sciences, Science and Technology."
    Unlimited simultaneous users.

Newspapers

Select a database to search for articles across multiple newspapers at the same time.

Search by newspaper title to access individual newspapers online.

Encyclopedias etc.

The print and electronic resources listed below include selected reference materials (dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, and guides) for the field of Political Science. To find additional reference materials, use the UNB Libraries Reference Materials search or the Reference Materials database.

Key Resources

  • Oxford Companion to the Politics of the World (2d ed.)

    This major new edition of The Oxford Companion to Politics of the World reflects the changing world with a reassessment of many of the core themes of the previous edition, and new articles on the people, concepts, and events that have shaped the world since 1993.

  • Concise Oxford dictionary of politics, The
    "Written by a team of leading political scientists, sociologists, philosophers, and political economists, this is the most authoritative and up-to-date dictionary of politics available. Ranging from John Adams and the Young Hegelians to Additional Member System and zero-sum game, this comprehensive and entertaining work offers international coverage of major political institutions, thinkers, and concepts. All significant political thinkers and designers of political institutions in the West are included, and special attention is give to Muslim and Chinese political thought. There are many entries on new and thriving branches of the subject, such as international political economy, voting theory, and feminism. The dictionary also gives clear and precise definitions of technical terms such as Condorcet winner, Droop quota, and ultra vires. "
    5 simultaneous users.
  • Ulrichsweb (formerly Bowker's Ulrichsweb)
    Bibliographic database providing detailed, comprehensive and authoritative information on serials published around the world.
    3 simultaneous users.

Find Books

The UNB Worldcat catalogue search below will search for books available at the UNB libraries on both the Fredericton and Saint John campuses.  If you are a UNB Saint John student, you can ask for books on the Fredericton campus to be sent to Saint John by clicking on the Request Item button in the catalogue. You'll be notified by email when the book is available for you to pick up at the Services Desk of the Hans W. Klohn Commons.

Search UNB WorldCat:     

Advanced Search | Locations Guide | Other Catalogues | Help/FAQ

 

Browse for books available at UNB Libraries on the following subjects:

Comparative politics

Democracy

Totalitarianism

  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  

Country Reports

To find Country Profiles, Reports, and Reviews go to the UNB Libraries All e-Resources Search and type in the name of a country and click the "Go" button.

Or, you can browse all Country Profiles, Reports, and Reviews.

Citing Your Sources

Chicago Manual of Style

Chicago Style Citation Examples (16th ed.)

Chicago Manual of Style, 16th ed. HWK-REF Z253 .U7 2010

 

RefWorks

RefWorks is an internet application that helps you organize your research materials and create bibliographies.

Ask Us

Last modified on August 2, 2017 11:44