2017FA_ED*6001*FRE1A Guide

Course Readings

Reading list:

Barth, R. S. (2002). The Culture Builder. Educational Leadership, 59(8), 6-11.

Barth, R. S. (2013). The time is ripe (again). Educational Leadership, 71(2), 10-16.

Benjamin, A., White, M., MacKeracher, M. & Stella, K. (2013). The impact of globalization on adult education in a have-not province. Brock Education, 22(2), 28-40

Blair, M. (2002). Effective School Leadership: the multi-ethnic context. British Journal Of Sociology Of Education, 23(2), 179-191.

Blase, J, & Blase, J. (2000). Effective instructional leadership: Teachers’ perspectives on how principals promote teaching and learning schools. Journal of Educational Administration, 38(2), 130-141.

Broadway, M. J. (2013). The World 'Meats' Canada: Meatpacking's Role in the Cultural Transformation of Brooks, Alberta. American Geographical Society's Focus On Geography, 56(2), 47-53.

Brookfield, S. (1995). Adult learning: An overview.

Brown, L. & Conrad, D. (2007). School leadership in Trinidad and Tobago: The challenge of context. Comparative Education Review, 51(2), 181-201.

Bustamante, R. M., Nelson, J. A., & Onwuegbuzie, A. J. (2009). Assessing Schoolwide Cultural Competence: Implications for School Leadership Preparation. Educational Administration Quarterly, 45(5), 793-827.

Caires, S., & Almeida, L. S. (2007). Positive aspects of the teacher training supervision: The student teachers' perspective. European Journal Of Psychology Of Education - EJPE (Instituto Superior De Psicologia Aplicada), 22(4), 515-528.

Caspersen, J., & Raaen, F. (2014). Novice teachers and how they cope. Teachers & Teaching, 20(2), 189-211. doi:10.1080/13540602.2013.848570

Clarke, A., & Collins, J. B. (2004). Glickman's Supervisory Belief Inventory: A Cautionary Note. Journal Of Curriculum And Supervision, 20(1), 76-87.

Coleman, P., & LaRocque, L. (1988). Reaching Out: Instructional Leadership in School Districts. Peabody Journal Of Education (0161956X), 65(4), 60-89.

Cornforth, S., & Claiborne, L.B. (2008). When educational supervision meets clinical supervision: What can we learn about the discrepancies? British Journal of Guidance & Counselling, 36(2), 155-163.

DeAngelis, K. J., Wall, A. F., & Che, J. (2013). The Impact of Preservice Preparation and Early Career Support on Novice Teachers’ Career Intentions and Decisions. Journal Of Teacher Education, 64(4), 338-355. doi:10.1177/0022487113488945

Deslisle, J. (2009). An institution deeply rooted in the status quo: insights into leadership development and reform in the education sector of Trinidad and Toabgo. Social and Economic Studies. 58(1), 69-93.

Ediger, M. (2009). Supervising the student teacher in the public school. Education, 130(2), 251-254.

Eisenschmidt, E., Oder, T., & Reiska, E. (August 01, 2013). The Induction Program – Teachers’ Experience After Five Years of Practice. Mentoring & Tutoring: Partnership in Learning, 21, 3, 241-257.

Fenwick, T. J. (2001). Teacher Supervision Through Professional Growth Plans: Balancing Contradictions and Opening Possibilities. Educational Administration Quarterly, 37(3), 401.

Fenwick, T. (2004). Teacher learning and professional growth plans: Implementation of a provincial policy. Journal of Curriculum and Supervision, 19(3), 259-282.

Friesen, J. (2012). On the need for philosophic-mindedness in educational administration: Are we still on track? International Studies in Educational Administration, 40(2), 37-48

Fullan, M., & Knight, J. (2011). Coaches as System Leaders. Educational Leadership, 69(2), 50-53.

George, J. M., & Lubben, F. (2002). Facilitating teachers' professional growth through their involvement in creating context-based materials in science. International Journal of Educational Development, 22(6), 659-672.

George, J. M. (2013). ‘Do you have to pack?’—Preparing for culturally relevant science teaching in the caribbean. International Journal of Science Education, 35(12), 2114-2131.

Glanz, J. (2007). On Vulnerability and Transformative Leadership: An Imperative for Leaders of Supervision. International Journal Of Leadership In Education, 10(2), 115-135.

Glanz, J. (2010). Justice and caring: Power, politics and ethics in strategic leadership. International Studies in Educational Administration, 38(1), 66-86.

Glassman, M., Erdem, G., & Bartholomew, M. (2013). Action Research and Its History as an Adult Education Movement for Social Change. Adult Education Quarterly, 63(3), 272-288. doi:10.1177/0741713612471418

Gruenert, S. (2005). Correlations of Collaborative School Cultures with Student Achievement. NASSP Bulletin, 89(645), 43-55.

Hallinger, P. (2003). Leading Educational Change: Reflections on the Practice of Instructional and Transformational Leadership. Cambridge Journal Of Education, 33(3), 329-351.

Harris, C. E. (1996). The Aesthetic of Thomas B. Greenfield: An Exploration of Practices That Leave No Mark. Educational Administration Quarterly, 32(4), 487-511.

Hoy, W. K. (1990). Organizational Climate and Culture: A Conceptual Analysis of the School Workplace. Journal Of Educational & Psychological Consultation, 1(2), 149.

Iordanides, G., & Vryoni, M. (2013). School Leaders and the Induction of New Teachers. International Studies In Educational Administration (Commonwealth Council For Educational Administration & Management (CCEAM)), 41(1), 75-88.

Kalule, L., & Bouchamma, Y. (2013). Supervisors' Perception of Instructional Supervision. International Studies In Educational Administration (Commonwealth Council For Educational Administration & Management (CCEAM)), 41(1), 89-104.

Kalule, L., & Bouchamma, Y. (2013). Teacher Supervision Practices: What Do Teachers Think?. International Studies In Educational Administration (Commonwealth Council For Educational Administration & Management (CCEAM)), 40(3), 91-104.

Kamens, M., Susko, J. P., & Elliott, J. S. (2013). Evaluation and Supervision of Co-Teaching: A Study of Administrator Practices in New Jersey. NASSP Bulletin, 97(2), 166-190.

Kim, T., & Danforth, S. (2012). Non-Authoritative Approach to Supervision of Student Teachers: Cooperating Teachers' Conceptual Metaphors. Journal Of Education For Teaching: International Research And Pedagogy, 38(1), 67-82.

Kohm, B. & Nance, B. (2009). Creating collaborative cultures. Educational Leadership, 67(2), 67-72.

Larkin, D. B. (2013). 10 things to know about mentoring student teachers. Phi Delta Kappan, 94(7), 38-43.

Marshall, K. (2005). It's Time to Rethink Teacher Supervision and Evaluation. Phi Delta Kappan, 86(10), 727.

Mombourquette, C. P., & Bedard, G. J. (2014). Principals' Perspectives on the Most Helpful District Leadership Practices in Supporting School-Based Leadership for Learning. International Studies In Educational Administration (Commonwealth Council For Educational Administration & Management (CCEAM)), 42(1), 61-73.

Ogbu, J. & Simons, H. (1998). Voluntary and involuntary minorities: A cultural-ecological theory of school performance with some implications for education. Anthropology and Education Quarterly, 29(2), 155-188.

Ornstein, A. (1995). Beyond effective teaching. Peabody Journal of Education, 70(2), 2-23.

Palandra, M. (2010). The role of instructional supervision in district-wide reform. International Journal of Leadership in Education, 13(2), 221-234.

Peck, C., Sears., & Donaldson, S. (2008). Unreached and unreachable: Curriculum standards and children’s understanding of ethnic diversity in Canada. Ontario Institute for Studies in Education of the University of Toronto Curriculum Inquiry, 38(1), 63-92.

Range, B. G., Duncan, H. E., Scherz, S., & Haines, C. A. (2012). School Leaders’ Perceptions About Incompetent Teachers: Implications for Supervision and Evaluation. NASSP Bulletin, 96(4), 302-322.

Shields, C. (2005). Hopscotch, jump-rope, or boxing: Understanding power in educational leadership. International Studies in Educational Administration, 33(2), 76-85.

Stanulis, R., Little, S., & Wibbens, E. (2012). Intensive Mentoring that Contributes to Change in Beginning Elementary Teachers' Learning to Lead Classroom Discussions. Teaching And Teacher Education: An International Journal Of Research And Studies, 28(1), 32-43.

Starratt, R. J. (2005). Responsible Leadership. Essays. The Educational Forum, 69(2), 124-133.

Sutton, P. S., & Shouse, A. W. (2016). Building a Culture of Collaboration in Schools. Phi Delta Kappan, 97(7), 69-73.

Wallin, D., & Newton, P. (2013). Instructional Leadership of the Rural Teaching Principal: Double the Trouble or Twice the Fun?. International Studies In Educational Administration (Commonwealth Council For Educational Administration & Management (CCEAM)), 41(2)

Webber, C. F., & Lupart, J. (2011). Leading Intercultural Inclusive Schools: An International Perspective. International Studies In Educational Administration (Commonwealth Council For Educational Administration & Management (CCEAM)), 39(1), 3-18.

Williams, H. S., & Johnson, T. L. (2013). Strategic leadership in schools. Education, 133(3), 350-355.

Ylimaki, R. M. (2012). Curriculum Leadership in a Conservative Era. Educational Administration Quarterly, 48(2), 304-346.


Research Tutorials

Literature Search Quickstart

A workbook and step-by-step guide to forming searches that translate well from your mind to the machine:


Covers the basics of locating and using ERIC on the EBSCO platform:

Exporting search results from ERIC to RefWorks


Google Scholar

Using Google Scholar as a UNB student in order to link results to the fulltext of journal articles and to export citations to RefWorks:

Document Delivery

How to submit a request for the full text (i.e., content) of articles to which UNB Libraries does not provide access. "Document delivered" articles are sent to you via email links.


RefWorks: Creating an account:
Read transcript

RefWorks: Creating and Populating Folders:
Read transcript

RefWorks: Importing references from UNB WorldCat:
Read transcript

RefWorks: sharing references using RefShare:
Read transcript

Write-N-Cite 4 for adding in-text citation from RefWorks to MS Word documents:


Searching for e-Books on Research Methods in Education:

EBSCO: Downloading e-books using Adobe Editions (applies to ebrary, too):

Forming a search using search operators

For those of you interested in learning more about how to break down a research question into its logical parts and put it back together in a manner that works well in ERIC on the EBSCO platform, have a look at the following document:

Find Articles

Databases listed below provide access to citations and often the full text of journal/magazine/other articles when UNB has an electronic subscription to the host or source publication. Where full text is not linked directly, there should be some facility (often denoted by the UNB sail logo) to "Check for Fulltext".

If you are unable to locate the item you are looking for at UNB, either in print or online, you can still submit a document delivery request.

Key Resources

    ERIC is a "bibliographic database that contains education-related documents and journal articles." The EBSCO interface also provides some full text linking.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Canadian Business and Current Affairs (CBCA) Education (ProQuest)
    Please note: CBCA Education is now searchable as part of the larger CBCA Complete collection. Canadian Business and Current Affairs (CBCA) Complete is the nation's largest and most comprehensive bibliographic full-text reference and current events database. Available through the ProQuest Web interface, CBCA Complete combines full text and indexed content from all four CBCA database subsets (Business, Current Events, Education, and Reference). Subject coverage is comprehensive and information is available from the broadest range of Canadian sources anywhere.
    NOTE: In certain instances ProQuest has decided to omit particular 'articles' from full-text access due to copyright restrictions or because the item has not met their criteria for being an 'article' (ie. too short, a letter, not attributed to an author, etc.).
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Academic Search Premier
    Academic Search Premier is a multidisciplinary resource that "provides journal coverage for most academic areas of study."
    Unlimited simultaneous users.

Additional Resources

  • PsycINFO
    PsycINFO is an abstracting and indexing database of more than 2000 journals (approximately 3.3 million records) devoted to peer-reviewed literature (journals, books and dissertations) in the behavioural sciences and mental health.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Dissertations & Theses (ProQuest PQDT: formerly Digital Dissertations)
    ProQuest Dissertations and Theses (formerly Digital Dissertations) "is the single, authoritative source for information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses. The database represents the work of authors from over 1,000 graduate schools and universities."
    All PhD dissertations and Master's theses from depositing universities are available from 1997 onwards, unless the document's author has requested a temporary delay.
    It is also possible to search within an interface exclusive to Dissertations & Theses @ University of New Brunswick.

    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Google Scholar
    Google Scholar searches a subset of the Web that Google has classified as "scholarly literature". They do not publish a list of chosen sites, and they do not state how often sites are checked. Some important sources are not covered at all. Thus, Google Scholar alone should not be relied on for comprehensive research.
    By accessing Google Scholar via the UNB Libraries website, you benefit from technology that lets on-campus and off-campus users connect directly to full-text articles in journals to which UNB subscribes. Just click on the blue Title link in the Google result list.
    Off-campus users can also set Scholar Preferences to show the "Check for fulltext @ UNB" link in search results. See "Scholar Preferences" at the Google Scholar site.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Children's Literature Comprehensive Database (CLCD)
    The Children's Literature Comprehensive Database contains a listing of over 900,000 children's books. Full-text reviews from a wide range of Children's literature journals are included from 1993 onwards. Major international awards, honours, and prizes are listed as well.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • CINAHL with Full Text (Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature)
    CINAHL with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive source of full text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 500 journals indexed in CINAHL. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index - with no embargo. With full-text coverage dating back to 1981, CINAHL with Full Text is the definitive research tool for all areas of nursing and allied health literature.
    Unlimited simultaneous users
  • Sociological Abstracts
    Sociological Abstracts "covers the world's literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behaviorial sciences."
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • SportDiscus
    SportDiscus is an international database that covers all aspects of "sport, fitness, recreation and related fields."
    8 simultaneous users.
  • Women's Studies International
    Covers the core disciplines in Women's/Gender Studies, including history, sociology, political science, public policy, international relations, humanities, business and education. ALso relevant to family violence research,nursing and other disciplines. Contains Women's Studies Abstracts, Women's Studies Bibliography Database and Women's Studies Librarian.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Canadian education index. Repertoire canadien sur l'education [HIL-REFAB L11 .C35]

    Textual holdings: v. 1 1970-v. 32 1997 (Publication ceased in 1997)


Reference Sources

Below is a small sample of the encyclopedias and handbooks available through UNB Libraries.

To find more, search UNB WorldCat on the Find Books tab in this guide and include, among your keywords, the term "encyclopedia" or "handbook" (e.g. search for handbooks on special education using terms such as: "special education handbook").  Limit by Format to "eBook" for web-available versions.

Key Resources

  • Blackwell guide to the philosophy of education, The
    Publisher's description: In this important survey, an international group of leading philosophers chart the development of philosophy of education in the twentieth century and point to significant questions for its future. Presents a definitive introduction to the core areas of philosophy of education. Contains 20 newly-commissioned articles, all of which are written by internationally distinguished scholars. Each chapter reviews a problem, examines the current state of the discipline with respect to the topic, and discusses possible futures of the field. Provides a solid foundation for further study.
    Unlimited simultaneous users
  • Blackwell Guide to the Philosophy of Education
    see also [HIL-REF LB14.7 .B57 2002]

    Philosophy of education has now established itself throughout the world as a theoretically significant and practically vital discipline. In this important survey, an international group of leading philosophers charts the development of the field in the twentieth century and points to important questions for its future.Each chapter has been written as a collaboration between authors in order to emphasize the diversity of thought, and where appropriate, the dissent and debate that is intrinsic to the field. The contributors explore social and cultural theories, politics and education, philosophy as education, teaching and curriculum, and ethics and upbringing. The Blackwell Guide to Philosophy of Education is state-of-the-art map to the field as well as a valuable reference book. Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

  • Curriculum Handbook: A Resource for Curriculum Administrators [HIL-REF LB2806.15 .C847 1999 vols. 1-2]
  • KI-ES-KI Handbook/Directory of Key Contacts in Canadian Education [HIL-RFDSK (ask at Research Help Desk) LB2890 .C36 2012]
  • Education and Technology: An Encyclopedia [HIL-REF LB1028.3 .E17 2004 vols. 1-2]

    A reference intended to help nonspecialists (parents, policymakers, professionals in other fields) understand how technology is being used in kindergarten through postsecondary education as well as in corporate and industrial training and distance education. The approximately 200 entries fall under seven major categories: foundations, implementation, issues, leaders, professional associations, projects, and research and theory. Co-editor Kovalchick directs the Center for Innovations in Technology for Learning, Ohio U., Athens; Dawson teaches educational technology at the U. of Florida, Gainesville. Annotation #169;2004 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com) Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

  • Educator's Desk Reference (EDR): A Sourcebook of Educational Information and Research
    see also [HIL-REF LB1028.27 .U6 F74 2002]

    This master guide facilitates educational research using both traditional and electronic sources.

  • Handbook of Education Policy Research [HIL-REF LC71 .H363 2009]

    Written for scholars and graduate students in education policy, as well as individuals in policy research, this handbook sponsored by the American Educational Research Association addresses the role that research can play in helping school administrators, governmental leaders, and higher-education policy makers in decision making, in addition to explaining the theoretical boundaries and methodological approaches used in K-12 and higher education policy research.

  • International Handbook of Educational Policy
    see also [HIL-REF LC71 .I492 2005 vols. 1-2]

    This Handbook presents contemporary and emergent trends in educational policy research, in over fifty chapters written by nearly ninety leading researchers from a number of countries. It is organized into five broad sections which capture many of the current dominant educational policy foci and at the same time situate current understandings historically, in terms of both how they are conceptualized and in terms of past policy practice.

  • International Handbook of Student Experience in Elementary & Secondary School
    see also [HIL-REF LC210 .I58 2007]

    The International Handbook of Student Experience in Elementary and Secondary School is the first handbook of its kind to be published. It brings together in a single volume the groundbreaking work of scholars who have conducted studies of student experiences of school in Afghanistan, Australia, Canada, England, Ghana, Ireland, Pakistan, and the United States. Drawing extensively on students' interpretations of their experiences in school as expressed in their own words, chapter authors offer insights into how students conceptualize and approach school, how students understand and address the ongoing social opportunities for and challenges in working with other students and teachers, and the multiple ways in which students shape and contribute to school improvement. The individual chapters are framed by an opening chapter, which provides background on, bases of, and trends in research on students' experiences of school, and a final chapter, which uses the interpretive framework translation provides to explore how researching students' experiences of school challenges those involved to translate the qualitative research methods they use, the terms they evoke to describe and define students' experiences of schools, and, in fact, themselves as researchers. Book jacket. Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

  • Multicultural Education: Issues and Perspectives [HIL-REF LC1099.3 .M85 2007]

Additional Resources

  • Oxford Reference
    Multi-part database of the online versions of Oxford University Press texts. Each topical division contains the searchable version of the latest edition of published dictionaries and encyclopedias. Additionally, information about Oxford University Press is provided. Online texts will be updated after new editions of the print monographs are published. Covers the humanities and social sciences.
    5 simultaneous users.
  • SAGE Handbook for Research in Education [HIL-REF LB1028 .S14 2006]

    This Handbook brings together leading academics in diverse fields within and outside of education, as well as quantitative, qualitative, and mixed method approaches, to provide an upto- date, advanced analysis of all relevant issues involved in educational research.

  • SAGE Handbook of Curriculum and Instruction
    see also [HIL-REF LB2806.15 .S24 2008]
    This edited work emerges from a concept of curriculum and instruction as a diverse landscape defined and bounded by schools, school boards and their communities, policy, teacher education, and academic research. The book is aimed at lecturers, professors and academics.
  • SAGE Handbook of e-Learning Research [HIL-REF LB1028.5 .S17 2007]

    This is the first text of its kind to address issues in the rapidly expanding area of e-learning. It covers fundamental research questions about the entire e-learning area. Many illustrative quotations and examples make the complex philosophical concepts accessible and practically relevant.

  • Educating the Global Workforce: Knowledge, Knowledge Work and Knowledge Workers
    see also [HIL-REF L101 .G8 Y4 2007]

    The 2007 edition of this respected international volume considers the challenges facing work related education arising from the rapid expansion of the global economy and the impact of this on labour markets and individual workers.

  • International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences (2nd Ed.)
    see also [HIL-REF H41 .I58 2001 vols. 1-26]
    Fully revised and updated, the second edition of the International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences, first published in 2001, offers a source of social and behavioral sciences reference material that is broader and deeper than any other. Available in both print and online editions, it comprises over 3,900 articles, commissioned by 71 Section Editors, and includes 90,000 bibliographic references as well as comprehensive name and subject indexes.

    UNB has online access to the 2001 edition as well as owning print volumes of the earlier edition.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.


Find Books


Search UNB WorldCat:     

Advanced Search | Locations Guide | Other Catalogues | Help/FAQ


Dissertations and theses

Dissertations and Theses (formerly Digital Dissertations) "is the single, authoritative source for information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses. The database represents the work of authors from over 1,000 graduate schools and universities." All PhD dissertations and Master's theses from depositing universities are available from 1997 onwards, unless the document's author has requested a temporary delay.

The Theses Canada Portal currently provides access to records from the National Library of Canada theses collection (from 1965), and access to fulltext for theses and dissertations submitted between 1998 and 2002.


Citing Your Sources


RefWorks is a freely available (to the UNB community) web-based citation management software. With RefWorks you can build, organize, and produce bibliographies according to your specifications. Learn more here:



More Information