ADM 4355 - Global Marketing (FR) Guide Ask Us

Country Profiles

UNB-Subscribed Resources

• Passport GMID (Euromonitor)
  Select "Economies" from the blue navigation ribbon at the top of the screen.
• Business Source Ultimate
  Type Country into Search Box and select "Country Report" under Publication Type. 
• Statista
  Type your Country into the Search box for country reports and statistics.
• ABI Inform Complete
  Under the "Browse" tab, select from the report providers listed under "Country Reports" ABI contains the following country profiles/data:
  • Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU) Country Finance/Forecast Reports
  • Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU) Country Data
  • Business Monitor International (BMI) Country Risk Reports
• OECD iLibrary
  An excellent online collection of books, papers and statistics published by the Organization for Economic Co-operation & Development (OECD). Using their blue navigation bar, browse by Country, Theme, or both.
• Mergent Online
  Select country from drop-down menu in lower right section of Mergent search screen.
• First Research Industry Profiles (Mergent Intellect)
  First Research offers 1000 U.S and Canadian industry profiles plus State/Provincial and Country profiles that are essential for discovering key issues.
• Europa World Year Book (Print)
  JN1 .E85 HIL-REFDSK (Current print edition is available at the HIL Research Help Desk - Harriet Irving Library)

Free Internet Resources

• Country Insights
  Offers demographic and cultural information from FAITC's Centre for Intercultural Learning.
• Country Info - Export Development Canada
  Select a country or region and discover key information courtesy of Export Development Canada(EDC).
• Country Commercial Guides: U.S. Department of State
  Country Commercial Guides (CCGs) are prepared annually by U.S. embassies with the assistance of several U.S. government agencies. These reports present a comprehensive look at countries' commercial environments, using economic, political and market analysis.
• GlobalEDGE - By Country
  Courtesy of the Center for International Business Education and Research at Michigan State University. Offers global insights by Trade Bloc, Country, State (U.S.) and Industry.
• CIA - The World Factbook
  Online publication of the U.S. Central Intelligence Agency. Provides 267 country profiles on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues.  Also contains maps of the major world regions and flags of the world.
• World Bank Group - Countries
  Click the “Countries” tab on the navigation bar and choose a country. The World Bank site also contains some excellent economic reports and development information.
• Organization for Economic Co-operation & Development (OECD) - Countries
  Click the "Countries" tab on the navigation bar and choose from the alphabetical listing of OECD member country profiles; the site also includes information from non-member countries.
• Eldis - Country & Region Profiles
  Courtesy of the Institute of Development Studies, Sussex UK.  Contains country and regional profiles.  The "Topics" tab also contains useful dossiers and resource guides covering a wide variety of development issues. 
• BBC News - Country Profiles
  Courtesy of the British Broadcasting Corporation. Provides background information and current news about individual countries and regions.
• International Monetary Fund - Country Information
  Offers IMF reports and publications arranged by country.

Industry Reports

UNB-Subscribed Resources

• Passport GMID
  UNB-subscribed database. A quality international market research database containing business intelligence and reports across key industries, companies, markets, and consumer-oriented industries in more than 200 categories for 80 countries. Particularly useful for the retail, food, drink, apparel, automotive, health, appliances, electronics, toys, travel, and personal care products industries.

• Statista
  UNB-subscribed database. Statista is a statistics portal that provides business, marketing, demographic, and economic data on 80,000+ topics from over 18,000 sources. Statista has an international focus and the site combines government data that is freely available with proprietary industry facts, reports, dossiers and high-quality infographics.

• ABI Inform Complete
  UNB-subscribed database.  On ABI's Advanced Search screen, set Document Type to Industry Report and then type the name of the industry.  ABI offers full-text access to industry analysis reports from:
  • Business Monitor International(BMI) Industry Insight Reports
  • BMI Country Industry Reports
  • FirstResearch Industry Reports
• Business Source Ultimate
  UNB-subscribed database. Provides company profiles, industry reports, and articles from journals and trade publications.  On BSU's Advanced Search screen, set Publication Type to Industry Profile and then type the name of the industry.

• Mergent Online
  UNB-subscribed database. Alongside quality U.S./international company financial reports, Mergent provides industry and equity reports. On Mergent front screen, select "Industry Analysis" tab then select the appropriate report OR search for a company and then select the company's "Reports" tab then select "Industry Reports" link.

• Frost & Sullivan
  UNB-subscribed database. Frost & Sullivan provides in-depth full-text market research and strategy reports in various emerging high-technology sectors.

• BCC Research
  UNB-subscribed database.
  Access Instructions: 1. Click link above, 2. Select Member Login, 3. Choose IP Authenticate
  BCC Research produces comprehensive market research reports to assist with market sizing, forecasting and industry intelligence. They cover topic areas such as biotech, engineering, pharmaceuticals, information technology, energy and resources, nanotechnology and photonics.

• Faulkner Advisory for Information Technology Studies (FAITS)
  UNB-subscribed database. Faulkner Advisory for Information Technology Studies (FAITS) is designed to help researchers keep up with the issues, trends, market conditions, products, services and vendors driving the information technology industry. This database provides reports covering IT infrastructure, telecommunications, wireless communications, data networking, convergence, information security, enterprise systems, Internet and technology vendors.

• D&B Hoovers
  Provides quality company and industry research.

Industry Classification Codes

Two of the most important industry classification systems used in North America are NAICS and SIC. Both systems are organized by broad industry categories and subdivided into more specific industries.

• NAICS (North American Industry Classification System)
  Developed in 1997, NAICS codes range between 2-6 digits in length. The most current version of NAICS is 2012. To browse the NAICS codes, click this Statistics Canada link.
• SIC (Standard Industrial Classification)
  SIC codes are an older industry classification system; and NAICS was supposed to replace SIC. Some websites still use SIC codes to classify their industry information. To browse for SIC codes, click here.
• HS - Harmonized Coding System
  The Harmonized System (HS) is a special six-digit commodity classification used by U.S., Canadian and Mexican customs agencies. The main purpose of HS is to identify the tariffs that apply to goods. To export to the U.S. or Mexico under NAFTA rules, Canadian companies are required to establish the HS number of your product. To obtain the HS number for your product, contact your nearest Canada Border Services Agency Office: click here for more information.
• International Classifications
  International and European (NACE) industry classifications also exist.  To browse for international codes, click here. 
• Concordances
  To browse descriptions of the direct relationships (concordances) between various classification systems, click here

When searching for journal articles, ABI Inform Complete and Business Source Premier databases are usually the best places to begin. Below are a few UNB-subscribed databases for research in Global Marketing.

For additional databases, check the Article Databases page of the library website.

Key Resources

See Additional Resources Hide Additional Resources

Discovering Market Share

• Passport GMID (Global Market Information Database)
  Passport GMID contains business intelligence and reports across key industries, companies, markets, and consumers in more than 200 categories for 80 countries. Also available is research on lifestyle, demographic and socio-economic country data that spans 206 countries.
• Statista - The Statistics Portal
  Statista is a multidisciplinary database that aggregates data/information for 80,000 topics from over 18,000 sources. Statista covers some market share information, industry reports, forecasts, dossiers, digital market outlook plus infographics.
• Market Share Reporter
  Market Share Reporter (MSR ) is a compilation of published market share data about companies, brands, products, commodities, services and facilities in U.S. and international markets. MSR stores entries by name of the report; reports can be found by keyword or by using the Advanced Search feature.
• Business Source Ultimate
  When searching BSU use: DE "market share" AND the name of the company/product you are researching.
• ABI Inform Complete
  In ABI, try a keyword search e.g., "market share" AND telecommunications.

Streaming Video - Marketing

• Kanopy
  100+ top videos including Essentials of Marketing and Retail Strategy.
• Films On Demand - Marketing Collection
  Includes 300+ videos covering various Marketing topics such as Advertising, Promotion, Consumer Behavior, Global Marketing, Marketing Principles & Strategy, Retailing & Wholesaling, Sales, Ethical & Legal Issues.

Document Delivery

If a journal article is not available at UNB, it can usually be obtained through our document delivery service.  See the document delivery page for the electronic request form.  Article delivery in print or electronic form takes between 2-7 days.

Market/Trade Data

Alongside the library's database subscriptions, the most reliable Canadian and foreign trade statistics are produced by Canadian, U.S. and intergovernmental organizations. The following are just a few resources to get you started:

Canada

• Trade Investment and Economic Statistics (Foreign Affairs & International Trade Canada)
• Statistics Canada: International Trade
  Statistics Canada produces a variety of statistical information to assist in identifying markets and the monitoring of price trends, monetary, tariff and foreign exchange policies.
• Trade Data Online (Industry Canada)
  Generate customized reports on Canada's and U.S. trade in goods with over 200 countries.
• Market Reports - Canadian Trade Commissioner Service (Foreign Affairs & International Trade Canada)
  The Canadian Trade Commissioner Service offers over 600 detailed market reports of industry sectors. Free online registration required to enable access to reports.
• International Trade & Investment Canada
  Government site that offers export statistics on Canadian and U.S. trade with over 200 countries by product/industry.  Import statistics available from same site.
• Canadian International Merchandise Trade Database (Statistics Canada)
  The Canadian International Merchandise Trade (CIMT) online database offers detailed trade data using the Harmonized System (HS) classification of goods (based on the 6-digit commodity level).
• Importing & Exporting:Market Research & Statistics (Canada Business Network)
  Offers links to Canadian and foreign trade statistics and additional information regarding international trade.

United States

• Foreign Trade (U.S. Census Bureau)
• USA.gov: The U.S. Government's Official Web Portal
• Export.gov: Trade Data & Analysis
  Export.gov brings resources together from across the U.S. Government
• U.S. Bureau of Economic Analysis
• Data & Analysis: International Trade Administration (ITA)
  The International Trade Administration endeavours to strengthen the competitiveness of U.S. industry, promotes trade and investment, and enforces of trade laws and agreements.

International

• Passport GMID (Euromonitor)
  UNB-subscribed database. An international market research database containing business intelligence and reports across key consumer-based industries and markets, in more than 200 categories for 80 countries.
• Eurostat (European Commission)
• World Bank Data
• Doing Business Project Data:World Bank Group
• International Monetary Fund: Data & Statistics
• World Trade Organization
• UNdata - United Nations
• United Nations - Commodity Trade Statistics Database (COMTRADE)
• United Nations - Human Development Indices & Data

Government Documents

Our Government Documents, Data, and Maps Department website also provides access to a variety of materials. This web site includes a list of Internet sites of federal, provincial and international governments which provide information sources and publications for downloading, to supplement the collection found in UNB WorldCat.

UNB Libraries is a depository library for the federal Depository Services Program (including Statistics Canada publications), the European Union, the Asian Development Bank and the United Nations. Contact our Research Help Desk staff for assistance.