Ask Us History of Medicine Guide

Key Resources

• Historical Abstracts (EBSCO)
  "Historical Abstracts is an exceptional resource that covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more ... Provides indexing of more than 1,700 academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955."--Database information page.
  Unlimited simultaneous users.
• America: History and Life (EBSCO)
  "America: History & Life is the definitive index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With indexing for 1,700 journals from 1964 to present ... The database also includes citations and links to book and media reviews."--Database information page.
  Unlimited simultaneous users.
• JSTOR Current Collection
  In addition to being an archive, JSTOR offers current access to a range of titles from various publishers. UNB has access to current and archival content for almost 50 of these journals.
  Unlimited simultaneous users.
• Periodicals Archive Online (PAO - ProQuest)
  "Periodicals Archive Online is a major online periodical archive that makes the backfiles of periodicals in the humanities and social sciences available electronically, providing access to the full text of a growing number of digitized periodicals that have been indexed in its sister database, Periodicals Index Online."--About page.
  Unlimited simultaneous users.
• Iter - Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance
  A bibliography covering the period 400-1700. Citations are drawn from journals, books, conference proceedings, festschriften, encyclopedias and exhibition catalogues.
  Unlimited simultaneous users.
• Scopus
  Scopus, a multidisciplinary online resource, will be invaluable to students and faculty in various fields of study within the sciences, health sciences and the social sciences. Scopus offers full-text linking, abstracting-and-indexing information including peer-reviewed titles from international publishers, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, quality web sources.
  Unlimited simultaneous users.
• Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)
  Academic Search Premier is a multidisciplinary resource that "provides journal coverage for most academic areas of studies."
  Unlimited simultaneous users.
• PubMed Central (Open Access)
  PubMed Central "is a digital archive of life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health (NIH), developed and managed by NIH's National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) in the National Library of Medicine (NLM)."
  Some titles in the collection offer only partial Open Access.
  Unlimited simulataneous users.

• 17th and 18th century Burney newspapers collection (Gale)
  "The newspapers, pamphlets, and books gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757-1817) represent the largest and most comprehensive collection of early English news media. The present digital collection, that helps chart the development of the concept of 'news' and 'newspapers' and the "free press", totals almost 1 million pages and contains approximately 1,270 titles. Many of the Burney newspapers are well known, but many pamphlets and broadsides also included have remained largely hidden. These treasures can now be searched, browsed and discovered again within Gale Digital Collections."
  Unlimited simultaneous users.
• 17th and 18th century Nichols newspapers collection (Gale)
  "The 17th and 18th Century Nichols Newspapers Collection features the newspapers, periodicals, pamphlets and broadsheets that form the Nichols newspaper collection held at the Bodleian library in Oxford, UK. All 296 volumes of bound material, covering the period 1672-1737 are presented in digitized format here.
  
  This collection charts the history of the development of the press in England and provides invaluable insight into 17th-18th century England."
  Unlimited simultaneous users.
• American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection (EBSCO)
  The American Antiquarian Society Historical Periodicals provides information on the life of America's people from the Colonial Era through the Civil War and Reconstruction (1684-1912). This e-resource includes digitized images of American magazines, journals, and monographs not available from any other source and provide rich content detailing American history and culture from the mid-18th century through the late-19th century. These specialized collections cover advertising, health, women's issues, science, the history of slavery, industry and professions, religious issues, culture and the arts, and more.
  Unlimited simultaneous users.
• Archives Unbound
  Archives Unbound presents topically-focused digital collections of historical documents that support the research and study needs of scholars and students at the college and university level. Collections in Archives Unbound cover a broad range of topics from the Middle Ages forward-from Witchcraft to World War II to twentieth-century political history. Collections are chosen for Archives Unbound based on requests from scholars, archivists, and students.
  
  UNB has access to 14 archives:
  

  1. 19th Century English-Language Journals of the Far East | UNBWorldCat: 794778563
  2. American Indian Movement and Native American Radicalism | UNBWorldCat: 551797520
  3. Civil War Service Reports of Union Army Generals | UNBWorldCat: 750590961
  4. Feminism in Cuba: Nineteenth through Twentieth Century Archival Documents | UNBWorldCat: 551797483
  5. German Anti-Semitic Propaganda, 1909-1941 | UNBWorldCat: 860713307
  6. German Folklore and Popular Culture: Das Kloster (Scheible) | UNBWorldCat: 707935863
  7. German Foreign Relations and Military Activities in China, 1919-1935 | UNBWorldCat: 849493401
  8. Homophile Movement: Papers of Donald Stewart Lucas, 1941-1976 | UNBWorldCat: 803998549
  9. Minutes of the Shanghai Municipal Council | UNBWorldCat: 822057416
  10. Russian Civil War and American Expeditionary Forces in Siberia, 1918-20 | UNBWorldCat: 881829856
  11. SAFEHAVEN Reports on Nazi Looting of Occupied Countries and Assets in Neutral Countries | UNBWorldCat: 773624052
  12. Tiananmen Square and U.S.-China relations, 1989-1993 | UNBWorldCat: 611152344
  13. War of 1812: Diplomacy on the High Seas | UNBWorldCat: 793100869
  14. "We Were Prepared for the Possibility of Death": Freedom Riders in the South, 1961 | UNBWorldCat: 704290642

  
  Unlimited simultaneous users.
• British and Irish Women's Letters and Diaries
  British and Irish Women’s Letters and Diaries spans more than 400 years of personal writings, bringing together the voices of women from England, Scotland, Ireland, and Wales. This database allows researchers to view history in the context of women’s thoughts – their struggles, achievements, passions, pursuits, and desires.
  Unlimited simultaneous users.
• China: Trade, Politics and Culture, 1793-1980 (Adam Matthew Digital)
  This project provides a wide variety of original source material detailing China's interaction with the West from Macartney's first Embassy to China in 1793, through to the Nixon/Heath visits to China in 1972-74.
  Unlimited simultaneous users.
• Defining Gender, 1450-1910 (Adam Matthew Digital)
  Defining Gender is structured in five sections, each containing a substantial body of original source material, together with thematic essays by leading scholars in the field. The thematic essays introduce students to the material, suggest possible approaches, and place the documents within a broad historical, literary and cultural context. The sources all have distinct URLs and can be readily integrated into course packs or projected in the classroom.
  Unlimited simultaneous users.
• Early Canadiana Online (ECO)
  Early Canadiana Online (ECO) is a full text online collection of more than 3,000 books and pamphlets documenting Canadian history from the first European contact to the late 19th century.
  Unlimited simultaneous users.
• Early Encounters in North America
  Early Encounters in North America documents the relationships among peoples in North America from 1534 to 1850. The collection focuses on personal accounts and provides unique perspectives from all of the protagonists, including traders, slaves, missionaries, explorers, soldiers, native peoples, and officials, both men and women.
  Unlimited simultaneous users.
• Early English Books Online (EEBO via ProQuest)

  EEBO is based on the microfilm collections curated by the Ann Arbor publisher Eugene B. Power (1905-1993). The founder of what became University Microfilms International or UMI, Power’s first foreign project established the microfilming operation at the British Museum in 1942 and, since then, more than 200 libraries worldwide have contributed to the microfilm collection.

  Following its digital launch in 1998, Early English Books Online now contains page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America, as well as works in English printed elsewhere between 1473 and 1700.
  Unlimited simultaneous users.

• Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO)
  A comprehensive digital edition of The Eighteenth Century microfilm set, which has aimed to include every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in the United Kingdom, along with thousands of important works from the Americas, between 1701 and 1800. Consists of books, pamphlets, broadsides, ephemera. Subject categories include history and geography; fine arts and social sciences; medicine, science, and technology; literature and language; religion and philosophy; law; general reference. Also included are significant collections of women writers of the eighteenth century, collections on the French Revolution, and numerous eighteenth-century editions of the works of Shakespeare. Where they add scholarly value or contain important differences, multiple editions of each individual work are offered. Allows searching Early English Books Online as an option.
  Unlimited simultaneous users.
• Eighteenth Century Journals (Adam Matthew Digital)
  Portal to newspapers and periodicals c1685-1815 offers integrated access to the Hope Collection at the Bodleian Library, Oxford (Eighteenth Century Journals I) and the Harry Ransom Humanities Research Center University of Texas (Eighteenth Century Journals II). It brings together rare journals printed between c1685 and 1815, illuminating all aspects of eighteenth-century social, political and literary life. Topics include: the writings of Sir Isaac Newton; the French Revolution; reviews of literature, the theater, and fashion throughout Europe; the origins and rise of Romanticism; political debates; gender, religion, influence of the press, and coffee house gossip and discussion.
  Unlimited simultaneous users.
• Empire Online (Adam Matthew Digital)
  Empire Online features a wide variety of material including: Exploration journals and logs; Letter books and correspondence; Periodicals; Diaries; Official Government Papers; Missionary papers; Travel writing; Slave papers; Memoirs; Fiction; Children's Adventure Stories; Traditional; folk tales; Exhibition Catalogues and guides; Maps; Marketing Posters; Photographs; and Illustrations, with many in colour. The project is divided into five sections covering varying aspects of the colonial experience. These are: Section I: Cultural Contact, 1492-1969, Section II: Literature and Empire, Section III: The Visible Empire, Section IV: Religion and Empire.
  Unlimited simultaneous users.
• Frontier Life: Borderlands, Settlement & Colonial Encounters (Adam Matthew Digital)
  "Frontier Life provides over 240,000 Images and 7,895 Documents pertaining to the Frontiers of North America, Africa and Australasia. This collection has a wealth of primary source documents including 68% of the collections dedicated to North America, and 20% of that material specific to Canada. There are more than 1,015 documents from the Glenbow Museum and Hudson Bay’s Archive.
  
  The collection deals with some of the major themes of frontier existence including: Settlement development, Law and order, Violence, Expeditions and exploration, Relations with indigenous peoples, Trade and commerce, Death and disease, Missionaries and religion, Women’s history, Military matters, Mining, Religion, Gold rushes, Settler governance, Contested boundaries, Agriculture and livestock."
  Unlimited simultaneous users.
• U.K. Parliamentary Papers (ProQuest)
  U.K. Parliamentary Papers via ProQuest offers a comprehensive collection of primary sources for the 18th, 19th and 20th century, for Britain, its colonies and the wider world. Included are the following Paper Series:
  

  • Bills and Acts 1695-2018
  • Command Papers 1802-2018
  • House of Commons Papers 1715-2018
  • House of Lords Papers 1714-1909
  • Hansard 1803-2005
  • Journals 1688-1834
  • Debates 1774-1805
  • Histories and Proceedings 1660-1743

  
  Unlimited simultaneous users.
• Loyalist Collection (Harriet Irving Library)
  The Harriet Irving Library at the University of New Brunswick in Fredericton, New Brunswick, Canada, is a unique repository of Loyalist resources, on microfilm, of British, North American Colonial, and early Canadian primary sources from approximately 1740-1870. The chief focus is Colonial America, the American Revolution, and the early years of Loyalist settlement in British North America. This special Loyalist Collection contains over 3400 reels of microfilm and 700 microfiche. It is largely unindexed and contains only original sources. Includes Church Records, Family Records, Military Records, Public Records, and Special Collections. In addition, there are numerous finding aids listed to records in the Collection, with bibliographic citations and/or urls where appropriate. This could be considered a library catalog or a bibliography. For genealogists: Family Records often contain a biography of the Loyalist.
  Unlimited simultaneous users.
• Medieval Travel Writing (Adam Matthew Digital)
  Provides an extensive collection of manuscript materials for the study of medieval travel writing. The core is a collection of medieval manuscripts dating from the 13th to the 16th centuries. The main focus is accounts of journeys to the Holy Land, India and China. The manuscripts are from the British Library; Bodleian Library; Bibliothèque nationale de France; Cambridge University Library; Trinity College, Cambridge; Universitätsbibliothek Heidelberg; Staatsbibliothek zu Berlin, Österreichische Nationalbibliothek; Stiftsbibliothek St. Gallen; the Beinecke Library at Yale University and about 15 other Libraries and Archives.
  Unlimited simultaneous users.
• Nineteenth Century Collections Online (NCCO eBooks)
  Nineteenth Century Collections Online is a digitization and publishing program focusing on primary source collections of the long nineteenth century. The program includes a variety of content types--monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, statistics, and more--and unites them in one central, cross-searchable location. 12 collections are now available:
  
  Individual titles in these collections are available for discovery in our eBooks search or in UNBWorldCat:
  • Asia and the West: Diplomacy and Cultural Exchange
  • British Politics and Society
  • British Theatre, Music, and Literature: High and Popular Culture
  • Children's Literature and Childhood
  • European Literature, 1790-1840: The Corvey Collection
  • Mapping the World: Maps and Travel Literature
  • Religion, Society, Spirituality, and Reform
  • Science, Technology, and Medicine: 1780-1925, Part II
  
  Individual titles in these collections can only be discoverd in the NCCO site:
  • Europe and Africa: Commerce, Christianity, Civilization, and Conquest
  • Photography: The World through the Lens
  • Science, Technology, and Medicine: 1780-1925, Part I
  • Women: Transnational Networks
  
  Unlimited simultaneous users.
• North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries and Oral Histories
  North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries and Oral Histories provides personal experiences of immigrants and insights into labor history, American and world history in general, women's and ethnic studies, and a wide range of related disciplines.
  Unlimited simultaneous users.
• North American Indian Thought and Culture
  This database is comprised of full-text materials that span the entire history of North America; from first encounters involving Native Americans and European colonists to the stories of aboriginals living in a 21st century world. Included are biographies, autobiographies, personal narratives, speeches, diaries, letters, and oral histories.
  Unlimited simultaneous users.
• North American Women's Letters and Diaries
  North American Women's Letters and Diaries indexes American and Canadian women's diaries and correspondence over centuries. Researchers will have access to immediate experiences of 1,325 women.
  Unlimited simultaneous users.
• Oral History Online
  The database indexes collections of oral history in English from around the world. Some full-text material is contained in the database; there are links to other material, textual as well as audio and video, available on other web sites. Both full-text and bibliographic searching are provided.
  Unlimited simultaneous users.
• ProQuest Historical Newspapers
  ProQuest Historical Newspapers offers full-text and full-image articles for newspapers dating back to the 19th century. As part of the ProQuest Historical Newspapers program, every issue of each title includes the complete paper, cover-to-cover, with full-page and article images in downloadable PDF. Includes The New York Times (1851-2007), The Wall Street Journal (1889-1993), and Washington Post (1877-1994).
  Unlimited simultaneous users.
• Slavery, Abolition and Social Justice, 1490-2007 (Adam Matthew Digital)
  This digital collection documents key aspects of the history of slavery worldwide over six centuries. Topics covered include the African Coast, the Middle Passage, the varieties of slave experience, religion, revolts, abolition, and legislation. The collection also includes case studies from America, the Caribbean, Brazil, and Cuba.
  Unlimited simultaneous users.
• Times Digital Archives (Gale)
  The Times Digital Archive allows users to search and view online The Times (London) newspaper from 1785-1985.
  NOTE: The Times is not published on Sunday, and the The Sunday Times, a distinct newspaper, is not included in this database.
  Unlimited simultaneous users.
• Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000 (Basic Edition)
  Women and Social Movements in the United States serves as a resource for students and scholars of U.S. history and U.S. women's history. It provides learning modules in the form of mini-monographs, each of which is organized around a specific question about a single social movement.
  Unlimited simultaneous users.