2013SM_ED*6008*FRE1F Guide

Course Readings

Inside the black box: Raising standards through classroom Assessment. Black & Wiliam (2010). Phi Delta Kappan, 92(1):81-90.
https://login.proxy.hil.unb.ca/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=eric&AN=EJ898516&site=ehost-live&scope=site

Leahy, S., Lyon, C., Thompson, M., & Wiliam, D. (2005). Classroom Assessment Minute by Minute, Day by Day. Educational Leadership, 63(3), 18-24.
https://login.proxy.hil.unb.ca/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=aph&AN=18772694&site=ehost-live&scope=site

‘I’ll be a nothing’: Structure, Agency and the construction of identity through assessment. By Reay & Wilim, (2006) British Educational Research Journal
https://login.proxy.hil.unb.ca/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=aph&AN=2155554&site=ehost-live&scope=site

Assessment through the student’s Eyes by Stiggins, (2007). Educational Leadership. May 22-27.
https://login.proxy.hil.unb.ca/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=aph&AN=25102089&site=ehost-live&scope=site

‘No Number Can Describe How Good It Was’: Assessment issues in the multimodal classroom. Newfield, Andrew, Stein & Maungedzo (2003): 61-81. Assessment in Education 10(1)
https://login.proxy.hil.unb.ca/login?url=http://www.tandfonline.com/doi/abs/10.1080/09695940301695

Involving Students in Communicating about their learning by Davies. (2001). NASSAP Bulletin 85:47-51.
http://bul.sagepub.com.proxy.hil.unb.ca/content/85/621/47.full.pdf+html

Krechevsky, M., Rivard, R., Burton, F.R. (2010). Accountability in Three Realms: Making Learning Visible Inside and Outside the Classroom. Project Zero, Harvard Graduate School of Education, Project Zero, Harvard Grad School of Education, Upper Arlington, Ohio
https://login.proxy.hil.unb.ca/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=aph&AN=47377592&site=ehost-live&scope=site

Effective Instructional Leadership requires Assessment Leadership by Stiggins & Duke, (2008) Phi Delta Kappan, 90(4): 285-291
https://login.proxy.hil.unb.ca/login?url=http://www.jstor.org/stable/20446092

Wien, C. A., Guyevskey, V. & Berdoussis, N. (2011). Learning to document in Reggio-inspired education. Early Childhood Research & Practice. 13(2).
http://ecrp.uiuc.edu/v13n2/wien.html

Young, L. P. (2009). Imagine creating rubrics that develop creativity. National Council of Teachers of English. 99(2): 74-79.
https://login.proxy.hil.unb.ca/login?url=http://www.ncte.org/library/NCTEFiles/Resources/Journals/EJ/0992-nov09/EJ0992Imagine.pdf

Biesta, G. (2009). Good education in the age of measurement: on the need to reconnect with the question of purpose in education. Educational Assessment, Evaluation and Accountability. 21(1): 33- 46
http://www.springerlink.com.proxy.hil.unb.ca/content/42763204qm11h5v5/fulltext.pdf

Kohn, A. (2010). Debunking the case for National Standards. Educational Digest. 75(8): 4-7.
https://login.proxy.hil.unb.ca/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=aph&AN=48921370&site=ehost-live&scope=site

Turning Children into Data by Kohn, (2010) Education Week 30(1)
https://login.proxy.hil.unb.ca/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=aph&AN=53531005&site=ehost-live&scope=site

Shepard, L. A. (2000) The role of assessment in a learning culture. Educational Researcher. 29 (7): 4-14
https://login.proxy.hil.unb.ca/login?url=http://edr.sagepub.com/content/29/7/4.full.pdf+html

Lee, C. & Wiliam, D. (2005). Studying changes in the practice of two teachers developing assessment for learning. Teacher Development. 9(2): 265-283.
https://login.proxy.hil.unb.ca/login?url=http://www.tandfonline.com/doi/abs/10.1080/13664530500200244

Moss, C. M., Brookhart, S. M., & Long, B. (2011). Know your learning target. Educational Leadership, March: 66-69.
https://login.proxy.hil.unb.ca/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=aph&AN=58688614&site=ehost-live&scope=site

Brookhart, S. M., Moss, C. M., & Long, B. (2008). Formative assessment that empowers. Educational Leadership. November: 52-57.
https://login.proxy.hil.unb.ca/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=aph&AN=35013895&site=ehost-live&scope=site

Wiliam, D. (2001), “What is Wrong with Our Educational Assessments and What Can Be Done About It?”, Education Review, Vol. 15, pp. 57-62.
https://login.proxy.hil.unb.ca/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=aph&AN=7385448&site=ehost-live&scope=site

Moss, P.A. (2007) Reconstructing Validity. Educational Researcher 36(8) 470-476.
https://login.proxy.hil.unb.ca/login?url=http://www.jstor.org/stable/4621102

The Use and Misuse of Standardized Tests by Hollaway (2001) Educational Leadership. September: 77-78
https://login.proxy.hil.unb.ca/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=aph&AN=5179234&site=ehost-live&scope=site

Harlen, W. Assessment “of” learning and “for” learning. Education 3-13 37(3): 247-257.
https://login.proxy.hil.unb.ca/login?url=http://www.tandfonline.com/doi/abs/10.1080/03004270802442334

 

Video Links

Katz, L. (2011). Professional Emergencies: World Forum Style. World Forum Foundation.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XXel4dZV7D0

Tovani, C. & Bennett, S: So what do the really know? Assessment that informs teaching and learning
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=c3ir43_qzPU

Hattie, J. (2011)Visible Learning Pt 1. Disasters and below Average Methods
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sng4p3Vsu7Y

Hattie, J. Visible Learning Pt 2. Effective methods
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3pD1DFTNQf4

Visible Learning- An Interview with Dr. John Hattie (2012)
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rkXE4lBwHD4

John Hattie: Seeing through the eyes of students
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SisXbT7CWWs

Wynne Harlen. Assessment Skills and Competencies in Science Pt. 1
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VOc3OFGCziE&list=PLC1D957C29FF96034

Paul Black’s Master class in assessment
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=h0j7xSS9pm4

Paul Black describes peer and self assessment
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NnqHERCFsWM

Paul Black discusses the role of grades versus comments in student learning
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vOhE2KldmT0

1 69 Assessment for learning Dylan Wiliam Learning and teaching
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hiu-jY-xaPg

The true spirit of Assessment for learning Dylan William
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=krbTilxjayM Part 1
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PXBUlbe1C1I Part 2
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YVPnEz2mpMI Part 3

Rick Stiggins distinguishes between assessment of learning and assessment for learning.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EDVHuHyCGmg

 

Find Articles

Databases listed below provide access to citations and often the full text of journal/magazine/other articles when UNB has an electronic subscription to the host or source publication. Where full text is not linked directly, there should be some facility (often denoted by the UNB sail logo) to "Check for Fulltext".

If you are unable to locate the item you are looking for at UNB, either in print or online, you can still submit a document delivery request.

Key Resources

  • ERIC - EBSCO
    ERIC is a "bibliographic database that contains education-related documents and journal articles." The EBSCO interface also provides some full text linking.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Academic Search Premier
    Academic Search Premier is a multidisciplinary resource that "provides journal coverage for most academic areas of studies."
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Google Scholar
    Google Scholar searches a subset of the Web that Google has classified as "scholarly literature". They do not publish a list of chosen sites, and they do not state how often sites are checked. Some important sources are not covered at all. Thus, Google Scholar alone should not be relied on for comprehensive research.

    By accessing Google Scholar as a UNB Libraries user, you benefit from technology that lets on-campus and off-campus users connect directly to full-text articles in journals to which UNB subscribes. Just click on the blue Title link in the Google result list.

    To still view UNB Libraries' holding on-campus or off-campus through Google Scholar, use the following steps:

    - Follow link above or go to https://scholar.google.com/ to ensure bypassing the proxy login.
    - Click the three lines in the top left corner.
    - Click Settings.
    - Click Library Links.
    - Search for University of New Brunswick, check the box next to the result, and save your settings.

    You can now continue to search and should see the Check for Fulltext @ UNB links next to articles and books we have access to.


    Unlimited simultaneous users.

Additional Resources

  • Dissertations & Theses (ProQuest PQDT: formerly Digital Dissertations)
    ProQuest Dissertations and Theses (formerly Digital Dissertations) "is the single, authoritative source for information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses. The database represents the work of authors from over 1,000 graduate schools and universities."
    All PhD dissertations and Master's theses from depositing universities are available from 1997 onwards, unless the document's author has requested a temporary delay.
    It is also possible to search within an interface exclusive to Dissertations & Theses @ University of New Brunswick.

    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • PsycINFO
    PsycINFO is an abstracting and indexing database of more than 2000 journals (approximately 3.3 million records) devoted to peer-reviewed literature (journals, books and dissertations) in the behavioural sciences and mental health.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Canadian Business and Current Affairs (CBCA) Education (ProQuest)
    Please note: CBCA Education is now searchable as part of the larger CBCA Complete collection. Canadian Business and Current Affairs (CBCA) Complete is the nation's largest and most comprehensive bibliographic full-text reference and current events database. Available through the ProQuest Web interface, CBCA Complete combines full text and indexed content from all four CBCA database subsets (Business, Current Events, Education, and Reference). Subject coverage is comprehensive and information is available from the broadest range of Canadian sources anywhere.
    NOTE: In certain instances ProQuest has decided to omit particular 'articles' from full-text access due to copyright restrictions or because the item has not met their criteria for being an 'article' (ie. too short, a letter, not attributed to an author, etc.).
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Scopus
    Scopus, a new multidisciplinary online resource, will be invaluable to students and faculty in various fields of study within the sciences, health sciences and the social sciences. Scopus offers full-text linking, abstracting-and-indexing information and provides access to over 66 million abstracts dating back to 1966.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • SpringerLink
    SpringerLINK service provides access to electronic journals in a variety of subjects, including "life sciences, chemical sciences, geosciences, computer science, mathematics, medicine, physics & astronomy, engineering, environmental sciences, law, and economics."
    [NOTE: pre-1996 Archival content now accessible when available]
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • CINAHL with Full Text (Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature)
    CINAHL with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive source of full text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 500 journals indexed in CINAHL. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index - with no embargo. With full-text coverage dating back to 1981, CINAHL with Full Text is the definitive research tool for all areas of nursing and allied health literature.
    Unlimited simultaneous users

 

Find Books

 

Search UNB WorldCat:     

Advanced Search | Locations Guide | Help

 

Dissertations and theses

Dissertations and Theses (formerly Digital Dissertations) "is the single, authoritative source for information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses. The database represents the work of authors from over 1,000 graduate schools and universities." All PhD dissertations and Master's theses from depositing universities are available from 1997 onwards, unless the document's author has requested a temporary delay.

The Theses Canada Portal currently provides access to records from the National Library of Canada theses collection (from 1965), and access to fulltext for theses and dissertations submitted between 1998 and 2002.

 

Citing Your Sources

RefWorks is a web-based bibliographic database manager, available through UNB Libraries, that allows you to create a database of references that can be organized, searched, and used to automatically construct bibliographies and reading lists in many citation styles.

 

More Information