-
Ancestry Library (ProQuest)
Ancestry Library Edition is a new genealogy research tool created for the library market and provides patrons instant access to a wide range of unique resources for genealogical and historical research. With more then 1.5 billion names in over 4,000 databases, Ancestry Library Edition includes records from the United States Census; military records; court, land and probate records; vital and church records; directories; passenger lists and more! These collections are continuously expanding, with new content added every business day.
Note: The Library Edition does not include some of the personalization features available in the private version.
Helpful Links
~ Tracing Your Canadian Roots in Ancestry Library Edition webinar
~ Proquest's Library Ancestry Edition Subject Guide
~ Next Level Canadian Ancestry Investigation webinar
Subscribed multi-user unlimited access
-
Archives Unbound
-
ARTstor
Artstor is a repository of approximately 300 collections composed of over 2.5 million digital images (and growing), related data and provides tools to actively use those images in a restricted usage environment that balances the rights of the content providers and the needs of the users. The images are drawn from different sources, such as museums, archaeological teams, photo archives, slide collections, and art reference publishers.
Scholars can examine wide-ranging material such as Native American art from the Smithsonian, treasures from the Louvre, and panoramic, 360-degree views of the Hagia Sophia in a single, easy-to-use resource. The artistic traditions across many cultures embraces architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, and design as well as many other forms of visual culture.
-
British and Irish women's letters and diaries, from 1500-1900 (Alexander St. Press)
British and Irish Women’s Letters and Diaries spans more than 400 years of personal writings, bringing together the voices of women from England, Scotland, Ireland, and Wales. This database allows researchers to view history in the context of women’s thoughts – their struggles, achievements, passions, pursuits, and desires.
-
British Library newspapers - Part I & IV (Gale)
"Sourced from the extensive holdings of the British Library, British Library Newspapers delivers a wide range of irreplaceable local and regional voices to reflect the social, political, and cultural events of the eighteenth, nineteenth, and twentieth centuries. With more than 160 newspaper titles, the series is comprised of approximately 5.5 million pages of historic content, from articles to advertisements.
UNB Libraries provides access to:Part I: 1800-1900
Ranging from early tabloids like the Illustrated Police News to radical papers like the Chartist Northern Star, publications in Part I span a vast range of national, regional, and local interests.
Part IV: 1732-1950From key early newspaper titles like the Stamford Mercury to what is possibly the oldest magazine in the world still in publication, the Scots Magazine, Part IV offers key local and regional perspectives."
Purchased multi-user unlimited access
-
China, trade, politics & culture, 1793-1980 : sources from the School of Oriental and African Studies and the British Library, London (Adam Matthew Digital)
This project provides a wide variety of original source material detailing China's interaction with the West from Macartney's first Embassy to China in 1793, through to the Nixon/Heath visits to China in 1972-74.
-
Defining Gender, 1450-1910 (Adam Matthew Digital)
Defining Gender is structured in five sections, each containing a substantial body of original source material, together with thematic essays by leading scholars in the field. The thematic essays introduce students to the material, suggest possible approaches, and place the documents within a broad historical, literary and cultural context. The sources all have distinct URLs and can be readily integrated into course packs or projected in the classroom.
-
Early English Books Online (EEBO via ProQuest)
EEBO is based on the microfilm collections curated by the Ann Arbor publisher Eugene B. Power (1905-1993). The founder of what became University Microfilms International or UMI, Power’s first foreign project established the microfilming operation at the British Museum in 1942 and, since then, more than 200 libraries worldwide have contributed to the microfilm collection.
Following its digital launch in 1998, Early English Books Online now contains page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America, as well as works in English printed elsewhere between 1473 and 1700.
-
Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO)
A comprehensive digital edition of The Eighteenth Century microfilm set, which has aimed to include every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in the United Kingdom, along with thousands of important works from the Americas, between 1701 and 1800. Consists of books, pamphlets, broadsides, ephemera. Subject categories include history and geography; fine arts and social sciences; medicine, science, and technology; literature and language; religion and philosophy; law; general reference. Also included are significant collections of women writers of the eighteenth century, collections on the French Revolution, and numerous eighteenth-century editions of the works of Shakespeare. Where they add scholarly value or contain important differences, multiple editions of each individual work are offered. Allows searching Early English Books Online as an option.
-
Eighteenth Century Journals (Adam Matthew Digital)
Portal to newspapers and periodicals c1685-1815 offers integrated access to the Hope Collection at the Bodleian Library, Oxford (Eighteenth Century Journals I) and the Harry Ransom Humanities Research Center University of Texas (Eighteenth Century Journals II). It brings together rare journals printed between c1685 and 1815, illuminating all aspects of eighteenth-century social, political and literary life. Topics include: the writings of Sir Isaac Newton; the French Revolution; reviews of literature, the theater, and fashion throughout Europe; the origins and rise of Romanticism; political debates; gender, religion, influence of the press, and coffee house gossip and discussion.
-
Empire Online (Adam Matthew Digital)
Empire Online features a wide variety of material including: Exploration journals and logs; Letter books and correspondence; Periodicals; Diaries; Official Government Papers; Missionary papers; Travel writing; Slave papers; Memoirs; Fiction; Children's Adventure Stories; Traditional; folk tales; Exhibition Catalogues and guides; Maps; Marketing Posters; Photographs; and Illustrations, with many in colour.The project is divided into five sections covering varying aspects of the colonial experience. These are: Section I: Cultural Contact, 1492-1969, Section II: Literature and Empire, Section III: The Visible Empire, Section IV: Religion and Empire.
-
Films on Demand
UNB Libraries subscribes to the Master Academic Collection, along with access to FMG Archival Films & Newsreels Collection and the Entertainment Collection. Includes 42,000+ full-length videos and over 323,000 video segments licensed for use in Canada, covering a broad range of subjects including business, social sciences, education, health and medicine, humanities, sciences, and guidance, and including archival films and newsreels.
UNB subscribed CollectionsThe Master Academic Collection (over 35,000 titles)
The FM Archival Films & Newsreels (5,000+ titles)
Entertainment Collection (500+ titles)
-
Halsbury's Laws of England
Halsbury's Laws is a comprehensive and authoritative encyclopedia of the law of England and Wales, arranged in an alphabetical scheme of over 160 subjects. Within each subject, reference is made to pertinent legislation and case law. Other components of the service include Halsbury's Is it in Force?, Halsbury's SI Citator, and Halsbury's Statutes Citator.
-
HeinOnline - English Reports, Full Reprint (1220-1867)
Electronic version of the original bound reprint edition published by Stevens & Sons, 1900-1932. Includes the Index of Cases and the Index Chart. Like the print version, the electronic version includes the Statutes of the Realm (1235-1713). Using the case locator, researchers can search for cases by English Reports citation, nominative citation, case name, or keyword. The Chart Tool can be a convenient way to locate nominative volumes. Advanced search options are also available.
-
JustisOne
The resources previously available through Justis and JustCite are now available through JustisOne. JustisOne provides access to all UK statutes dating back to 1235. The full text of legislation, including repealed legislation, is provided as originally enacted with references to amending legislation. Legislation is formatted to resemble the original printed documents, including side notes. UK statutory instruments back to 1671 are also included. UNB's subscription includes access to the full-text of reported and unreported civil and criminal judgments from England and Wales (coverage varies). JustisOne incorporates features from JustCite, a citator service that cross-references case law and legislation from a number of jurisdictions, including Canada.
-
Loyalist Collection (Harriet Irving Library)
The Harriet Irving Library at the University of New Brunswick in Fredericton, New Brunswick, Canada, is a unique repository of Loyalist resources, on microfilm, of British, North American Colonial, and early Canadian primary sources from approximately 1740-1870. The chief focus is Colonial America, the American Revolution, and the early years of Loyalist settlement in British North America. This special Loyalist Collection contains over 3400 reels of microfilm and 700 microfiche. It is largely unindexed and contains only original sources. Includes Church Records, Family Records, Military Records, Public Records, and Special Collections. In addition, there are numerous finding aids listed to records in the Collection, with bibliographic citations and/or urls where appropriate. This could be considered a library catalog or a bibliography. For genealogists: Family Records often contain a biography of the Loyalist.
-
Making of Modern Law: Legal Treatises, 1800-1926 (Gale)
Provides access to more than 21,800 British and American legal titles from the 19th and early 20th centuries. Content types include casebooks, local practice manuals, form books, pamphlets, letters, and speeches and cover a wide range of subject areas. Basic and advanced searching is available.
-
Making of the Modern World: Part I & Part II (Gale)
"The Making of the Modern World is an extraordinary series which covers the history of Western trade, encompassing the coal, iron, and steel industries, the railway industry, the cotton industry, banking and finance, and the emergence of the modern corporation."UNB Libraries provides access to:Part I, The Goldsmiths'-Kress Collection, 1450-1850Offers ways of understanding the expansion of world trade, the Industrial Revolution, and the development of modern capitalism, supporting research in variety of disciplines. Users have access to an abundance of rare books and primary source materials, many of which are the only known copy of the work.Part II, 1851-1914Takes The Making of the Modern World series to the end of the nineteenth century. Comprised mainly of primary source documents such as monographs, reports, correspondence, speeches, and surveys, this collection broadens Gale’s international coverage of social, economic, and business history, as well as political science, technology, industrialisation, and the birth of the modern corporation."
Purchased multi-user unlimited access
-
Mass Observation Online (Adam Matthew Digital)
Mass observation online provides access to original manuscript and typescript papers created and collected by the Mass-Observation organisation in Great Britain between 1937 and 1972. The material is held by the Special Collections Library, University of Sussex. Mass observation online offers access to archival material for the study of British social history. The material covers: The end of the ‘Hungry Thirties’ when the impact of the Depression was still being felt; The onset of war, the Blitz and war on the home front; The post war world, with the rise of consumerism and television.
Subscribed multi-user unlimited access | 1937-1972
-
Medieval Travel Writing (Adam Matthew Digital)
Provides an extensive collection of manuscript materials for the study of medieval travel writing. The core is a collection of medieval manuscripts dating from the 13th to the 16th centuries. The main focus is accounts of journeys to the Holy Land, India and China. The manuscripts are from the British Library; Bodleian Library; Bibliothèque nationale de France; Cambridge University Library; Trinity College, Cambridge; Universitätsbibliothek Heidelberg; Staatsbibliothek zu Berlin, Österreichische Nationalbibliothek; Stiftsbibliothek St. Gallen; the Beinecke Library at Yale University and about 15 other Libraries and Archives.
-
Nineteenth century collections online (NCCO)
Nineteenth Century Collections Online is a digitization and publishing program focusing on primary source collections of the long nineteenth century. The program includes a variety of content types--monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, statistics, and more--and unites them in one central, cross-searchable location. 12 collections are now available:
Individual titles in these collections are available for discovery in our
eBooks search or in
UNBWorldCat:
•
Asia and the West: Diplomacy and Cultural Exchange•
British Politics and Society•
British Theatre, Music, and Literature: High and Popular Culture•
Children's Literature and Childhood•
European Literature, 1790-1840: The Corvey Collection•
Mapping the World: Maps and Travel Literature•
Religion, Society, Spirituality, and Reform•
Science, Technology, and Medicine: 1780-1925, Part IIIndividual titles in these collections can only be discoverd in the NCCO site:
•
Europe and Africa: Commerce, Christianity, Civilization, and Conquest•
Photography: The World through the Lens•
Science, Technology, and Medicine: 1780-1925, Part I•
Women: Transnational Networks
-
Parliament Rolls of Medieval England (PROME)
Contains full text and translation of the meetings of the English parliaments from Edward I to Henry VII, covering the years from 1275 to 1504.
-
Past Masters (Intelex)
InteLex Past Masters is comprised of 100+ full-text humanities and sciences databases that make available cohesive collections of editions, in both original language and in English translation, of seminal figures in the humanities and sciences.
-
Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection
A digital collection of current and historical maps, from the Perry-Castaneda Library at the University of Texas at Austin. The online collection features images of over 5700 maps from the Perry-Castaneda Library, as well as extensive links to other map-related sites.
Open Access | 1896 - present
-
Slavery, Abolition and Social Justice, 1490-2007 (Adam Matthew Digital)
This digital collection documents key aspects of the history of slavery worldwide over six centuries. Topics covered include the African Coast, the Middle Passage, the varieties of slave experience, religion, revolts, abolition, and legislation. The collection also includes case studies from America, the Caribbean, Brazil, and Cuba.
-
Slavery & anti-slavery : a transnational archive. Part I, Debates over slavery and abolition (Gale)
Slavery and Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive is devoted to the study and understanding of the history of slavery in America and the rest of the world from the 17th century to the late 19th century. Archival collections were sourced from more than 60 libraries at institutions such as the Amistad Research Center, Bibliothèque nationale de France, the National Archives, Oberlin College, Oxford University, the Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture, and Yale University; these collections allow for unparalleled depth and breadth of content.
Part I: Debates over Slavery and Abolition sheds light on the abolitionist movement, the conflicts within it, the anti- and pro-slavery arguments of the period, and the debates on the subject of colonization. It explores all facets of the controversial topic, with a focus on economic, gender, legal, religious, and government issues.
Purchased multi-user unlimited access | Part I, Debates over slavery and abolition
-
Times Digital Archives (Gale)
The Times Digital Archive allows users to search and view online The Times (London) newspaper from 1785-1985.
NOTE: The Times is not published on Sunday, and the The Sunday Times, a distinct newspaper, is not included in this database.
-
U.K. Parliamentary Papers (ProQuest)
U.K. Parliamentary Papers via ProQuest offers a comprehensive collection of primary sources for the 18th, 19th and 20th century, for Britain, its colonies and the wider world. Included are the following Paper Series:
- Bills and Acts 1695-2018
- Command Papers 1802-2018
- House of Commons Papers 1715-2018
- House of Lords Papers 1714-1909
- Hansard 1803-2005
- Journals 1688-1834
- Debates 1774-1805
- Histories and Proceedings 1660-1743
-
Wiley Digital Archives - Royal College of Physicians
The Royal College of Physicians of London (RCP) covers the history of medicine, medical humanities, medicine and culture, religion, and government, the establishment of public health systems, and the policies governing medical education and practice from 1205 to 1980. It contains monographs, rare books, manuscripts, correspondence, reports, conference papers, medical reports, medical education textbooks, proceedings, lectures, anatomical drawings, public health surveys, photographs, drawings, data and ephemera—all presented as fully searchable digital images that can be analyzed, downloaded, manipulated, and compared with content from other societies and universities in the Wiley Digital Archives program.
Purchased multi-user unlimited access | Primary sources from 1205-1980
-
17th and 18th century Burney newspapers collection (Gale)
"The newspapers, pamphlets, and books gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757-1817) represent the largest and most comprehensive collection of early English news media. The present digital collection, that helps chart the development of the concept of 'news' and 'newspapers' and the "free press", totals almost 1 million pages and contains approximately 1,270 titles. Many of the Burney newspapers are well known, but many pamphlets and broadsides also included have remained largely hidden. These treasures can now be searched, browsed and discovered again within Gale Digital Collections."
Purchased multi-user unlimited access
-
17th and 18th century Nichols newspapers collection (Gale)
"The 17th and 18th Century Nichols Newspapers Collection features the newspapers, periodicals, pamphlets and broadsheets that form the Nichols newspaper collection held at the Bodleian library in Oxford, UK. All 296 volumes of bound material, covering the period 1672-1737 are presented in digitized format here.
This collection charts the history of the development of the press in England and provides invaluable insight into 17th-18th century England."
Purchased multi-user unlimited access
