If you already know the journal title, year, volume number and page number for an article, you may be able to access it electronically by searching for the journal's title in the UNB e-journals database. If we have the journal electronically or in print, it will be listed. You can also look up the journal title in UNB WorldCat.
Keep in mind that it can be best to start with an index rather than a full-text journal search. A few key indexes in law are listed below.
- Index to Canadian Legal Literature
- Index to Canadian Legal Periodical Literature
- Index to Legal Periodicals & Books Full Text
- Index to Legal Periodicals Retrospective
- Quicklaw Plus
- Lexis Advance Quicklaw (UNB Law faculty and students only)
- WestlawNext Canada (UNB Law faculty and students only)
- IntelliConnect (tax)
There are two main legal encyclopedias in law: the Canadian Encyclopedic Digest (CED) and Halsbury's Laws of Canada (Halsbury's). Both are available in print in the Law Library in the reference section on the first floor.
Electronically, CED is available in WestlawNext Canada, while Halsbury's is available in Quicklaw and Lexis Advance Quicklaw. Please note that only UNB Law students and faculty have access to Lexis Advance Quicklaw and WestlawNext Canada.
Canadian Encyclopedic Digest
In print, the CED has the following titles available:
- Vol. 35: Labour Law
- Vol. 36: Labour Law
Electronically, the CED has the following titles available:
- Labour Law – Federal
- Labour Law – Alberta
- Labour Law – British Columbia
- Labour Law – Manitoba
- Labour Law – Ontario
- Labour Law – Saskatchewan
Please make sure you check the currency of these titles in WestlawNext Canada, as some of the CED titles can be years out of date.
Halsbury's Laws of Canada
Both in print and electronically, there is a Labour (2016 Reissue) title available. The title code for the volumes is HLA.
Please check the currency of these titles. This resource provides information from each province in Canada, as well as federally. This title includes infomation on collective bargaining.
On this page:
To search for books at UNB Libraries, use UNB WorldCat, the library's catalogue. UNB WorldCat contains records of materials held at the Harriet Irving, Science and Forestry, Engineering, and Law libraries, as well as the Hans W. Klohn Library at UNB-Saint John.
In UNB WorldCat, items shown as LAW-RESERVE may be requested at the Law Library's circulation desk on the first floor. Items shown as LAW-STACKS are on the Law Library's second floor, arranged by call number.
If you would like to browse the shelves, the call numbers below house texts on collective bargaining:
- KF 3389 – 3435
The following call number ranges contain books on labour law:
- HD 7300 – 8847
- KF 3301 – 3450
- K1702 – 1841 (international law)
The following looseleaf texts are in our reserve collection. Bring a book's call number to the circulation desk to check it out for three hours.
- Canadian Labour Arbitration, 4th ed / Donald JM Brown and David M Beatty. LAWRESERVE: KF 3424 .B7 2006. Note: This title is also available through LabourSource in WestlawNext Canada (law students only).
- Canadian Labour Law, 2nd ed / GW Adams. LAWRESERVE: KF 3319 .A74 1993. Note: This title is also available through LabourSource in WestlawNext Canada (law students only).
- Collective Agreement Arbitration in Canada, 5th ed. / Ronald M Snyder. LAWRESERVE: KF 3424 .P34 2013.
The following books are available in the stacks. Please use UNB WorldCat to find more materials.
- The Art of Collective Bargaining, 2nd ed / John PT Sanderson. LAWSTACKS KF 3408 .S2 1989.
- Canadian Collective Bargaining Law, 2nd ed / WB Rayner. LAWSTACKS: KF 3408 .R38 2007.
- The Law of Collective Bargaining / WB Rayner. LAWSTACKS: KF 3408 .R38 1995.
- Negotiation: The Art of Mutual Gains Bargaining / David J Corry and Courteney Mercier. LAWSTACKS: HD 6971.5 C67 2010.
- Strikes in Essential Services / BL Adell, Michel Grant, and Allen Ponak. LAWSTACKS: KF 3431 .A73 2001.
You can also access a large number of eBooks on law-related subjects through UNB WorldCat. Below are a few databases that have law texts.
- HeinOnline (has some older legal classics)
- LLMC (has some older legal classics)
- Quicklaw (has some current texts; open to all UNB and STU students and faculty, but UNB Law students and facutly must sign in with their username and password to access the full Quicklaw package)
- Lexis Advance Quicklaw (has some current texts; only available to UNB Law students and faculty)
- WestlawNext Canada (has some current texts; only availble to UNB Law students and faculty)
Government departments and agencies publish a great deal of important law-related information. The Law Library's collection of printed government documents is located on the library's third floor. Use UNB WorldCat to search, or ask a library staff member for help.
The Harriet Irving Library also has government documents, which can be located through UNB WorldCat.
For government documents that are available online, try using UNB Libraries' Google Custom Search.
Find Websites & Blogs
The following websites may be helpful for your research:
- Canada Industrial Relations Board
This tribunal makes decisions on complaints filed under the Canada Labour Code. Includes decisions of the board and the statutes it operates under.
- Canadian Labour Congress
The umbrella organization for organized labour in Canada. It brings together Canada's national and international unions. Includes links to various union councils and issues.
- Centre for Industrial Relations and Human Resources
At the University of Toronto, this program specializes in all aspects of employment and labour relationships. The site contains articles, a link to the CIRHR library, and links to other useful resources.
- Directory of Labour Organizations in Canada
This Government of Canada database tracks information on labour organizations in Canada, including membership size and affiliations.
A repository of collective agreements, available courtesy of the Human Resources and Skills Development Canada's (HRSDC) website.
- Lancaster House
A labour and employment law publisher with news and articles on labour and employment law from Canada, and some from overseas. While some information is only accessible with a subscription, some information is freely available.
- New Brunswick Labour and Employment Board
"The New Brunswick Labour and Employment Board is an independent, quasi-judicial tribunal responsible for adjudicating employment and labour matters" pursuant to several pieces of legislation.
- New Brunswick Post-Secondary Education, Training, and Labour
The New Brunswick department responsible for labour issues in the province.
- New Brunswick Collective Agreement Retrieval System (CARS)
Database of all collective agreements filed with the NB Minister of Post-Secondary Education, Training and Labour.
- New Brunswick Human Rights Commission
"The Human Rights Commission forwards the principles of equality found in the New Brunswick Human Rights Act by promoting an understanding, acceptance and compliance with the Act."
- International Labour Organization
"The main aims of the ILO are to promote rights at work, encourage decent employment opportunities, enhance social protection and strengthen dialogue on work-related issues."
- Government of Canada Collective Agreements Database
Search for the most recent collective agreements for public service employees for each public sector employer.
- Alberta Human Services
Federal/Provincial agreements for persons with disabilities and older workers.
- British Columbia Labour Relations Board
Agreements filed with the BC Labour Relations Board
Blogs and News
There are many blogs maintained by lawyers and law firms, and you can find many of them at lawblogs.ca. The following are a few blogs that might be helpful for collective bargaining research:
- Perry Work Report
Available from Centre for Industrial Relations and Human Resources at the University of Toronto. The last six months are only available for purchase, but issues from six months and earlier are free to all.
- Law of Work (formerly Doorey's Workplace Law Blog)
Created by a professor at York University, this blog deals with labour and employment law issues in Canada and around the world.
Cases and Legislation
Cases & Legislation
The following databases and websites provide access to federal and provincial cases and legislation.
- Quicklaw Plus
- Lexis Advance Quicklaw (law students only)
- WestlawNext Canada (law students only)
- Supreme Court of Canada Cases
- Department of Justice Current Legislation (Canada - Federal)
- New Brunswick Legislation (Attorney General)
- LabourSource (formerly Labour Spectrum)
Cases and Decisions
Along with searching the databases mentioned below, one can use other products to find case law:
- Canadian Abridgment Digests
A digest service that indexes cases by subject. This is an extremely useful resource. There are Labour and Employment Law volumes in print (vols 62-75) and electronically in WestlawNext Canada (UNB Law students and faculty only). There is no separate collective bargaining title.
- Canada Digest
A digest service similar to the Canadian Abridgment. Useful titles include Canada Labour Arbitration Digest and Canada Labour Digest. It is available electronically through Quicklaw (available to all UNB and STU students and faculty) and Lexis Advance Quicklaw (UNB Law students and faculty only). There is no separate collective bargaining title.
- LexisNexis Labour Law Netletter
A monthly current awareness service that provides short summaries of significant new Canadian decisions on labour law that have been added to Quicklaw. It is available electronically through Quicklaw (available to all UNB and STU students and faculty) and Lexis Advance Quicklaw (UNB Law students and faculty only). There is no separate collective bargaining title.
- Case Reporters
If you wish to browse the print reporters, we have some topical law reports dealing with labour law on the second floor. Note: much of this content is retrospective. For current cases/decisions, please use electronic databases.
- Labour Arbitration Cases (1948-2005), stack 254 (current holdings in LabourSource (formerly Labour Spectrum))
- Canadian Labour Law Cases (1944–1997), stack 253 (current holdings in Quicklaw and Advance Quicklaw)
- Canadian Labour Law Reporter (1970-2011), stack 253 (current holdings in Quicklaw and Advance Quicklaw)
- Canadian Labour Relations Board Reports (1974-2002), stack 254 (current holdings in WestlawNext Canada - UNB Law students and faculty only)
- Collective Bargaining in New Brunswick (1991–current), stack 254
Other labour reporters are available in stacks 252-256.
Citing Your Sources
Citing Your Sources
Accurate, properly formatted footnotes, reading lists, and bibliographies are hallmarks of good academic research. Through citing, you acknowledge the source of any ideas you mention in your writing, document your research, and provide the information your readers need to track down your sources. Numerous citation styles exist.
The citation style used by lawyers and law students for Canadian legal materials is:
- The Canadian Guide to Uniform Legal Citation, 8th ed (KF245 .C28 2014 on LAW-RESERVE)
There is no online version of this guide at the present time; however, the University of British Columbia Law Library has put together a legal citations subject guide, which is available freely on the internet.