Sound, Film, and Image Collections Guide

Streaming Media

 

Key Resources

  • Films on Demand
    Note: UNB Libraries subscribes to the Master Academic Collection and FMG Archival Films & Newsreels Collection. Not all films listed are viewable. Videos are in Flash format. Includes 5,500+ educational titles and over 60,000 video segments licensed for use in Canada, covering a broad range of subjects including business, social sciences, education, health and medicine, humanities, sciences, and guidance, and including archival films and newsreels.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Kanopy
    Kanopy provides access to over 7,000 films covering a broad range of subjects courtesy of distributors such as the Criterion Collection, First Run Features, Green Planet Films, BBCActive, and many others.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • NFB Campus (National Film Board of Canada)
    NFB Campus offers access to over 2,500 Canadian film productions, including 500 new titles added just for classroom use.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Naxos Music Library (NML)
    "Naxos Music Library [NML] is the world´s largest online classical music library. The library offers the complete Naxos and Marco Polo catalogues plus the complete catalogues or selected titles from over 650 record labels, with more labels joining every month. Along with classical music, jazz, world, and pop/rock are also represented."
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Theatre in Video
    Contains performances of the world's leading plays and film documentaries on the subject of theater in streaming video. Some plays presented in multiple productions exemplifying various interpretations of the text, and technical and cultural differences among the presentations. Stage work of directors and actors are cross-searchable and available for side-by-side comparison. Interviews with directors, designers, writers, and actors, along with excerpts of live performances, provide illustration of the development of texts and the productions.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Smithsonian Global Sound® for Libraries
    Smithsonian Global Sound provides over 35,000 tracks of music, natural sounds and spoken words, delivered via streaming audio. It includes performances of traditional musics from around the world, poetry readings, environmental sounds, and recordings by legendary folk, jazz and blues performers. Liner notes for many recordings are also available.
    5 simultaneous users
  • ARTstor
    Searchable database of over 1.2 million digital images. ARTstor covers many time periods and cultures, and documents the fields of architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, and design, as well as many other forms of visual culture. Images are drawn from a variety of sources including: museums, archaeological teams, photo archives, slide collections, and art reference publishers. Users can search, view, and download images.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
 

DVD / BLU-RAY / VHS

 

Search UNB WorldCat:     

Advanced Search | Locations Guide | Other Catalogues | Help/FAQ

View a diagram of search steps from within UNB WorldCat.

A note on locations:

  • Most films located in the Harriet Irving Library are identified in UNB WorldCat by the location designation "HIL-CIRAV", located on the first floor, past the main stairwell. A small number of VHS formatted films are in basement storage under the location designation "HIL-CIRDSK" and can be retrieved by submitting an item retrieval request.
  • The Government Documents, Data, and Maps department, located on the third floor of the Harriet Irving Library, also has a small collection of films with the location designation "HIL-GOV" or "HIL-GOVCD".
  • Films with a location designation of "ENG-AV" are located in the stacks of the Engineering Library in Head Hall (C-15).
  • Films with a location designation of "HWK-VIDEO" are located at UNB Saint John's Hans W. Klohn Commons. UNB-F students, staff, and faculty may request such items via Document Delivery.

External DVD / BLU-RAY USB-powered drives

The Harriet Irving Library (Fredericton Campus) is now lending ASUS brand DVD/BLU-RAY reading and writing USB-powered drives that are Windows/Mac compatible. These drives can be used for any related purpose but are especially being marketed to those members of the UNB/STU community who would like to view films from our DVD and BLU-RAY collection but do not have a drive in their viewing device.

Classroom Use: Reserves/Bookings

Films can be used in the classroom in accordance with recent amendments to the Copyright Act (see 29.5)

DVDs can be reserved by instructors for in-class viewing by either placing the item on Course Reserve or by requesting an extended loan.

Requests for extended loans and questions can be directed to:

Teri Noel
Head, Access Service Dept.,
Harriet Irving Library
circhi@unb.ca
506-453-4756

Cora Higgins
Manager of Circulation Services
higginsc@unb.ca
506-648-5703
Hans W. Klohn Commons, UNBSJ

Circulation Policies

Circulation, reserve, and retrie val policies for films follow our standard circulation policies.

Films available from HIL-CIRAV, HIL-CIRDSK, HIL-GOV, and HIL-GOVCD, and ENG-AV may circulate for one week with the option of one further week's renewal for all patrons.

Viewing Stations

The Harriet Irving Library provides one combination DVD/VHS station for in-house viewing of films. The station is located in a study room, and as such can accommodate open discussion in tandem with film viewing. This study room can be booked at the Commons Service (formerly Circulation) desk.

Collection Development

UNB Libraries have a limited annual film budget for purchasing DVD and VHS formatted films that serve the teaching and learning objectives of University of New Brunswick and Saint Thomas University departments and faculty members.

We are now accepting purchase requests for consideration under the 2013/2014 film budget. Submissions can be made online at: http://www.lib.unb.ca/requests/film_request_form.php. There is no deadline for submissions this year.

Materials providing broad curricular support are preferred and given priority in selection to ensure maximum use of material. Factors that influence collection decisions include:

  • Curriculum relevance as demonstrated by faculty requests;
  • Balance within existing collection / amount of similar material in the collection;
  • Preview by faculty or librarian before purchase;
  • Favourable evaluations from standard or specialized review sources;
  • Anticipated use;
  • Accuracy and currency of production; and
  • Available funding.

For items deemed ineligible for funding through UNB Libraries' film budget or requested after the deadline, there may be other funding avenues. Please consult your departmental liaison librarian.

Using Media from the Web

Sources for media that can be used for academic projects

One is well advised to exercise care when using and repurposing media objects (images, sound, video, etc.) found on the web for academic projects. Most media are copyrighted regardless of whether there is an accompanying statement to the effect. There are, however, sites which make available reusable media that are either in the public domain or under creative commons license. Below is a list of some of the most common such sources.

Film

Videvo

Online provider of free stock video footage and motion graphics.
https://www.videvo.net/

 

Vimeo - Creative Commons

Creative Commons licenses enable members to grant copyright permissions on their videos so others can copy, distribute, edit, remix, and build upon them while giving credit to the original video’s creator.
https://vimeo.com/creativecommons

 

XStockvideo

User uploaded video free to use for Educational purposes
http://www.xstockvideo.com

Sound

freesound

Downloadable sound effects under Creative Commons license
https://www.freesound.org

Image

The Commons on Flickr

Public domain photo sharing site:
http://www.flickr.com/commons

Creative Commons

A portal to various media content intended for free use and re-use under a "Creative Commons" licensing agreement:
http://creativecommons.org/

Stock Exchange

Extensive source for royalty-free stock images:
http://www.sxc.hu/

Wikimedia Commons

A media file repository making available public domain and freely-licensed educational media content (images, sound and video clips):
http://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/Main_Page

Embedding in D2L

Embedding Films in Desire2Learn

Films on Demand:
https://youtu.be/B9_nkS60kZA

Kanopy:
https://vimeo.com/181799574

NFB Campus:
Due to technical limitations and NFB Campus' end, embedding is just complicated enough to merit contacting Marc Bragdon directly (mbragdon@unb.ca / 506-458-7741).

Browser issues with flash content

Several popular Web browsers - Firefox and Chrome, for example- are now blocking flash content (such as streaming movies) when served through learning management systems such as Desire2Learn. The blocking can be disabled following guidelines set forth here:
http://www.unb.ca/fredericton/cetl/_resources/tls_files/pdfs/embedvidfix.pdf

More Information

Last modified on August 2, 2017 11:44