ED*6902* Guide

Research Tutorials

Conducting and managing literature searches

The video series below reviews essential resources, services, and strategies available from UNB Libraires for conducting and managing literature searches.

Library online resources for coursework, series introduction:

https://vimeo.com/158528573

Locating UNB Libraries Resources:

Where you will find us on the web (though, technically, you already have):
https://youtu.be/48vV96IpmLc

ERIC

Covers the basics of locating and using ERIC on the EBSCO platform:
https://youtu.be/k-ma9DVy_YQ

Dissertations and Theses

Search and retrieval of PhD Dissertations and Masters Theses in full text:
https://youtu.be/XTnZQJ41rMQ

Google Scholar

Using Google Scholar as a UNB student in order to link results to the fulltext of journal articles and to export citations to Zotero:
https://youtu.be/o9MPPm8l2zo

eBooks

Locating and viewing eBooks in the UNB Libraries collection; includes downloading and installing the Adobe Digital Editions eBook reader:
https://youtu.be/HXkEgJX9Lz0

Document Delivery

How to submit a request for the full text (i.e., content) of articles to which UNB Libraries does not provide access. "Document delivered" articles are sent to you via email links.
https://youtu.be/etp_tDFdEiY

What is a Distance Education Librarian for, anyway?

A brief look at my support responsibilities with regards to your academic success:
https://youtu.be/Z9FI20FSpy4

Forming a search using search operators

For those of you interested in learning more about how to break down a research question into its logical parts and put it back together in a manner that works well in ERIC on the EBSCO platform, have a look at the following document:
http://lib.unb.ca/news/distance-education/files/2012/07/SearchStrategiesForClassroomDesign1.pdf

Find Articles

Databases listed below provide access to citations and often the full text of journal/magazine/other articles when UNB has an electronic subscription to the host or source publication. Where full text is not linked directly, there should be some facility (often denoted by the UNB sail logo) to "Check for Fulltext".

If you are unable to locate the item you are looking for at UNB, either in print or online, you can still submit a document delivery request.

Key Resources

  • ERIC - EBSCO
    ERIC is a "bibliographic database that contains education-related documents and journal articles." The EBSCO interface also provides some full text linking.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Academic Search Premier
    Academic Search Premier is a multidisciplinary resource that "provides journal coverage for most academic areas of study."
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Google Scholar
    Google Scholar searches a subset of the Web that Google has classified as "scholarly literature". They do not publish a list of chosen sites, and they do not state how often sites are checked. Some important sources are not covered at all. Thus, Google Scholar alone should not be relied on for comprehensive research.
    By accessing Google Scholar via the UNB Libraries website, you benefit from technology that lets on-campus and off-campus users connect directly to full-text articles in journals to which UNB subscribes. Just click on the blue Title link in the Google result list.
    Off-campus users can also set Scholar Preferences to show the "Check for fulltext @ UNB" link in search results. See "Scholar Preferences" at the Google Scholar site.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.

Additional Resources

  • Dissertations & Theses (ProQuest PQDT: formerly Digital Dissertations)
    ProQuest Dissertations and Theses (formerly Digital Dissertations) "is the single, authoritative source for information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses. The database represents the work of authors from over 1,000 graduate schools and universities."
    All PhD dissertations and Master's theses from depositing universities are available from 1997 onwards, unless the document's author has requested a temporary delay.
    It is also possible to search within an interface exclusive to Dissertations & Theses @ University of New Brunswick.

    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • PsycINFO
    PsycINFO is an abstracting and indexing database of more than 2000 journals (approximately 3.3 million records) devoted to peer-reviewed literature (journals, books and dissertations) in the behavioural sciences and mental health.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Canadian Business and Current Affairs (CBCA) Education (ProQuest)
    Please note: CBCA Education is now searchable as part of the larger CBCA Complete collection. Canadian Business and Current Affairs (CBCA) Complete is the nation's largest and most comprehensive bibliographic full-text reference and current events database. Available through the ProQuest Web interface, CBCA Complete combines full text and indexed content from all four CBCA database subsets (Business, Current Events, Education, and Reference). Subject coverage is comprehensive and information is available from the broadest range of Canadian sources anywhere.
    NOTE: In certain instances ProQuest has decided to omit particular 'articles' from full-text access due to copyright restrictions or because the item has not met their criteria for being an 'article' (ie. too short, a letter, not attributed to an author, etc.).
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Scopus
    Scopus, a new multidisciplinary online resource, will be invaluable to students and faculty in various fields of study within the sciences, health sciences and the social sciences. Scopus offers full-text linking, abstracting-and-indexing information and provides access to over 66 million abstracts dating back to 1966.
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • SpringerLink
    SpringerLINK service provides access to electronic journals in a variety of subjects, including "life sciences, chemical sciences, geosciences, computer science, mathematics, medicine, physics & astronomy, engineering, environmental sciences, law, and economics."
    [NOTE: pre-1996 Archival content now accessible when available]
    Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • CINAHL with Full Text (Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature)
    CINAHL with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive source of full text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 500 journals indexed in CINAHL. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index - with no embargo. With full-text coverage dating back to 1981, CINAHL with Full Text is the definitive research tool for all areas of nursing and allied health literature.
    Unlimited simultaneous users

Reference Sources

 

Key Resources

  • Blackwell Guide to the Philosophy of Education
    see also [HIL-REF LB14.7 .B57 2002]

    Philosophy of education has now established itself throughout the world as a theoretically significant and practically vital discipline. In this important survey, an international group of leading philosophers charts the development of the field in the twentieth century and points to important questions for its future.Each chapter has been written as a collaboration between authors in order to emphasize the diversity of thought, and where appropriate, the dissent and debate that is intrinsic to the field. The contributors explore social and cultural theories, politics and education, philosophy as education, teaching and curriculum, and ethics and upbringing. The Blackwell Guide to Philosophy of Education is state-of-the-art map to the field as well as a valuable reference book. Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

  • Doing your research project: a guide for first-time researchers in education, health and social science
  • Educator's Desk Reference (EDR): A Sourcebook of Educational Information and Research
    see also [HIL-REF LB1028.27 .U6 F74 2002]

    This master guide facilitates educational research using both traditional and electronic sources.

  • Encyclopedia of Curriculum Studies
    see also [HIL-REF LB2806.15 .E48 2010 v.1-2]

    Provides a comprehensive introduction to the academic field of curriculum studies for the scholar, student, teacher, and administrator by introducing terms, events, documents, biographies, and concepts.

  • Functional Approach to Educational Research Methods and Statistics : Qualitative, Quantitative, and Mixed Methods Approaches, A

    An engaging and informative text on educational research and statistics, this book tries to utilize outcomes of research for the benefit of humanity. The text examines how research is conducted across the major traditions of educational research (quantitative, qualitative, and mixed methods). It is designed for graduate students who want to pursue statistics, and it will help them to write their thesis. The book fulfills a need for a systematic account of research concepts and the use of statistics for advanced students. The fact is that research involves interrelated activities and educators practice research following a general sequence of procedures. This book is demarcated into sections that reflect each step in the process of doing a study.

  • Integrating Teaching, Learning, and Action Research : Enhancing Instruction in the K-12 Classroom

    Helping teachers engage K–12 students as participatory researchers to accomplish highly effective learning outcomes Integrating Teaching, Learning, and Action Research: Enhancing Instruction in the K–12 Classroom demonstrates how teachers can use action research as an integral component of teaching and learning. The text uses examples and lesson plans to demonstrate how student research processes can be incorporated into classroom lessons that are linked to standards.

  • Sage handbook of educational leadership: advances in theory, research, and practice, The
    see also [HIL-REF LB2805 .S262 2005]

    Thirty-seven academic practitioners and researchers from the U.S., Canada, and Argentina contribute 23 chapters to a resource text for professionals and graduate students in the field of educational leadership and administration. Coverage includes the many lenses that today's educational leaders must use to promote democratic leadership; organizational theory as it pertains to education; day-to- day management issues; the role of school law in the development of public education; educational politics and policy, and how to use policy to move schools in effective, equitable, and democratic directions; research problems and practices for developing theories of leadership; and day-to-day and micropolitical challenges facing school leaders. Annotation #169;2004 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com) Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

Additional Resources

  • Oxford English Dictionary (OED Online)
    "This unique and powerful resource offers unprecedented access to the definitive record of the meaning, history and evolution of more than 600,000 words over the last 1,500 years." A complete text of the 2nd. ed. of the Oxford English dictionary with quarterly updates, including revisions not available in any other form.
    5 simultaneous users.

Find Books

 

Search UNB WorldCat:     

Advanced Search | Locations Guide | Other Catalogues | Help/FAQ

 

Dissertations and theses

Dissertations and Theses (formerly Digital Dissertations) "is the single, authoritative source for information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses. The database represents the work of authors from over 1,000 graduate schools and universities." All PhD dissertations and Master's theses from depositing universities are available from 1997 onwards, unless the document's author has requested a temporary delay.

The Theses Canada Portal currently provides access to records from the National Library of Canada theses collection (from 1965), and access to fulltext for theses and dissertations submitted between 1998 and 2002.

Citing Your Sources

RefWorks

If you are still using RefWorks to track citations, you have ONLY until August 2017 to export your content before UNB cancels its subscription. Please consult our RefWorks guide for migrating your content.

 

Zotero for citation management

A software program that collects, manages, and cites research sources, Zotero is easy to use, works with your web browser where you do your work, and best of all it's free. With one click, Zotero will save web pages, books, PDFs, abstracts, and almost anything else with all its citation information. Learn more here:
https://lib.unb.ca/guides/view/index.php/683

 

Citations

Ask Us

Last modified on August 2, 2017 11:44