Ask Us History, World Guide

Key Resources

• Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)
  Academic Search Premier is a multidisciplinary resource that "provides journal coverage for most academic areas of studies."
  Unlimited simultaneous users.
• Historical Abstracts (EBSCO)
  "Historical Abstracts is an exceptional resource that covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more ... Provides indexing of more than 1,700 academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955."--Database information page.
  Unlimited simultaneous users.
• America: History and Life (EBSCO)
  "America: History & Life is the definitive index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With indexing for 1,700 journals from 1964 to present ... The database also includes citations and links to book and media reviews."--Database information page.
  Unlimited simultaneous users.

• American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection (EBSCO)
  The American Antiquarian Society Historical Periodicals provides information on the life of America's people from the Colonial Era through the Civil War and Reconstruction (1684-1912). This e-resource includes digitized images of American magazines, journals, and monographs not available from any other source and provide rich content detailing American history and culture from the mid-18th century through the late-19th century. These specialized collections cover advertising, health, women's issues, science, the history of slavery, industry and professions, religious issues, culture and the arts, and more.
  Unlimited simultaneous users.
• Archives of Sexuality & Gender (Gale)
  The Archives of Sexuality and Gender program provides a robust and significant collection of primary sources for the historical study of sex, sexuality, and gender. With material dating back to the sixteenth century, researchers and scholars can examine how sexual norms have changed over time, health and hygiene, the development of sex education, the rise of sexology, changing gender roles, social movements and activism, erotica, and many other interesting topical areas. This growing archival program offers rich research opportunities across a wide span of human history.
  Purchased multi-user unlimited access
• Archives Unbound
  Archives Unbound presents topically-focused digital collections of historical documents that support the research and study needs of scholars and students at the college and university level. Collections in Archives Unbound cover a broad range of topics from the Middle Ages forward-from Witchcraft to World War II to twentieth-century political history. Collections are chosen for Archives Unbound based on requests from scholars, archivists, and students.
  
  UNB has access to 14 archives:
  

  1. 19th Century English-Language Journals of the Far East | UNBWorldCat: 794778563
  2. American Indian Movement and Native American Radicalism | UNBWorldCat: 551797520
  3. Civil War Service Reports of Union Army Generals | UNBWorldCat: 750590961
  4. Feminism in Cuba: Nineteenth through Twentieth Century Archival Documents | UNBWorldCat: 551797483
  5. German Anti-Semitic Propaganda, 1909-1941 | UNBWorldCat: 860713307
  6. German Folklore and Popular Culture: Das Kloster (Scheible) | UNBWorldCat: 707935863
  7. German Foreign Relations and Military Activities in China, 1919-1935 | UNBWorldCat: 849493401
  8. Homophile Movement: Papers of Donald Stewart Lucas, 1941-1976 | UNBWorldCat: 803998549
  9. Minutes of the Shanghai Municipal Council | UNBWorldCat: 822057416
  10. Russian Civil War and American Expeditionary Forces in Siberia, 1918-20 | UNBWorldCat: 881829856
  11. SAFEHAVEN Reports on Nazi Looting of Occupied Countries and Assets in Neutral Countries | UNBWorldCat: 773624052
  12. Tiananmen Square and U.S.-China relations, 1989-1993 | UNBWorldCat: 611152344
  13. War of 1812: Diplomacy on the High Seas | UNBWorldCat: 793100869
  14. "We Were Prepared for the Possibility of Death": Freedom Riders in the South, 1961 | UNBWorldCat: 704290642

  
  Unlimited simultaneous users.
• China: Trade, Politics and Culture, 1793-1980 (Adam Matthew Digital)
  This project provides a wide variety of original source material detailing China's interaction with the West from Macartney's first Embassy to China in 1793, through to the Nixon/Heath visits to China in 1972-74.
  Unlimited simultaneous users.
• Defining Gender, 1450-1910 (Adam Matthew Digital)
  Defining Gender is structured in five sections, each containing a substantial body of original source material, together with thematic essays by leading scholars in the field. The thematic essays introduce students to the material, suggest possible approaches, and place the documents within a broad historical, literary and cultural context. The sources all have distinct URLs and can be readily integrated into course packs or projected in the classroom.
  Unlimited simultaneous users.
• Early English Books Online (EEBO via ProQuest)

  EEBO is based on the microfilm collections curated by the Ann Arbor publisher Eugene B. Power (1905-1993). The founder of what became University Microfilms International or UMI, Power’s first foreign project established the microfilming operation at the British Museum in 1942 and, since then, more than 200 libraries worldwide have contributed to the microfilm collection.

  Following its digital launch in 1998, Early English Books Online now contains page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America, as well as works in English printed elsewhere between 1473 and 1700.
  Unlimited simultaneous users.

• Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO)
  A comprehensive digital edition of The Eighteenth Century microfilm set, which has aimed to include every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in the United Kingdom, along with thousands of important works from the Americas, between 1701 and 1800. Consists of books, pamphlets, broadsides, ephemera. Subject categories include history and geography; fine arts and social sciences; medicine, science, and technology; literature and language; religion and philosophy; law; general reference. Also included are significant collections of women writers of the eighteenth century, collections on the French Revolution, and numerous eighteenth-century editions of the works of Shakespeare. Where they add scholarly value or contain important differences, multiple editions of each individual work are offered. Allows searching Early English Books Online as an option.
  Unlimited simultaneous users.
• Eighteenth Century Journals (Adam Matthew Digital)
  Portal to newspapers and periodicals c1685-1815 offers integrated access to the Hope Collection at the Bodleian Library, Oxford (Eighteenth Century Journals I) and the Harry Ransom Humanities Research Center University of Texas (Eighteenth Century Journals II). It brings together rare journals printed between c1685 and 1815, illuminating all aspects of eighteenth-century social, political and literary life. Topics include: the writings of Sir Isaac Newton; the French Revolution; reviews of literature, the theater, and fashion throughout Europe; the origins and rise of Romanticism; political debates; gender, religion, influence of the press, and coffee house gossip and discussion.
  Unlimited simultaneous users.
• Empire Online (Adam Matthew Digital)
  Empire Online features a wide variety of material including: Exploration journals and logs; Letter books and correspondence; Periodicals; Diaries; Official Government Papers; Missionary papers; Travel writing; Slave papers; Memoirs; Fiction; Children's Adventure Stories; Traditional; folk tales; Exhibition Catalogues and guides; Maps; Marketing Posters; Photographs; and Illustrations, with many in colour. The project is divided into five sections covering varying aspects of the colonial experience. These are: Section I: Cultural Contact, 1492-1969, Section II: Literature and Empire, Section III: The Visible Empire, Section IV: Religion and Empire.
  Unlimited simultaneous users.
• European Views of the Americas: 1493 to 1750 (EBSCO)
  This bibliographic database is a valuable index for libraries, scholars and individuals interested in European works that relate to the Americas. EBSCO Publishing, in cooperation with the John Carter Brown Library, has created this resource from European Americana: A Chronological Guide to Works Printed In Europe Relating to The Americas, 1493-1750, the authoritative bibliography that is well-known and respected by scholars worldwide. The database contains more than 32,000 entries and is a comprehensive guide to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750. It covers the history of European exploration as well as portrayals of native American peoples. A wide range of subject areas are covered; from natural disasters to disease outbreaks and slavery. The original bibliography was co-developed by John Alden and Dennis Landis, Curator of European Books at The John Carter Brown Library. The John Carter Brown Library, founded in 1846 is a foremost repository of rare books and materials and is a center for advanced research in history and the humanities.
  Unlimited simultaneous users.
• Frontier Life: Borderlands, Settlement & Colonial Encounters (Adam Matthew Digital)
  "Frontier Life provides over 240,000 Images and 7,895 Documents pertaining to the Frontiers of North America, Africa and Australasia. This collection has a wealth of primary source documents including 68% of the collections dedicated to North America, and 20% of that material specific to Canada. There are more than 1,015 documents from the Glenbow Museum and Hudson Bay’s Archive.
  
  The collection deals with some of the major themes of frontier existence including: Settlement development, Law and order, Violence, Expeditions and exploration, Relations with indigenous peoples, Trade and commerce, Death and disease, Missionaries and religion, Women’s history, Military matters, Mining, Religion, Gold rushes, Settler governance, Contested boundaries, Agriculture and livestock."
  Unlimited simultaneous users.
• HeinOnline - World Constitutions Illustrated
  All the world's current constitutions in their original languages and English translations are gathered into this single database, which also includes full-text historical legal and political treatises and scholarly articles. Bibliographies of and links to a multitude of secondary resources are also provided. Researchers can use the advanced search screen to perform cross-jurisdictional searches, but users focusing on one particular country might want to use the "browse by country" option and then search within that jurisdiction.
  Unlimited simultaneous users.
• Making of Modern Law: Legal Treatises, 1800-1926
  Provides access to more than 21,800 British and American legal titles from the 19th and early 20th centuries. Content types include casebooks, local practice manuals, form books, pamphlets, letters, and speeches and cover a wide range of subject areas. Basic and advanced searching is available.
  Unlimited simultaneous users.
• Mass Observation Online (Adam Matthew Digital)
  Mass observation online provides access to original manuscript and typescript papers created and collected by the Mass-Observation organisation in Great Britain between 1937 and 1972. The material is held by the Special Collections Library, University of Sussex. Mass observation online offers access to archival material for the study of British social history. The material covers: The end of the ‘Hungry Thirties’ when the impact of the Depression was still being felt; The onset of war, the Blitz and war on the home front; The post war world, with the rise of consumerism and television.
  Unlimited simultaneous users.
• Medieval Travel Writing (Adam Matthew Digital)
  Provides an extensive collection of manuscript materials for the study of medieval travel writing. The core is a collection of medieval manuscripts dating from the 13th to the 16th centuries. The main focus is accounts of journeys to the Holy Land, India and China. The manuscripts are from the British Library; Bodleian Library; Bibliothèque nationale de France; Cambridge University Library; Trinity College, Cambridge; Universitätsbibliothek Heidelberg; Staatsbibliothek zu Berlin, Österreichische Nationalbibliothek; Stiftsbibliothek St. Gallen; the Beinecke Library at Yale University and about 15 other Libraries and Archives.
  Unlimited simultaneous users.
• Naxos Music Library (NML)
  "Naxos Music Library [NML] is the world´s largest online classical music library. The library offers the complete Naxos and Marco Polo catalogues plus the complete catalogues or selected titles from over 650 record labels, with more labels joining every month. Along with classical music, jazz, world, and pop/rock are also represented."
  Unlimited simultaneous users.
• North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries and Oral Histories
  North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries and Oral Histories provides personal experiences of immigrants and insights into labor history, American and world history in general, women's and ethnic studies, and a wide range of related disciplines.
  Unlimited simultaneous users.
• North American Women's Letters and Diaries
  North American Women's Letters and Diaries indexes American and Canadian women's diaries and correspondence over centuries. Researchers will have access to immediate experiences of 1,325 women.
  Unlimited simultaneous users.
• Oral History Online
  The database indexes collections of oral history in English from around the world. Some full-text material is contained in the database; there are links to other material, textual as well as audio and video, available on other web sites. Both full-text and bibliographic searching are provided.
  Unlimited simultaneous users.
• Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection
  A digital collection of current and historical maps, from the Perry-Castaneda Library at the University of Texas at Austin. The online collection features images of over 5700 maps from the Perry-Castaneda Library, as well as extensive links to other map-related sites.
  Unlimited simultaneous users.
• Slavery, Abolition and Social Justice, 1490-2007 (Adam Matthew Digital)
  This digital collection documents key aspects of the history of slavery worldwide over six centuries. Topics covered include the African Coast, the Middle Passage, the varieties of slave experience, religion, revolts, abolition, and legislation. The collection also includes case studies from America, the Caribbean, Brazil, and Cuba.
  Unlimited simultaneous users.
• Smithsonian Global Sound® for Libraries (Music Online)
  Smithsonian Global Sound provides over 35,000 tracks of music, natural sounds and spoken words, delivered via streaming audio. It includes performances of traditional musics from around the world, poetry readings, environmental sounds, and recordings by legendary folk, jazz and blues performers. Liner notes for many recordings are also available.
  5 simultaneous users