ED*3561 Guide

Articles

 

Use the databases below to search for articles on your research topic. If a database does not provide an electronic copy of an article you want, click on the Check for fulltext link beside the article record to see if another database provides a copy. 

If you want an article that is not available at UNB, fill out a Document Delivery request form and the library will try to get a copy for you as quickly as possible (usually between 2-7 days).

 

Key Resources

  • ERIC - EBSCO
    ERIC is a "bibliographic database that contains education-related documents and journal articles." The EBSCO interface also provides some full text linking.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Canadian Business and Current Affairs (CBCA) Education (ProQuest)
    Please note: CBCA Education is now searchable as part of the larger CBCA Complete collection. Canadian Business and Current Affairs (CBCA) Complete is the nation's largest and most comprehensive bibliographic full-text reference and current events database. Available through the ProQuest Web interface, CBCA Complete combines full text and indexed content from all four CBCA database subsets (Business, Current Events, Education, and Reference). Subject coverage is comprehensive and information is available from the broadest range of Canadian sources anywhere.
    NOTE: In certain instances ProQuest has decided to omit particular 'articles' from full-text access due to copyright restrictions or because the item has not met their criteria for being an 'article' (ie. too short, a letter, not attributed to an author, etc.).
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Academic Search Premier
    Academic Search Premier is a multidisciplinary resource that "provides journal coverage for most academic areas of study."
    Unlimited simultaneous users.

Additional Resources

  • Google Scholar
    Google Scholar searches a subset of the Web that Google has classified as "scholarly literature". They do not publish a list of chosen sites, and they do not state how often sites are checked. Some important sources are not covered at all. Thus, Google Scholar alone should not be relied on for comprehensive research.
    By accessing Google Scholar via the UNB Libraries website, you benefit from technology that lets on-campus and off-campus users connect directly to full-text articles in journals to which UNB subscribes. Just click on the blue Title link in the Google result list.
    Off-campus users can also set Scholar Preferences to show the "Check for fulltext @ UNB" link in search results. See "Scholar Preferences" at the Google Scholar site.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Wiley Online Library
    Wiley Online Library hosts the world's broadest and deepest multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. It delivers seamless integrated access to over 4 million articles from 1500 journals. UNB also subscribes to select eBook titles.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • PsycINFO
    PsycINFO is an abstracting and indexing database of more than 2000 journals (approximately 3.3 million records) devoted to peer-reviewed literature (journals, books and dissertations) in the behavioural sciences and mental health.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.

 

Journals

Use the links below to search or browse fulltext articles from the following important TESL journals:

TESL Canada Journal 1984-Current

TESOL Quarterly 1996-Current  1967-4 years ago

TESOL Journal 1999-2003, 2010-Current

ELT Journal 1946-Current

Modern Language Journal 1997-Current

Studies in Second Language Acquisition 1978-Current

 

Books

The UNB Worldcat catalogue search below will search for books available at the UNB libraries on both the Fredericton and Saint John campuses.  If you are a UNB Saint John student, you can ask for books on the Fredericton campus to be sent to Saint John by clicking on the Request Item button in the catalogue. You'll be notified by email when the book is available for you to pick up at the Services Desk of the Hans W. Klohn Commons.

Search UNB WorldCat:     

Advanced Search | Locations Guide | Other Catalogues | Help/FAQ

Browse books at UNB Libraries on the following subjects 

English language--Study and teaching--Foreign speakers 

Foreign language study--English as a second language 

 

Selected ebooks

500 tips for TESOL : teaching English to speakers of other languages (1999)

Essentials for successful English language teaching (2010)

Success on your certificate course in English language teaching : a guide to becoming a teacher in ELT/TESOL (2006)

 

Encyclopedias etc.

Key Resources

  • Encyclopedic dictionary of applied linguistics a handbook for language teaching
    This title is part of the Blackwell Reference Online e-book collection.
    Unlimited simultaneous users
  • Blackwell handbook of language development
    This title is part of the Blackwell Reference Online e-book collection.
    Unlimited simultaneous users
  • Concise Oxford companion to the English language
    "Based on the acclaimed Oxford Companion to the English Language, this is the most compact, authoritative, and up-to-date source of information about the English language. With contributions from more than 130 experts worldwide, the language is viewed from an international perspective, covering Cockney to Creole, Aboriginal English to South Asian English. The historical range of the work is large - Beowulf rubs shoulders with Ebonics, Chaucer sits alongside Chomsky, Latin, and the World Wide Web. Substantial entries are given on key subjects such as American and British differences, computing, etymology, pidgin, poetry, sexism, Shakespeare's language, and slang. Features include pieces on place-names, borrowings from other languages, the evolution of the alphabet, and the story of the expression 'OK'"
    5 simultaneous users.
  • Handbook of second language acquisition, The
    This title is part of the Blackwell Reference Online e-book collection.
    Unlimited simultaneous users
  • Reference Universe
    Note: Due to system limitations, Reference Universe is not available from off campus for UNBSJ searching, only UNBF materials are searchable off-campus.
    Reference Universe provides fast access to more than 16,000 print and online encyclopedias and similar reference works by indexing the contents of all these reference works. Your subject search will reveal entries in all the resources in Reference Universe that have relevant content. If the Library has access to any online resource covered, you link directly to that entry. If not, Reference Universe connects to the Library's online catalog to show you if the Library has the print resource.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.

Additional Resources

Ask Us

Last modified on September 18, 2017 13:49