What is a standard?
A standard is a document that provides requirements, specifications, guidelines or characteristics that can be used consistently to ensure that materials, products, processes and services are fit for their purpose. A standard ensures that products and services are safe, reliable and of good quality.
ASTM Standards (ASTM Compass)
ASTM Compass - International Standards & Digital Library includes all 13,000 active ASTM standards (equivalent to the printed 82 volumes), the historical standards back to 1998, as well as the withdrawn and redlined version comparisons. In addition, it includes full-text access to Manuals, Monographs, Data Series, STPs (Special Technical Publications) and almost a dozen Journals dating back to the 1930s.
The Canadian Standards Association is a not-for-profit standards development, membership-based association, in business, industry, government and consumers. CSA is the largest standards development organization (SDO) in Canada and is accredited in Canada and the U.S. to develop standards in a wide range of subject areas.
UNB Libraries’ subscribes to the Complete CSA Collection package which includes over 3,000 current and historical (including IT and Telecommunications standards) and standard related documents such as handbooks, guidelines and commentaries.
IEEE Xplore Digital Library
Provides access to current, revised and superseded standards in the field of electrical and computer engineering.
ASCE Standards provide technical guidelines for promoting safety, reliability, productivity, and efficiency in civil engineering. UNB Libraries have purchased all of the ASCE Standards from the year 2013 and earlier and 2018, 2019 and 2020.
AASHTO - Standard specifications for transportation materials and methods of sampling and testing
The Materials Standards guide contains specifications, test methods, and provisional standards commonly used in the construction of highway facilities and are updated three times per year – in April, June, and July.
The Engineering and Computer Science Library owns a number of BSI, IEC, ISA, ISO and TAPPI standards that are listed individually in our library catalogue. We purchase them based on our request from faculty, students and staff.
Publicly Available Standards (Free)
The following organizations make all or some of their standards available to the public for free. To access most of these standards, you must register and follow each organization's user guidelines.
ISO Standards (mainly information technology standards)
ISO Standards (COVID-19 response: freely available ISO standards - health-related)
National Fire Protection Association (NFPA) - Free Access
AHAM - Association of Home Appliance Manufacturers
AHRI - Air Conditioning, Heating, and Refrigeration Institute
AISC - American Institute of Steel Construction
APA - The Engineered Wood Association
API - American Petroleum Institute
ASA - Acoustical Society of America
ASHRAE - American Society of Heating, Refrigerating and Air Conditioning Engineers
AWS - American Welding Society
IAPMO - International Association of Plumbing and Mechanical Officials
ICC - International Code Council
IEC - International Electrotechnical Commission
IES - Illuminating Engineering Society
ISO - International Organization for Standardization
MSS - Manufacturers Standardization Society
NACE - NACE International (National Association of Corrosion Engineers)
NEMA - National Electrical Manufacturers Association
NISO - National Information Standards Organization
UL - Underwriters Laboratories
Standards Search Engines
If you're looking for standards that UNB libraries do not own, either in print or electronic formats, please try one of the search engines that would fit your appropriate area of research. Below search engines are a quick way to locate standards from many standards-developing organizations. If you find a standard that's appropriate for your research needs from any of these below search engines, please talk to the Engineering and CS Librarian Saran Croos, who may be able to purchase or locate the standard.
The ANSI Webstore is a searchable online electronic standards database that provides access to U.S. and international standards. You can search for standards from over 150 standards publishers.
IHS Markit Standards Store by S&P Global
The S&P Global search engine provides access to technical industry, government, military standards, and other reference books, manuals, and comprehensive guides from more than 460 technical societies worldwide.
Using the SAI Global search engine, you can search over 1.5 million standards from more than 350+ publishers, including ISO, ASME, SAE, DIN, ANSI, BSI & IEC.
Standards Council of Canada
Using the Standards Council of Canada Search engine, you can locate more than 100,000 active and withdrawn Canadian and international standards from BNQ (Quebec), CGA, CGSB, CSA, IEC, ISO and ULC.
Using TechStreet you can locate more than 550,000 standards and codes from over 150 SDOs.
National Codes - Codes Canada publications
National Building Code of Canada 2020
National Fire Code of Canada 2020
National Plumbing Code of Canada 2020
National Energy Code of Canada for Buildings 2020
National Energy Code of Canada for Buildings 2017
National Building Code of Canada 2015
National Fire Code of Canada 2015
National Plumbing Code of Canada 2015
National Energy Code of Canada for Buildings 2015
The basic format structure:
Issuing Agency (or publication name)
Note: Standards can be reprinted, altered/reissued by a number of different standard organizations.
Format: Standard issuing body. (Year). Standard title (Standard number). City, State / Country: Publisher.
CSA. (2014). Human factors in design for nuclear power plants (N290.12). Toronto, Canada: Canadian Standards Association.
CSA. (2014). Human factors in design for nuclear power plants (N290.12). Retrieved from Canadian Standards Association Online.
In Text Citations
(Canadian Standards Association, 2014)
For more help, please see the APA Publication Manual
 Title of Standard, Standard number, date.
 IEEE Criteria for Class IE Electric Systems, IEEE Standard 308, 1969.
 Letter Symbols for Quantities, ANSI Standard Y10.5-1968.
For more information, please see the IEEE Manual
Chicago Manual of Style
IEEE Recommended Practice for Software Requirements Specifications 1998. IEEE Std 830-1998. doi:10.1109/IEEESTD.1998.88286.
In Text Citations
Format: (Author Year, page number)
(IEEE 1998, 26-27)
For more help, please see the Chicago Manual of Style
Writing & Study Skills Centre - Citation Help
More Information More Information
- Saran Croos
- I am available for research support and library related help through email or Microsoft Teams. You can book a meeting with me using the link below.
- Engineering and Computer Science Librarian
- UNB Fredericton
- Book an appointment
- UNB Libraries
- Library Hours
Engineering and Computer Science