When researching a new topic it is often necessary to get an overview, explanations of unfamiliar terms, or brief factual information. The electronic
resources listed below include selected e-reference tools (dictionaries, encyclopaedias, handbooks, guides, and standards) for the field of Geodesy and Geomatics Engineering.
To find additional e-reference materials, please check both AccessEngineering and CRCnetBASE databases which has thousands of e-reference engineering resources or our Reference Materials database.
Key Resources
-
AccessEngineering
A full text collection from McGraw-Hill providing access to hundreds of engineering book titles, covering 12 major areas of engineering, and more than 200 topics.
eBook Collection title list:
Subscribed multi-user unlimited access -
CRCnetBASE - incorporated into Taylor and Francis Group eBooks
CRCnetBASE eBooks have been incorporated into Taylor and Francis Group eBooks -- please visit the record for access and further information. Individual titles can still be found in our eBook search or UNBWorldCat, with access redirecting to the new site.
-
Springer Handbook of Global Navigation Satellite Systems
This Handbook presents a complete and rigorous overview of the fundamentals, methods and applications of the multidisciplinary field of Global Navigation Satellite Systems (GNSS), providing an exhaustive, one-stop reference work and a state-of-the-art description of GNSS as a key technology for science and society at large. All global and regional satellite navigation systems, both those currently in operation and those under development (GPS, GLONASS, Galileo, BeiDou, QZSS, IRNSS/NAVIC, SBAS), are examined in detail. The functional principles of receivers and antennas, as well as the advanced algorithms and models for GNSS parameter estimation, are rigorously discussed. The book covers the broad and diverse range of land, marine, air and space applications, from everyday GNSS to high-precision scientific applications and provides detailed descriptions of the most widely used GNSS format standards, covering receiver formats as well as IGS product and meta-data formats. The full coverage of the field of GNSS is presented in seven parts, from its fundamentals, through the treatment of global and regional navigation satellite systems, of receivers and antennas, and of algorithms and models, up to the broad and diverse range of applications in the areas of positioning and navigation, surveying, geodesy and geodynamics, and remote sensing and timing. Each chapter is written by international experts and amply illustrated with figures and photographs, making the book an invaluable resource for scientists, engineers, students and institutions alike.
-
Radar Handbook
The standard reference on radar technology, completely updated to cover all the advances of the past seventeen years. For 17 years, the Radar Handbook has been the yardstick by which all other radar books are measured. Covering the entire scope of the field - from basic theory to real world applications - this trusted resource offers the unmatched expertise of more than 30 world leaders in every major area of radar technology. Complete with five brand new chapters, the third edition has been thoroughly updated to cover the latest trends and advances in this dynamic field. Classic chapters from the previous edition have also been revised by a new generation of radar experts to ensure this edition will withstand the test of time as efficiently as previous editions.
-
Location-Based Services Handbook Applications, Technologies, and Security
Location-Based Services Handbook: Applications, Technologies, and Security is a comprehensive reference containing all aspects of essential technical information on location-based services (LBS) technology. With broad coverage ranging from basic concepts to research-grade material, it presents a much-needed overview of technologies for positioning and localizing, including range- and proximity-based localization methods, and environment-based location estimation methods. Featuring valuable contributions from field experts around the world, this book addresses existing and future directions of LBS technology, exploring how it can be used to optimize resource allocation and improve cooperation in wireless networks.
It is a self-contained, comprehensive resource that presents:
- A detailed description of the wireless location positioning technology used in LBS
- Coverage of the privacy and protection procedure for cellular networks—and its shortcomings
- An assessment of threats presented when location information is divulged to unauthorized parties
- Important IP Multimedia Subsystem and IMS-based presence service proposals
The demand for navigation services is predicted to rise by a combined annual growth rate of more than 104 percent between 2008 and 2012, and many of these applications require efficient and highly scalable system architecture and system services to support dissemination of location-dependent resources and information to a large and growing number of mobile users.
This book offers tools to aid in determining the optimal distance measurement system for a given situation by assessing factors including complexity, accuracy, and environment. It provides an extensive survey of existing literature and proposes a novel, widely applicable, and highly scalable architecture solution. Organized into three major sections—applications, technologies, and security—this material fully covers various location-based applications and the impact they will have on the future.
-
The Satellite Communication Ground Segment and Earth Station Handbook
This updated and expanded second edition reflects the state of earth station design and ground segment architecture. From international telephone network gateways to direct broadcast home receivers, today's broad range of ground systems and devices require satellite communication engineers and business managers to have a broad and sound understanding of the design and operating principles of earth stations and ground control facilities. This book explores the delivery end of the satellite link and its relationship to delivery of services. Authored by a leading authority in the field, the book provides engineers and managers with the knowledge they need to devise their own approach to implementing and managing earth stations and the overall ground segment. Readers find practical guidance in an array of critical areas, including: preparing requirements, performing preliminary analyses, reviewing hardware designs, managing the introduction of the overall ground segment, and more.
-
McGraw-Hill dictionary of engineering
Derived from the content of the respected McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms, Sixth Edition, each title provides thousands of definitions of words and phrases encountered in a specific discipline.
-
Space Antenna Handbook
This book addresses a broad range of topics on antennas for space applications. First, it introduces the fundamental methodologies of space antenna design, modelling and analysis as well as the state-of-the-art and anticipated future technological developments. Each of the topics discussed are specialized and contextualized to the space sector. Furthermore, case studies are also provided to demonstrate the design and implementation of antennas in actual applications. Second, the authors present a detailed review of antenna designs for some popular applications such as satellite communications, space-borne synthetic aperture radar (SAR), Global Navigation Satellite Systems (GNSS) receivers, science instruments, radio astronomy, small satellites, and deep-space applications. Finally it presents the reader with a comprehensive path from space antenna development basics to specific individual applications. Key Features: Presents a detailed review of antenna designs for applications such as satellite communications, space-borne SAR, GNSS receivers, science instruments, small satellites, radio astronomy, deep-space applications Addresses the space antenna development from different angles, including electromagnetic, thermal and mechanical design strategies required for space qualification Includes numerous case studies to demonstrate how to design and implement antennas in practical scenarios Offers both an introduction for students in the field and an in-depth reference for antenna engineers who develop space antennas This book serves as an excellent reference for researchers, professionals and graduate students in the fields of antennas and propagation, electromagnetics, RF/microwave/millimetrewave systems, satellite communications, radars, satellite remote sensing, satellite navigation and spacecraft system engineering, It also aids engineers technical managers and professionals working on antenna and RF designs. Marketing and business people in satellites, wireless, and electronics area who want to acquire a basic understanding of the technology will also find this book of interest.
-
Land Resources Monitoring, Modeling, and Mapping with Remote Sensing
A volume in the three-volume Remote Sensing Handbook series, Land Resources Monitoring, Modeling, and Mapping with Remote Sensing documents the scientific and methodological advances that have taken place during the last 50 years. The other two volumes in the series are Remotely Sensed Data Characterization, Classification, and Accuracies, and Remo
-
Digital Analysis of Remotely Sensed Imagery
Identifies and introduces new trends in image analysis. Digital Analysis of Remotely Sensed Imagery provides exhaustive coverage of the entire process of analyzing remotely sensed data for the purpose of producing accurate representations in thematic map format. Written in easy-to-follow language with minimal technical jargon, the book explores cutting-edge technique sand trends in image analysis, as well as the relationship between image processing and other recently emerged special technologies.
-
Elements of Photogrammetry with Applications in GIS
The definitive guide to photogrammetry—fully updated. Thoroughly revised to cover the latest technological advances in the field, Elements of Photogrammetry with Applications in GIS, Fourth Edition, provides complete details on the foundational principles of photogrammetry as well as important advanced concepts. Significant changes in the instruments and procedures used in modern photogrammetry, including laser scanning, are discussed. Example problems clarify computational procedures and extensive photographs and diagrams illustrate the material presented in this comprehensive resource.
-
An Introduction to Contemporary Remote Sensing
Written by an internationally renowned expert in the field, An Introduction to Contemporary Remote Sensing introduces the latest developments in remote sensing and imaging science. This book covers basic principles and discusses essential technologies, such as aerial photography, radar, Lidar (light detection and ranging), photogrammetry, satellites, thermal radiation, and much more. Full-color images illustrate the concepts presented, and review questions at the end of each chapter help reinforce learning. This detailed resource provides the solid foundation in remote sensing required for developing diverse geospatial applications.
-
Innovations in GIS 6
Integrating Information with GI Technology examines the components necessary for building infrastructure to support the panoly of Geographic Information (GI) research and services. These include novel approaches to two- and three-dimensional spatial analysis and spatio-temporal modelling. The book establishes the case for the Web as the technologic
-
Satellite Communications
Highly regarded for more than a decade as both a teaching text and professional tutorial, this classic guide to satellite communications has been revised, updated, and expanded to cover global wireless applications, digital television, and Internet access via satellite. In-depth, textbook-style coverage combined with an intuitive, low-math approach makes this book particularly appealing to the wireless and networking markets. New to this edition: Global wireless services, including 3G; Antenna Options, Error Coding
-
Antenna Engineering Handbook
This new edition of the "bible of antenna engineering" has been updated to provide start-to-finish coverage of the latest innovations in antenna design and application. You will find in-depth discussion of antennas used in modern communication systems, mobile and personal wireless technologies, satellites, radar deployments, flexible electronics, and other emerging technologies, including 5G, terahertz, and wearable electronics. Antenna Engineering Handbook, Fifth Edition, is bolstered by real-world examples, hundreds of illustrations, and an emphasis on the practical aspects of antennas.
-
Environmental Modeling with GIS
The living environment is one of the most important factors for human evolution and socio-economic development. But during the last decades, the continuously increasing need of new energy resources has led to rapidly growing awareness in the field of environmental protection considering to over exploitation and environmental pollution. In order to provide effective management and environmental protection, detail knowledge and quantitative characterization of our living environment are needed for prediction in local and global scales, in time and space. Thus, environmental modeling through the use of modern GPS technology and approaches represent high priority towards this direction. This book provides leading-edge research on this field, which is demonstrated by a number of environmental case studies that, in addition to environmental modeling, include the latest research on remote sensing, GPS, and database management.
-
GIS Basics
Geographical Information Systems (GIS) are computer systems for storing, displaying and analyzing spatial data. The past twenty years have seen a rapid growth in their use in government, commerce and academia, and they can be used for managing a network of utilities, from handling census data through to planning the location of a new supermarket. But how do they work?
Stephen Wise has been a regular contributor to GeoEurope and his 'Back to Basics' articles have provided a clear and simple introduction to the inner workings of GIS for a non-specialist audience. He now presents the original articles with new material and provides a new coverage of both major types of GIS: vector and raster systems.
Undergraduates and professionals who wish to improve their knowledge of GIS should get a better understanding of how GIS operate in the way that they do, such as how spatial data is stored on a computer, how the different methods affect the capabilities of the GIS, how basic operations performed and how the choice of algorithm affects the speed of the system.
-
Datums and Map Projections : For Remote Sensing, GIS and Surveying
Over the years since its first appearance, Datums and Map Projections has become a key book for many students and professionals around the world. Its theme - a practical guide to coordinate reference systems - is as important now as when it was first published, probably more so when we consider the ever growing use of satellite navigation systems and the introduction of web mapping services such as Google Earth. While retaining the benefits of the first edition - clear presentation assuming no prior knowledge, a problem-solving approach, practical examples and the combination of GPS-derived data from other sources - the rewritten and expanded second edition offers very much more: This new edition, now with a co-author, will maintain the book's reputation as the ideal guide to the subject for years to come.
-
Introduction to GIS Programming and Fundamentals with Python and ArcGIS®
Combining GIS concepts and fundamental spatial thinking methodology with real programming examples, this book introduces popular Python-based tools and their application to solving real-world problems. It elucidates the programming constructs of Python with its high-level toolkits and demonstrates its integration with ArcGIS Theory. Filled with hands-on computer exercises in a logical learning workflow this book promotes increased interactivity between instructors and students while also benefiting professionals in the field with vital knowledge to sharpen their programming skills. Readers receive expert guidance on modules, package management, and handling shapefile formats needed to build their own mini-GIS. Comprehensive and engaging commentary, robust contents, accompanying datasets, and classroom-tested exercises are all housed here to permit users to become competitive in the GIS/IT job market and industry.
-
CSA Standards and Codes Online (Canadian Standards Association)
The Canadian Standards Association is a not-for-profit standards development, membership-based association, in business, industry, government and consumers. CSA is the largest standards development organization (SDO) in Canada and is accredited in Canada and the U.S. to develop standards in a wide range of subject areas.
UNB Libraries’ subscribes to the Complete CSA Collection package which includes over 3,000 current and historical (including IT and Telecommunications standards) and standard related documents such as handbooks, guidelines and commentaries. -
ASTM compass : your portal for standards, testing, learning, & more
ASTM Compass - International Standards & Digital Library includes all 13,000 active ASTM standards (equivalent to the printed 82 volumes), the historical standards back to 1998, as well as the withdrawn and redlined version comparisons. In addition, it includes full-text access to Manuals, Monographs, Data Series, STPs (Special Technical Publications) and almost a dozen Journals dating back to the 1930s.
Subscribed multi-user unlimited access
Product and Supplier Directories
